We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday at a lovely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Tenerife Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We loved almost everything about this resort. We stayed in a well-equipped and spacious 2-bedroom apartment that had everything we needed. It had a nice little garden with a view to the beautiful mountains and palm trees, that is where we enjoyed our breakfast every morning.
The pool area is big enough to find a calm spot in it, and we always found available sunbeds. There are 3 pools, one of them is heated, but even the "colder" central pool wasn't too cold for a good swim.
We liked the huge green area of the resort (including the golf course and lovely palm trees).
The staff is very nice and attentive. On Mother's Day we found a little greeting card, which was a nice gesture.
The only negative comment I have is the Internet: they charge 27 EUR for a week of WiFi Internet, which is a -bad- joke nowadays. Most of the days we used the free WiFi at the Med Cafe while having a meal or/and a drink. Otherwise the prices at the resort are quite reasonable.
One more thing: we had a car, so transportation was easy. Otherwise it can be tricky to get around.
All in all we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

First of all, I thank you for choosing Royal Tenerife Country Club for your visit to the island and for sharing your experience. Naturally, we are delighted to hear that the team and the service were able to deliver an experience that received such high praise. We hope to see you again in the future!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 552 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

as an owner here at San Andres,i have always been happy to be back not so much my children but for me and my good lady it's Heaven.This year i was slightly dissapointed to find that the internet was not up to the standard you would expect at the royal,any more than 30-40 yards away you would strugle to get a signal so i say untill they can do better give the £15.00 to your kid's at least you can see what your money goe's on.that aside my wife's still loves our time there even more since our kids are all adults now,17 years on it's still the place we fell for.

Room Tip: if its a peacful time any room above 108=208 below for pool and playground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George-Kilna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

We are really happy to know that we continue to be on your favourite destinations list and that year after your you can enjoy good holidays here with us. We apologise if you were disappointed with the Wi-Fi service on this occasion and assure you that we will look into this. Thank you for your comments, please come back soon!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Having begun Easter 2014 with a week on the outskirts of urban Los Cristianos, at the Los Claveles resort, we transferred by taxi halfway through Friday to a very contrasting complex. For those who don’t know, the RTCC lies at the top of the Golf del Sur area, where the one-way system starts/ends (se previous reviewer's comments). The taxi has to go all the way around the loop! That’s 25 euros from Los Cris, but only 15 euros to the airport. Not bad shared between four, I suppose.

Situated in the slice of land pretty much surrounded by golf course, overlooking the ocean and overlooked by Mt Teide, the RTCC has very pleasing views. It’s not crowded in by other developments and there’s no other complex looming over it. We liked it almost from the start, though from the car park it isn’t impressive. Inside, Reception is cool and attractively laid out with plenty of space for guests to arrive/depart and make inquiries. We were checked in smoothly, efficiently and courteously. Everything was explained and the site layout marked for clear understanding. Despite arriving about four hours early, we were pleasantly surprised to be told our 2-bedroom apartment was ready for us and we would be shown there by the porter. We were also handed our pool towels (no charge or deposit, but not to be changed daily). By contrast, it cost the princely sum of 1 euro per day for use of the room safe! This was automatically charged to my credit card - swiped at check-in. I've never had any problem with this arrangement, having never experienced any mishaps.

Apartment X109 is located on the main avenue that runs from the car park, straight up to the top of the resort. When I say “main avenue” I am referring to the fact that it is a long, gently sloping pedestrian thoroughfare, just wide enough for a golf buggy (the maintenance staff use them to get about) to pass a housekeeping cart with safety. The 2-bed apartment is a single-storey affair, accessed via a brief flight of steps that then climb to the upper apartments on the second and only other level. Opposite are the single storey apartments that comprise the outer ring of buildings. It gives the impression that you are living off a quiet village street with small garden areas.

Inside, the apartment is spacious (with two exceptions). A short hallway leads into the main living area off which there is a shower room, utility cupboard, the kitchen, the main and second bedrooms, and the patio doors. The front door is operated by (two) keycards, and there is a master electrics switch likewise controlled by these.

The first room is the shower room with sink and w/c for use by the occupants of the second bedroom. It is not a big room – strictly functional. Having taken opportunity to try the shower, I would say it takes a distant second place to those at our previous resort: Los Claveles. Yet that’s a minor quibble.

The next room, the utility cupboard, holds parasol, ironing board & iron, towel drying rack (with pegs!) and such items. Moving along, we have the kitchen: again, surprisingly small – galley style and too easy to fill with two people. That said it has a decent fridge/freezer, microwave, cooker and also a dishwasher. Utensils are more than adequate, as is the storage. Washing up liquid was provided in a wall-mounted dispenser. My perennial gripe: no draining rack for the dishes. A door leads out onto a very small, narrow yard (of no real use) and then a gate onto the terrace/balcony.

Back inside, the main living area is plenty spacious for a group of four adults. It’s comfortably furnished and has a flat screen Sony TV plus DVD player. There’s also a music station with iPod dock and a weighty info pack to browse through. The number of switches on the wall was a puzzle to keep us all occupied: always one more or less than expected per panel. Took a while to adjust! Oh, and there’s a light well with decorative urn and gravel – the second bedroom and en-suite bathroom also have sliding windows onto it (which could make life interesting!)

The second bedroom is the traditional twin room: not huge but comfortable enough and having adequate storage plus comfortable beds (or so I am told). It has windows and shutters onto the terrace as well as the urn feature.

The main bedroom has a large double bed (6ft+), a wall-mounted (smaller) TV, a radio alarm (again, with iPod dock) and adequate storage for a sunny holiday wardrobe. It lies at the building front, but we didn’t suffer unduly from late night/early morning revellers. Off the main bedroom is the en-suite. It’s well lit thanks to the windows onto the central ‘feature’ – yes, the glass is frosted, but you can unlock and slide it open should you wish. It has w/c and bidet plus a double sink unit with large mirror above. Pride of place goes to the Jacuzzi bath. My wife loved it! I disliked it. The shower is hand-held and comes from the bath mixer tap. It’s as weak and feeble as Samson after a visit to the Barber of Seville. Pity. I can only echo the sentiments of the previous reviewer on this.

And then we have the outside world: a terrace you could easily hold several table tennis tournaments on (if you cared to cut down the rather splendid palm tree and remove the smart circular table and various chairs). There’s also a shower – much like the ones down at the pool to rinse off – and even a barbeque. You can rest your arms on the wall and look out over the pool areas or gaze up toward Teide, between the trees. Shame there’s no gate in the wall.

So, what of the remainder of the complex? All very handsome and pleasant, much of it owned. The grounds are well-tended, with plenty of garden areas and gentle slopes – few steps/stairs. The maintenance team were out in force, patching and repainting the building exteriors to a dazzling white. There’s a small children’s playground, a tennis court and some sports areas at the top end (though why someone would want to play sport on volcanic grit is beyond me!) In the central area is another, much nicer, children’s playground plus a shallow pool to play in. The main (unheated) pool forms a rough doughnut around the pool bar island, which is accessed via three bridges (20-22cm clearance for swimmers, so be careful!) There is also a smaller, heated pool next to the main one. Wisdom has it that at our time of staying it was best to walk into the smaller pool and immerse before bravely striding into the main pool. Takes the edge off, or so I was advised. I wasn’t convinced. In summer the main pool is probably gorgeous (and full of people) but as invitingly blue as it looked, it wasn’t busy – too chilly! We called it “refreshing”.

The pools are open to use between 9am and 6pm each day and closely supervised by the lifeguard. He also keeps a careful eye on use of the sunbeds, ensuring no unfair reservations take place. This wasn’t much of a challenge at Easter, but I can assume that in the height of summer it might become so. That said, there’s plenty of space to spread out and the piles of sun loungers were impressive.

We cannot speak about the spa, the gym or on-site laundry facilities, but can confirm they were all present and available for use. The wifi is free in reception but costs (I believe) in the apartments. There is a book exchange in reception and also DVD hire. Very useful is the interactive, wall-mounted screen that allows investigation of flight status, weather and other things – you can even send an e-postcard to friends/family from it! Only found out on the last day – shame!

There is a luggage room if required and you can use the showers under the reception block if leaving the complex later in the day after check-out.

On-site catering: the pool bar has had mixed reviews I see. We didn’t use it much, but can say that in our own experience the staff were polite but reserved and maybe a touch inconsistent with their service (breakfast snacks and occasional drinks). We ate elsewhere for lunch and evening meals. However, as reasonable as some of the occasional breakfast dishes sampled were, we found the bacon sandwiches and also the bacon & sausage sandwiches to be very poor value. At least there was a Happy Hour from 5pm-6pm. By contrast…

…the Café Med Bistro & Bar situated at the front of the resort (overlooking the sweeping vista of the car park) was excellent. We enjoyed great service, very enjoyable food and sensibly priced at that. Apart from a breakfast and lunchtime snack menu, David, Lesley, Jane, Paulo and Janey offer an evening menu that is varied enough (including a daily special) to keep you going without repetition for a week – all tasty, freshly cooked and sourced. Highly recommended.

Off-site: obviously, there’s the golf course! But apart from that, if you fancy a walk, there’s the local attraction of a stroll down to the coast. Don’t be stupid like me and not change from your pool ‘flippies’; put some proper walking footwear on! If you are reasonably fit it’s worth the walk. You can visit the marina, the Winter Gardens, the coastal walk to San Blas and beyond. They’re about 20-25 mins walk downhill. To see much more you are advised to hire a car or, if adventurous, try the bus. On a couple of occasions during our week we visited the Rendezvous restaurant in the Winter Gardens – a bit classier and more extravagant than a lot of establishments nearby (check them out on Trip Advisor).

What else is there to say? At Easter 2014 we didn’t need to use the air conditioning unit – nights are cool. However, the sales folk who come around with those sun products aren’t necessarily hyping – the sun has bite and will burn, even in those early months. We tried the aloe vera products and liked them: they’re not cheap, but they do work.

The on-site mini-mart is useful but limited and a touch pricey. If you have access to a car, there’s a decent supermarket up the road, just as you come off the autopista at Las Chafiras.
Check-out was easy and smooth. If you want a taxi, they lie in wait about 5 minutes down the road and reception can order one quickly. The car park is small, so taxis cannot wait on-site. Likewise, it is advisable to check on parking facilities if hiring a car.

Yes, we would like to return despite any minor niggles. It's a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: A higher apartment number will take you further from the pools and bar area if you prefer it quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ESP2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments on our resort. We are glad you had a great stay with us and intend to return and visit us in the future!
We are glad you found your apartment to your liking and we will be looking to address your suggestions in the apartments so we thank you for bringing these minor points to our attention. At Diamond we want to ensure our guests have everything they need in their apartment to make their stay as enjoyable as possible so please always ask our reception team if there is anything we can do to ensure you have the best stay possible.

We are sure other travellers will take note of your advice and tips on the location and also the resort.
We do hope you return in the future!
Cristina Gonzalez
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have been Diamond members for some years so we have pretty high expectations when we visit a resort for the first time and we were not disappointed. The friend who came with us had been before and told us how good it was and we would certainly agree.

It started with the usual courtesy call just before we left the U.K. and Alana, who called us, couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful.

Just one example:

We mentioned that we would have a friend with us and she asked if we would like the twin beds in the second bedroom converting into a king size double instead. We said yes and by day two of the stay it had been done.

One of the other reviewers mentioned that the furnishings are dated and this was true of our apartment/villa. But this is a style thing rather than a comment on their condition. They were comfortable, very clean and more than fit for purpose.

If I have a grumble, well, two grumbles, I suppose, it is to say that both bathrooms had their limitations. The en suite was superb in every way, except that the wall between it and the main room was glass. Frosted, yes, but it didn't feel all that private. You couldn't see through it and you probably were private but it didn't feel that way. The shower room was just tight on space. I would have hated to have to bathe a child in that room - too cramped.

But these are, i know, small gripes in the scheme of things and we had an exceptionally good stay. I can't praise the staff highly enough. The cleaning was thorough and sufficiently frequent. The front of house staff were, without exception, polite and friendly. When we wanted to reserve a table at a local restaurant but were a bit self conscious because we speak the worst Spanish ever, they phoned on our behalf.When we mentioned going to the supermarket, Alana gave us a lift in her car.

The on site facilities are good, in fact, very good. The pool bar serves good food at reasonable prices and the Cafe Med is even better. We were perhaps a little disappointed that there wasn't somewhere a bit classier to eat onsite, like the restaurant down at nearby Santa Barbara but when we went there, we were disappointed with both the food and the service, so the El Inti at the Country Club was actually the better place.

So if you are thinking of going there, do. You will be well looked after and comfortable in every way.

Room Tip: We were in Apartment 51 and it was great. Most rooms have a view over the pool or the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magrat7451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are glad you had a great time with us.
We are glad that our staff remained pleasant and courteous towards you throughout your stay with us.
Thank you for providing us with your suggestions, we always welcome any feedback, this allows us to improve on areas which our guests don’t find as enjoyable as others!
We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the onsite facilities as well as the local attractions.
We hope you will be visiting us again in the future.
Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here for the week before Easter. The public areas, pool and gardens are beautifully maintained and there was evidence of pre summer season maintenance going on with some exterior painting etc. The 2 bedroom apartment was very large and generally very well appointed with a large garden/patio area with comfortable sun loungers to relax if we didn't want to venture to the pool area. The kitchen was small but immaculate and with everything you would wish for. Although there was only two of us, my major grouse was that if the apartment, which was built to sleep 6, was full, then the single tiny shower room was totally inadequate. The mystery was in the enormity of the Master bedroom's ensuite bathroom ... which had NO shower, instead for some reason devoting half of it's size to an enormous whirlpool bath which I suspect would never be used as it would take all day to fill it if indeed there was enough hot water to do the job. It was a total waste of space quite literally. As I said there was only my wife and I so there wasn't too much of a problem although the minute shower room itself was very poorly designed to make use of the little space there was. This was such a shame as otherwise we thought the apartment was lovely. In a resort such as this in this climate I believe adequate shower facilities are of prime importance. What must be said is that the staff were all lovely and the small cafe was excellent. We didn't use the pool bar. The other minor irritation is the one way system leading to the resort which was a nuisance, particularly one day when having driven 2 minutes away from the complex we realised we had forgotten something which meant an 8 minute trip to get back again. So - despite one or two niggly quirks, we have to concede - we loved it! and will almost certainly return in the near future.

Room Tip: Pre book a parking space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballerfan2again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. We regret to read of your concerns but we can assure you that we have taken on board your suggestions and we will be sure to address this.
We are glad to read that you had a lovely time despite your comments and we hope that you will return to visit us again soon!
Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We loved it at this place. full but never too busy, loads of space around the pools and really comfortable, well furnished accommodation. The 2 bars on site were great, as was the shop and the concierge service was fantastic. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We always enjoy reading of our guests stays with us.
It is great that your apartment was to your liking and the onsite facilities were good for you and your travelling party.
We hope you will visit us again soon.
Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This complex needs updating . The pool area was clean and well maintained but the bungalow was very out dated , it was very 1960's which is probably when it was furnished. The maids did a great job and the bedding and towels were very clean. If the bungalows were updated then this complex has the potential to be very good . The owner needs to spend some money bringing the bathrooms up to date . The grass and patio area also needs some attention. We stayed in no 73 which is a good five min walk from the pool area not good for anyone with mobility issues. It's a good 15 min walk into the square where there are a few good restaurants but if you don't fancy the trekking eat in the bistro next to reception food and service are first class and free wifi .

Room Tip: Ask to be located near the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laceybaby1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are glad that you had a great stay.
We are currently undergoing a major refurbishment program across many of our resorts, we hope you can understand that this does take time to complete. We hope to have many of the apartments updated in the new future.
We do have allocated apartments for guests who have mobility issues so if any guests do suffer from mobility issues they should make contact with us prior to their stay with us.
We hope you will return to visit us again.
Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
26.5 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
398 reviews
37.3 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,088 reviews
19.1 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,097 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
967 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset View Club
Sunset View Club
#2 of 30 in San Miguel de Abona
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tenerife Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tenerife Country Club

Address: Complejo San Andres | Calle San Andres, Golf del Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $81 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Tenerife Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against rising hills amid the greens of the challenging Golf del Sur course, Royal Tenerife Country Club is a resort designed with relaxation in mind.The furnished accommodations boast sumptuous marble bathrooms and beautifully outfitted kitchens. Outside there are attractive, subtropical gardens, but the focal point of Royal Tenerife Country Club is its large and beautifully landscaped swimming pool.Out and about you will find that a relaxed atmosphere pervades, while the fish restaurants in the nearby village of Los Abrigos are simply too good to ignore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Tenerife Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tenerife Country Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Royal Tenerife Country Club Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing