We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Tenerife Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
york
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely resort”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in February and early March this year and really enjoyed our stay. Our first floor apartment was spacious and incredibly private, not overlooked at all, even though we had next door neighbours in residence. The resort is lovely and quiet, and although the planes are noisy and low during the day they don't fly at night, and don't spoil the peace too much.
It is a bit irritating as someone else mentioned that you can only plug one appliance in at one time, as there is only a single socket in the kitchen, maybe think about providing a double adapter?
The staff work so hard to keep everything imaculately clean and the apartment was spotless. However, on reading Diamond Resorts blurb on how they pride themselves on their "Green Credentials" it's a bit surprising that they do no recycling of glass/paper/plastic. Everything is just thrown in together. Also, towels are changed far too frequently, why not just ask those who require clean towels to leave them in a pile by the door or in the bath? Ours seemed to be changed practically everyday, even when they had not even been used.
If I had to pick out one member of staff for their helpfulness, it would be Pablo on reception, nothing was too much trouble for him, our t.v was not tuned in to the British Channels and he imediately arranged for it to be done. His restaurant recommendations were also spot on. Quite frankly he could work for any 5 Star Hotel in London.
RTCC is a lovely resort and I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing holiday in the sun.
It is also nice to have Cafe Med on your doorstep, as their food is lovely and it's good to have somewhere close to eat if you don't feel like walking down to San Blas or Los Abrigos. Having said that, even though we didn't have a car we didn't mind, as it's only a 20 min walk to San Blas and 30 mins or so to Los Abrigos, and you can always get a taxi back if neccessary.
If you want to have a good supermarket shop when you arrive, definitely go to Mercadona at Las Chafiros, you can walk there (30 mins), Reception will point you in the right direction, and you can get a cab back. It's got a good fresh fish counter, as well as being cheap and worth stocking up for the rest of your holiday. The supermarket in San Blas is good too, better than having to face the miseries who run the minimart at RTCC.

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing one overlooking the sea and golf course. If you are boooking a one bedroomed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickypYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to provide such a detailed review following your stay at Royal Tenerife Country Club. We are pleased to read that everything was up to your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay. We are currently in the process of changing the cleaning rotas and we have decreased the number of mid week cleans for stays under 7 days long, we are also planning to introduce recycling bins to our properties.
We are sorry if you have experienced any inconvenience; we would like to assure you that we take the environmental issues very seriously and we are working towards diminishing the impact we could potentially have on the local flora and fauna.
We hope to see you again soon!

Cristina Gonzalez
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    203
    50
    13
    11
See reviews for
224
199
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from a week at RTCC as part of our Diamond Resorts timeshare.
Been here several times before, but this was the best quality accommodation as it had been refurbished. This is the quality I expect for my annual management fee.
The grounds are well presented and the staff always pleasant and helpful.
Tuesdays and Fridays are the busy days for planes arriving and departing from the nearby airport, but you soon get used to the noise.
Lots of lovely places to eat in San Blas and down in the bottom of the resort. Whilst we enjoyed eating at several places, our favourite is the Pizzaria Golf - great food, great price and lovely staff - the highlight of our visits to Tenerife.
The only downside is the distance to the parking at the local golf club, particularly if you've been shopping at the supermarket near the motorway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PRFSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
260 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Having a timeshare week to exchange again, and having enjoyed Tenerife enough last year, and still with plenty to see and do, we exchanged in to this place. We were a little wary as it is only classified as a Silver Crown resort, and we had been a bit disappointed with the previous year's Gold Crown, but reviews on both RCI and here on Tripadvisor seemed to indicate that it was good. Well they were right as in most aspects it is better than last year. It is near the airport yes, but not as much of a disturbance as you'd think. Parking at the nearby golf course car park is fine, a good 5 minute stroll. Check in was quick and easy, and no unexpected charges when we checked out. Our apartment was large, clean, airy and once the shutters were opened was very light. Ground floor apartments have a patio and small garden complete with full size barbecue and chimney, first floor ones appeared to have a roof terrace. Although we didn't use it the pool area was lovely and large. There is free wifi in reception. We used Cafe Mer three times, the sangria was the loveliest we've ever had, and the food is a god quality and portion size, with enough variety to satisfy three visits easily. We didn't use the pool bar/restaurant but it also provided a good choice of food, of a more British menu. To sum up, how this is Silver Crown compared to our previous year's resort baffles us.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Colincoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Looking for some winter sun and a relaxing week - this resort was quiet and the apartment very spacious and well equipped. The week in Feb was extremely windy but it was okay whilst the sun was out though too cold to swim. Other places on the island were not windy so you could get away to much hotter sheltered sun.
There is a heated pool and the area is clean and there's a pool bar/restaurant which we only used once though they were friendly. The apartment was comfortable and great big bed ours was quite a way from the pool and reception. There seemed to be cleaners every other day and several towel changes.
We chose not to have a car which meant we walked the 15 mins to San Blas where there are some reasonable restaurants, but best choice was a 25 minute walk along the front to Los Abrigos the little harbour nearby. It's uphill on the way home but taxis easy to find and about £4.
The little shop on site was fine for basics and one of the ladies was extremely chatty and helpful. Staff on reception were friendly and informative but we didn't get an information pack for a couple if days - would have been useful first day. Not the best of Diamonds resorts we have been to but of their usual good standard.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the pool if you don't want to walk far
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuegeeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for the information and advice you’ve given about the Royal Tenerife Country Club, which we feel sure will be much appreciated by prospective guests. We’re really glad that you enjoyed your stay here!

We’re sorry to read that you didn’t get an information pack for the first two days of your stay – this shouldn’t have been the case, and the front desk team should have been able to provide one to you upon your request. We’re sorry for any inconvenience caused to you by this.

We really hope that this didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and we’d love for you to return. We hope we’ll see you again!

Kind regards
Dragana Jovanovic
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

we stayed in apt 117, i'm afraid it was tired and dated, you couldn't even have the kettle & toaster on at the same time!
the bed was very comfy.
the planes don't cause a bother.
they do charge 15 euros a week for car parking, worth it if you use your car daily.
they also charge for a safe, 10.5 euros a week.
great pool area & sun-beds.
cafe-med for dinner is average, best to go to the marina rest. on the coastal within el nautical suites.

Room Tip: request refurbished apt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joe w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We regret to read that you have not been fully satisfied with the standard of accommodation you have been offered at Royal Tenerife Country Club, however we do thank you for your feedback as it allows us to remain informed with regards to our guests' requirements and opinions. We would like to take this opportunity to advise that our resort is currently being refurbished and all our apartments should be brought up to the same standard very soon. Nevertheless, we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you and we hope this has not marred your stay or your future dealings with us.

Ivan Lorente
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Having read some of the comments from previous posts I have to agree with the majority. I booked last year through villas and golf and from the first communication with them the service was excellent. Nothing was a hassle no matter how petty and the villa was exactly what we needed for my group.

I have already booked for this year with us staying in the same villa and we're all looking forward to it. I am planning to hire a car for a few days too explore the island knowing I can park it on the complex safe and sound. So no complaints from us

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie7062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your review-we are delighted to read that your last vacation at Royal Tenerife Country Club has left you with a long lasting good impression and you have decided to pay us another visit. We trust it will be another great stay and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Ivan Lorente
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A great place to stay, we had a lovely 2 bed apartment with a lovely garden terrace to enjoy breakfast and the needs must, sundowners (gin and tonic as the sun goes down). Yes the planes were near but we didnt notice night time ones. Milk, bottled water, tea and coffeee to get you started when we arrived helped, as we arrived at 4am in the morning after a delayed flight. Luckily the place was spotless and flawless, all that you needed you had in comfort. Ideal golf retreat very relaxing even if watching from afar. Unfortunately what let this place down was the reception service, we wanted to stay longer or come back later that week but could not be told if any apartments were free and we had to look online and book from that, we tried a lot the internet receiver in reception was practically non existent! frustrating. we did later in the week get booked back into the apartment by booking with expedia from another hotel we were in, only to be told we had been double booked! when we arrived back! please be aware that a booking here is not always guaranteed it seems, if it is a late booking. Reception were un-co-operative with our problem which occured.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anastasia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is important to us to receive feedback from guests in order to ensure we continue to provide high level of service. Therefore, it comes as a disappointment to us to read that you have not been satisfied with the level of service you have received during your last visit at our resort. We assure you this most certainly is not the standard we are striving to achieve. This will of course be addressed with our reception staff.
We do trust this has not marred your future dealings with us; we hope we will have an opportunity to be of service to you again and we wish you all the best on your future travels.

Ivan Lorente
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Abona hotels
0.8 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.9 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset View Club
Sunset View Club
#1 of 27 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tenerife Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tenerife Country Club

Property: Royal Tenerife Country Club
Address: Complejo San Andres | Calle San Andres, Golf del Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Tenerife Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against rising hills amid the greens of the challenging Golf del Sur course, Royal Tenerife Country Club is a resort designed with relaxation in mind.The furnished accommodations boast sumptuous marble bathrooms and beautifully outfitted kitchens. Outside there are attractive, subtropical gardens, but the focal point of Royal Tenerife Country Club is its large and beautifully landscaped swimming pool.Out and about you will find that a relaxed atmosphere pervades, while the fish restaurants in the nearby village of Los Abrigos are simply too good to ignore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Tenerife Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tenerife Country Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Royal Tenerife Country Club Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing