We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Andres Villas And Apartments .... Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Tenerife Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at Royal Tenerife Country Club. Myself & my family had a fantastic time. I have stayed on this resort before booking directly with Diamond Resorts, however this time we decided to book with San Andres Villas & Apartments. We were not disappointed. The communication with Vanessa & Natalie before our arrival was excellent, they sent detailed photos of the villa that we had chosen, I emailed hours before leaving the Uk asking silly questions .... Like was there a hair dryer, do we need towels ect and I received a reply straight away. We were given all the information we needed, taxi costs, local supermarkets ect, our booking could not of gone any easier.
We arrived on a very late flight, and were given maps & keys ect, we found our villa very easily.
The following morning we met Vanessa & Natalie, they were fab, asking if we needed anything else, if the villa was ok ect and to just shout if we need anything.
In my opinion the guest service was first class.
Reading the other persons review I was quite miffed as our experience was so great and talking to other guests throughout the week had nothing but positive things to say about San Andres.
Our DVD player broke (we had two children, so to them this was quite important) and Vanessa had replaced it within 15minutes.... That's what I call service!!
Our villa was fab, everything we needed. The little touches upon arrival were great... Milk, tea, toilet roll ect. The villa was clean, very modern and comfy. Plasma tv, BBQ, washing machine, spa bath. The list is endless....

The actual resort itself is very clean. Rubbish cleared daily, sun loungers re positioned at the end if each day.
We ate several times in cafe med, yes it's virtually in the car park however the food was excellent, service great & very friendly. The pool bar I wouldn't recommend if I'm being honest. The quality was not great, lots of cheap fried rubbish, cheap paper napkins and non branded sauces ( in sachets) for what it was it was pretty expensive. We saw a massive cockroach run across the floor when we were there - which in fairness is never a good sign! And as we spent many hours lounging around the pool I noticed that they use a shopping trolly to take the days rubbish to the dustbin area.... The same trolly is also used to bring the food shopping into the restaurant on their shopping trips.... Maybe I'm just being picky as I am in the restaurant industry. However germs spread and no one wants to be ill on their holiday.

I have travelled extensively and paid a lot of money in other villas that were not as great as the one we just rented.

I would defiantly recommend booking through Vanessa & Natalie at San Andres, great prices, excellent service And so friendly.

Myself & my family have already decided to re book with them for next year.

Room Tip: We rented villa 6 it was great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goffsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It is our mission to deliver excellent service and ensure that our guests can enjoy their holiday in comfort and it seems we were able to contribute to you having a worry-free stay with us. We appreciate the opportunity to be of service to you and our team will not go unrecognized for what appears to have been a great performance. We sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you and offer you an excellent stay; until then we wish all the best on your future travels!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Royal Tenerife Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 542 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from a super week here. Usually stay at the palm beach club which has gone into rapid decline. What a breath if fresh air it was here. Staff, without exception are wonderful especially Alana. Will def be back especially as you can now transfer weeks to Diamond direct I believe with no transfer costs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexismeechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Have just spent a week here and it was first class. We liked the relaxed chilled atmosphere, the spacious airy apartment and the wonderful swimming pools. Staff and the facilities were great, and it was a pleasant change to find sunbeds available at any time. We usually stay at Santa Barbara but will now be coming back to The Royal Tenerife Country Club!

Room Tip: We had a great two bed room(sleeps 6) overlooking the pool, it was great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A great quality resort with everything you need for a chilling holiday.Not if you need organised entertainment to fill your day and night.
Don`t miss Cafe Med - Great food and hospitality from Lesley and David

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay, we hope to see you again soon!

Cristina Gonzalez
resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from 10 days at the Royal Tenerife Country Club and on the whole a very nice resort. There's a very relaxed feel around the pool and its not too crammed. We had a 2 bed apartment with patio and BBQ which was good. They are getting refurbs later in the year so shall be even better next year. The only let down for me was the pool bar. Food is dross and it lacks being the life and soul of the resort. Needs new management pronto. Because of this there's next to no nightlife or entertainment on the resort. An opportunity missed but have booked for next year so hope they improve.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in March for a family holiday, had 2, 2 bed apartments and 7 of us stayed including our 9 year old grandson and 84 year old dad. Overall impression was excellent, the apartments were huge with a large terrace and we were facing the kiddies pool and playground which was great for us. There were 2 other pools, one of which surrounded the pool bar which was nice but cold the other was a heated pool, much better in March!! There was also a gym, jacuzzi and arcade games room, another restaurant and small supermarket and cash machine. All very handy as the plaza was a bit of a walk, too far for our dad but we had a car. The resort itself is lovely but you do get aircraft noise which can be quite loud but at least not at night. Golf course very close to hand as is a large pharmacy. Location wise the resort is a bit out of the way but with a hire car or local busses not too bad. Would not recommend this resort to people with walking difficulties.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy-the-Postie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just back from a 2 week holiday at the RTCC.

Overall rating.. we think this is a good entry level 3 star.

Best bits..
Excellent customer services, all the staff were great! Maids visited every day (bins emptied every day & accommodation cleaned every other day). Facilities & pool areas are excellent.

Worse bits..
Accommodation wasn't up to usual diamond standard. Weathered, dated & in need of a refurb. Safe/Wifi/Shop/Laundry can be expensive additions. Noise from 1st floor residents.

Review.
Having stayed previously in Golf Del Sur (Santa Barbara) we knew the trip from the airport was a piece of cake, €15 taxi & 10 mins away..

Approach to the Royal Tenerife.. first impressions weren't great.. I can't see the reception..our hotel entrance appears to be a busy car park. It doesn't look like a country club.

Check in was excellent.. no problems at all, as usual the Diamond staff were on top of their game & it was an easy, pleasant check in experience.

On to the rooms.. We'd booked a 2 bedroom apartment, our son was supposed to be travelling with us & dropped out last minute. The accommodation is villa/terrace style, usually with accommodation either side & 1 floor above.

A 2 bedroom apartment sleeps 6 (2 good sized bedrooms & sofa bed in the main living space) 1 main bathroom & 1 shower room.

The bedrooms are air-conditioned & spotlessly clean. Plenty of space with TV, dressing tables & wardrobes.. not many clothes hangers though.. so if you're here for 2 weeks.. expect to use the shelf space for clothes.

Main living area was somewhat weathered & dated.. yes there's a nice new Sony TV & again air-conditioned like most Diamond properties, however soft furnishings were dirty/stained & had seen better days..

Main bathroom at first glance seemed ok.. a bit of 70's style colour with his & hers sinks, toilet, bidet & Jacuzzi (yep a jacuzzi). closer inspection revealed a few problems.. nothing major.. but just annoyances that make the difference. No ventilation, just a set of sliding doors that lead out to an open air space between overlooking properties… the doors were extremely difficult to open/close and lock. Jacuzzi sounds great, until you switch it on & smell the rancid remains of the previous occupants.. If you are going to use this, make sure you run a couple of times with the doors open.. it's horrid, so much so that we couldn't bear to use this. There was no shower in the main bathroom so this was a little inconvenient.

2nd bathroom is more of a typical en-suite kind of design... shower, toilet & wash basin, a bit on the small side it was perfectly adequate for a 2 person stay, no shower screen though.. just one of those annoying curtains that seem to do nothing except stick to your body when showering.

Kitchen, well equipped galley style, everything worked fine.. no problem at all for 2 people, i think cooking for 4 or more may prove challenging. There was an unusual smell in here, we couldn't pinpoint its origin as everything was very clean.. no window or ventilation in here, just a back door & outdoor utility space. There is a small problem with ants & insects at this resort so make sure you wipe down before you prep any food.

Back garden, with 2 sun beds, table & chairs. Sun beds again had seen better days, ripped & very tatty.. no big deal.. just details that make the difference. There's also a built in BBQ for residents to use.. however this was dirty with old rotten food stuck to it.. i'd recommend just using the throw away BBQ's which are readily available from local shops.

Grounds/Gardens/Pool areas, all very well looked after. There is a Spa & gym area here, but I didn't use it, other residents seem to rate it very highly.

Pool, seen a few complaints about the water being cold.. it seemed fine to me. Pool bar.. ok for snacks.. not great standard to be honest, but it's fairly cheap & convenient, the staff can be a little short tempered when busy. There is an additional restaurant just outside the main reception area called Cafe Med, which was a good quality pub grub type eatery.

This resort is out of the way, there is a shop just outside reception, it's expensive & ok for convenience/essentials. Nearest supermarket is 5-10 min drive.. I'd recommend hiring a car. Tenerife has some lovely places to visit.. Canedelaria, Vilaflor, Teide National Park & Garachico were my 3 favourite places.

I've stayed in a lot worse places, Royal Tenerife Country Club is a popular destination, plenty go back year after year.. however it's a little too rough around the edges for me.. I can't see me staying here again..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

It is very important to us to deliver excellent quality of accommodations and service every time and it is with great disappointment that we read that on this occasion we were not entirely successful. As you may know all Diamond properties are slowly undergoing a full refurbishment, however, the progression rate differs between properties. It appears that you may have stayed in an apartment awaiting the scheduled update. Although we believe these are still suitable for guest occupation, the housekeeping issues you have mentioned are not our usual standard and we would be interested in knowing which apartment you occupied. Please contact us directly to advise and we will be able to investigate this issue. We hope that you had an otherwise pleasant stay, however, and we wish you all the best on your future travels.

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
0.6 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,744 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
723 reviews
26.5 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,047 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset View Club
Sunset View Club
#1 of 30 in San Miguel de Abona
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#8 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tenerife Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tenerife Country Club

Address: Complejo San Andres | Calle San Andres, Golf del Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $97 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Tenerife Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against rising hills amid the greens of the challenging Golf del Sur course, Royal Tenerife Country Club is a resort designed with relaxation in mind.The furnished accommodations boast sumptuous marble bathrooms and beautifully outfitted kitchens. Outside there are attractive, subtropical gardens, but the focal point of Royal Tenerife Country Club is its large and beautifully landscaped swimming pool.Out and about you will find that a relaxed atmosphere pervades, while the fish restaurants in the nearby village of Los Abrigos are simply too good to ignore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Tenerife Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tenerife Country Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Royal Tenerife Country Club Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing