We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family holiday”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We've just returned from a two week stay at the Santa Barbara, we stayed in a one bed apt on the eight floor. The sea views was excellent, the balcony a little on the small side. The room was cleaned every other day to a high standard, our room apartment was large but not a recently refurbished one, the bathroom looked to be in desperate need of refurbishment, and the sofa bed a little strange. Otherwise cannot fault the room or service. We found the staff at this resort excellent nothing was too much trouble. A special thank you to Laura who ran the kids club, my two children loved it and the mini disco's. The only problem we have now is trying to find the names of some of the songs to download for the kids. The Driven to fun day and evening is very enjoyable and we won a few items in the raffle.

We found the large pool a little on the deep side for our two children who are learning to swim, they enjoyed children's pool, but finding a sunbed is difficult. However we did witness a member of staff taking towels from sunbeds and putting stickers (notices) on those that had been left unattended for a while.

I cannot comment on the restaurant as we didn't eat there. Just down the road from the resort are reasonably priced restaurants and along the sea front. Our favourite being Harbour lights on the sea front.

Overall we all had a great holiday and would definitely return, the kids we're upset that we had to leave and are asking to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    671
    169
    67
    39
See reviews for
689
845
44
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We came with our 2 children (age 9 & 11) and stayed in a 1-bed apartment. On arrival we were met by a very friendly Mario who took our luggage to our place. The apartment itself was clean and well-equipped. The sofa bed was big enough for our children but would not probably be suitable for teenagers. Apartment was serviced every couple of days. Balcony looked out to the Ocean Breeze terrace which had lovely live music (not too noisy but just right for eating out on the balcony).

Swimming pool was big enough for all the kids. Sunbeds were plentiful though cannot always guarantee one by the pool. Hotel had a policy where you couldn't leave a towel on the subbed for more than 2 hours (and not be around) to stop people hogging them which was great. It meant that you should be able to find one soon enough even at busy times. Pool bar food was good too. Barbecue night was fab- a selection of chicken, ribs and steak.

Entertainment team (Damian, Laura, Gisela & Gianni) worked hard at making sure there was always something going on for kids and adults. Minidisco, various competitions, bingo etc.

There's a free DVD library should you just want to have a night in. Hotel supermarket sells fresh bread & other basics but not fresh meat. Small supermarkets within 5mins walk of hotel have more selection & slightly cheaper.

Staff at reception & concierge were always very helpful. Try the Abrazo catamaran sailing-speak to Stuart. We were picked up at the hotel and were taken straight to the boat. We saw about 10 whales at one time and also got to snorkel with turtles!

We hired a car, but could have done without. The hotel is only 15mins from the airport. Siam Water park equally close. Loro park was 1.5 hrs away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKViator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for this detailed review of your recent stay at Santa Barbara! We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you’ve taken the time to share your experiences. We hope you’ll consider us for future visits to Tenerife, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at Santa Barbara for a week from 17th August 2013, our 4th visit, our first holiday here was in August 2000. We had a Family Elite apartment which had a very large lounge and kitchen, and a balcony over looking the courtyard and terrace bar area. Leading up from our lounge we had a spiral staircase, up to a very spacious roof-top area, with 4 sunbeds and a patio with jacuzzi, this roof was completely private and super for evening sunbathing. The apartment had 2 large bedrooms and an en suite bathroom and family bathroom. The apartment was spotless and was kept so during our stay, by the lovely friendly cleaners. The pool is super, with a toddlers pool, and spa pool. We highly recommend Santa Barbara for a family holiday. We also recommend the whale/dolphin watching trips from Los Christianos, great fun !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! We’re really pleased to read that you had a great time at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, and we feel sure that other travellers will really appreciate the tips you’ve shared! We hope you’ll get the opportunity to come back for a fifth visit, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights with our two children aged 7 and 9. We were in a 1 bedroom apartment with a sofa bed. The room was very clean and well furnished with everything a family of 4 could need.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and the amount of cleaners keeeping the hotel and grounds tidy was amazing!
The pool was fantastic and our children spent hours jumping in and swimming. Fortunatly they can swim as the pool is very deep.
To get a sunbed by the pool so we could watch the children would be hard to find if you got up after 9am so we always went straight to the pool as soon as we woke up!
The activity team were very friendly and our children went to the kids club a few times and we also enjoyed a few of the shows in the evenings.
There is nothing I can complain about...the hotel is lovely, there are a few bars and restaurants within a short walk, comfortable sunbeds and a huge pool to spend hours in!
I have a feeling we will be back!

Room Tip: A taxi from the airport is 15 euros and ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Santa Barbara! We strive to provide all our guests with amazing and memorable holiday experiences, and we’re delighted that you had a great time here. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return for another visit – we’d love to see you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

first time i went to this hotel... lovely relaxing holiday in the sunshine... close enough to big resorts but still peaceful. decor was good, bar prices were expensive but expected for large hotel.
swimming pool was wonderful and views over the sea beautiful..... definately would stay again, but not a room at the rear of the complex as you hear rubbish bins emptied every morning

Room Tip: sea view side quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for a week in July room 202 i think, the room was well appointed and clean. the only downside was the balcony got getting much sun at all and only having a partial sea view, when we booked we asked for a sea view and upon arrival the first room offered was in the back block near the road !
We had been warned not to take one of these because of the noise from the traffic and the refuse being collected very early in the morning, so refused that room and were given this room as the only alternative.
Back to the room, it was exactly as others have described on here, roomy, clean and well equipped.
the whole complex was clean, the pool bar offered excellent value and choice of meals, plenty of sunbeds if you got one early, the management say "use them or lose them" but this rule was not enforced, i watched as one woman put towels on 6 yes six sunbeds then walked away and left them for over 2 hours, the childs pool is away from the main pool (good idea) great for families with young children, the entertainment team worked hard but didn't harass you all the time.
I cannot comment on the restaurant as we did not use it during our stay.
food and drinks were reasonably priced and the onsite supermarket was ok.
would we return again? most likely, would I recommend this hotel? yes, i have already!

Room Tip: try and get a pool view towards the centre or the righthand side as you look at it from the road. a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Santa Barbara and I must say I was more than a little disappointed with the supposedly 5 star hotel.
We stayed in room 464 which was a two bedroom apartment with a view of the sea (and smells of the sewer!).
The living area was adequate and the kitchen was small and it took forever to cook anything in the oven.
There was air conditioning in each room, which was lovely as it was quite hot while we were there.
There was a double balcony which couldn't really be used as one part was about 2 foot wide, but that disappeared when the clothes drier was used and the other part housed a table with 4 chairs and a table, as well as the air conditioning unit (which had sharp edges).
The disappointment was the bathroom. The bath was grimy and looked as though it hadn't been cleaned in a long time. My husband actually started to clean it with a washing up pad and washing up liquid and gave up.
The swimming pool is large with an area especially cordoned off for inflatables. There is a separate kiddie pool, but this would only be suitable for babies and children who couldn't swim. The shallowest part of the main pool was 1.25m (by the pool bar) and the deepest part was 1.75m. Even though my daughter (aged 7) could swim, I wasn't happy for her to be in there with friends on her own.
If you wanted Wi Fi, you have to pay for it, along with pool towels which you have to hire. Not something you expect from a 5 star hotel.
The children's club was open from 11am - 1pm and 2pm - 4pm. It was run by a lovely girl, Laura, who was great with the kids. It didn't open on a Friday however as it was family day.
The onsite club was closed on a Monday and Friday. We didn't venture in there when it was open as the entertainment seemed poor (we're not into Bingo).
There is a supermarket on site, which was very reasonable, but the stock was limited and you would be unable to prepare a full meal with the food that was available. The best thing to do would be to take a taxi from the hotel (costs 5 euros) to the Mercadona supermarket which has everything you need.
The hotel is out of the way, but if you were prepared to walk about 5 - 10 minutes, then there were some nice restaurants - especially the Aberdeen Steak House, which was very reasonable with good quality service and food. If you wanted to just have a sociable drink, then it is another 10 minutes to the San Blas centre, where there are several restaurants and bars. The one we enjoyed the most was the bar called "The Bar", which had opened 2 weeks previously. The women who owned it were lovely, welcoming and were more than happy to have a chat with us and our daughter. They had good entertainment on a Thursday, Friday and Saturday night.
There was a bus stop which was about a 5 minute walk away from the hotel which would take you to Los Christianos and Playa de las Americas. It costs about 2 - 3 euros per person.
All in all we didn't have a good holiday as we're not the type of people who like to stay by the pool all day, so won't be paying this hotel another visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fotherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with aspects of your recent stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. All of our accommodation should be cleaned and serviced to a high standard, and we are at a loss to understand why the bathroom in your apartment doesn’t seem to have been adequately cleaned. We encourage guests to let us know if they have any concerns about their accommodation, as our team will be more than happy to assist.

As Santa Barbara is primarily a holiday ownership property, we’re unfortunately not currently able to offer free Wi-Fi to guests. Most businesses can incorporate the cost of Wi-Fi provision into their pricing and so appear to provide a free service, but in order to do the same within a timeshare resort, these costs would have to be incorporated by increasing maintenance fees and rental costs accordingly, which would also charge those guests who didn’t use the internet.

We try to provide a wide range of activities and entertainment for our guests, and we’re sorry that the activities offered here weren’t to your liking. We must advise that your review came as a surprise to us, though, as we receive very few complaints about the entertainment offered at our resorts.

We really regret that you didn’t have a more enjoyable stay on this occasion, but we do hope that you’ll give Santa Barbara another chance. We’d love to see you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,162 reviews
27.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
350 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,903 reviews
37.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,744 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#20 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Property: Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing