We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel. I have previously travelled with my mum and sister, then my mum and dad,my husband and my 23 son and most recently my mum,sister and a friend. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday with not a lot of activities then this hotel would suit. We have had 3 different apartments within the hotel complex each up to a high standard although we made a special request this time or a particular room as it suited my mum as she has a disability making it difficult for her to walk long distances but were unable to get the requested room as they had been receiving a large number of groupon bookings. Although it didn't spoil our holiday we were dissapointed . Although there have been some refurbishments I would think that the management should look at their entertainment program within the W club as this is just total rubbish and not enough variety to encourage patrons to visit the club. The weather let us down this time as we had 1-2 days sun out of 8 but it didn't spoil our holiday. The supermarket within the hotel is adequately stocked up with fresh bread and pastries available daily. As an added bonus we were able to keep our room until our pick up at 1820 although if the room is going to be free I don't agree with a charge of £30. However this saved us from using the newly refurbished courtesy rooms which are top notch. All in all if you are looking for a relaxing holiday with a variety of different restaurants nearby offering good value for money then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1962lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,047)
There are newer reviews for Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

Well, I suppose it couldn't last forever! We have been here quite a few time over the last few years and what was once a true pearl, has now declined to the point where we have just spent our last holiday with them!

We arrived at about 1pm and was told the room we had requested was not available (it never is, but they usually try to accommodate in the near vicinity) They instead offered us "villa 10" which we thought sounded impressive compared to just a room number - we were wrong! Don't forget,we have been here many times and know the pitfalls well! Villa 10 it turned out was next to the sewage treatment plant (for the whole of golf del sur!) Someone new would never have known until the wind changed, as it often does. So we rejected this as soon as we saw where it was. Off again to villa 17 at the opposite side of the complex. Another pokey hole with no balcony and no natural light! Back to reception we went, quite cross by now! After all this we were told that the place was full. This we learned later was due to a big push on groupon where they were filling rooms ten a penny. After all this, we did end up with a nice room near to where we originally requested (653 if your interested, we asked for 760) by now it was 15.30pm. We were tired and irritated to say the least

There are good points to this place:
Spotlessly clean absolutely everywhere
All staff except some on reception are genuinely very friendly and give a polite "Holla" without exception
Food in both the pool bar and restaurant are of a high standard and good value - paella day by the pool is a must
Rooms are immaculate and have everything and more you could hope for, yes even the ones next to the poo pond!

The following are not so good:
The place is getting gready, prices going up disproportionately, except for the masses of people coming via groupon!
The location seems to be in an area prone to cloud cover. We've noticed this each time we come. Head for Los Christianos or Las Americas for nearly guaranteed sunshine
You need a car or you will be stuck to the spot in a quiet resort, nothing wrong in that, just give yourselves flexibility.
There was a profound and noticeable increase in noisy lager loutish type people of all ages - this is one of the main reasons we won't be coming back!
On our second day, the pool staff completely stuffed the pool areas solid with brand new sun beds, so now instead of peace and tranquility, you are sandwiched solid between the new masses, most of whom, seem to be trying to set a new chain smoking world record! Another reason we won't be coming back.
This is, or was a diamond resorts time share apartment complex, and a good one at that. What I do know is that for the price of one weeks annual maintenance charge for a resort member, the rest of the world can have about ten days accommodation. So it's easy to see why they struggle to get people signed up and instead resort to different ways of filling the place up - this will ultimately be their downfall.

So long Santa Barbara, it was nice while it lasted. We won't be rushing back anymore.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Kevinperree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We’re sorry to read that you were disappointed with aspects of your recent stay at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. We expect all our guests, irrespective of whether they are members of Diamond Resorts or staying as guests, to show consideration to others, and we are very sorry for any frustration caused to you by other people staying on site.

We make every effort to provide alternative accommodation if our members request it, although this will depend on what accommodation is available, and we’re sorry that you were disappointed with the villas offered on this occasion.

Please be advised that the Groupon promotions do not reduce the amount of accommodation available for our members – the accommodation comes from an entirely separate portion of our inventory. We’re sorry that you were disappointed by the presence of these guests at Santa Barbara – our Groupon promotions are for a limited time only at each location, and if you were to return on a different occasion, the makeup of guests at the resort may be different.

We are very sorry that you didn't have a more enjoyable holiday on this occasion. We hope that you’ll give Santa Barbara another chance in the future, however – we’d love to see you again!

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel is situated in a lovely spot, right on the sea front and not too far from the airport. Staff couldn't have been more friendly, they did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Anything we asked for, we got. Brilliant for a last minute get away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joejlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently traveled to this hotel for my husbands 50th birthday, It was a lovely time the apartment was nice well maintained as well as the rest of the hotel.

Plus - fab weather, clean hotel, friendly staff, bar great, staff really helpful

Negative - Sun beds being reserved, couple having a screaming match on balcony, bins being emptied at stupid o'clock

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as rooms at back of hotel next to what you think is a quite road but believe me a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The golf del sur is a nice quiet little resort and Santa Barbara looks an impressive complex within it. I was quite surprised at how busy the hotel was and I although I'm understanding of the fact that reception staff probably have much to deal with, it felt that checking us in was a massive inconvenience to them.Any enquiries were also treated with disdain. My favourite part was being called several times late at night to be informed of excursions being cancelled. All well and good, except we hadn't booked any excursions and the persistent noise woke up our little one. I complained about this and my complaint was half written down on a post it note and promptly filed away. Concierge staff were much friendlier folk and the cleaning/maintenance staff were definitely the happiest and friendliest.
My fiancé and I were travelling with our 5 month old baby and we had requested a quiet part of the hotel, for everyone's benefit. What we got was a sixth floor apartment facing the road and near to the recycling bins- no idea what happens around 7am every morning but it sure sounded like this was bin time! The room itself, i must say was really lovely; big rooms with a very well equipped kitchen. We were prepared to not have our towels changed, apartment cleaned etc other than every few days, however towels were changed and bins emptied every day. Air conditioning was great, bed and all living furniture very comfortable and electronic devices all of a more than decent spec.
Pool is large but very deep with a baby pool and although we didn't have issues with sun loungers- we only sat out in the morning due to baby- there were loads of reserved sunbeds that apparently wasn't allowed.
It is worth mentioning that the activity staff are incredibly enthusiastic and friendly- loved the paella and sangria making- and there is an action packed programme of activities throughout the week
Supermarket has a lovely bakery bit, little Italy is also good! We found a gorgeous restaurant a little further down the road called rendezvous, which is definitely an oasis in a bunch of mediocre restaurants on the promenade. Gorgeous place!
The place itself is well maintained and very clean, it's just a shame that the people who are supposed to be welcoming and helpful just aren't.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SerahA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

It concerns us to read that you had not been fully satisfied with the level of service you have experienced during your stay with us; delivering excellent customer care is our absolute priority and we would like to assure you that this will be addressed with our staff during our next team meeting to ensure that they continue to deliver the hospitality standard we advocate here at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. Nevertheless, we of course apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to this.
We would also like to assure you that we are actively trying to stop our guests reserving their loungers by leaving personal belongings and we are now implementing a new procedure which should resolve this issue.
We are pleased to read that you found our resort well maintained, clean and the representatives friendly and enthusiastic and we really hope that your good experience outweighs the less positive as we would be delighted to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Cannot say anything negative about the Santa Barbara.......very clean and bright rooms, we had a room on 7th floor with lovely views and sun most of the day. Welcome pack in fridge with Champagne a lovely touch. King sized bed with pillow top mattress very comfy. Plenty of sun beds and all have foam covers. Eat in Little Italy three times and was very happy with tasty food and good menu. Only 15 euro for taxi from airport, which only takes 10 minutes or so. Supermarket on-site is very keenly priced with a water vending machine outside it to top up water containers for only 10 cent. Don't bother to bring towels as you can hire them from reception for only 4 euro for week. Looking forward to return again.

Room Tip: Ask for high level with sea view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IrelandTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just got back from a holiday in tenerife. Santa Barbara was a great place to stay. we had room 585, the last room of the hotel. My youngest girl loved the kids club, i would definetly recomend this kids club for your children!! My eldest girl loved the pool, it was the pool she learned to dive in!! food was great at the hotel, the girls always went up for seconds!
What the full family loved the most was the hot tub on the roof terrace we were given! This hotel was by far the best and we will definetly stay again in the future! The family loved it and we would all recomend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

It is our aim to deliver memorable and exceptional experiences to all our guests and we hope you will give us an opportunity to give you another warm welcome soon, as your coming back would really mean the world to us - thank you for your kind review!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
19.8 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,849 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
724 reviews
27.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,359 reviews
37.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,823 reviews
8.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $89 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing