We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A taste of paradise”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We enjoyed almost everything about this resort. From reception staff, quality of accommodation, magnificent surroundings, cleanliness, tremendous views, and spectacular common areas.

We even went on a visit to the Diamond Resort in Adeje to view it and were treated extremely well by our guide John. (We had went with a little trepidation as these presentations sometimes have a reputation for high pressure sales. but although the timing was not right for us, they still treated us with respect and made us feel valued.)

Overall our experience lived up to their motto "The answer is YES".
Sorry to finish on a slight low; however the Little Italy restaurant was a disappointment. We were shown to our table and unfortunately the table cloth was covered in stains. My wife went to put her bag down and noticed a crushed cockroach under the table. We informed the waiter but and decide to leave as we no longer had an appetite.
I am sure this was a one off as it did not match the overall great experience of Santa Barbara so we have still given it 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
Firstly, we have passed your comments on to the Food and beverage manager at the resort in order to address your comments with regards to Little Italy and we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort during your stay with us and we are glad to read your apartment was of a good standard. It is great to read that you enjoyed taking advantage of the views and the local amenities.
We hope your choose to stay with us again soon!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    677
    170
    67
    39
See reviews for
698
851
45
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey/Hants border
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I persuaded my boyfriend to look at this hotel after staying here on a friends timeshare many years ago. My memory of the hotel was that it was very nice and luckily it is still as good. My partner belongs to RCI, but as the available dates didn't work for us (we only wanted four nights: Wednesday- Sunday) so we went through booking.com instead. We had a good deal and while I was a little apprehensive to be staying in a studio room, was pleasantly surprised to be allocated a one bedroom apartment instead.
The view wasn't up to much (unlike on my previous stay) but the room was so nice, clean (there's even a little folded slip under the bed saying 'we clean under here too') and well equipped that we didn't mind!
As it was pouring with rain and stormy, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant on our first night, it was pretty busy but they found us a table and the meal was really nice. Good value too.
Luckily the weather cleared the next day. We explored San Blas and discovered the Aberdeen Angus Steak House nearby that had a really good breakfast menu and sold beer fot 1e a pint which kept my beloved happy.
We were very lucky for the rest of our trip: the sun was out and we were able to enjoy lying by and splashing about in the pool.
We did the free daily bingo that the animation team did in the pool bar at 15.15. Even winning a couple of drinks in the W Pub and a bottle of bubbly which made us smile.
We did try the the pool bar a couple of times, the service was quick and friendly, the food we tried was ok and the drinks slightly more expensive than most places nearby.
All in all, we enjoyed our four night stay very much, I was especially happy that they sold proper Martini cocktails on the roof terrace bar, enjoying my favourite drink watching the sunset was one of the highlights of my stay. The little supermarket was handy for supplies, although the Hyper Dino nearby was cheaper and had more choice.
It is a bit of a shame they can't offer free WIFI at least in the reception as they do in other RCI affiliated places that we have stayed. That said, it can be easily accessed nearby free of charge. Also the concierge did nearly talk us into a free trip to a sister hotel, which reading a previous review, would have meant us wasting the timeshare sellers and our time. Luckily my Partner realised what they were offering us, as he already has something similar with RCI and whilst we politely declined her kind offer, she did still give us a free bottle of red wine for our troubles regardless, which we thought was a nice gesture!
I would finally like to thank the receptionist Isabel for helping me organise a birthday bottle of bubbly (and little personalised card) as a surprise for my boyfriend upon arrival. She was really friendly and helpful in our communications before I arrived and I loved seeing him finding it in our room waiting for us when we got there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BimboDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are very glad to read you had an enjoyable stay with us.
It’s lovely for us to read that your apartment was of a great standard and well equipped to meet your holiday needs.
We are glad that you enjoyed the onsite activities and amenities within the local area.
It is disappointing for us to read that you were unhappy with the cost of the WIFI, we are currently in discussions to change this in the future.
We hold our staff to an extremely high service excellence and it is great for us to read of the occasions when they are able to provide this to our guests. It’s lovely to read our staff provided excellent customer services to you during your stay.
We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We arrived to lovely warm sunshine Saturday. Easy check-in and didn't have to wait too long for our room to be ready. Receptionist very nice, helpful. Booked for half board that night and next morning (options for 1, 3 or 6-days). I thought the choices from the evening menu and breakfast menu were very good. Restaurant staff friendly. Only one night, when m'aitre d missed my name and was a bit unhelpful until proved wrong, and still wouldn't admit he was wrong. Otherwise, I tried most of the time to speak Spanish and staff very friendly. Unfortunately during the week we encountered the worst storms for several years (1800 lightning strikes within about 5 hours). Even struck the hotel causing serious damage to part of roof. Well, that was the bad part. The rooms were immaculately clean with very good facilities. Nice pool area, plenty of space, although the hotel didn't seem fully booked. I think the so-called animation team were not the best at organising activities. They did not seem to adhere to their time-table. I know the weather was exceptional and I think this was an opportunity for them to shine. Alas, no. There were quite a few restaurants nearby and also a lot more at San Blas, a short walk away. Overall, I thought this was a very good resort, well run.

Room Tip: We were in 223. We got sun about 10.30 and most of day. I think it best to check when booking as I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We are so pleased and relieved to read that although you have come to experience one of the worst cases of bad weather in Tenerife, the service and the standard of accommodation you received still contributed to you having an overall relaxing stay. We hope that you will decide to visit us again and hopefully next time weather will prove more agreeable.

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My Fiancee and i had a really fantastic 6 night stay. We were given a very nice room but it was not overlooking the sea.I called reception and they gave a different beautiful room with sea view.
All the hotel staff were wonderful and very helpful at all times. A special thank you goes to Gianni and his animation team. This guy is really amazing and we would go to the W Club for his fun entertainment. I would say that the W Club is not advertised enough, hence the low turnouts by guests.One on particular night Gianni and his team held a pop quiz and fun dance competition, this was the best night we had, If only the animation team could stay a little longer inn the evening and encourage the audience to stay because once Gianni leaves the club the place dies and people leave.
Thank you all for a wonderful vacation
Trevor and Kelli

Room Tip: high as possible with sea view , 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

THE HOTEL

For the Groupon price we paid we were more than happy with the apartment even though it was not one of the refurbished rooms. A little disappointed that we didn’t get the high level room with a nice view that we requested by telephone and e,mail but with Groupon we have come to expect the `Groupon standard`. I never can get my head around this – if we had been given a nice refurbished room with a great view and the hotel had showcased this to us we may have returned in the future and paid full price or even become members?

Overall the staff were friendly and helpful.

We did loose our camera in the reception and this was never handed in – we asked every day (our fault for leaving it unattended). The hotel did not really investigate to our satisfaction to identify the `finder`. We asked for the cctv to be checked and even though the camera in reception was working (we could see the video screens in the office we were told it did not cover the seating – this was a little poor and some evidence could have been gained by checking it with us. It would have at least shown us leaving reception and other guests/staff present at the time. If the hotel wish to check this now it was left on the white sofa at 0900hrs on Tuesday 28 November 2013 but its all a little too late now that we are unable to see it for ourselves.

Safe is 2 euros a night.

CAUTION – the hot water in the kitchen is `boiling` and could scald.

The Little Italy restaurant upstairs is great – recommended.
The pool bar is OK but the chicken can be dry. If you have food vouchers for the hotel better to use them upstairs.

Sleep quality and peace could be improved by the use of pads on the chairs and tables as the noise from moving these on the tiled floor travels from room to room. Cushioned pads would prevent this at little cost.

WI FI

Main disappointment was the EXPENSIVE wifi, but when factored into the price of the groupon deal it was not too bad but would not have been happy if I was paying more for the holiday. Approx 27 euro a week and its not that good. On the first night it took an hour to open and reply to one e,mail – we did complain and got the impression this was a frequent issue – To be fair they gave us another day in lieu without argument.

We ended up buying a vodafone DATA SIM for the second week at 19 euro with 1.5GB allowance which worked a treat in the android smartphone but the signal was a bit hit and miss in the room. The girl on reception recommended Movistar but a couple of days later (she had forgotten) told us she was with Movistar and had trouble with reception at the hotel ? mmmmm. There is a Vodafone office near the main supermarket on the roundabout where you come off the motorway – look for McDonalds and its on the same complex. There are also Vodafone and Orange shops in Los Cristianos

CAR PARKING

We hired a car from the airport and used Auto Reisen for the 2nd time. Fair to say the cars are a little tired and marked but they are very relaxed about damage and do not try to upsell at the point of collection which makes for a speedy collection – unlike Goldcar who can keep you waiting far too long selling additional insurance that you probably have already paid for online.

There is a hotel car park for 2.50 euros a day but at the side of the hotel is a public FREE parking area. It’s a bit of a shambles and not well maintained but we never failed to get parked there each day.

THE RESORT

A bit out of the way – need a car to get about.

TAXI

We did take a taxi one night to nearby San Blass where we ate at Tapas de Oro. We tried for a price of the taxi before setting off and between the 2 drivers they couldn’t decide what to charge. In the end it cost 4 euros and the meter wasn’t used! With experience we now know this should have been a 3 euro journey the min payment, not much the difference but it always feels bad when they try to rip off the tourist. Make sure the meter is on !!!!

WALKING

Our first time walking in Tenerife – its worth the effort to get a car and get out there. We were really impressed and surprised at some of the scenery and the green. Having been used to walking Lanzarote for many years this was refreshing and some of the forests and mountains are stunning. We visited Masca, Teidi National Park and the north mountans Anaga. The circular from Cruz del Carmen to Chinamada was a good 8 miler with variety and some welcome shade through the forest at the start and end. Through the forest you could be forgiven for thinking you were in the lake District – only difference was we were in shorts in December and needed the Tilley hat for on the tops. We will definitely return for some more serious walking and to do the Masca Canyon which was closed due to some heavy rains whilst we were there.

We also want to walk to the top of Teidi – the cable car takes you so far but you need a government pass for the last few hundred feet of ascent – obtainable online for free but generally booked up for 2 – 3 weeks in advance SO BOOK THESE BEFORE LEAVING HOME. https://www.reservasparquesnacionales.es/real/parquesnac/usu/html/inicio-reserva-oapn.aspx?cen=2&act=%201

May also be worth buying the tickets for the cable car online which are then valid for 12 months rather than queing on the day.

The best (black) beach we saw was at los Santiagos near Los Gigantes. Popular with tourists but loved the black sand.

THE HARD SELL

Don’t bother reading this section unless you are a non member – but members also beware they are also trying to get you to upgrade with at least another £10000 - 15000

Santa Barbara is a Diamond `membership` resort and if you are going on a `rental` deal then expect to be called two days before arrival with the promise of a bottle of wine and `how old are you` for trips etc. (this is obviously to assess your eligibility for the club. We met the concierge who then encouraged us to take a free bus for a free breakfast to the sister hotel with the promise of 100 euros gift for a 90 min presentation. We went out of interest with an open mind.

The free breakfast was good and we did get the free gift (at the end) and a paid taxi back. But in between it got a bit uncomfortable. This is the hard sell to buy into the club. The full membership is approx £15000 - £20000 to buy points, when that is not of interest they try a taster pack which is approx £4000 for 4 weeks worth of holidays over 4 years – other incentives are another 4 weeks in either Florida, Las Vegas or St Martin with a £299/week booking fee – sounds good but don’t forget non of these include flights and you are tied into Diamond. Another incentive was a (£500 add-on for free) short break in the uk where you can stay as many times as you like as long as you buy breakfast and dinner – work it out and the overall price is no different to many short break deals out there. All these offers are only available on the day of meeting and that has to ring alarm bells. Given time to think about it we soon realised that comparatively speaking the price of these holidays were 5 times more expensive than the groupon deal we used to stay in the same / similar hotel.

Our consultant was a lovely girl and good at her job and almost had us – unfortunately they don’t take no for an answer very well and can become agitated, then the abrupt manager comes along as a last resort with a confrontational attitude then for us it all came to a fast conclusion and we left. He spoiled all the girls good work and made Diamond look a lot less professional.

We left the Santa Barbara on the bus at 0910hrs and left the meeting room at 1330hrs – so its half a day at least not 90 minutes!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jedderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review, we are certain is will be appreciated by your fellow travellers and helpful to our potential future guests. We are glad that your stay was a pleasant one, although we are sorry if you feel the resort could improve on some of its operations - thank you for your comments, they have been noted. We hope that you will decide to visit us again in the future, yet until then we wish you safe travels.

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I had a family holiday here with partner and son and it was very good.
The resort is clean and tidy, nice and quiet even at night.
The 1 bed apartment we had was very nice, spacious, and had a beautiful view of the sea.
There is a shop on site and daily entertainment for the kids.

There are a few pubs and restaurants near by but overall it is very quiet. If you want to visit the busier Playa de las Americas it takes around 30minutes by bus which is very close by and costs around £4 return.

Only complaint no beach within walking distance, slightly isolated, only 1 restaurant on site and the night entertainment is not great.

But perfect for a quiet relaxing holiday

Room Tip: The apartments are best, very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mand j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad to read that your apartment was spacious and clean, we hold our housekeeping team to a high standard so we are always happy when we read they have achieved this.
It is great to read that you took advantage of the kids entertainment on the resort and also the area and the local amenities.
We are happy to read that the resort fulfilled your holiday needs and we hope you pick us again in the future!
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have visited the Santa Barbara many times over the past 16 years and really like it. However, I am shocked at the recently introduced huge charges for wifi!!! €7 per day per device - that's €28 per day for our family's phones alone, not to mention iPads and laptops.

Wifi used to be free in the reception area. We complained to Reception about the new charges and were given some lame excuse about "not our fault - outsourcing it, we don't make a penny" etc. I've never heard such nonsense. Sort this our guys, its a disgrace in 2013 to charge such high prices and it will definitely influence our decision to stay with you again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyLinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We would like to kindly note that large resort’s guests require a 24/7 internet access which necessitates a larger bandwidth than, for example, a coffee shop and this regretfully comes at a cost. Most businesses can incorporate this into their pricing and so appear to provide a free service, but in reality it is not. In order to do the same within a timeshare resort, each HOA Board must approve the cost of providing this service. The Boards, at this time, believe that each individual should pay those costs if and when they use the service. Please be advised that we do not profit from the fees related to Wi-Fi as these are charged by a 3rd party internet provider. That being said, receive a lot of feedback in regard to Wi-Fi costs, and are in discussion with our Homeowner’s Association to see if this can be covered for guests in the future. Nevertheless, we are sorry if this has caused you any inconvenience and we thank you for your feedback.

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,203 reviews
27.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
361 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,922 reviews
37.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,760 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Property: Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing