We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset View Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset View Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at Sunset View Club for a week from 19th to 26th July and had a great time. Upon arrival, we were met at Reception by Hamid who was so friendly and helpful. Whilst we were waiting for our apartment to be ready, we were given free Sangria in the Restaurant which was a lovely touch. Our apartment (106) was the best apartment in the complex as the terrace faced right onto the swimming pool and we had our own private sunbeds which got the sun from midday onwards. The apartment was very clean and the bed was particularly comfortable.
The resort was fairly quiet the first few days of our holiday although got busier as the week went on. Towards the end of our stay there were quite a lot of children at the pool, which I'm told is unusual at this resort.
We ate out every night and can in particular recommend the Indian called Peshawri across the road at the San Blas centre, lovely food and service.
We also went on the Submarine trip which was great fun, but not sure if it was worth 50 Euro per person.
Overall a brilliant holiday and I would thoroughly recommend the Sunset View Club for a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sparky1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Sunset View Club, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review – we’re delighted to read that you had a great holiday at the Sunset View Club, and we hope to see you again!

Resort Manager
Dragana Jovanovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    115
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
96
214
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at Sunset View Club last week and had a thoroughly good time. We stayed in a refurbished room on the west side of the complex which proved to be very quiet. The standard of the refurbishment was exemplary and as a whole the apartment was clean modern and comfortable.

Our apartment had every conceivable utensil and appliance-wise there was an electric hob, microwave, toaster, kettle, juicer, coffee maker and a handheld whisk.

The pool at the complex is a decent size and there is a children's pool adjacent to the main pool as well as a jacuzzi.

The Diamond Resorts International guide warns about aircraft noise - the airport is about 3km to the east and aeroplanes seem to make their final approach about 0.5km north of Sunset Beach - but to be honest: it's barely noticeable after a few hours.

There is parking on-street adjacent to the complex and limited space in a gravel car park at the top by reception. Petrol was about €1.03/l whilst we were there.

The staff were very helpful and actually made an already enjoyable holiday even more memorable - for all the right reasons.

There was air-conditioning in the lounge and bedroom. We kept the a/c on in the bedroom overnight and couldn't hear the a/c unit outside at all.

One other thing to mention, our apartment (244) had a new Sony TV and separate DVD player in the lounge, whilst the bedroom had a Sony TV mounted in a recess on the wall facing the bed. They have about 200 channels including BBC 1+2, CBBC, Cbeebies, ITV, Channel 4 etc.


There is a small, and pretty much unusable beach at the end of the west esplanade. The nicest beach is a man made beach at the top of the island, just past Santa Cruz, at Las Teresitas however I imagine it's hard to get to if you don't have a car. The nearest good beach is at La Tejita, which is about 4km east of San Blas on road TF-643. The beach at La Tejita sits to the west of Mt. Roja which is a 161m rock jetting out of the beach just south of the airport. The cove is a little bit sheltered because of Mt. Roja but it can still have a strong current, and big waves.

We sampled the Indian restaurant behind the off-license/electrical shop. The food and service was impeccable - a meal for two with drinks was about €35. We also eat at the English-ran bar opposite where the food was very good - a three coarse meal for two people including wine came to €64.

The restaurant onsite at Sunset View Club is excellent. The menu is Italian and a supplementary menu offers English breakfasts and bar snacks. Spaghetti Bolognaise is about €7, fillet steak is about €14. The bar is reasonable too with a small beer costing just €1 before 6pm and just €1.50 thereafter.

The closest supermarket is very well stocked and is ideal for essentials but you would do well to use the bigger supermarket up the road, just off the Autopista at the top of route TF-643, for better prices.

Room Tip: Room's on the west side (129+ and 229+) will be quieter. Some rooms have not yet been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CanterburyAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Sunset View Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday at the Sunset Harbour Club!

We’re happy to look for alternative apartments for our guests if they request this, and we encourage all guests to speak to our reception team if they have any issues during their holiday, as we’ll do everything we can to sort out these issues on-site.

We hope that you’ll choose to return to the Sunset Harbour Club in the future, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Resort Manager
Anabel Santamaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Best resort there, has a mixture of ages and lots of nice people all friendly. Some of the apartments are better than others however free air con is always a plus you also have access to washing machine and drier not that you want to use them byt always nice to have. Apartment tv and englist/sat channels always a bonus and there is a nice little icelands just up the road for all your british needs as well as friendly folk on the square happy to sell you all the latest dvds for 5 euros

Always has children there in the hols and as some of the apartments are privately owned there is always someone there :-)

If its too quiet then head over to the aquare of down to the main hotel its a short walk to the beach and only 18 euros from the airport. Golf course in walking distance and plenty of villages nearby like los christianos which is a nice walk :-) of course if its party central you want then playa de las americas is only 20 mins away.

Room Tip: all nice :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1974-Travel-Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

When you think of Tenerife, you might imagine noisy streets lined with bars, restaurants serving pies & chips, and beaches crowded with Brits slowly turning into lobsters. Of course, such areas do exist, but the Sunset View Club resort is a different place entirely. This place provides self-catered apartments in a quiet road not far from the airport, with plenty of facilities available nearby. A short walk takes you down to a rocky beach, and a short bus ride will get you to either El Medano or Los Cristianos, both of which have sandy beaches. The complex itself is very clean, well maintained and has a pleasant pool area where you can relax on deckchairs or take a dip. The supermarket across the road will supply you with everything you need, and the choice of restaurants is decent. A short walk away is the beautiful town of Los Abrigos where you can dine on seafood and tapas to your heart's content. Car hire is available too, for a modest price, and the bus service (whilst infrequent) will connect you to other places on the island.

We had a great time and enjoyed the peace and tranquility. If you're looking for a sunny holiday with good food and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sunset View Club ticks all the right boxes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChiTheCynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just back from a nice 2 week break at Sunset View.
Accomodation is actually pretty similar to other Diamond International Resorts. A little dated but perfectly nice and the apartment was cleaned every other day as a mimimum, with clean bed sheets and towels. The only niggle I had was the floor in the bathroom was a little grubby when i wiped up spilt suncream but we didn't complain so can't really hold that against them.
We stayed in an apartment on the ground floor having the benefit of a garden area overlooking a dis-used bit of ground behind the resort. There are two sunbeds in the garden so you have the option to sunbath in the garden or by the pool. The garden had the sun from around 10.30am right through to the sun going down. Great!
Double bed in the bedroom and sofa bed in the living room. Bed was very comfy with fairly firm mattress. We didnt use the sofa bed but I can't imagine that would be a pleasant experience if there are more of two of you in a one bedroom apartment.
There is a kitchenette in the apartmeent with all utensils supplied. You only have a hob and microwave so are fairly limited as to what you can cook up but we managed to cook varied meals throughout our time there.
There is free wifi if you sit outside the reception area. You'll need to ask for the password but they're happy for you to use it. You'll also find most of the bars/cafes over the road offer free wifi if you're a paying customer.
The pool is of reasonable size and a decent number of sunbeds. We visited out of season with many free sunbeds every day but I imagine it gets quite busy in full season. There is a kids pool and jacuzzi also available. Life guard on duty all day every day.
There is a restaurant on site, we ate there just once and it was fine but nothing special. We have realised we're food snobs as found all restaurants disappointing in the San Blas area. There are many to choose from but they all reminded me of the type of restaurant Gordon Ramsay visits on Kitchen Nightmares; menus have hundreds of options with the chinese offering the same food as the Indian who also offers the same food as the Tapas etc etc. All food is pretty poor pub grub. No fresh food prepared on the day and nothing authentic. All bars and restaurants are owned by Brits and prices are cheap as they're all competing with each other. We found there was no real service offered in any of the bars or restaurants. The exceptions to the rule being the really cheesy named Tapas 'n' Chill. We ate there 3 times during our stay and whilst it was a little more expensive the food was cooked whilst you wait and was absolutely delicious. Service was also great and would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area. Its a 15 min walk from Sunset View but well worth it. We also enjoyed a nice slice of cake at Hattie's Tea Room, an older couple run it and all the cakes appear home made (its tucked behind the perfume store) and we enjoyed a coffee or beer daily at La Taberna, food wasn't great but staff were friendly and we enjoyed the free wifi.
We were very surprised how quiet the resort is this time of year. Apparently May/June are v quiet. Most nights we were one of a max of three couples eating in the restaurants.
Therefore this isn't the resort to go to if you're looking for a wild holiday but if you want to chill and enjoy the sun then this will do just fine. Also, If you're looking to soak up local culture and food then I'd suggest you give Tenerife a miss altogether as it seems the Brits run most of the bars and restaurants and only the Brits holiday there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wibsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

The resort is very quiet although we did go off season. There are a number of apartments that are privately owned, and the owners seem to gather together and blank the short stayers. The restaurant is very accomodating and the food is of a good standard. The staff at the resort are excellent, and will always go the extra mile for you. There is no entertainment at the resort but just opposite is San Blas which has restaurants and bars, and the restaurants chip in for singers to perform outside the various groups of bars. Be aware that this is also called Little Britain with a lot of ex pats living there. On more than one occasion, we found that the drinks recieved were of a different quantity to that given to the local Brits. The best place we found for night life was a bar called Volare near Santa Barbara Resort. Every night they had a different act and the compare was brilliant. Sunset View is on the flight path to the airport, but it never disturbed us, in fact it was interesting to see the various planes coming in. This area tends to be quite windy, and we were disturbed at night on occasions with the rattling front door.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the pool, as some rooms overlook waste ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gthehornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

In March of this year we visited the Diamond Resort of Sunset View Club, in the San Blas area of Golf Del Sur, Tenerife. It was our first trip to Tenerife and we were hoping that the resort would live up to the good reviews we had read on Tripadvisor, we needn't have worried, everything was exceptional! We arrived around T-time and after signing in went down to our apartment, which was on the 'quiet side' of the resort overlooking a strip of waste ground that had once been a golf driving range. Sunset View resort is laid out in two rows of two storey apartments with the facilities, restuarant, swimming pool and sun area down the middle. The ground floor apartments have a terrace with sunbeds etc., and the 1st floor apartments have balconies with tables and chairs and umbrellas. Our apartment was on the 1st floor overlooking the strip of waste ground with the sea to the left side of our view. A one bedroom apartment with decent sized bedroom and bathroom and ample space in the kitchen area. Everything was provided, cooking utensils, crockery and glasses. Maid service visited every day and our sheets and towels where changed twice during our week's stay. Everything was very clean with freshly painted walls in white with blue domes to the top of some of the apartments, looked a bit like Santorini! The mix of people was made up of middle aged to retired with a couple of families, but it was early in the season so not sure if this was the usual cliental. During our stay we had to ask reception to attend to a broken loo seat and, during a very windy day, our umbrella snapped off at the top. These were attended to almost immediately! The San Blas Commercial centre is just over the road with a few shops selling bits and bobs, a very good supermarket and a variety of restuarants. We tried almost all of the restuarants and all were good but the best restuarant of all was the one in the resort, Little Italy chain of restuarants. The food and staff were excellent! Yes, it was slightly more expensive than across the road in the San Blas centre but the staff were so attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I can recommend going to the Welcome Meeting, (yes I know they always try and sell you a vacation share, but they DO take no for an answer!) We used to stay away from welcome meetings until last year when we went all inclusive in Crete. If we hadn't gone to the meeting we would have missed a great day out up in the mountains by jeep! So we went to the Welcome Meeting and out of it we did a full day's Island Trip, which was very interesting, a half day visiting a Banana Plantation and a great trip on a Submarine!!! This went from San Miguel Harbour and I can highly recommend going on this. The submarine is approx. 30 meters long with goldfish bowl portholes along both sides. They send a diver out on a boat with you who attracts all sorts of Rays, and millions of colourful fish. Brilliant if you have kids and also brilliant if you are a 'big kid'!!! We shall definitely visit Sunset View again and cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet choose an apartment on the 'quiet side'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annandneilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Abona hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Tenerife Country Club
Royal Tenerife Country Club
#3 of 27 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunningdale
Sunningdale
#2 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset View Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset View Club

Property: Sunset View Club
Address: Calle San Blas s/n, 38639, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset View Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and the impressive 12,199 foot, snow capped Mount Teide volcano greet year round sunshine at Sunset View Club.At the heart of the Golf del Sur estate on the southern tip of Tenerife, you'll enjoy comfortable and relaxing accommodations where members may access adjoining tennis, squash and mini golf facilities, and golf lovers will relish the specially negotiated green fees for the prestigious PGA sanctioned course.Lounging at the beach, windsurfing and scuba diving are about five miles away, and high energy casinos are less than ten miles from this Moorish inspired, tiered resort off the coast of Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset View Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset View Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Sunset View Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing