We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of paradise”
Review of Hotel Blau Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Blau Mar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just what we wanted, small friendly good quality hotel, staff excellent, location perfect. Llafranc is a little gem, restaurants good and quite a few to choose from, easy walk to the beach which was very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fpmac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion. We are pleased to know that your stay in Hotel Blaumar in Llafranc was pleasant.
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit in the next future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 392 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

we have just returned from 8 nights at the blau mar hotel and we would defo go back! Myself and my husband and my 1 year old daughter went with my mum and dad and we had a great holiday. all the staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble, they really made you feel welcome. the room was vintage-modern look - very nice, enough space for us all and the grounds and pool are fab with stunning views of llafranc. my daughter loved her first holiday there and roaming around the grounds. it is on the top of a hill but the walk does you good ha and the views are worth it! i really love it when they light all the lanterns at night - the place looks stunning! we are hoping to return soon, i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone - a great find!

Room Tip: we had a ground floor end room which is a must if you have children, felt safe for her to walk aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkynemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words are really appreciated and encourages us to keep on working hard to meet all of our guest expectations.
Thank you for your review and to confirm the beauty of the place and the quality of the accommodation.

We are really looking forward to welcome you at Hotel Blaumar in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Not sure what to say, just blown away. The staff were very helpful and friendly from the start. This is extremely unusual in Catalonia due to Catalans being ever so reserved and generally regarding you as lucky to be in their establishment but not here. The relaxed nature of the hotel does not detract from its obvious class. But again, not overly pompous and ever so accommodating of our two young children. They are making additions all the time and I would guess next would be a fully fledged restaurant as they serve just cold and heated food at present, albeit to a very high standard. So don't be fooled by the lowly star rating, this will be a five star hotel one day soon. The rooms are on the small side but beautifully appointed and the bathroom was actually quite large by comparison with a really deep and long bath. Everything looks really new and done in a 'New England' style rather than the usual overly contemporary sharp and bright finishes the Catalans usually offer. The pool is as gorgeous as it looks in the pictures and with only 17 rooms or so, you really feel special here. It is a the top of a steep hill we heard one couple complaining about but its tough to get a view from the bottom of a hill in my experience and the walk back from Llafranc is not that difficult even with two kids in tow. The area itself is just amazing, Llafranc and the various bays that make Calella de Palafrugell are really as nice as you would find in the most exclusive resorts in Italy and Sicily, even Hawaii-like in some areas. Tamariu is also very nice and all offer a huge variety of restaurants. Just be warned that none really open before 8.30pm for evening dinner so if you have kids be prepared to settle for burgers and such. We were surprised by that being a tourist area but the local tradition and timetable still hold. We will be going back but then it is only an hour up the road for us!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Postcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Blaumar to enjoy your holidays and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
It’s a pleasure for us to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel. Our aim is your total satisfaction and your positive comments will help us in our continuing effort to improve our services.
Looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a wonderful week at the Blau Mar. The hotel is in a great location and the staff are extremely friendly. Fantastic walks to the neighbouring bays and a fine selection of reasonably priced restaurants at Llafranc. Em and D

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skooldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and to confirm the beauty of the place and the quality of the accommodation.
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit in Hotel Blaumar in the next future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is sooo lovely, its not often I want to go back to somewhere but this one has me hooked! The hotel so nicely furnished, the staff are lovely, the finishes touches by the hotel manager are the icing on the cake here. I have a six year old little girl and when we arrived I thought she would find it a bit quite but she loved pottering around the grounds and around the pool. The views were lovely from the hotel grounds. Lla Franc is also a lovely fishing village with some lovely restaurants and a great beach to walk down to.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea & pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your great holiday at Hotel Blaumar
We are very glad that you have enjoyed some relaxing time in our hotel and that you keep a nice memory of the treatment received by our staff.
Hoping that you will return very soon

The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After being bullied into booking two nights here by my girlfriend (it's not cheap) within 10 minutes of arriving it was clear that "she told me so" and within a day we were regretting not having booked for longer. The hotel is incredibly relaxing with friendly and helpful staff that will help you out with any inquiries you might have. The swimming pool is the real stand-out feature with the beautiful view of the sea.

It's a very short walk to the town but it is on a hill so coming back is a bit of a trek...this is probably the only negative. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words are really appreciated and encourages us to keep on working hard to meet all of our guest expectations.

We are really looking forward to welcome you at Hotel Blaumar in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Recent trip to the Costa Brava found us at Hotel Blau Mar. Unknown to our Spanish friends from nearby Tamariu the hotel turned out to be a real find. A 15 min walk from the fishing village of Llafranc, the Blau Mar offers beautiful views, well appointed and comfortable rooms, an infinity pool and comfortable lobby/lounge area. The hotel is superbly run by Mme Christine, Ingmar and the fabulous Caro. Nothing is too hard or too much trouble. Our fifth visit to Llafranc and our first to Blau Mar. This is where we will stay from now on.

Room Tip: Due to the design of the hotel there are no 'bad' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion. We are pleased to know that your stay at Hotel Blaumar in Llafranc was pleasant.
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit at Hotel Blaumar in the next future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
294 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Llafranch
Hotel Llafranch
#5 of 6 in Llafranc
183 reviews
7.7 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#4 of 6 in Llafranc
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blau Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blau Mar

Address: Carrer de Farena 36, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range: $151 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blau Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is in Llafranc, one of the best beach resorts on the Costa Brava. All rooms at the Blaumar have a private terrace or garden with sea views.The Blaumar is located in the heart of the beautiful Empordà region. Along the coastline there are a range of beaches and interesting fishing towns.The hotel has soundproofed bedrooms with bright décor and lots of natural light. There are wooden floors and attractive furniture.Wi-Fi is free in public areas. These include a living room where hot drinks are served around the fireplace.Breakfast includes local produce and fresh fruit and is available on the outdoor terrace. There are also gardens and a snack bar.Free public parking is possible on site. There are 10 golf courses within 20 km. The Dalí Museum in Figueres is an hour's drive away, while Girona can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Blau Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing