We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have just arrived back from what I can only call a amazing picturesque holiday at the Santa Barbara all staff spoke excellent English and where all very helpful. It was mine and my friends birthdays while we were there and we both got champagne which was lovely of the staff. The little Italy restaurant on site did the most amazing steak its a must try and very good prices. This resort is more for couples and families but we had the best of both world chilled by day and then a taxi to Playa de Las Americas in the evening which cost 20 euros each way is expensive but if there's a few of you its not to bad. The resort has security wandering the corridors at night and if u have a late night then the main doors are closed but there is a telephone and it connects to reception and they let you in very good security indeed.
The resort do all the excursions and the coach picks you up from the front of the resort, Santa Cruz trip was not worth the money unless you want to go to museums there as the shopping was poor, loro paurque is a defo must it took 1 hour to get to from the resort by coach but a Fab day the whale show was my favourite . And finally we went on the catamaran and swam in the Atlantic with turtles below us amazing we has 8 dolphins jumping in front of us on the boat and saw 2 whales you get free food a drink on board too so worth the money amazing.
We also found a tapas restaurant local to the resort you come out of the resort and turn right and wander round the corner there's a few restaurants and its called dabda wine bar and tapas food is outstanding its a must and very good prices its a English lady that owns it. Overall a Fab holiday and we will be returning next year with out fail

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jess474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    664
    164
    66
    37
See reviews for
674
830
43
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a great family hotel. We love it here and have been many times. The hotel is spotless and the staff are always on hand to help.
The entertainment club for the kids is probably one of the best we have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaz3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with two friends in April for 10 days on a groupon deal! For what we paid for it I was overwhelmed by what a lovely well equipped room we got, it had absolutely everything you could possibly need, including fully equipped kitchen, iPod docking station and plenty of storage! We also received a welcome pack of bread, cereal, tea, coffee and even a bottle of cava!
We had a wonderful relaxing stay but even though it was such great value for money, there were a few glitches but didn't spoil our time in the slightest!
Sunbeds were an issue, you have to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve one as virtually every bed is covered in a towel by 9am, also the service in the restaurant and poolside bar were both very slow. The staff are great but stretched to their limit I think! The ocean breeze bar is apparently run by a different company and only had one barman on all the time with a massive queue at happy hour!
We also only had our linen changed once in the 10 days which was fine but we mentioned this to reception and were told it would get done but wasn't!
Myself and my friends aren't ones for complaining but having all worked in hospitality these were all little things that shouldn't be happening in such a great resort and they let it down a bit.
Apart from these small issues we all had a great time and will definitely be back for a relaxing break next easter :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoraG1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

just a few lines to let everybody know how fab this hotel is,had a wonderful 5 day break end of april ,hotel spotless ,excellent service by hotel staff etc,weather was fantastic.area very quite but enough places for a good meal and drink.Rooms are spotless and everything you need and I mean everything,lovely place to chill out and would definatly stay here again.
So well done to all staff at the santa Barbara .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trish m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are delighted to read that you have decided to spend your break with us and you enjoyed yourself throughout your stay. We are thrilled to learn that our team's performance was flawless and we will pass on your thanks as they will be surely appreciated. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week and booked through a Groupon deal. Our apartment was fantastic, with two huge bedrooms, really comfy beds and air con and much more! The pool area was great though the 'sunbed police' made leaving your bed and going for a drink a stressful experience! The bar terrace was ace but expensive. The hotel restaurant was really poor - like eating in Britain in the 70's! Reception service was also really slow.. All in all though a great place and i'd recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed the week after Easter and although our stay was not without its glitch’s, we enjoyed our break. When we got there something was wrong with our room (and three other families) and since they were fully booked we stayed in a four star hotel a short taxi ride away for one night. It wasn’t’ an issue though as the hotel was lovely, breakfast was included and we ate for free in the SB restaurant.

The next day our room was available, we stayed in 417 which is a lovely two bed roomed apartment, nice and spacious. We didn’t have much of a view but this didn’t bother us as we don’t spend much time in our room. However, the car park was underneath and I could hear the metal door being opened & shut, didn’t bother the rest of my family but I’m a light sleeper, it wasn’t a big issue but I could have done without it. Our room was really clean, in fact the whole resort was nice and clean and staff really friendly.

We ate lunch pool side a couple of times and really enjoyed it, the staff were always friendly. Didn’t have to be up super early to get sun beds, I managed to get four together by the pool most days if I was there by 9ish, plus there are other sun beds available a bit further away from the pool.

We ate in Tapas’N’Chilli one night which is part of Volare’s, lovely food & they will keep you a table for the show next door, you can even take your drinks through with you. We had a great time there and on one particular night our 9 year old got up to sing with Gary, we had a brilliant night (thanks Gary for making our holiday so special).

Our son fell off a wall one night and ended up spending the next day in hospital with concussion. The reception staff where really helpful, they showed real concern and the day we left one of them gave him & his sister some kinder chocolates which was really kind of her (thank you).

The resort itself is very quiet & quite spaced out but that’s what we were after, a nice relaxing break. We did walk to San Blas one night and had a nice meal there before getting a taxi back (approx 5E).

All in all we enjoyed our stay and I’m now going to look to see if there is a Diamond resort in Greece.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 417 which had a few of the sea over a bit of ground where folks park cars, could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

From the reviews we seen we totally agree this is kept very clean and tidy in all public areas.
We PAID FOR a Balcony or Terrace and also requested If we could have a high floor accommodation so that we might get a nice view but we were put in Villa 17 and as a previous review says it was for a one bed apartment pokey, dark and without a balcony or terrace so you felt totally claustrophobic and the outlook from the window was a high wall and fence with the sea beyond. We arrived late so didn't like to fuss and just wanted to go get a drink and some food. when went to reception the following day to say something the male receptionist was too busy laughing and chatting with a woman there for almost 10 minutes and didn't even acknowledge me standing there behind her waiting to speak which made my blood boil and I just couldn't be bothered to be treated that way and left. We didn't get a towel or bedding change during our 8 day stay but they did empty the bin every day or so. Unfortunately because of the experience with the neglect the staff paid towards us we probably wouldn't go back for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parsons-Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We apologise for the inconvenience you appear to have experienced during your stay; delivering excellent service is a part of our ethos and we are deeply concerned reading about your recent experience at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. We are sorry if the receptionist appeared unsupportive and we would like to assure you that we hold our team to a very high standard of service and this issue will be addressed with our head of reception. Thank you for bringing your dissatisfaction to our attention and we hope that you will give us another chance to prove ourselves to you. We wish you all the best on your future travels.

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.7 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Property: Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing