We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort but priority given to timeshare owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just came back from a fantastic holiday in this excellent resort. I fully agree with everything said in the previous reviews and would struggle to find any negative comment BUT.. be aware that priority is given to timeshare owners (first Diamond Resorts then RCI and others) and any accommodation booked through a travel website will be given depending on what is available. That means that you might be very lucky and get a fantastic large apartment with sea view but could also find yourselves in a much smaller property with no view at all. They seem to allocate the accommodations the night before your stay so very little can be done to guarantee anything which we feel is actually fair to the owners who invested in the system. This is much more likely to happen in peak times (school holidays mainly). We just experienced this having booked a 2beds for 1 week through RCI and extra nights through a travel website. The first 2 beds was amazing with 3 bathrooms and view on both the pool and sea but the second one was much smaller with 1 bathroom only (it had sea view though but others don't).
Except for that the resort is excellent although location is a bit of a downside and you will need a car if like us you enjoy broader variety of restaurants and scenery.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must but unless you are an owner there is little you can do to guarantee it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your review – we’re really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Santa Barbara! While apartments are only allocated shortly before the check-in date, we will make every effort to fulfil accommodation requests made by our guests, and we recommend that you contact us prior to your arrival if you would like to make any specific requests. Please be aware that we unfortunately can’t guarantee that the request will be fulfilled, however, as this will depend on occupancy levels at the resort on the day you are due to check in.

We really hope your concerns about the second apartment you stayed in didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable holiday, and we hope you’ll consider us for future visits to Tenerife. We’d love to see you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Came here for two weeks with Diamond Resorts Timeshare. Excellent hotel, fantastic large apartment, four balconies. Staff all very helpful and friendly. Excellent pool for the kids, various clubs for the kids, entertainment at night. Happy Hour at 4.30. Little Italy resteraunt very good, lovely view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rae F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A fantastic apartment with pool, restaurant, and poolside bar and supermarket. Very helpful and friendly staff give a warm welcome. Had a wonderful stay. Even though it is self catering, we had left us some basic essentials that helped us until we could get to the shop to buy food. I am struggling to find any negatives.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Back a week ago after 11 great days!

Fantastic place - what you see in the pics is what you get. Spotless and safe - lifeguards always wanting to help (my Mum was with us and has an artificial leg and they were always keen to help her in and out of the pool). Also a security guard walking about day and night.
Entertainment for kids in kids club during the day and shows etc at night in the W Pub.

Eating -
Bistro 27 about 5 mins walk from resort on same side of road (left as you come out of reception area) - highly recommend - big menu choice, great atmosphere and reasonable price.
Pool bar - very reasonable prices and good selection.
Little Italy Golf onsite - wouldn't go back - bit flash for holiday for me. Kids meals bare - no veg or salad just the nuggets or whatever and chips. Overcharged us 25 Euro into the bargain!
Aberdeen Steakhouse nearby - OK - set menu, 3 courses for 8.95 Euro.
Various restaurants along seafront - out gate at pool, turn right and walk less than 5 mins. Tried La Marina 2 here and 3 course set menu for 7.90 Euro was nice but starters only soup and only icecream for pud.

Shopping - 5 mins by taxi (4-5 Euro each way for 2 people) or you can walk along seafront path for about 15 mins (left when you come out of pool gate) to San Blas Shopping Centre - lots of 'Cash and Carry' shops, ice cream parlour, bars, restaurants and a Hyperdino supermarket.
Onsite supermarket really good - not bad prices and fresh baguettes etc (cooked onsite).
Another supermarket across the road (Bestbuys) has Iceland stuff. Irish Bar next door to it.

Very laidback quiet area of Tenerife. Marina about 10mins walk (can see from resort) where you can go on submarine excursion or katamaran to see dolphins, hire jetskis etc.

Can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: Would suggest for those with family and wanting quiet at night to ask for room away from W Club as d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KiwiAbroad94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Santa Barbara – thank you for your review! We strive to provide all our guests with amazing, memorable holiday experiences, and we’re delighted that our team helped to make your stay here extra special. We look forward to seeing you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just stayed there for a week with my parents and partner. Best resort I have ever stayed at. Beautiful location and facilities. The entertainment staff were great and there was so much to do. There were spanish lessons, sangria and paella making classes, wine tasting, a mini spa event, learning how to make Canarian food all for free. At night there were acrobat shows, concerts, good music, reptile shows... the list is endless. Lots for kids to do as well. No entertainment staff were pushy- just friendly, fun and made such a big effort. There was a useful welcome event (free sangria and snacks) where many events were advertised. We did the island tour, a boat trip (saw amazing number of whales) and Teide by night (volcano where we did star gazing) and went to Siam park, an amazing water park with such good rides. Many restaurants a short walk from the resort. many cheap deals like 9euro for a 3 course meal. Found a gem of a tapas restaurant called Tapas which was a few km away. We went on a jetski at the marina right by the hotel. It was the most exciting thing I have ever done in my life. The food at the resort (Little Italy restaurant) is a good price and tasty. The small supermarket there is not too expensive and very extensive. The ocean breeze terrace bar has the most beautiful view, live music and good cocktails. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for this lovely review! We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, and that you’d like to return here – we hope we’ll see you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and two children just back from a week at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club.We took two apartments as the kids are now teenagers and needed their own space.Staff were great-Accomodation was of a very good and high standard all well maintained.
Entertainment was of a very high standard

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iainm541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have just returned from a lovely short break at the Santa Barbara golf and Ocean club. from check in until departure it was a joy to meet so many friendly and hard working staff who made our stay so enjoyable. The complex is so pretty, its accommodations and grounds well maintained, and safe. the pool area was lovely and the outside Jacuzzi a joy to behold in such scorching temperatures. the on site shop is well stocked and has a fresh supply of breads pizzas and croissants baked on site throughout the day. On site dining is excellent value for money (look out for deals starter steak and bottle of wine for 2 for 28euro, and each night has a theme which is competitively priced), The poolside bar offers inexpensive breakfasts and snacks which are freshly prepared and delicious. There is an excellent animations team (Gianni, Justin and Gisella,) on site who provide activities for all age groups throughout the day and evening. alternative entertainment is available across the complex ranging from tribute bands, comedy acts,parrot shows with the parrots from loro park (Paco is a mathematical genius), If you like to relax I would definitely recommend the ocean breeze bar when the saxophonist is playing, and recommend one of Jesus's coctails, (even the non alcoholic ones are delicious). Ann the suncare advisor who is an ex uk nurse is on site a few times a week, and has a range of products which although may initially seem more expensive than british products are best suited to the local climate, and such a little goes a long long way (Thanks Ann not a burn blister or prickley heat in site).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizmart1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
19.8 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,113 reviews
37.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,875 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#14 of 60 in Costa Adeje
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
398 reviews
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $76 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing