We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent complex - shame about the planes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We got this deal through KGB deals for £99 and I had previously read the reviews on this site about the complex so I knew it was going to be okay. We were pleasantly surprised. Checking in was painless and the apartment was great, full kitchen and a welcome bottle of good red rioja was left for us - had air con too, although we didn't need it as it was November. The pool and bar/restaurant were excellent and the staff were lovely. As it has been mentioned though the sunbeds are a bit of a problem - there aren't enough and there is no room to put any more. The restaurants in the immediate area are, by and large, not very good - the only one I would recommend is the Marina 2 on the front. Also the fact that there was no beach was not good. The planes were annoying at first, but we got used to them.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rollerteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 973 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

Quite close to airport so, like most of Golf del Sur properties, aircraft passing low overhead all day 7am until midnight. Avoid rooms at back of complex - only view over dusty road.
No sunbeds on balcony, need to sit in crowded pool area to sunbathe. No aircon, only ceiling fans, so would very likely be uncomfortable in higher summer temperatures (was 30C in October). Otherwise appartment fine.
Suitable entertainment for more 'mature' travellers, yet all the steps in the complex would make it difficult for those with restricted movement. Reasonable bars and restaurants in immediate area, and San Blas (15 mins walk) has more, and a good supermarket (Taxi back with shopping 8euros but worth it, as uphill!) Good and cheap local buses to Los Cristianos and Las Americas for better beaches and very lively entertainment (mostly of the type angled at British younger folk!)
Overall not a bad base for seeing Tenerife, but would not be likely to choose it again. Costa Adeje would be a better choice of base, I feel

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pob-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

the complex was ok but looks larger on the photos.We were supposed to have a 2 bed apt but was only given a 1 bed as they said they were full. The staff were pleasent apart from one lady called lola who was really rude she wouldnt let us eat inside, The area around the hotel was really quiet not alot happening also we went for a meal at the irish bar wildgeese the food was horrible.The aberdeen angus was ok for food but you need to sit inside because outside there was a horrible smell from the sewers, worth going into san blas 4 euros in a taxi and a bit more livelier. oh well the kids enjoyed it

Room Tip: the apt by the pool are nicer there are lots of steps in the resorts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freezia36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Booked this deal for £99 for one week for an 1 bedroom apartment from KGB deals. Was sceptical due to the price but very pleasantly surprised on arrival. Check in was quick and easy. Apartment was very good, full kitchen facilities, satellite T.V, and DVD player. the only downside in the apartment was that there was no A/C, although this wasn't too much of a problem in October I can imagine in the height of summer it would be unbearable.

The bar area is lovely especially at night and prices are quite reasonable. One main problem on the complex is that the pool area isn't adequate for the amount of apartments in the complex. The pool is huge but the sunbeds around the pool are crammed together like and people put their towels on the beds and then leave them even though it is stated that sunbeds cannot be reserved. You have to be down pretty early to get a sunbed. However, the lifeguard will remove towels that are unoccupied for more than 3/4 of an hour.

There are plenty of bars/restaurants in the vicinty to walk to but no decent beach. Computers are located in reception and you can pay for internet access (1 Euro gets you 12 mins).

Overall this is a very nice complex and I would definitely go back, especially for £99 :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank UKBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed in early October. We were allocated an apartment just round the corner from reception on the ground floor (at the top of the resort), which was ideal for carrying luggage, since everywhere else was accessed by steps. This resort would be difficult for anyone with mobility problems, as there are steps everywhere. The pool and restaurant are at the bottom of the resort, so for us at the top,going up and down several times a day was somewhat tiring especially in the heat ( the weather was glorious ). The apartment was satisfactory and adequately equipped with all you need for a self catering holiday. Air con in the main living area was good, but the ceiling fan in the bedroom struggled to cool the room properly. The pool area was smaller than as shown in the resort photos, and this caused a problem when getting a sun lounger( there was a rush for them as soon as the pool opened in the morning) and parasols. The resort does not have a sunbed reservation policy, but this did not stop guests putting towels etc. on sunbeds in there favourite spots as soon as the pool opened, then disappearing for several hours , coming back later. We used the restaurant once and found the food and service average.We had excellent meals at the Chinese restaurant behind the resort complex and at the Rendezvous restaurant by the bowling green next door.The small supermarket just along from the chinese restaurant supplied all our basic needs. We booked excursions through reception, visiting Loro Parque (wonderful), Mount Tiede National Park, Garachico and Masca (which were excellent), and went on a catamaran cruise where we saw pilot and sperm whales.
Apart from all the steps, this is a good resort for an all round holiday in glorious sunshine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimboj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I have just returned from this resort having stayed with three friends. I won this in a competition in Prima and was promised a "beautiful/stunning" apartment. I booked the holiday in January and requested a twin bedroom as we were three females. On arrival we were taken to an apartment which had none of the above - the apartment was ok but basic and overlooked a road and had a double bed in the bedroom. i immediately contacted reception and was told there were no twin apartments available but there was another apartment with a better view but still with double bed. We opted to take this under protest it was still only "standard". Their was no air con just fans and the mattress was as hard as nails, the weather was very hot and we had great trouble sleeping in the claustraphobic bedroom. No staff member could explain why, having booked 9 months ago they could not allocate an apartment with twin beds and "Stunning" as promised. The apartment was only cleaned once in the week with clean bedlinen/towels. The towels got very dirty being used for 4 days.The complex was very nice but not suitable for people with walking difficulties as it was steps,steps,steps to get to pool etc and back!!Thankfully the weather was great and we found good places to eat out.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I have traveled with my husband and another couple, sharing an apartament. The rooms are nice, they are composed by a bedroom, livingroom, kicken and balcony/terrase. We stayed on the ground floor. It's a nice location, there are more blocks placed in a circle, with the pool and restaurant in middle. All rooms seems to have view to the pool, and the entrance is done by back-side. Depends on what building they put you, you might have some stairs to walk - we stayed in the opposite part of the reception, and we had every day to go trough all the garden. The rooms are large and nice, as well as the terrace. They don't have air conditioning, but I didn't saw too much air conditioning in all Tenerife during our 1week stay (i was looking for it especially). In the bedromm there was a large bed, and a wardrobe, which was doing a nasty sound when you was opening it. The rooms have safe, but, attention, you have to rent it, and it cost 15,4 euro/7 days. The living room have an extensible sofa, that was very nice for sleeping as well. It was missing few thin boards of wood (you know, the ones that you puy the mattress on in the bed) but i informed the reception in the morning and by the evening it was fixed. The bathroom is large, with a water heater that was big enough for shower 4 persons. The kitchen is well arranged, and you can find there anything that you need, starting with plates, micowaves, fridge, cooking plate and everything (including kitcked towels). Also, under request, they gave us beach towels, free of charge, that you could replace as many times as you wish, with no cost. The bad parts: the doors was a bit old and making a lot of noise, so, as we was 4 person (2 sleeping in bedroom, 2 sleeping in livingroom), if someone from bedroom was going to the toilet over the night, would woke up everyone esle. The next bad poit was cleaning of the room, they do it only once by week. It's true, you have all what you need to do the cleaning yourself, but it works more like at home than at the hotel. They have also a laundry service, for 5 euro you can wash on a carwash all what you need. Almost in front of the complex is a bus station, where 2 buses take you to Las Americas or Los Cristianos, and i think i saw a bus to Santa Cruz. On the reception you can find bus schedule. Also, on the reception area there are free wi-fi internet, and some computers that you can use for a fee. No internet in rooms though, which was a bit hard for me, because i was needing interned each evening and i had to go all the way up to the reception. When you check in, they also give you a card that you can use inside of the complex, all that you spend inside is written on the card and you pay at the end (so, you don't need to have cash when going to dinner or to pool). The restaurant was nice, good food, breakfast was 7,5 euro/person/day, but i think is better to eat the breakfast in your room (and cheaper) as you have all that you need. A supermarket is located at 3 minutes walking from the hotel. In front of the hotels is a free parking, if you want to rent a car is ok to park it there. Anyway, if you travel with young kids or you are planning a very lazy holiday, is a nice place to go.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andra_m_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
19.5 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,173 reviews
27.2 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#20 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#22 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
221 reviews
37.9 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Royal Park Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Royal Park Albatros

Address: Urbanizacion el Guincho | Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, 38639, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $53 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muthu Royal Park Albatros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Park Albatros is set within Tenerife's Golf del Sur resort, 100 metres from the sea. It offers accommodation with furnished balconies overlooking the outdoor pool and beautiful tropical gardens.All apartments at the complex have a living room with a sofa bed and flat-screen TV. The private bathroom is equipped with a hairdryer.The gardens at the Royal Park Albatros feature artificial lakes, waterfalls and flowers native to Tenerife. The Golf del Sur has one 27-hole Championship Golf Course, and 6 other golf courses.Guests can dine outside on the poolside terrace. There is also a lobby bar and staff at the 24-hour reception are happy to recommend nearby restaurants and bars.Tenerife Sur Airport is just 4 kilometres away. Free private parking is possible nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Royal Park Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Albatros Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Muthu Royal Park Albatros Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing