We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect escape”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Up to checking in to this hotel, which we did because our original hotel was shut down and we were placed in an awful hotel, no longer able to cope with it, we booked in to santa barbara for 2 nights. The moment we arrived we knew we had made the right decision. the staff were amazing, the apartment was beautiful, the pool area was gorgeous and spotlessly clean. I have stayed in some amazing 4 and 5 star hotels, but this was by far the most pleasing.
The staff were so friendly, a lovely lady helped us when we checked in but sadly we didn't tke her name (she wore glasses with long dark hair), and the day we departed (after extending our room stay by 5 hours- couldn't bear to leave), both Christine and Henri were very very elpful.
We started our 9 days believing we were destined for the worst holiday of our lives, but santa barbara fixed that. Looking for when we can go back for a full holiday.
Thank you Santa Barbara for making our holiday :-)
Supermarket in the hotel was very well stocked.
The gym, omg, we loved it...very modern and fully equipped with air con.
Rooms were spotless.
I could go on for ever about how amazing this place is..the harbour, the views, the atmosphere..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathryn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
We are so pleased to read that we were able to offer you a warm welcome and great accommodation you appear to have been in a need of, thank you very much for your kind and appreciative review. We do hope that we will become a destination of choice for you and so we are looking forward to hopefully hosting you again in the future!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    677
    170
    67
    39
See reviews for
698
851
45
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just been here for our fifth visit and still a great place to stay. Rooms are spacious and well furnished. Some a little better than others. Due to the shape and size of the place it's not always possible to get sun for much of the day but there are places around the grounds and the pool where you can go to be in the sun. Did not use the restaurant but did have coffees at the pool bar. Very expensive. Service was good. Beautiful grounds and well maintained. There is some work going on at the moment and the peace was shattered most of the day by a worker with a hammer. Is it really necessary to hammer at something for hours on end?

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pafpafpaf0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the works taking place at the resort. We assure you that although we appreciate that timing of such works is never ideal and some guests may be inconvenienced, we do our best to keep the disturbance to the absolute minimum. Unfortunately, maintenance is necessary to keep up the standard of the resort, yet we apologise for any dissatisfaction caused. We hope that you had an otherwise pleasant stay. Thank you for your comments.

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week at the hotel at the end of march and it was a beautiful place. Sea views from the large pool, good food from the pool bar, and friendly staff.
We travelled with a 6 month old baby and we had requested a room with aircon and a cot which was all set up ready when we arrived. The one bed apartment was a good size with a small balcony and the kitchen was all mod cons.
We did have a problem with the aircon once but it was resolved in a matter of hours and when we arrived back at our room there was a bottle of wine as an apology....even though there was no real problem.
In regards to location you do probably need a hire car if you plan to travel around, however if you plan on walking around there are plenty of restaurants around...they just need finding.
I would definitely return!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniwest2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are glad you had a great stay with us. It is always good for us to read when our staff have been able to provide you with a great level of customer services and ensure any issues are resolved in a timely manner to ensure you can continue enjoying your holiday.
We hope you will return to see us soon.
Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I needed a quiet holiday to recuperate from the pressure we had been under for several months, and we couldn't have chosen a better destination. Check-in went very smoothly, our apartment was ready and we received a bottle of wine and one of champagne. The apartment was superb, immaculately clean and had everything we needed. We spent many hours on the balcony overlooking the pool and sea. The weather was very kind to us - wall to wall sunshine the whole fortnight. There was no need to go off-site unless we wanted to, we had a supermarket, snack-bar and restaurant, but by the second week we were feeling fitter and able to explore the surrounding area. Again, no need to go far, everything was close to hand. Staff at the resort were wonderful. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. Our team members are encouraged and empowered to do whatever they can to make our guests’ vacations special. The resort has a prime location with breathtaking views and accessibility to nearby services and activities. We are so glad you had a wonderful holiday and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Santa Barbara is a gorgeous Hotel with friendly and helpful staff, I've just returned from my second visit and can't wait to go back again...I never want to leave! The hotel provides lovely food and drinks and great evening entertainment for all the family. This visit we were lucky as we got a room with a Sea view and a large balcony to sit and relax. The Swimming pool and whirlpool are always clean, and kept at nice temperatures there is also toilet facilities and a pool bar - which is always a bonus! The Ocean Breeze bar provides a breath taking view of the ocean and the hotel pool area and Miguel the barman is such a lovely guy and very helpful! The concierge staff and Joy are on hand to help you make the most of your stay by recommending and booking you on to some of the best excursions available. Go along to the welcome meetings - Yes you get free food and nibbles and maybe a chance to win a free excursion but you also get a great insight in what Tenerife has to offer.

Room Tip: for a group of 4 we got room 464
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahT92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are thrilled that you had an excellent time staying with us.
It is great you could take advantage of our onsite facilities and we will be sure to pass on your lovely comments.
We are glad to read that you went and found out what Tenerife has to offer!
We hope you will visit us again.
Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We booked this through Secret Escapes and expected to get one of the poorer rooms reported in some previous reviews...wrong! After a very polite welcome we went to out room (756) which had a lovely sea view and great balcony, ideal for breakfasts in the sunshine. We were really impressed with the hotel, part of the Diamond Resorts International chain, the staff were always polite and attentive and kept everything spotless. The poolside restaurant was great, we ate here several times, rather defeating our self-catering basis, but the value and quality was outstanding. The alfresco bar was lovely and though a little chilly at night provided large patio heaters and blankets. They offer a couple of incentives to attend a promotional (sales) presentation. Its a personal choice and not too heavily pushed. My only minor criticism is the noise from the road outside the hotel, everything reflects off the opposing wall onto the open landings of the hotel, nothing the hotel can do about it, but if you can specify one of the rooms to the sides you will have a quieter time, but l repeat, not a major issue. We look forward to returning. A tip, its only 15 minutes and a €15 taxi journey from the airport, saves hanging around for 45 minutes waiting for a transfer bus.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are glad your apartment suited you and you enjoyed the balcony which came along with the apartment.
We will be sure to pass on your comments to our food and beverage manager who will be pleased with your comments.
We are sorry if the noise from the road was ever an issue to you and we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
We do hope you will visit us again soon!
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have have spent a couple of holidays at this resort and in the passing we dropped in to enquire if we could dine at the restaurant as non residents. We were made most welcome by the main man and he explained that the restaurant was fully booked but after a bit of persuasion he managed to fit us in. We all had the Chateaubriand for the main course and were not dissapointed,it was served as medium rare and we were given sizzler skillets to to cook the meat to our individual requirements.(that was a bit of fun) The menue was extensive and after the main course we just managed to share a sweet with our parteners followed by some nice coffee..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experience at Little Italy, we will pass you compliment to the team. Thank you for sharing your review!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,203 reviews
27.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
363 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,922 reviews
37.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,760 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Property: Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing