We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Tenerife Country Club by Diamond Resorts
Nearby Hotels
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas(San Miguel de Abona)
$84
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sunset View Club by Diamond Resorts(San Miguel de Abona)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Muthu Royal Park Albatros(San Miguel de Abona)
$49
$43
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club by Diamond Resorts(San Miguel de Abona)(Great Value!)
$50
$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa(San Miguel de Abona)(Great Value!)
$93
$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Aguamarina Golf Hotel(Golf del Sur)
$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairways Club(San Miguel de Abona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Finca Vista Bonita(San Miguel de Abona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveler rating
273
220
61
16
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
220
61
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe meddiamond resortsel intipool barminute walksmall heated poolsan blasgolf del surone way systemmain bathroomsized bedroomssteam roomsmall supermarket on siteclose to the airportbed apartmentmaster bedroomcar hire
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 584 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days in the last week of June 2013. The Royal Tenerife Country Club is a wonderful place for relaxation. Not crowded - that's what we want. Lovely, clean and fresh accommodation. The pillows are very soft. We were supposed to buy a couple of pillows but our luggages are already full. I wonder if we can buy them in one of their Diamond Partners here in Dublin? Also they have great facilities such as wifi (very good as we have 2 teenager kids with us) and book/DVD library to name a few. Staff is very friendly and helpful, special mention to Ivan and Jose at the front desk. Excellent food served at the restaurant beside the pool. We'd like to come back again. We miss the place already

Room Tip: Choose number 42. It's just beside the pool. You won't regret it, I promise
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edwin732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed in the Royal Tenerife Country Club for the last two weeks of June 2013.

The one and two story complex is set on a golf course about five minutes by car from the airport and consists of a series of one and two bedwoom apartments laid out in an elongated V shape, with the pool area and reception at the widest part of the site. The reception area is fairly un-assuming and in line with the improvements that are ongoing in the complex looks like it has been upgraded, however a couple of vacant shop-type units let down the overall quality of this area. Car parking, with control barrier and security guard, is very tight at the reception area with overflow parking available at the Golf Club a couple of hundred metres away. While it's a short walk you might consider this when bringing shopping home, as it's an uphill walk.

The pool area is one of the highlights of the complex with three separate pools, a heated salt water spa pool, a shallow salt water kids pool and a circular unheated pool around the onsite restaurant and bar plus a small kids playground. There is ample lounging space plus a huge number of loungers and this area along with the rest of the open spaces is well planted and very well maintained by the grounds staff. All the pools have superb water quality and a life guard is on duty daily up to 6pm, when effectively the pools close. Thankfully, this obviates the need for booking sun loungers with a towel, you'll always find a space but maybe not one of the fixed sun umbrellas.

The complex can be subject to strong easterly winds and as it's located on a slightly elevated site gets the full force of the wind, great for keeping cool while sun-bathing but it might prove difficult for those tee shots on the golf course.

The pool bar/restaurant (El Inti) serves pretty much the same fare as offered in many of the eateries around the various local beaches etc, however in the main the quality was better and prices a bit lower, so it would be possible to stay on site if you do not wish to travel. The other small bar outside the main area was untried, so I cannot comment.

A sizeable number of units are not available for letting as they are owner occupied, our accomodation was a two bedroom apartment (all two bed units are on the ground floor) as described in other reviews, with three separate air conditioning units one in each bedroom and the living room. The decor and bedrooms had clearly been upgraded in the recent past, however the living room furniture was getting a little tired. The bathrooms could also do with a bit of a lift at this stage even though the main one off the master bedroom had a jacuzzi bath. Although capable of sleeping six, with two on the fold-out sofa, four would be the maximum for comfort. The kitchen, although small, was very well equipped including an ironing board and iron (there is a Laundry Room on site), and there was an i-pod dock and flat screen TV in the main bedroom and living room. The ouside area was quite spacious, with a terraced area and small garden facing the sun up to evening time, though not all units have the same outside space or orientation.

If you intend getting out from the complex I think a car would be essential, as it's a bit of a walk to local eateries and an uphill walk back. Although a bus stop is located at the bottom of the entrance driveway, we did not use the service, as we had a car for the two weeks (petrol is €1.05 per litre on the island!) Los Christianos and Los Americas are about 15 minutes away with standard holiday fare, excellent beaches and an abundance of shopping. Siam Park water facility is twenty minutes away and while excellent was a bit expensive at €100 for three adults for the day plus refreshments.

During our stay there was a number of ongoing improvements being made to the complex (painting and plastering of the outside areas), but this was all very low-key and not disruptive. There also appers to be ongoing improvements to the lettable units, to bring them up to four star standard, so try to book one of these units if possible.

We were hugely impressed with the quality and assistance from the various staff members we met, in particular the reception crew, although the friendliness experienced extended to the room service and grounds keepers, so well done to the management on this aspect of the experience. A slight niggle was the request for €28 per week for wi-fi access, €3 per day for the room safe and the same for a car parking space, given the striving for four star standard, these should be added to the overall cost of the accomodation.

To conclude, the Royal Tenerife Country Club offers something a bit different from the standard package in Tenerife, the complex is very quiet (the aeroplanes going into/out of TFS are not an issue), although a bit remote if you want some activity other than the pools, on site gym and a round of golf or tennis. The pool area is a real winner, even better than some five star accomodation we have used and would be a major plus for families of all ages wishing to visit.

Although already a nice complex, when all the improvments to the units are completed, this will be a superb resort and one of the best for the price we have used, just remember it's not near any beaches or other restaurants, so think about the transport before booking!

Robert Chester 4/7/13

Room Tip: As per other reviews, try to book one of the upgraded apartments if possible!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very enjoyable relaxing holiday. The accommodation was well sized for four adults with a huge balcony perfect for bbq's etc.2 nice sized bedrooms and 2 good bathrooms.The resort is very close to the airport, but I enjoyed watched the planes coming and going, and you get used to the noise. The resort was clean when we arrived and was regularly cleaned throughout our stay. Ants came in the kitchen, (not all that surprising as it is hot and we often left windows open), one quick spritz and they are gone. The man who was often at reception was very friendly and saw to all of our needs. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

OK staff lovely. Pools freezing. Wind (which of course they can't help) unbearable. And quiet? Well if you want silence this is the resort for you............................

Booked an elite apartment and downgraded to a standard which was much better (yes strange). The refurbished apartments are much better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayitasitis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate. The team at Royal Tenerife Country Club work extremely hard to ensure our guest’s needs are taken care of so we are pleased their hospitality was apparent to you during your stay. Due to the resorts elevated position we do experience windy conditions however this is usually appreciated whilst it is hot.
The resort is fairly quiet and is away from the hustle and bustle of Play de las Americas which suits many of our guests looking for some sun and relaxation.
We’re pleased that we were able to offer you alternative accommodation which suited your requirements.
Although this may not be the ideal resort for yourselves, we do hope you enjoyed your time at RTCC.

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Visited Royal Tenerife Country Club with my husband and 24 year old daughter for 2 weeks in June. This was our 1st visit to the Golf del Sur so we didn't know what to expect. The resort is very spread out so you might have a long walk to the pool, this can be your daily exercise to walk off the excess of holiday food and drink. There is a kids pool which was not used much on our second week as the parents brought the kids to the heated pool which to be honest did spoil it a bit for adults looking to swim for exercise. The other pool although lovely which you swim under little bridges is absolutely freezing, you could see the shock on peoples faces when they dipped their toes in, it was quite funny actually. As the title says, plenty of sun loungers so you can actually have a lie in and still get a lounger at any time of day. Also apartments have loungers on the patios so if you are not a pool person then you can sun bathe in your own private space. Some of the apartments overlook the golf courses, ours didn't but when we go next time, we would request one of these. We had a 2 bed apartment which was very spacious with a patio, garden and built in bbq. Cleaning is every 2 days but I was a bit dissappointed that unlike other Diamond resorts the maids didn't pay any attention to sweeping the patio on a regular basis. Although normally windy on the Golf del Sur, we were told that the winds whilst we were there were excessive however it kept us cool during the day but made it too cold to sit out on the patio at night which was disappointing, Unfortunately we can't control the weather. We didn't start using the new Spa until the last few days and wish we had used it sooner, it is lovely and immaculate. We visited El Inti the Pool bar most days for lunch and the food was good. They have a sign up saying daily Happy Hour but unfortunately nobody told the staff what this meant, we paid 7 euros for a pint shandy, a vodka and lemonade and a coke at happy hour, thought it might have been cheaper or we would get 2 drinks but we didn't. We used Café Med the Bistro on the complex 8 out of our 14 nights as the food was good and very reasonable. David & Lesley the owners are fab and like to get to know all their customers. They make you feel very welcome. David on Reception was immaculate, professional and very friendly, nothing was any trouble. Alanna the Concierge will help you with anything you need. Cheap to jump on a bus to Los Cristianos or Las Americas. Plenty of walks round about, to the Marina, to San Blas, to Los Abrigos along the coastal path. Do not be put off with the airport being close by, you can join in the game of guess what airline is coming in next that everyone seemed to play, to be honest watching the planes taking off and landing was quite therapeutic. This is a very child friendly resort with playparks, video games room, dvd free rental library, free book exchange. Would certainly recommend this resort to everyone wanting to chill out on their holiday and let their stresses float away. There is an onsite supermarket which bakes fresh baguettes and croissants each morning. However if you need a lot of shopping I would recommend a walk or a taxi to the Mercadona up near the main road. A definite taxi ride back to your apartment with all your shopping, prices here are very reasonable including the alcohol. Cheapest place to buy alcohol locally is Spanish Style shop in San Blas, do not wait till you go back to the Airport. Loved our time at this resort. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment that overlooks one of the golf courses or overlooks the pool.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MysteryShopper60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a comprehensive review of your time spent at Royal Tenerife Country Club and it looks like you really enjoyed your holiday. The apartments do have different aspects so be sure to send through any special requests you have if you do choose to come and stay again. The reception team do their best to allocate apartments based on the preferences received. We will be sure to pass on your thanks to Cafe Med, reception and our concierge team who will always go that extra mile to help satisfy our guest’s requests.

We hope to welcome you back to RTCC soon.

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews