We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have been to this hotel a few times over the past few years and it never fails to impress we booked a 2 bed apartment and we were expecting an average size room what a surprise we got the room was gigantic it was top floor of the hotel over looking the sea the balcony ran all around the front and side of it with sun all day. Staff are great at this hotel great thanks to Henri on reception he is a credit to the hotel he really looked after us. Thanks for giving us a fantastic holiday,will remember this one for a ling time. Can't wait to return

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank reggers1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for this lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoy staying at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, and that our team have helped make your visits extra special. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here again soon – we’d love to see you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,047)
There are newer reviews for Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a great apartment hotel. The views are great, apartments are a good size with modern appliances and finishes. The pool is great, entertainment and both restaurants.

Although the area is not as salubrious as other parts in the region, if you have a car you cannot go wrong.

This is a great place and we have stayed here twice now, really re commend it.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Romeington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Many thanks indeed for your appreciation for our resort, we are glad you enjoyed your time here at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Glub, we hope you will not hesitate to stay with us again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a short break at the Santa Barbara from the 5th -8th December 2013 and had a great time. The hotel was beautiful with the most comfortable sun loungers! The pool area was lovely and we always managed to get a sun lounger regardless of the time of day. The hotel is situated on the promenade and although there is no beach it's lovely to walk on the walkway by the sea. We walked into Los Abrigos which is a lovely little town not too far from the hotel. We were sorry when our break came to an end but we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ismcken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are happy that you had an opportunity to relax and enjoy your stay, please visit us again in the future!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We recently stayed here for a week. Was very pleased with the apartment - a 2 bedroom massive one. Good facilities, quieter location, friendly staff. tasty meal in the restaurant. good amenities and restaurants in the area too and a local bus stop a short walk away to take you to popular tourist spots.
However, few tiny complaints:
As mentioned in the pack provided to us - hotel is undergoing renovation so can be noisy during day times.
I am 5 months pregnant and stayed here for a relaxing trip - hence afternoon nap was important for me. However we were disturbed twice in one afternoon where staff wanted to check fire alarm and then wanted to change garbage. Next afternoon we ensure we put the Do Not Disturb card outside: result - we were disturbed from reception over the phone asking if we need the apartment to be cleaned as the DND board is outside. In my understanding, the reception shouldn't have called given we didn't want to be disturbed! So another afternoon nap was spoilt.
Otherwise is was a great stay.

Room Tip: Chose 8th floor apartment on the right wing for good view
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NilaSai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

We are sorry to read that your afternoon relaxation was interrupted; we are certain that our team tried to reach out to you in good faith in case you left your apartment forgetting to take the sign down and may have expected it to be cleaned. We hope that you had an otherwise pleasant stay however, and wish to see you again in the future! We wish you all the best!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

What a nice surprise we got on our arrival. It was a gamble as we don't normally stay in these type of resort hotels, but we were amazed. The staff on reception were efficient and friendly. We had a lovely apartment on 4th floor with a sea view. The apartment was absolutely spotless, the kitchen was impeccable, even the glasses were sparkling clean. It was well equipped. The apartment was spacious with 2 big bedrooms, a super king size and a twin room, there was also a sofa bed in the lounge should you need it. The apartment was light and airy, the patio doors from the lounge and main bedroom led out onto a balcony where we could enjoy breakfast. It wasn't noisy at all. The pool area was nice with lots of sun loungers so you could choose sun or shade. There's a nice walk along the sea front in front of the hotel and numerous restaurants nearby.
There is also plenty of street parking nearby and a little car park just along from the hotel which is free of charge. It was handy having a hire car and think you would want one unless you planned to stay at the pool all week.
We would recommend this hotel based on our fantastic experience. It would be ideal for couples or families.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a sea view this is lovely, We stayed on 4th floor and thought this was g...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britishgoabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have been to Santa Barbara several times and were pleased to see that it continues with its high standards of good comfortable rooms, a high standard of cleanliness and efficient friendly staff.
Although the hotel was full there was never a problem with sun beds. The pool bar is what you would expect and the Little Italy restaurant was very good - an improvement on previous visits when it was only OK.
I would however prefer that proper showers are installed to replace the present bath showers.
The major disappointment was having to pay for wi fi. We didn't but instead used the free wi fi which was widely available in bars and restaurants. Diamond need to catch up with the times!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomChristine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for your lovey comments, we are glad your apartment was to your liking.
We are glad there was never any problems for you getting a sunbed whilst staying with us.
We are sorry you were disappointed with the WIFI, this is something we are currently looking at changing and we hope to offer a better service in the future.
We will pass on your comments to our food and beverage manager who we are sure will be happy with your comments.
We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just back from a long weekend at the Santa Barbara Ocean and Golf Resort in Tenerife. It was a last minute break as myself and my wife decided we needed to recharge our batteries after hectic work schedules over the last 6 months. After deciding on Tenerife I then spent a couple of hours on Tripadvisor looking for a hotel. I always use tripadvisor as a guide and it has never let me down, until now! The resort had lots of positive reviews and was in the sort of quiet location we were looking for, so we booked 4 nights (through Expedia). The first issue was that, after booking the studio room, we received a confirmation email and noted that check in was not until 4pm (and checkout is 10.00am?). We were arriving mid-day so it meant occupying ourselves for 4 hours (not a major issue but we are used to 2pm being more the norm and it's nice to freshen up immediately after 7 hours of travel to get there ). We booked a studio room as there was only 2 of us and that's where our trouble started. We were allocated a room close to reception not facing the sea (room 424). This was clean and airy and was quite pleasant. The balcony was a disappointment given that it looked onto a corrugated roof and beyond that, the back wall of another part of the hotel (so no view, and very little light), but again, not the end of the world. We had not had a great deal of sleep in the previous 24 hours so planned to get a couple of hours sleep before going for an evening meal. The bedroom overlooks the hotel driveway and taxi drop off point and beyond that is the main road. Sleep proved impossible. There was constant noise from guests arriving and dragging their luggage, taxi drivers shouting to each other, heavy traffic from the main road and overhead aircraft noise (resort is close to the airport). The Canary Isles can we quite windy and the window was rattling constantly. It was so noisy it was like something from an Ealing comedy, I half expected a train to go buy and the room to start shaking, it was all that was missing. After an hour or so of pointlessly trying to sleep I got up and went to reception to ask for another room. I was told there was only one other room available, which I found strange given that it is March and the hotel clearly wasn't full. We were offered room 454, further down the same corridor, It still overlooked the main road and there was road traffic noise but wasn't in front of the taxi rank/drop off point, and was therefore quieter, so we took it (Hobson's choice really). However, there was a note in the room saying refurb of the hotel offices were taking place for the duration of our stay and there would be building noise during the day time, and there was, drilling and hammering all day long as well as dust sheets on the floor in the corridor outside our room. This second room, unlike the first, was grubby and tired and in need of a refurb. It had cobwebs in a couple of corners, stains on the furniture and curtains and peeling veneer on some of the wooden furniture (i have photo's I will try to upload). Some of the marks on the walls had been painted but with a paint colour that didn't quite match the original so only made it look grubbier. We made the best of things since it was only a short break, but on check out i found that the hotel had charged 30 euros to my credit card for cleaning the first room after we had vacated it. Given that we had only been in it a couple of hours and the room we were moved to was dirty, I found this unacceptable. I complained but to no avail and as we had to dash for our plane couldn't pursue the matter further with the manager. I'm guessing we aren't the first guests to request a room change under these circumstances so a 30 euro charge is quite a nice money earner/scam for the hotel.
Room problems aside there are some positives (and more negatives) but I will be brief. The hotel is generally clean and well kept. Concierge staff were very friendly and helpful, the Italian restaurant on site (Little Italy) we found to be of acceptable standard and the staff attentive and friendly. The roof terrace bar was a very pleasant site to have drinks while enjoying the panoramic view of the sea and the "W pub" laid on entertainment that would be familiar to anyone who had stayed at Butlins (you decide if that's a good thing). There is a supermarket on site to supply you with most things you will need but the checkout operator would rather do anything than serve customers (talk on mobile phone, talk to other staff, arrange stock room, fill shelves etc). Hotel is a rabbit warren of corridors. This is a large hotel but the pool area seems a little small, OK in March but I bet there are arguments over sunbeds in the summer months. TV channels mainly Spanish and German, found 4 UK channels (BBC, BBC World, ITV Wales? and ITV 4 + 1? (which had poor signal strength and would pixelate). Didn't use the gym or spa so can't comment. Outside whirl pool a waste of time because it uses cold water. Nice childrens paddling pool. Pool bar OK for drinks and snacks but nothing special. coastal path in front of hotel for nice walks. A few eateries close to the hotel but nothing special. Since this is a time share resort we avoided the "welcome meeting" in case it turned into a hard sell presentation for timeshare. A high proportion of elderly guests (pensioners). All in all this could be a pleasant place to stay but I WOULD AVOID ROOMS 424 AND 425 AT ALL COSTS BECAUSE OF THE NOISE (IN FACT I WOULD TRY TO AVOID ANY ROOM ON THE RECEPTION LEVEL THAT FACES THE HOTEL DRIVEWAY AS TRAFFIC NOISE WOULD BE MOST NOTICEABLE HERE). If you are going to book this resort I would recommend making sure you have a seaview room away from the reception area.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view away from the reception area,
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank garypayne101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We always like to read of our guests stays with us,
We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us however we regret to read the problems with the apartments. We are currently working at high occupancy and so relocation to another area of the resort was not available, we do apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We believe our staff provided you with help and tried their best to offer you the best they possibly could.
With regards to the TV problems we are having some minor problems at this time due to a change in the satellite being used to broadcast any UK channels. We have installed canal plus which has given us an additional number of channels to use.
We hope you will visit us again in the dispute the issues you encountered during your stay.
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
19.8 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,847 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
723 reviews
27.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#18 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,355 reviews
37.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,822 reviews
8.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $89 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing