We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Blau Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blau Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellent boutique hotel in the lovely town of Llafranc. Great individually styled rooms, spacious, and with a balcony overlooking the sea. The pool area was large with plenty of sun loungers. The breakfast on the terrace was excellent with a good choice of food. The all day snacks were very good quality. Good restaurant options in the town for the evening although the hill at the end is a challenge but the wine certainly helps. Overall a fantastic holiday and we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandCfuntrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be delighted to welcome you again

Thank you so much
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    59
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
253
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Located about 10min walk down (could be 15-20min back UP!!!) to the waterfront and restaurant area, this relatively new ( "French Provincial" décor) 17 room hotel is an absolute delight.
We stayed for 6 nights from Sept 3rd 2013 and really didn't want to leave. The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and as we had a first floor room we also had a nice balcony overlooking the bay with the pool area in the foreground. A top place to relax particularly in the mornings and then again late afternoons. We began our stay in a ground floor room with nice courtyard opening onto the pool and even though we were able to be relocated to the upper floor, these ground floor rooms are still very pleasant. Just a better view from upper floor but access from ground floor rooms to dining / pool areas is obviously easier. Wow!! Tough choice!!
Rooms have a safe, bar fridge, tv., coffee and tea making facilities and ample bathroom facilities
The buffet breakfast provided was great considering the small size of the hotel. A selection of cereals, fruits, yogurt, breads, pastries, cold meats, eggs, bacon etc. as well as a variety of coffees and teas, was well presented and regularly replenished. The breakfast venue, on the terrace adjacent the pool lawn and overlooking the bay, was a most peaceful and relaxing way to start our day.
The pool and lawn areas are maintained to an excellent standard and a pleasure to use.
There is also a lift to first floor should this be required.
The final and most memorable "selling point" for us would have to have been the staff. They ALL were just so helpful, genuinely friendly and appropriately attentive. I feel that if any hospitality provider needed an exemplar to aspire to, this group of people would be a good place to start looking.
Of particular note would be Cristina, Marta, and Imma who really made our stay one of those "not to forget" experience. Thanks so much.
The peacefulness of this location is due in part to it being slightly remote from the beach and the "tourist strip", so this needs to be considered as the hotel's menu for on site dining at night is limited. So if you wish to experience the wider variety of dining options this seaside town has to offer you need to be able to walk / drive / taxi the short distance down to "the dining strip" .
To us a very small price to pay for the peace and tranquillity of this hotel's location.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a better view but ground floor courtyard rooms could perhaps be easier with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
For us it is a real pleasure to receive feedback like yours.
We have no words to thank you yours opinions.
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Yours sincerely,
BlauMar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the BlauMar for five nights in July. The hotel is quite new and only has 17 rooms, so it has a relaxing feel. The staff is eager to help and will happily give directions and recommendations.

The hotel and rooms are decorated are decorated in sort of French shabby chic. Our room was on the first floor with a lovely view. The room was very spacious and the balcony for relaxing in the afternoon.

The hotel was great as a base for exploring the surrounding area. We actually preferred Begur and Calella de Palafrugell for eating out versus Llafranc itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTN1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words are really appreciated and encourages us to keep on working hard to meet all of our guest expectations.

Thank you so much
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with our children (9&7). The hotel was fabulous, rooms, pool, location etc all just wonderful. The staff were charming and the atmosphere was lovely.
Would recommend for couples mainly though as they really frown upon noise from children. Initially we were told not to worry at all but it was made clear over the course of our stay that any noise from ball games etc around pool was not acceptable. Our children are very well behaved and when my husband and son were asked to stop throwing a beach ball to each other in an otherwise empty pool we were rather disappointed! We had asked the other 2 guests around the pool if they minded and they had said they were fine with it. Totally understand a policy on no rowdy ball games etc but I think discretion could have been applied here!

Other than that would absolutely recommend this hotel in Llafranc, a real gem.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loociemed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and to confirm the beauty of the place and the quality of the accommodation.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Extremely comfortable hotel with stunning location overlooking Llafranc. Friendly generous service with attention to small details which make staying there feel luxurious. Room spacious and well thought out with own hedged area outside including sun beds and table and chairs. Coffee/tea making facilities in room. Inviting and well designed bathroom with spacious walk in shower. Delicious Breakfast on terrace served cheerfully - and for me
gluten free baking provided!
All in all a special place to stay though a steep walk down into the town may deter the unfit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It's a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words are really appreciated.

Thank you so much
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. The staff are fab, and the room we stayed in was beautiful. It was so nice to sit outside for breakfast every morning with such a great view.
It is located in a lovely town and whilst the walk back up the hill gets your heart pumping, it is good to work off the ice cream! We had an amazing stay.
It was so nice to experience a boutique style hotel that isn't like a chain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HNMW04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear
We are very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel. His pleasant review the care provided by our staff flatters us and encourages us to continue offering our best service.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Stella Maris in Llafranc
Best wishes
The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Usually when you book a hotel, you hope it will be like the website and then find that it is not quite what you were expecting, especially when it comes the supposed views. Well the Blau Mar exceeded our expectations and the view on the website is the view you get from every room, from the terrace and from the pool.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and there is always someone available when you need them. The room was really nice and I think that the rooms are pretty similar in layout and really only differ in terms of the fabric colours (as far as we could tell from open doorways). The beds were comfortable and we managed to get uninterrupted sleep every night.

In order to be balanced we have really struggled to find some negatives:
- the pool is too small and shallow.
- if you were infirm the slope home might be too much - but that slope provides the view!
- there is very little shade around the pool - presumably to avoid obscuring the view.
- the breakfast is average and repetitive.

However, we truly loved this hotel and will definitely visit again. I would definitely recommended a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your opinion.
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit at Hotel Blaumar in the next future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
7.7 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
7.5 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blau Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blau Mar

Property: Hotel Blau Mar
Address: Carrer de Farena 36, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blau Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is in Llafranc, one of the best beach resorts on the Costa Brava. All rooms at the Blaumar have a private terrace or garden with sea views.The Blaumar is located in the heart of the beautiful Empordà region. Along the coastline there are a range of beaches and interesting fishing towns.The hotel has soundproofed bedrooms with bright décor and lots of natural light. There are wooden floors and attractive furniture.Wi-Fi is free in public areas. These include a living room where hot drinks are served around the fireplace.Breakfast includes local produce and fresh fruit and is available on the outdoor terrace. There are also gardens and a snack bar.Free public parking is possible on site. There are 10 golf courses within 20 km. The Dalí Museum in Figueres is an hour's drive away, while Girona can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Blau Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing