We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Tenerife Country Club by Diamond Resorts
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Aparthotel Green Park(Golf del Sur)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Select Sunningdale(San Miguel de Abona)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    Muthu Royal Park Albatros(San Miguel de Abona)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf(San Miguel de Abona)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Beachfront
    El Nautico Suites(San Miguel de Abona)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Aguamarina Golf Hotel(Golf del Sur)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (576)
    Filter reviews
    576 results
    Traveler rating
    270
    217
    59
    16
    14
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    270
    217
    59
    16
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscafe meddiamond resortsel intipool barminute walksmall heated poolsan blasgolf del surone way systemmain bathroomsized bedroomssteam roomsmall supermarket on siteclose to the airportbed apartmentmaster bedroomcar hire
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    339 - 344 of 576 reviews
    Reviewed April 19, 2013

    Stayed here from the 9th of April for 9 nights. After reading reviews we were looking forward to the holiday. On arrival we were told that room wasnt ready and to come back at 4, which we did only to find the 2 bed apartment with garden had a leak !! and was offered a first floor one bed no garden. Had to carry own bags, no real direction and no welcome pack as previously offered. Wasn't happy to say the least. Had to wait until the next day to move, so lost 1.5 days holiday waiting about living out of suitcase and not able to relax. Reception staff not very friendly until we met Ivan, nice man and very friendly and apologetic. Not the best start but we were happy to move to the 2 bed the next day, a refund offered but not yet seen ?. Anyway we had an un refurbed apartment which was pretty dated but enough for our needs. The garden by far the best feature. The next day we found ants in our bread that was in the cupboard. There are lots of ants on ground floor apartments, so much so they actually have ant and bug spray in the cupboard. See pictures for proof. Not nice. In the end we had to eat out. We got locked out about 5-6 times as key didn't work. Excuse was don't put it near your phone.... Got back to the apartment one night to find no power, had to flick to power back on myself and report to reception as there must be some electrical fault but happened again the next day, never found out why. My son loves football, so off we go to the play area... Oh my god, this was awful, the back of 'football pitch' was the dumping ground for rubbish, rubble glass etc. disgusting and should be closed off as its extremely dangerous. Again, see pics. Overall a typical 2-3 star stay, no way a diamond resorts 4-5 star. They appear to be refurbing apartments but too little to late for us...wouldn't stay again.

    Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    Thank Kayandrob
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We would like to apologise for any delay you may have experienced during your check-in process, however we would take this opportunity to advise that 4pm is the scheduled check-in time and although we try and prepare the apartments for guest occupation prior to this time, this regretfully is not always possible.
    We regret that there was an issue with your apartment, unfortunately, facility failure does happen sometimes and we always try to repair any malfunction as soon as possible.
    We are sorry to read of the situation you encountered with ants in your accommodation. The resort does take preventative measures to reduce the appearance of these insects, and while this is something that is very difficult to completely eradicate, we would like to assure you that the situation is monitored on a regular basis by the resort staff. We are very sorry for any disruption caused to your holiday by this incident. We do hope that this has not marred your stay with us, we wish to have an opportunity to welcome you again at Royal Tenerife Country Club.

    Cristina Gonzalez
    Resort Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 15, 2013

    We stayed at this resort at the end of March 2013, it was one of the best exchanges we have been to. The resort was quite quiet except for the noise of the planes however as everyone has agreed we got used to it. The whole place was kept spotlessly clean, the double bed was enormous and the most comfortable bed ever, a change from most timeshares we've been to, the staff were lovely and always willing to help. The apartment was spacious and decorated well, all in all we were very, very happy with our week. There is also a good bus route which runs into Americas and Christianos which we used a couple of times. Nearby is Las Blas and the Marina which we felt was perfect for us - about a 15 minute walk from the complex. We are going back next year.

    Room Tip: We stay in room 106 which was near the shop, cafe, reception and pool area.
    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank 562Margaret
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 10, 2013

    first time stay here, part Diamond Resorts, part private ownership, not far from Tenerife airport so get planes flighing over, but soon get used to it. accommodation was fabulous very spacious great patio area to eat out and relax away from pool, lovely views over golf course. facilities excellent 3 pools (although mind your head going under low bridges on one of them), sunbeds, spa, gym, tennis, table tennis, pool table, close to golf courses and putting etc. can only get internet access in reception area at the moment. restaurants/bar on site a bit pricey but 15 min walk to more reasonable bars/restaurants and decent supermarket. staff on site very helpful especially Alanna. would recommend and hope to be back soon.

    Room Tip: room no.59 was fabulous 2 bed bungalow very spacious as was adapted for disabled, great patio area to eat out and relax away from pool, lovely views over golf course.
    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Dianne S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

    We are thrilled to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and received great service from our staff. Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent visit to Royal Tenerife Country Club with your fellow travellers. We look forward to hosting you again!

    Cristina Gonzalez
    Resort Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 3, 2013

    My family and I have been coming here for many years - Usually a summer holiday treat.

    I have been in all seasons, and even during peak season, there is always plenty of room by the pool and it’s not over crowded.

    The staff are always very helpful and are ready and willing to go the extra mile to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

    Location is perfect – only 30mins from the airport and right by a bus stop (We usually rent a car though). The onsite shop is great for essentials and you’re within walking distance of 2 supermarkets and the local shopping parade.

    I know of 2 beaches within walking distance and there are plenty within a short drive.

    The villas on offer and superb and great for single, couple or family occupants.

    I have stayed here, with my family and with the ‘lads’ as it accommodates for everyone (don’t be put off by the ‘lads’ – this is the quiet part of Tenerife, so it’s more of a relaxing ‘lads’ holiday, rather than a loud one)

    The only thing that lets the place down is the restaurant on the front of the reception as you enter the car park. – They are not part of the Country Club, they just rent the unit there.
    The day we arrived, we were exhausted and just wanted food, so we turned up as it was the easiest thing to do. At first the owner was very happy to see customers and invited us in and sat us down. It then took him 20 minutes to offer us drinks (we were the only people in there, so he wasn’t busy).
    When we finally got our food, it was cold and there were 2 LONG hairs in mine and a bit of nail in my sons.

    When we complained, the ‘chef’ (his wife) come out and got really upset by our complaint and started accusing us of ‘sabotaging’ her dish. (The hairs were peroxide blonde and the bit of nail was pink – just like hers).

    DO NOT LET THIS PUT YOU OFF THOUGH! Everything else is brilliant there 

    Room Tip: Rooms to the north of the complex give a great view of Teide and are away from the wet of the pool
    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank 806ChrisE
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 30, 2013

    This resort was lovely with nice pools and parkk for the kids, the room and cleaniless was perfect and nice that as we were in a villa apartment we had our own private garden. Unfortunately my children became ill and the weather was poor and rained for the whole week so let the holiday down and we were no able to enjoy the pool etc so unforunately ruined our experience here but im sure if the kids were well and weather was better we would of had a great time. Only bad point is that as its so close to the airport I could almost see the people in the airplane as they flew overead!

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank boud2612
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

    We are saddened to read that the weather has prevented you from fully enjoying your stay and that your children were unwell-we sincerely hope they are better now! Thank you for sharing such a positive review regardless, we are looking forward to giving you another warm, and hopefully sunny, welcome back at Royal Tenerife Country Club!

    Cristina Gonzalez
    Resort Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews