We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose with care!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Tenerife Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 21, 2014

If it wasn't for the excellent Concierge, who was quite the best staff member we have found in over 30 years of using "time share" resorts, then one star would have been appropriate!
OK, the site looks good, and I'm sure many of the apartments were excellent, but when reviewing, you can only go on your own experiences and our 2-bedroom apartment was . . . . . not good. It really is hard to find good words to say.
For a start, unusually, there is no parking on the resort itself (unless you book in advance and pay for it!); the 'free' parking is easy to find but is a few hundred yards away and down a fairly steep hill! Added to that, there was a further 5+ minute walk to our allocated apartment so from the car to the 'unit' was almost 15 minutes - a long way to carry the shopping!
The unit itself was "unusual". The main bathroom had a glass wall as did the 2nd (twin) bedroom so you could lie in bed and watch 'activity' in the bathroom; there was, of course, a blind in each room but it raises the question "why?".
Another why was the main room which had an area with a fireplace (not useable) that separated the bathroom from bedroom 2: this area appeared to have no use or value! The next "Why?" was the barbeque built inside the dining room, which was a conservatory/extension to the main room; obviously, you can't light a charcoal BBQ indoors . . . .
The kitchen was small but adequately provided and the lounge was as good as we have come to expect from Diamond Resorts: spacious and comfortable.
But why (again) was there a corridor linking the kitchen to the conservatory though? Another pointless waste of space.
The extension unfortunately took up a large part of the rear patio, leaving just enough room for a table, 4 chairs and 2 sun beds - only just! Mind you, it wasn't an area one was encouraged to use as a track passed right by the short, back wall and across the track was the golf course. You HAVE to enjoy golf & golfers to stay here as there was a constant stream of golfers walking past and looking down on the patio all day, starting with the early morning grass cutting!
So, disappointed is the word we would use for this resort; if it had not been for the excellent work of our exceptionally friendly "Concierge" then I'd be hard pressed to give them one star!

NB: we were told that the resort was undergoing an upgrade so maybe, just maybe, our unit was scheduled . . . . . but the outlook from the rear could not be improved!

Room Tip: Don't accept an apartment on the south side unless you like golf and don't mind golfers peer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Otto148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We are very sorry to read that your stay with us was marred by the layout and decor of your apartment. We would like to note that refurbishment will indeed address all these issues and soon all our apartment will be brought up to the same high standard. We apologise for the inconvenience caused. We do hope that we may have another chance to host you in the future, yet until then we wish you safe travels!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 547 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Visiting the Royal Tenerife Country Club W/C 23/12. Location is a bit out of the way from shops and bars, although San Blas is only 10 minute taxi drive away, or 20 minute walk which is quite pleasant on a nice day. Only 10 minute journey from airport which is fab too!

Pictures on Expedia are quite out of date of the rooms for this hotel, as ours was extremely modern and glamourous inside, couldn't complain about a thing within the apartment, was lovely and spacious, but some of the pics are very old and I am presuming prior to a modernisation.

Pool is lovely and looks very idyllic, especially the pool that travels around the pool bar, looks great! The view of the pool itself is lovely, 3 pools to chose from, although the main pool was freezing and I was unable to stay in it due to the temperature which I am presuming is the norm.
Pool bar food could have been improved, and I agree that some of the staff could be a little more cheery, but they weren't rude at all. Food was ok, average, but always freshly prepared.
Cafe Med food and service was definitely a lot better. A few mornings the cleaners were moving furniture around at 8-9AM in the morning, which can be quite disturbing when you are trying to sleep.
You also get use of the spa facilities for free which is great. The Hot Tub could have been a little warmer, but the steam room was amazing!!! As was the other spa-style showers. Great little free extra.
Overall, a lovely place, very modern and glamourous so if you are looking for a high spec stay then I would recommend this hotel for a nice stay. If you are looking for somewhere with a little more atmosphere and hustle and bustle, I would recommend staying further central to San Blas/Los Cristianos etc

Room Tip: We stayed in room 43 which was beautiful, with a massive outside terrace and very close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. It is great for us to read that you had a great stay with us.
We are glad to read that your apartment was of a good standard and met your holiday needs.
It is lovely for us to read that you enjoyed the onsite facilities and made use of the spa facilities.
We will pass your comments on to our food and beverage manager so they can take your comments on board.
Once again thank you for your nice comments on the resort and we hope your visit her again soon.
Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Royal Tenerife Country Club is a place close to my heart. My children came here every year when they were little (they are now 23&24 respectively) and they still come with their Mum and Dad from time to time. This is how all good resorts should be, well run, spotlessly clean and comfortable on every level. The only disappointment was with the pool bar. It has been run by the same family for many years and unfortunately, they have become very complacent and serving their customers was a chore, judging by the look on their faces and the unfriendly service. This was in stark contrast to the Café Med which couldn't have been friendlier. However, the position of this café is not the best...please swap them over!

Room Tip: All the apartments on the bottom have amazing patios and outdoor BBQ's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

We are really pleased that you’ve had so many enjoyable visits to the Royal Tenerife Country Club over the years – thank you for your review! We’re sorry that the service you received in the Pool Bar on this occasion doesn’t seem to have been up to our usual standard of excellence, though, and we’d like to apologise for any disappointment this caused to you.

We hope you’ll be coming back here for another visit soon – we’d love to see you again!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here a week in a friend's timeshare, to play golf at the local courses. The complex is very near the airport. Two bedroom, two bathroom apartment, small kitchen, quirky layout, very nice patio. More than adequate for our needs. Nice pool with plenty of loungers. Fairly basic but reasonable poolside restaurant. On site shop is expensive but handy if you run out of anything. My return flight left late, but after checkout I was able to use the pool and restaurant for the day and get a shower and change in the communal facilities, no hassle. Had a relaxing time there and would go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our first experience of the RTCC and a pleasant one at that. We used a friends timeshare villa not really knowing what to expect. We weren't however disappointed. We had a large 2 bedroom 2 bathroom property towards the bottom of the complex with views down to Los Abrigos and the sea. Excellently furnished and spotless. Large main bathroom with huge walk in shower. Good sized lounge/diner and adequate very well equipped kitchen. We were amazed by the size of the terrace which must measure some 70 sq m. You could invite 50 people to a party on it with a BBQ big enough to cook for all of them!

We were told that the place was full however it never seemed busy at all in fact just the opposite. Everywhere is generally well maintained with ongoing maintenance which was never intrusive. You do get aircraft overhead as its on the approach to the runway ( normally when Easterly ish winds however if the winds had have been Westerly they would be taking off over you) which is probably less than 2 miles away but frankly we found it more of a novelty that a nuisance!

There are two bars/eating places on site. The pool bar where they seem ambivalent whether you spend money there or not or Café Med where the food and service is really good. We don't understand the previous reviewers who had these the other way round. Anyway we never ate at the pool bar simply as didn't like their attitude so cant really comment on the food there. Separate review done on Café Med. Both these places are independently run. There is also a small shop that is extremely expensive so got essentials at the excellent supermarket at San Blas about 20 mins walk away. Also very handy car hire office on site run by lady who is extremely helpful. If you hire she will sort your car parking out for you and also and do a pick up drop off service to and from the airport for a 7 day hire......handy!

The place is a little out of the way but we liked that. The aforementioned San Blas is easily walkable and has loads of shops/bars/restaurants etc. Nothing very sophisticated down there with lots of Irish bars and curry houses but good choice. Surprised if they all make a living as supply outstrips demand significantly. About the only thing remotely Spanish/Canarian we could find there was the Tapas restaurant just behind the square (Pato de Oro I think its called) .where we enjoyed the food. We also quite liked the Taboo bar which had a bit of atmosphere and apparently regularly does a 4am stint!!

If you want something a bit more indigenous go to Los Abrigos. Its a nice walk in the daytime across a shingle beach and some slightly precarious steps (45 mins from RTCC) . If you prefer a taxi is only about 6 euros. This is a small fishing harbour with a dozen or so mainly fish/seafood restaurants clustered around the harbour and is aesthetically extremely pleasant. We ate at La Scarpetta,(more Italian than fishy) La Langostera, and Perla del Mare...all good and reports up soon.

Overall really enjoyed the RTCC. It has a lovely calm ambience as does the pool complex (use the heated one out of the summer!) Lots of places to eat and drink easily accessible (despite what some reviewers say about being out of the way...there are probably 30 bars and restaurants within a mile of the place!!). Accommodation is generally of a high standard and so are the staff. No hesitation in recommending...and we are quite fussy !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank applethug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your words of appreciation and recommendation, we are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at Royal Tenerife Country Club and found our location suitable to your needs. We do hope that we will have another opportunity to offer you a warm welcome again in the future!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a spacious apartment which was well equipped. Room safe cost 10euros a week.
Shop just adequate but prices high. Pool bar food is basic.
Most English TV channels available. Ipod docks in lounge.
They never quite resolved smell from drains. Jacuzzi bath interesting but outlet plug only reached by climbing in bath before filling. No extractor unit in bathroom or shower.
Room serviced every other day but this is not stated in resort book.
Car park is too small. We could not get a place even at 15euros a week. I presume you must have to book in advance.
We had to walk at least 5mins from nearest available car park.
The resort is away from the rest of Golf del Sur and takes 20-25 mins to walk. Taxis are cheap & there is a bus service with regular but infrequent times.
All restaurants found on Tripadvisor are 2-3km away.

Room Tip: Some apartments are quite a long way from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalesman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

We would like to first of all thank you for your review. We apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to some of the maintenance issues you encountered during your stay. However, we hope this has not marred your overall experience and that you may visit us again the future!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have been regular guests at the RTCC and have been most pleased with all aspects of the resort. The accommodation is of course varied, inevitable during a programme of upgrading, but it is of a generally high standard. Furnishings are consistently of a good quality and the staff are exceptional - nothing is ever too much trouble for them. I don't understand the criticism of the pool bar. The food is exceptional and very good value for money. It is probably not so good for guests who want instant service and burgers and chips - this is after all Tenerife - so make the most of it, enjoy exceptional cuisine at an affordable price. The staff are actually very pleasant when you make the effort and extend a reasonable level of politeness. I have experienced two disappointing meals at the Cafe Med [inappropriately named given the outlook of the resorts car park!!] - which seems to be popular with some guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We are really pleased that you enjoy staying at the Royal Tenerife Country Club, and that your experiences here have been so positive! We strive to provide excellent service to all our guests, and we’re delighted that our team have been able to provide you with all the assistance and information you’ve needed during your visits. We hope you’ll go on to have many more lovely holidays here in the future – we can’t wait to see you again!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
0.6 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,760 reviews
26.5 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,073 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset View Club
Sunset View Club
#2 of 30 in San Miguel de Abona
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tenerife Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tenerife Country Club

Address: Complejo San Andres | Calle San Andres, Golf del Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $94 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Tenerife Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against rising hills amid the greens of the challenging Golf del Sur course, Royal Tenerife Country Club is a resort designed with relaxation in mind.The furnished accommodations boast sumptuous marble bathrooms and beautifully outfitted kitchens. Outside there are attractive, subtropical gardens, but the focal point of Royal Tenerife Country Club is its large and beautifully landscaped swimming pool.Out and about you will find that a relaxed atmosphere pervades, while the fish restaurants in the nearby village of Los Abrigos are simply too good to ignore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Tenerife Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tenerife Country Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Royal Tenerife Country Club Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing