We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just stayed there for a week with my parents and partner. Best resort I have ever stayed at. Beautiful location and facilities. The entertainment staff were great and there was so much to do. There were spanish lessons, sangria and paella making classes, wine tasting, a mini spa event, learning how to make Canarian food all for free. At night there were acrobat shows, concerts, good music, reptile shows... the list is endless. Lots for kids to do as well. No entertainment staff were pushy- just friendly, fun and made such a big effort. There was a useful welcome event (free sangria and snacks) where many events were advertised. We did the island tour, a boat trip (saw amazing number of whales) and Teide by night (volcano where we did star gazing) and went to Siam park, an amazing water park with such good rides. Many restaurants a short walk from the resort. many cheap deals like 9euro for a 3 course meal. Found a gem of a tapas restaurant called Tapas which was a few km away. We went on a jetski at the marina right by the hotel. It was the most exciting thing I have ever done in my life. The food at the resort (Little Italy restaurant) is a good price and tasty. The small supermarket there is not too expensive and very extensive. The ocean breeze terrace bar has the most beautiful view, live music and good cocktails. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review! We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, and that you’d like to return here – we hope we’ll see you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    685
    174
    69
    40
See reviews for
712
857
47
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and two children just back from a week at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club.We took two apartments as the kids are now teenagers and needed their own space.Staff were great-Accomodation was of a very good and high standard all well maintained.
Entertainment was of a very high standard

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iainm541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have just returned from a lovely short break at the Santa Barbara golf and Ocean club. from check in until departure it was a joy to meet so many friendly and hard working staff who made our stay so enjoyable. The complex is so pretty, its accommodations and grounds well maintained, and safe. the pool area was lovely and the outside Jacuzzi a joy to behold in such scorching temperatures. the on site shop is well stocked and has a fresh supply of breads pizzas and croissants baked on site throughout the day. On site dining is excellent value for money (look out for deals starter steak and bottle of wine for 2 for 28euro, and each night has a theme which is competitively priced), The poolside bar offers inexpensive breakfasts and snacks which are freshly prepared and delicious. There is an excellent animations team (Gianni, Justin and Gisella,) on site who provide activities for all age groups throughout the day and evening. alternative entertainment is available across the complex ranging from tribute bands, comedy acts,parrot shows with the parrots from loro park (Paco is a mathematical genius), If you like to relax I would definitely recommend the ocean breeze bar when the saxophonist is playing, and recommend one of Jesus's coctails, (even the non alcoholic ones are delicious). Ann the suncare advisor who is an ex uk nurse is on site a few times a week, and has a range of products which although may initially seem more expensive than british products are best suited to the local climate, and such a little goes a long long way (Thanks Ann not a burn blister or prickley heat in site).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizmart1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend bought a deal type holiday through one of the various online deal sites, to stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club in Golf de Sur. We honestly got it for nothing, and therefore were almost fearful of what we were to expect upon arrival. From arrival to departure the place surpassed our highest expectations. Upon arrival we were greeted by an lovely French receptionist called Henry - honestly he was just brilliant - who explained everything we could ever need to know about the area and local amenities - and then had our bags taken to our room for us! When I say the room was brilliant...it was BRILLIANT. We had a bed so big I forgot I was sharing it at times. Two plasma screen TV's and iDock's in each room. Every utensil you could ever dream of needing, it was there. Lovely spacious bathroom and kitchen, complete with quaint balcony for the post meal bottle of vino we usually had!

From the receptionists, to the cleaning staff, we got 'Hello's' from everybody we passed. Service was great, room was great. Swimming Pool's (although freeeezing) were great. If I had one complaint it would be the food in the poolside bar, not so great. However it didn't take away from the rest of the hotel at all!

Quiet area, good for couples looking for a quiet romantic break, young families and older couples. Would 100% recommend this lovely, lovely hotel!

Two very happy Irish customers, 23, Jessica and Conor

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We’re really glad that you chose to stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, and that your experiences here exceeded your expectations. We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our guests, and we’re delighted to read that our team provided you with all the information and assistance you needed while you were here. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return to Santa Barbara, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-By-Sea
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on the groupon deal. Given room 304 which was lovely and clean, could just see the sea and had lovely sheltered balcony so even when it was really windy at the pool there was no wind on balcony and it got the afternoon/evening sun. They forgot out welcome pack of food but as soon as I mentioned they quickly put in the room. The pools were lovely, big one I could hardly stand up in so my 4 yr old only went in that one with my husband and spent the rest of time in toddler pool, even my 3 month old liked going in! Downside is the wifi is so expensive, 24€ I believe for one device which is crazy so didn't buy that. Food good, breakfast at pool bar really nice and cheap. Ate in hotel restaurant one night on the 2 for 1, they don't mention you have to have a starter as well, but as long as you have the same it's one starter and one main free- tues and fri I think. Ocean Breeze Terrace bar gorgeous, esp with the sax player! Mini disco bit of a let down- less of a disco and more a few kids standing in a circle with the entertainment lady making them scream at the top of their voices, my daughter who is the queen of discos wasn't impressed though she didn't complain but didn't ask to go back. If you plan on eating in a few nights then def worth getting taxi to the big supermarket where everything's cheaper and taxi is €6 each way though on site shop is reasonable. Receptionist lady advised us to go out gate by pool and turn left and walk along sea to find supermarket 10mins away, she didn't tell us that it's so gravelly and rocky you can't get buggy along it and husband ended up having to carry it some of the way and we didn't even find it till the last night! If you leave hotel at front and turn left there is fairly big supermarket 5 mins away! Tapas n chilli lovely restaurant same direction and then left down the side of a hotel and also tried Gullivers in San Blas if you turn right out of hotel and walk for about 15 mins which was pretty nice. If you get bus to Los Christianos the 483 is a lot quicker but doesnt run as often but you can get times at reception. Took hour to get there on 470 and 15 mins to get back on 483, lot cheaper than bus that comes to hotel. Staff all helpful esp the new Dutch guy on reception. Overall really nice holiday and would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen wales
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

first of all have to give a mention to Sandra the concierge who is a credit to Diamond and the resort..she obviously loves the island and her job and she was so welcoming and helpful and gave us tips on buses and anything we asked she had the answer too..also a special mention to the amazing animation team who went the extra mile in enthusiasm and friendliness and always stopped for a chat..shame that the W Bar isnt well supported as we went to see 2 tribute acts the Beatles and Boy George and the teams own little show...worth going down to tho the bar man had no idea what drinks were part of happy -that should be better promoted

Location - perfect looking out to sea and despite some reviews there are lots of walks to to go either side - you dont have to walk the uneven cliff path to San Blas just go out of reception and turn right and follow the road up passing the amazing Italian mama roma's and others and follow the road. also worth a walk past the marina for stunning sea views and can call for refreshments at Aries bar just veer off path and follow road and its on the left..happy hours at lunch time = 2 drinks for 3 euros!!! we used the bus 473 a lot buy a Bono card and u get 40% off and the stop is just up a little track opposite the hotel - we went to los cristinos market and to El Medano (amazing beach to watch surfers para surfing etc)

rooms - we were in 711 - good sea views but no sun at all on balcony which was a bit cramped but we enjoyed being sat outside of an evening listening to the singer/musician in the bar below.as for food Little Italy was very good - they have special like Italian Night and tues and fri 2 eat for price of one but has to be same meals

we did go on 2 trips - the VIP Canarian wine and dine =only 8 of us so like a private party and we had a fab guide, tasted good wines, good meal, walking tour of La Laguna...a bit pricey but enjoyed. and we did the island tour - we saw so much and so many photo stops a walking tour of La Orotava, Dragon Tree, Pueblo Chicco model village, candelaria..well worth the money

was a bit worried about the pool depth but neednt have been at kept to the 160 metres though it goes to 165 and 170 enjoyed a dip every day - we didnt really use much of the sun loungers around the pool but when we went down after being out around 4 - 5 pm we always found empty ones and theres a terrace above where the toilets are and a large area on the left tucked away ...wasnt impressed with the location of the pool bar off putting having to pass right by diners on a narrow path to get in..that was my only gripe about not being much room to walk around pool edge.and we had breakfast there one morning a buffet and it was cold so didnt return...

Room Tip: high up so u have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dazzlinoeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Four of us booked this holiday on a good offer from Groupon. We arrived and the cleanliness was so good! We all work in the hotel industry for a multi million pound company and could not fault this break. most importantly the team. Gianni and Roman are a credit to the company and I will be writing a letter to the CEO to ensure he knows it. there energy and passion is so contagious and admirable. We went to eat at some restaurants near by and when I say near by I mean near by there are plenty! Don't expect a sandy beach folks but expect one in Las Americas which cost 20 euro in a taxi. We went on a boat dolphins watching and where blessed to see bottle nose dolphin, Pilot whales, swam with a giant turtle and had hundreds of spotted Atlantic dolphins jumping up and racing our boat. This was honestly amazing. We also seen some amazing shows at loro park which took about 1.5 hrs to get there. Picked up from main reception at the hotel. The kitchen had everything and I mean everything plus more! The finishing touches are all there and thought through. If you want great night life with lots of swearing, lots of common people, a really busy area go to Las Americas for a week. Although a day was enough for us. If you want to sit on your balcony with lovely views in peace and quiet playing cards sipping a nice cold larger come to santa barbara.
Before we came we read reviews on trip advisor and seemed confident it would be great. But there is always a little negative comment every now and then to put you in doubt.
IF YOU HAVE BOOKED OR GOING TO BOOK... DO NOT HAVE DOUBT.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harry_booker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions following your stay at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club with your fellow travellers and our future guests! We are pleased to read that the standard of our resort has met, if not exceeded, your expectations and we are happy that you have found the apartment you were staying at conveniently equipped and the area tranquil and relaxing. We are looking forward to the next opportunity to give you another warm welcome! Until then we wish you safe travels!

Best wishes

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,278 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
709 reviews
27.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#18 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,688 reviews
37.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,787 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Property: Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing