We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Santa Barbara is what it says on the label. 4*.
As a self catering customer, the kitchen had all the equipment, the apartment was to my asking, clean, linen changed regular, sea view, great staff, plenty of sun loungers (with mattress). We had two meals in the restuarant, both were good (at least for me), and the only complaints were nothing to do with the hotel, It is in a sometimes windy part of the island and the buses were around but never knew what time they would arrive. If you go to las americas area and there are 4 of you, go by taxi its a lot quicker and inexpensive. In all two thumbs up

Room Tip: as near to the pool as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivorb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club – thank you for your review! We strive to maintain an excellent standard of service, and we hope that our team were able to provide you with everything you needed during your stay.

We hope you’ll get the opportunity to come back here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,279 - 1,285 of 2,114 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently for two nights. The apartment we were given was fabulous. Large rooms, comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and large balcony with a side seaview. On site shop ok. Bars excellent. Swimming pools great. Great coastal walks. Golf de Sur is not a busy resort, however, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redshark_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our location and found it convenient and close to local attractions. We are thrilled that you may be visiting us again in the future and we are looking forward to being of service to you again!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We arrived here in late January and got a taxi from the airport to the hotel which took just over 5 minutes and cost 13 euro. Check in was straight forward, we were told about the wi-fi which is free but only available in the reception and to use the safes in the room would incurr a charge. Staff were very friendly.

We were then helped/shown to our room which was very clean (it had a strong smell of bleach throughout) and very spacious. Our room was a studio type with fold down bed which we ended up keeping down for our entire holiday.

When making the booking we requested a sea view which we got and it was fantastic. There was a balcony with table and 2 chairs. The room had air conditioning and a fan on the ceiling, both of which were very quiet and efficient. The Bathroom was large and well laid out and the kitchen was fully equiped for all our needs, from kettle and toaster to cups and plates and pizza slicers etc.

The bed was very comfortable, although for the first time in my life I dreaded sleeping as we seemed to have a few mosquitos in our room that attacked us most nights and left us scratching in the day. Maybe it would be worthwhile bringing a plug in insect repellent.

There was a good sized flat screen tv which had plenty of tv stations to choose from, many of which were in English.

The hotel complex also featured a small shop which actually was not badly priced at all. It had most things you would need for day to day living including freshly made croissants and pastry items.

The is entertainment put on every night and for us there was a Beatles tribute band on during our 2nd night there. Admission was free and the band were great, just a pity they only played for an hour and there was not much crowd.

Wi-fi was provided free of charge but was only available in the reception, and to be honest it was not great. 1 of the days we were there it did not work at all, and the rest of the time it seemed to cut out quite often, which was very fustrating.

The concierge team in the hotel were great and were able to advise us on several excursions and made bookings for us. They then asked if we had had any member of the sales team contact us with regards to membership with the resort. We had not, so we booked a slot with a sales team rep, on the provision we would get free breakfast and 100euro towards our excursions.

In fairness we did get free breakfast, and two 50euro excursion tickets, but only after spending about half a day getting a sales pitch for diamond resort. The sales rep was very friendly, but like I said it cost us about half a day from our holiday.

The location of the hotel is in Golf Del Sur which is in a quiet part of the south of Tenerife, There are a few restaurants about 5 minutes walk from the hotel, both going inland and along the coast. We never actually ate in the hotel restaurants themselves but the food looked good and they were always busy.

Checking out was simple enough, however the 10am check out time seemed a bit early and meant we had several hours to wait around before going to the airport. We were able to leave our bags in a secure baggage room and go for a walk, but a 12 mid day check out would have been preferable, as it is in most places anyway.

Just watch getting a taxi from the hotel to the airport. We got a taxi from the reception and it took less than 5 minutes to get to the airport. The meter showed 10.60 euro and the taxi driver tried to charge me 17 saying the meter was "kaput". We argued and I ended up giving him 15 euro and walking off angry at being stung just before flying home.

Hotel and resort wise, great place, just bring an insect repellant spray or plug, and watch out for the taxi's.

Room Tip: Just ask for a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KandC_Love_Z3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

we had a great time lovely hotel. the staff are very helpful and pleasant always there to help.very good with young children . didnt seem to be much for older children six of us went on holiday adults teenage boys . local bus service to other parts of island reasonably priced . ist in a good location if you want to just chill out and relax

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deggers4363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are really glad that you had a pleasant stay and we hope you will come back for another visit!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having stayed at the Ritz,Madrid,Georges v,Paris,Plaza Athenee,Interconti,NY,Hilton,London and others, a resort lodging us for over three weeks may be liable for some serious comparisons.
I am delighted to say the Ocean Club not only passed muster but also in many respects exceeded expectations.The staff here are amongst the friendliest ever encountered, especially the Housekeeping team who were charm personified,consistently.Reception and Porterage followed closely and all combined made for an idilic winter break.Levels of care are exemplified by the hotels maintenance squad who have the whole place feeling brand new and that level of pride runs throughout.
Congratulations and well done - we shall be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yorkshireluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, and that the resort exceeded your expectations. We’re really pleased that you’re planning to return here, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I can't speak highly enough about this complex! What a great find it was. Me and my partner went here between jan 30th and feb 4th and loved every minute. We were welcomed by a bubbly/lively events team member in reception area and kindly pointed towards check in desk. Once checked in, our bags were taken to our room, we followed to find the way. We were in room 560. Once in the apartment, we were very pleased. We were just about to pull out the chair bed, but as I looked for the bedding I opened a door and found a monstrous super king sized bed with all the luxurious trimmings! BLISS!!! Heaven pillows, heaven duvets and big built in wardrobes. Shower room was also gleaming and the shower was brilliant.
Terrace bar, shop, games room all great!!! Really, you can't go wrong with this place! WE WILL DEFINITELY BE RETURNING.

Surrounding areas were a bit quiet, but we liked this. And plus it was early in the year.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank PlonkDePlonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and were impressed with the standard of service and accommodation we offer. We are thrilled to read that you intend to visit us again in the future! Thank you for your review!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from the Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club and had a wonderful time there. Rooms are really large and comfortable with large screen TVs in both living room and bedroom, and with a very generous pation area. The pool is fabulous and is very well-equipped with sunbeds. Staff were friendly and efficient and even phoned us before we left home to wish us bon voyage and give us directions to the hotel. It was also very useful to have the complimentary bottle of wine and basket of food to let us 'settle in' in a leisurely way. The only downside was poor wireless connection in the lobby, but we understand that management are in the process of installing wifi in all rooms. Highly recommended, but be aware that you will need a car, bus or taxi to get to the nearest large beach area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view; patios are larger on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
19.8 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,164 reviews
37.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,889 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
#1 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,282 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $76 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing