We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good food and lovely atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food and lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Did not stay in this hotel but whilst staying in the Golf Area did Dine here in the Restaurant on a few occasions. The Staff are very pleasant and the Food very nice . The Menu is quite varied and reasonably priced. The atmosphere is really helped (during late evening /night time ) by the very enjoyable entertaining music and singing of the resident piano man .Would definitely recommend a visit if you are staying around the Golf Del Sur Area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BREIFNE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    572
    147
    49
    29
See reviews for
589
714
33
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mayo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in july with my partner and 7 year daughter. We had a great time. The room was lovely and had everything we required, it also had a great view of the pool and ocean. The pool area was nice but we also had the same issues with towels being left on sunbeds and no one sitting on them for hours. The rule was not implemented here. The location is nice and quiet for families. There are lots of nice resteruants near the hotel also. The food in the pool bar was nice also. We will be returning in the future. Such a nice hotel really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlems2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We’re really glad to read that you had a fantastic time at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club – thank you for your review!

We don’t allow guests to reserve sunbeds at our resorts, and we’re sorry that you experienced this during your stay. Please be assured that the resort lifeguards would have been more than happy to help you find sunbeds if you’d brought your concerns to their attention.

We really hope that this issue didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we’re delighted to read that you’ll be returning here. We hope to see you again soon!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked a week in March 2012 at the Santa Barbara with a 'Daily Deals' voucher, and couldn't believe what we got for our money! Granted, we did agree to go to the Diamond Resorts presentation, which lasted 5 hours, but there was no obligation to attend it, which is ususally a condition with these offers. Our apartment was around the side of the hotel, next to the Aguamarina complex, not overlooking the pool. We had a beautiful sea view, and the area was very quiet, which is just how we like it. On arrival, we were greeted with a Welcome Pack (bread, butter, milk, jam, juice etc.) and a very agreeable bottle of champagne. The apartment was clean, spacious, and had everything we could possibly need. The kitchen was well-equipped with fridge, full-size oven & hob, kettle, toaster & microwave. The bedroom and living room both opened out onto a double-width balcony with table, 4 chairs and 2 sun-loungers. The huge, comfortable bed and ceiling fan in the bedroom were much appreciated, and the bathroom with full bath, shower and twin washbasins was quite impressive. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout the whole complex. The immediate surrounding area is very, very quiet, so I wouldn't recommend it to those seeking a lively holiday, but the bright lights of Las Americas and Los Christianos aren't too far away. The Diamond Resorts membership scheme is attractive in that you can be assured of the same high standard wherever you choose to go, and at the same cost whether you travel in high or low season, but in my opinion, the pricing and points structure was complicated and uncompetitive in these days of Daily Deal and cheap flight websites.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments after your stay at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. We are pleased that you have found the apartments comfortable and well appointed. It is a part of our ethos to guarantee a pleasurable, relaxing, home-like experience to all our guest and we are delighted to learn that we have been successful yet again! We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I travelled with my husband, our 3 yrs old girl and my mother. We all had fantastic time, had room 201 which is a 2 bed appartment. There is air con in each of the rooms, 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, big balconies, Iphone docks, LCD tvs.

The complex is very well set out, you have clean pools and the ocean at your doorstep. Reception and Concierge were extremely helpful, thank you very much Petra and Williams.

Restaurant and pool restaurant are run separately from the hotel complex (Little Italy) and I have to say the food was a bit of a let down. We are not fussy eaters but we could see the food was simply prepared just to cover the standard, lacked soul and attention.

The waiters extremely helpful and cheerful.

The animation team was FANTASTIC, our daughter loved any minute spent with them, thank you Karolina, Celine, Marco and the others. Great entertainment for children - mini disco every night, pyjama party on Monday, shows and games for adults, aqua gym, excellent.

We will be back in Santa Barbara for another holiday, Im sure of that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoriSto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review – we’re really glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club!

We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our guests, and we’re delighted that our reception and concierge staff were able to provide you with all the information and assistance you needed during your stay.

We’re sorry to read your concerns about the on-site restaurant, however. We receive very few complaints about the restaurant facilities at our resorts, but we appreciate that they may not be to everyone’s tastes and we’re sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion.

We really hope that this issue didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay at Santa Barbara, and we’re delighted to read that you’d like to return here. We look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed in Room 570. Huge had everything.
Greeted in arrivals with friendly staff and a free drink.
The establishment is truly a place i would recommend staying for all
Shops and restaurants withink walking distance
Airport is close but the rooms are so well built you hear nothing
Restaurant on site is good but there is better

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spookeytookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. It is our aim to make every guest feel welcome at our resort and we are happy to read that our team proved friendly and helpful. We are pleased that you had an overall enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

With kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location for a quiet break with some good facilities.
On-site restaurants are good and their meal deals and the happy hour offer some good value wining and dining.
Some of the apartments are still to be refurbished though they are still good quality.
Avoid staying near the areas being worked on though due to the noise.
Gym is OK - treadmill was out of action but may have been repaired and could do with some gym balls too.
Watch out for the very cold jacuzzi (one is warm and one cold!)
Weather here is great and area is lovely. Coast path is quite a pleasant walk too.

Room Tip: Ask for morning or evening sun depending on your preference and stay on the west side to avoid the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. As you have accurately noted, we do have a refurbishment program being carried out and we hope our guests will appreciate that although such works may be inconvenient, they are also necessary to upkeep the standard of the resort. We do our best to keep the disturbance down to the absolute minimum, nevertheless, we do apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. Thank you for your feedback regarding the gym equipment, we will consider new additions during the next management meeting. We are happy that you had a nice and relaxing time here at Santa Barbara and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee on the solent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our first holiday on our own for 15 years and a bit of a disappointment. Hotel was OK although not gold star. Not a lot to do if it rains - which it did for 5 days out of the 7 we were there. Only a couple of English TV programmes - resort said it was because Sky was illegal in Spain it has been on in all the other Spanish resorts we have visited. No tourist shops to speak of. Enough restaurants to eat something different every night - try the Chinese/Japanese/Thai - fantastic food and good value for money. The Wildgeese Irish Bar was brilliant. Again good food and good value - with entertainment every night. However, unless you are into golf, not for me so wont be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3sandra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent holiday at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. We regret to hear that you have found the entertainment at the resort somewhat lacking. Our guests generally find the resort has something for everyone with our activities choice being diverse. However, we realise that poor weather may affect the quality of your holiday as the time normally spent sunbathing or sightseeing needs to be otherwise filled and unfortunately, although the choice of entertainment is considerable it is also limited.
As for Sky TV, we need to respectfully note as currently the use of Sky card outside the UK and Ireland is in fact a breach of BSkyB's terms and conditions and therefore it is indeed not lawful to broadcast Sky in Spain. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and hopefully we will be able to add a wider choice of English speaking channels in the future.
We do hope that this has not marred your stay with us and we do hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
18.5 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#11 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,412 reviews
27.2 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#3 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.7 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,991 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 stars 2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Property: Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing