We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blau Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blau Mar
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at Hotel Blau Mar and could not have been more pleased. Our room (number 16) was spacious and we especially enjoyed sitting out on the patio which overlooked the pool. The breakfasts were excellent - good variety. The location was perfect as we could walk into the village, each night, for dinner. The coastal walk is a must. Stay here - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guess
We really appreciate your kind words and are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Thank you very much again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    52
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
233
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I visited Llafranc 46 years ago and it hasn't changed, A lovely unspoilt village, The hotel has been built since my first visit and sits on the hill above Llafranc...only a 7 minute walk to a lovely sandy beach. Each room has a stunning view of the bay. No 8 was spacious and attractive. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast taken on a terrace..in beautiful warm sunshine ...a lovely way to spend a few days at the beginning of November. Great coastal footpaths, so need to use the car. All very peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Blaumar to enjoy your holidays.
It’s a pleasure for us to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had 5 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The room no 16 was spacious and comfortable with a patio overlooking the view. The pool area is lovely. The breakfast was excellent. Staff helpful. You will need a car if you want to get around as it is high up on the hill, you can walk into the town. There was not a lot in the town a chemist, supermarket and restaurants. As it was late in the season not all were open but you can always find something open. Neighbouring towns are not too far and worth visiting. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 16 I think it's worth paying for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We really appreciate your kind words and are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Thank you very much again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A friendly and relaxing hotel for a short stay. Very clean and nicely decorated and furnished which was done very recently. Location is a little outside the village centre with a nice downhill, 5 minute walk to the closest restaurants, a little more challenging to walk back afterwards.

Only small thing that could be improved is the WIFI - very slow and not effective to use at all

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantAntoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in a near future in the hotel

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Had a wonderful 3 night stay in this fabulous small hotel on the costa brava. Everything is first class from the service to the wonderful accommodation. When you first arrive the exterior is possibly a little underwhelming but once inside you will soon change your opinion. Friendly, efficient service in wonderful surroundings makes for a tranquil and enjoyable experience. Book this hotel with full confidence that you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Blaumar to enjoy your holidays and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
It’s a pleasure for us to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel. Our aim is your total satisfaction and your positive comments will help us in our continuing effort to improve our services.
Looking forward to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had 3 nights at this lovely hotel. The staff were friendly and the overall decor and rooms were first class. The pool and view exceptional. The only downside is the steep climb back up from town. We took the car down in the end No evening meal just snacks Breakfast on the terrace was lovely, This area of the Costa Brava is really very special. There are some lovely walks. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words are really appreciated and encourages us to keep on working hard to meet all of our guest expectations.

Thank you so much
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellent boutique hotel in the lovely town of Llafranc. Great individually styled rooms, spacious, and with a balcony overlooking the sea. The pool area was large with plenty of sun loungers. The breakfast on the terrace was excellent with a good choice of food. The all day snacks were very good quality. Good restaurant options in the town for the evening although the hill at the end is a challenge but the wine certainly helps. Overall a fantastic holiday and we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandCfuntrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be delighted to welcome you again

Thank you so much
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
7.6 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 15 in Begur
5.0 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 7 in Llafranc
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 15 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
7.5 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blau Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blau Mar

Property: Hotel Blau Mar
Address: Carrer de Farena 36, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blau Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is in Llafranc, one of the best beach resorts on the Costa Brava. All rooms at the Blaumar have a private terrace or garden with sea views.The Blaumar is located in the heart of the beautiful Empordà region. Along the coastline there are a range of beaches and interesting fishing towns.The hotel has soundproofed bedrooms with bright décor and lots of natural light. There are wooden floors and attractive furniture.Wi-Fi is free in public areas. These include a living room where hot drinks are served around the fireplace.Breakfast includes local produce and fresh fruit and is available on the outdoor terrace. There are also gardens and a snack bar.Free public parking is possible on site. There are 10 golf courses within 20 km. The Dalí Museum in Figueres is an hour's drive away, while Girona can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Blau Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing