We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing as ever !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having been to the santa barbara last year we knew what to expect , but our expectations were exceeded. New i pod stations, air con etc, unfortunately our room 223 had a water leak which tripped our elecricity and flooded the bathroom , we had maintenance there within five minutes even though it was 6.00 am ! Unfortunately we had to move rooms and our amazing balcony but were upgraded to 506! Fantastic service well done ! Booking again already x x

Room Tip: Sea views are brill c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen_milligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

We’re really glad to read that your recent stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club was even better than your previous one! We’re very sorry for the issues you encountered with the electricity in your apartment, however, but we’re glad to hear that our maintenance team were able to sort this out for you.

We really hope that this issue didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay at Santa Barbara, and we’re delighted that you’re planning to return here. We look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,338 - 1,344 of 2,114 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having been to the santa barbara before we knew we would enjoy it, it was even better this time we were put in the same room by chance which we were happy about , docking stations have replaced alarm clocks.The staff and the hotel are just brill the hotel restaraunts fillet steaks are out of this world and a bargain at 15euro bogof.Did think the price of eating out in the surrounding area has gone up a bit but a lovely place to holiday not stressful like the more commercial parts of tenerife such as playa de las americas.Everyone i spoke to, and there is alot of english that go there, said they would return no doubt will return again sometime.Weather was amazing minimum of 30 everyday not a cloud in the sky!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandra7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just back from a wonderfully relaxing 8 day stay at Santa Barbara. The apartment (1 bedroom) was beautifully clean and superbly refurbished with great kitchen facilities, lovely shower room, spacious bedroom, plenty storage and much needed air-con! Lovely sea view from balcony (although requested this as aware not all rooms have one). Staff at reception were incredibly helpful and attentive, especially at the end of the stay. We were given spa passes after check out so we could use the pool etc all day and shower before our evening flight home. On a couple of occasions we heard the refurbishment works but it was generally a very peaceful and relaxing hotel. Again, we caught a whiff of the sewagey smell a couple of times but our room was thankfully not down wind of this so it was only really when we walked nearer the east end of the hotel. The only downside to this hotel for us was the lack of nice food nearby. Most of the nearby restaurants are very geared up to British tourists (and served steak and chips, fish and chips, chinese etc) and there was nowhere in walking distance that served local Canarian or Spanish cuisine in an authentic sense. However we found a delicious tapas restaurant nearby run by a lovely Irish lady (Tapas n'Chill), which we visited twice it was so good! The poolside bar at the hotel was fairly unpleasant (we had awful burgers!) but the restaurant upstairs did nice pizza to take away (although, we were really disappointed to find an Italian restaurant rather than local cuisine at the resort). One thing we'd do next year is take our own pool towels (although 4euro to hire one for the week was very reasonable). We would definitely return to this hotel and have been recommending it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room with air-con, on a high up floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. We endeavour to provide our guest with a great holiday experience throughout their stay. It is important to us that our hospitality stretches beyond the check out date, ensuring that our guests can they enjoy the sun and remain relaxed even after their stay has come to an end and we are glad that we could be of service.
We do, however, regret to learn that you were not satisfied with the type of food available. We have of course passed it to our Catering Manager and will reconsider the cuisine offered on site. Nevertheless, we are happy that you have had an overall enjoyable stay here at Santa Barbara and we thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have been coming for the last 15 years or so, and have stayed in many different sizes and styles of apartment.This time we stayed in Villa 5 which is a large, 2 storey villa at the front of the resort. It had air conditioning, and although not refurbished, a charm all of its own with every mod con you could think of. There was a whiff of sewage, but it only lasted for the first day, and didn't bother us that much. We could have done with a parasol/canopy on the patio as the sun was very hot, and the patio itself was a little small, considering the size of the villa.
The pool was lovely and warm with various depths and a separate section for inflatables. There was also a smaller pool for children. The lifeguard seemed to be attentive.
The pool bar seemed quite busy and we did have to wait on occasion, but the staff were polite and friendly and prices were not too steep.
A slight complaint was that the public areas no longer seem to be air conditioned as in past years. This was uncomfortable in the heat and meant that the reception was less welcoming.
The grounds and buildings are still very well kept and give the whole place an up-market feel, additionally located alongside the sea where you can walk to local restaurants or go rock-pooling from the rear gate.
The staff can "make or break" a place, and certainly seemed to make a real effort to be courteous and helpful, from the porters to the maids to the reception staff.
Santa Barbara is definitely one of our favourite places to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique, varying in size and layout, but ask for a sea view and air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJS65J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent a week in the Santa Barbara from the 22nd of Sept 2012 and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. From the moment we checked in and were advised to 'now go and have a relaxing holiday' that is exactly what we did. We were in room 813 which was excellent, there was nothing that we could complain about on that front. The pool area too was great, I have some minor mobility issues and was concerned that it would be difficult getting in and out of the pool but it was perfectly safe. The outdoor bar was lovely too, we enjoyed a drink there most evenings before heading out.
The only issue that we would have is the lack of wi-fi in the rooms but perhaps the island itself is not geared up to provide that facility
We would certainly recommend this resort and hope to return in January or February next year for another stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We exchanged our Studio apartment at the Royal Savoy in Madeira this year and were led to believe by Interval International that this was a similar resort!
Unfortunately this is not the case.
The Hotel itself is immaculately clean and we stayed at Villa 19 which has a beautiful sea view. It was self catering and comfortable and had all the necessary kitchen equipment etc. When we first arrived we were quite happy with the accommodation when we eventually found it. It is badly designed and there is a labyrinth of corridors and paths and you need satellite navigation to find your way around. The Villa was air conditioned and had satellite TV which included BBC1 & ITV. As time went on however we found faulty lights, in the main lounge area and the bedroom. The door to the villa kept jamming but the worst thing of all was the awful stench from the drains which filled the rooms. It was disgusting and in the mornings it was almost unbearable to go into the bathroom. It smelt like an open sewer!
The maid missed things like putting a new toilet roll in the bathroom, and dishwasher tablets in the kitchen so we had to ring Reception on several occasions. Little things that make such a difference.
The pool area was nice and the entertainment staff very friendly and fun people.
The Main restaurant was small but the food was good and the waiters were lovely.
Shame about the drains!!!

Room Tip: Dont get a room near the W Bar as it can be quite noisy and dont ask for Villa 19!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulette Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to read that there appear to have been some issues with the apartment you occupied during your visit at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. We would like to assure you that we rarely receive drainage related complaints from our guests and should we have been contacted with regards to this, we would have tried to find an alternative apartment for the rest of your stay. It comes as a surprise to learn that you appear not to have enough toiletries as our maids usually supply extra; we have addressed this with our Housekeeping Manager. We are pleased to read that you have had an otherwise enjoyable stay and hope that this incident has not discouraged you from returning to Santa Barbara in the future. We do hope to see you again!

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at the Santa Barbara with my husband and parents in September 2011. The room was lovely, very spacious and comfortable although the view from the balcony was at eye level with a car park so not great! The building is charming and the outdoor bar is a really lovely place to go and have an evening drink and listen to some live music, although I wish the bar had stayed open later.
We found the pool area to be very busy; it wasn't big enough compared to the number of guests so it was usually hard to find a bed unless you arrived really early and a lot of the beds are very close together and not in front of the pool. The pool itself was also really warm which isn't really what you want when you need to cool off.
The pool-side bar / snack bar was reasonable priced and had a decent menu.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarilypuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. We are an extremely popular resort and at peak times it is always busy due to high occupancy levels. We are happy to hear that you made the most of your stay with us and that you enjoyed the evening entertainment.
We regret to learn about your concerns regarding the sun beds available at the resort. The number of our guests wishing to sit by the pool side varies from day to day and we are trying to avoid the pool side becoming too overcrowded with empty loungers.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
19.8 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,173 reviews
37.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,891 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
#1 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,283 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $76 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing