We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the bad reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Santa Barbara Ocean Club in Tenerife. Comments as follows: -

Negative

1. There is a smell of drains around certain outlying parts of the complex (lower down) at times.
2. The restaurant is fairly average.
3. The pool area could get crowded, but if you went down later in the afternoon it was better.

Positive: -

1. Most of the staff went out of their way to help you and always greeted you whoever they were. We particularly recommend the Receptionist Isobella who was really very helpful and friendly.
2. We asked for a sea view when we arrived but none were available that day so we were given another, which had an extra bedroom. We requested the sea view a second time the next day, but again none available, so we forgot about it. The third day they (Isoblla) told us one was available that day and they held it for us until late in the afternoon, (we were gong on a trip for the day).
3. Other things we requested help on they always were very helpful e.g. hire car deals, buses, information on the area, etc.
4. There are plenty of different restaurants in the area (some nice ones by the sea) covering various types of food. The ones we tried were all serving fresh well prepared dishes at reasonable prices. Unless you want fine dining or someone who will always find something to complain about you are well catered for.
5. The area overall is nice, quiet and peaceful.
6. The hotel is well maintained and very clean.
7. The hotel is family friendly.

Overall a very nice week and met or exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Request a sea view when you book (instead of waiting until you arrive). Try the local restaurants. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Here at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club we take great pride in delivering exceptional customer service and we are pleased to learn that our team members have once again exceeded in providing assistance, enabling you to enjoy a stress free, relaxing holiday in a well looked after and friendly environment.
We regret to read that there appear to have been some issues with the apartment you occupied during your visit at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. We would like to assure you that we rarely receive drainage related complaints from our guests and should we have been contacted with regards to this, we would have tried to find an alternative apartment for the rest of your stay. We also would apologise for what appears to be a rather average dining experience-we are determined to provide best quality dishes and we assure you we have passed your comments to the Catering Manager.
Nevertheless we believe that you have had an enjoyable stay here at Santa Barbara and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Javier Baqeiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,320 - 1,326 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed he with family, the paratment was quite large with a very large balcony area. The site itself has a supermarket which is reasonable consdering the location, it is a little more expensive than some off the complex but not much. The pool area is very nice and very well kept. Food is very good in both the restaurant and the pool bar. The bar area which is outside and overlooks the pool area is lovely, the bar tender is excellent and how he manages to co-ordinate all the orders, I don't understand how he does it.
There isn't any beach as you'd expect a beach ut there are areas next to the ocean where you can go and some people did.
There are a few eating places about 100 metres away, these are out of the gates which lead to the coastal path and turn right towards the harbour. Had the Chinese/Japanese and the Mexican, to be honest the Mexican was ok but the Chinese was fabulous. Can't recall the name but there is only one down there.

Room Tip: The sun beds tend to go quite quickly, so best to get to the pool for a reasonable time, you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadrunnner7691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We are pleased to read your comments regarding the apartment you occupied during your stay at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club and we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed our leisure and entertainment facilities. Thank you for your kind feedback referring to the pool bar team; we have of course passed your compliments to our fantastic bartender Manuel.
Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here this summer for 7 nights. We bought an offer from groupon and we were really happy with the price. We didn't know what to expect for that money, but I was quite surprised to see that the room was big, clean and had absolutely everything you need for a nice holiday. We had a few problems with the key card, but they managed to solve it in the end... We asked for a room on the 7th floor as we wanted to have a nice view from the balcony.There is no beach around the hotel... but you have really good bus connections to all nearby beaches... the bus is really cheap so don;'t pay loads of money using a taxi! The best beach in Tenerife is Playa de las Teresitas - visit it and you won't regret it! Another place you don't want to miss is Siam Park & Loro Parque. This is a nice location if you want to stay in a quiet place and want to escape the madness that you find at home (if you live in a city - drunken ppl, noise, pollution, etc). But if you want to go out every night, the location is not good as it is quite deserted... They have their club & daily activities, but they are mainly for children...

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a better room Only use buses as the connections are really good and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ram0na_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

as many otheres have said having been to santa barbra before i new what to expect, but it seems i was rong.. things have got better,most rooms are now fitted with air con(modern quiet). there was still some work on going but thats a good thing. the staff were very help full( an there was no time share towting.) pool was good sun bed space could be a problem at buisy times but theres not a lot that can be done about that.the pool bar is very good nice food good service an not to forget happy hour.did not try the returant so i cant coment .
if your wanting to see more of tenerife then get a bono pass an get on the bus. theres a stop just up the road.an reception have time tables.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorch1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. we are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. The resort is constantly being upgraded to keep up the standards and meet our guests’ expectations. We have worked hard to make Santa Barbara modern and yet welcoming and we are really glad to learn that our efforts are visible and appreciated. We also have passed your comments to the resort Catering Team, thank you! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just back from a week in sunny tenerife. We stayed in Santa Barbara which had been recommended by friends and we had high expectations. Our apartment of 2 bedrooms was clean, well equipped and comfortable. We had asked for a refurbished one, however it wasn't to be. The balcony was really disappointing - there was not enough room for 4 of us to sit, the air conditioning unit took up a lot of space, and it was just far too small. Avoid room 466 if you are 4 adults !! The smell of the nearby water/sewage treatment plant was at times very overpowering and this was very close to our room. So inside was great, and outside really poor, including view of an unfinished hotel, tower crane and treatment plant - a little bit of the ocean too!! The upside of this area of the hotel was that it was quiet.

Pool area was great, friendly pool bar staff, very switched on lifeguards, plenty of space in the pool for all. Common areas were a little dated and to be fair the hotel are refurbishing so it will all improve. The ocean breeze bar was lovely for an evening cocktail. Courtesy room excellent for late check outs.

All in all I would recommend as a good family resort, not amazing, but perhaps a better balcony, and better view would have made all the difference!

Room Tip: Ask for a large balcony room with a good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjkerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We’re really sorry to read that you had some concerns about the apartment you stayed in at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. We want all our guests to be happy with their accommodation, and we’ll be happy to look for alternative apartments if one is requested – we encourage our guests to speak to the resort’s front desk team if they have any concerns at all during their stay, as we’ll do everything we can to resolve things on-site.

We really hope that this issue didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay at Santa Barbara, and we’d love for you to give us another try. We hope to see you again!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having been to the santa barbara last year we knew what to expect , but our expectations were exceeded. New i pod stations, air con etc, unfortunately our room 223 had a water leak which tripped our elecricity and flooded the bathroom , we had maintenance there within five minutes even though it was 6.00 am ! Unfortunately we had to move rooms and our amazing balcony but were upgraded to 506! Fantastic service well done ! Booking again already x x

Room Tip: Sea views are brill c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen_milligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

We’re really glad to read that your recent stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club was even better than your previous one! We’re very sorry for the issues you encountered with the electricity in your apartment, however, but we’re glad to hear that our maintenance team were able to sort this out for you.

We really hope that this issue didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay at Santa Barbara, and we’re delighted that you’re planning to return here. We look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having been to the santa barbara before we knew we would enjoy it, it was even better this time we were put in the same room by chance which we were happy about , docking stations have replaced alarm clocks.The staff and the hotel are just brill the hotel restaraunts fillet steaks are out of this world and a bargain at 15euro bogof.Did think the price of eating out in the surrounding area has gone up a bit but a lovely place to holiday not stressful like the more commercial parts of tenerife such as playa de las americas.Everyone i spoke to, and there is alot of english that go there, said they would return no doubt will return again sometime.Weather was amazing minimum of 30 everyday not a cloud in the sky!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandra7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
19.8 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,113 reviews
37.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,875 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#14 of 60 in Costa Adeje
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
398 reviews
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $76 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing