We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

we came to santa barbara on the 11th september 2012 for 10 days this is my 4th time to this hotel and once againg very good holiday the bar staff at the pool bar were very pleasent with our young kids and couldnt do enough for us, we had a bottle of champange waiting for us when we checked in the room was beautiful all white witch was a bit of a worry for me and my wife (with the kids) the only downside was that they was doing building work and the noise was very loud but that apart it was bril
thank you
MR & MRS PARKINSON

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Santa Barbara and that we are successful in delivering that great experience time after time. We regret to hear however that you have been affected by the refurbishment program. Unfortunately, maintenance works are necessary to keep up our standards of accommodation and we hope you can appreciate there is never an ideal time to carry out such works. Nevertheless, we are looking forward to seeing you again, this time without any disturbances!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    663
    164
    66
    37
See reviews for
674
829
43
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have coming here for 15 years since the days of GVC. We have been through the turbulent times of Sunterra and have now come out the other side. Diamond have been investing in the resort since they took up ownership and the whole place is now looking decidedly smart. Prices have gone up dramatically in the restaurant and pool bar partly due to the Euro but also I feel to repay the new owners. It is now becoming more tricky to book appartments as they are selling them through agents so it is not now as exclusive.
The accommodation is excellent and is always kept a clean standard. If anything is not working the reception will get it fixed very quickly.
We are visiting again in November this year with family and we are really looking forward.

Room Tip: We always request an appartment on a high floor as there is less noise we find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolmw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoy staying at Santa Barbara! We have a constant programme of improvement here, and we’re really glad that you appreciate the changes that have been made to the resort complex.

Please be advised that the on-site restaurant is run by a franchise, rather than by Diamond Resorts, and they are responsible for setting their own prices. We’re sorry that you had cause for concern in this regard!

We’re also sorry to read your concerns about availability at the resort – please be assured that rental availability is completely separate from the availability which is bookable by our Club members, and will in no way reduce the amount of apartments available to book using points. We would recommend that you contact us directly if you have any concerns in this matter, as we’ll be happy to discuss this with you.

We really hope that these issues didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay at Santa Barbara, and we look forward to seeing you again in November!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from a very good week at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club and would definitely consider returning.
The place is lively and the staff are definitely superb.
Areas where they can improve are: very noisy with refurbishment going on, drilling only between 10am and 6pm and this was true, although we were not told any of this before we booked. Our air conditioning didn’t work, no attempt to move us either but the staff did their best to sort the problem.
We were not asked to evaluate our experience and I was disappointed about that but overall it is an excellent venue with lots to offer, many extras such as water and milk for the first cup of coffee available in the room on arrival, beautiful facilities,
would certainly recommend it and hope to return, Anne C

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anotherhappyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club!

We’re sorry that it wasn’t possible to provide you with an alternative apartment during your stay, however. We do make every effort to do so if our guests request it, but please be advised that occupancy levels at the resort will determine whether this is possible.

Please be advised that we send post-departure surveys by email to our guests (so long as we have an email address on record for them), and these are generally sent around a week after the check-out date. We do encourage guests to contact us directly regarding their stay if they have any questions or concerns, however, as we’ll be more than happy to answer them.

We really hope that your stay wasn’t marred by the issues you’ve raised, and we’re pleased to read that you’d like to return here. We look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel was mostly wonderful. The hotel is huge and can feel a little like a maze when first trying to navigate around but give it a couple of days and it all comes together.
My partner and I stayed in the self catering one bedroomed room. It was very spacious and incredibly comfortable. The room has all the necessities and more! The only part i did not like was that the balcony was situated so we got the direct sun in the afternoon and there was no breeze or sun shade of any kind to get respite. The rooms and common areas were exceptionally clean. We later found out the rooms were not cleaned on a daily basis but every 3 days, it would have been helpful to be told which days this was to be at the time of check-in so we could ensure we were not using the room at the time. We did have to decline the cleaning due to the inconvenient timing, although the staff were incredibly friendly and polite.
Another issue i had was that the handbook clearly stated that leaving your towel unattended on a sun lounger would not reserve the lounger and was unacceptable, this was further reiterated on the wall as you enter the pool area yet it was not enforced. On more than one occasion we went to the pool at 9am to find nearly every lounger covered yet no one was to be seen until well after 10:30am! Needless to say we were not impressed by this.
The area is very quiet but the hotel puts something on everyday and night ie water polo and aquafit during the day and there was something on the terrace bar in the evening. The bar is in a lovely place and does get some breeze from the sea so it can be a bit cooler here especially of an evening.
There are plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area only about 5 or 10mins walk away so there is plenty of choice out with the hotel. We did choose to eat in the hotel restaurant one evening and although the food was ok we did prefer to go to the restaurants elsewhere to have tapas etc. and there is a great Irish sports bar not 2mins from the hotel
I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break but not if you're looking for lively night life in the surrounding area.
I would mention that there was building works going on as the hotel is currently undergoing an upgrade. Thenkfully we were not placed in this area but it could be heard from the poolside and surrounding areas so you mayu wish to look out for this

As i mentioned there is a great Irish sports bar call The Wildgeese just 2 mins walk away. They show a variety of sports on their many screens inside and outside. The staff are friendly and there is always a drinks offer of some description on.
Also, in the Winter Gardens just round the bend from The Wildgeese is a restaurant called the Rendezvous. The staff are brilliant here, so friendly and the food is absolutely wonderful. We were here 3 nights. When you go here this will take up your evening, we found anyway, as they are in no rush which was very comfortable. Here, we were told about a show called "The Sound of Musicals" where there is a performance of songs from various shows. The Renezvous gave us a super deal on the ticket where you could get a 2 course meal, the show and transport there and back for only 49euros pp. This was lots of fun and a great night out.
In the other direction, a little over 5mins walk away, is Dabda a tapas restaurant. Again, the food was faultless and the service was great. Also there was the choice to select from a menu if tapas was not what you were after
There is another tapas place called Tapas and Chill just opposite The Wildgeese and down a hill. The food was good but we did prefer Dabda for tapas.

At the nearby marina along from the hotel you could hire jet ski etc but we chose to get a submarine ride around the marina - this is marvellous, i highly recommend this whatever age you are!

The hotel is only about 15mins taxi ride from Los Christianos and Las Americas if you fancied a day out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up. I read another trip advisors review suggesting this so we did as recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for this detailed review of your recent stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club – we’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay here!

Our reception staff advise guests of the cleaning and housekeeping schedule during check-in, and we’re sorry for any oversights or miscommunication in this regard. Please be advised that while we can’t advise guests of the specific time that their apartment will be cleaned, it will always be before 2:00pm. We’re happy to fulfil any specific requests for cleaning times that our guests make, however!

As you’re aware, guests aren’t permitted to reserve sunbeds at our resorts. The lifeguards make every effort to enforce this, and we’re really sorry for your dissatisfaction in this regard. We do encourage guests to speak to the lifeguards if they’re concerned about this, as they’ll do everything they can to provide sunbeds if requested.

We hope that these issues didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable holiday, and we’d love for you to return to the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. We hope to see you again!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

A wee gem! Never been to Tenerife and booked this with another 2 couples through Secret Escapes - £149 for a week's stay in a fabulous apartment - will certainly return.
Staff were all very pleasant and helpful - no complaints.
Should perhaps mention there was a lot of drilling as there is ongoing refurbishment so perhaps not for you if this would annoy you.

Room Tip: We had 553, 203 and 204. If you are looking for a nice view then 5th floor up but 203 & 204 had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Booked through Secret Escapes and got a great deal. We were allocated 2 refurbished apartments which were very nice but unfortunately even after 1 phone call and 2 emails requesting a quiet room etc we were given rooms in the middle of building works - literally. The drilling, hammering etc meant we avoided spending time in the lovely, very well equipped apartment which was a real shame. We did wonder if this was because we had booked through Secret Escapes with such a good deal? We tried to get moved but to no avail and did not receive an apology at any stage.

The staff were mostly great, the pool bar excepted on occasion, and some went out of their way to help especially Ramiro(?) on reception. The previous comments about lack of sunbeds and people reserving them at god knows what time in the morning is definitely very true.

Overall we were able to enjoy our stay and would consider returning but would have to be assured that our requests would be met this time.

There are some great places to eat within an easy walk and we would recommend Dabda, fabulous food in a great environment close to the Hotel with very friendly service and for fine dining Los Roques in Los Abrigos were we had an outstanding evening.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms are modern and very well equipped. The refurbishment of some other rooms causes no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Co'path
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club – thank you for your review!

We’re sorry that it wasn’t possible to allocate an apartment which met with your request, however. While the resort will make every effort to fulfil all requests made by our guests, this will unfortunately be dependent on the accommodation which is available at the time that you check in. We will always endeavour to find a suitable alternative apartment if our guests request one, however, and we’re sorry that we weren’t able to do so on this occasion.

We very much hope that this issue didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable holiday, and we’d love for you to return here. We hope that you’ll be willing to give us another try – please be aware, however, that we aren’t able to guarantee any accommodation requests although we’ll do everything we can to fulfil them.

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

After an wet, foggy Atlantic crossing on QM2 we needed some sun so booked a last minute to the Santa Barbara. What a find!
The hotel was only 10 minutes from Tenerife South Airport. This was a good start. We arrived about noon but were able to get into our room a few minutes after checking in. The Receptionist was friendly and welcoming. This is getting better.
Our room was on the 7th floor. We just could not believe the space we had. The bedroom was large with a 7ft bed, good cupboard space, a flat screen TV, a safe and pleasant mirrors.

The bath room was modern with bath and shower. Nice toiletries helped welcome us.

The lounge/kitchen was also spacious. The kitchen was superbly equipped-microwave,4 hobs, oven, every possible utensil, tea towel and even dish washer tablets. Really excellent. There was a table and chairs to seat 4 though we were only 2. The lounge part had 2 arm chairs and a sofa. There was a large flat screen TV. Both TVs had numerous UK channels..

Large french doors opened on to a balcony with 4 chairs and a large round table. The sea views were lovely.

The apartment was air conditioned.

Other reviewers had commented on the sun bed situation. We had no problems locating a sun bed in an acceptable position. We did notice however that many sun beds with towels on them remained unoccupied throughout the day and that some clients had sunbeds in the sun and in the shade.

There were small children in the shallow pool. These were entertained by he Animation Team. Around the main pool the atmosphere was calm with very few people actually in the pool. It really was tranquil.

The pool bar served good value meals throughout the day with the bar offering a full range of drinks. Service was good.

The restaurant was only average.Nothing good/nothing bad. Better value can be had in the nearby restaurants where you could get a 3 course meal for 9 euros.

The area around the hotel is quiet. A few bars and restaurants. A few small supermarkets..
At the front of the hotel a path runs along the sea shore giving access to a pleasant walk.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Santa Barbara. It would be nit picking to find fault.We will go back at the first opportunity

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for this detailed review – we’re delighted to read that you had a great time at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club! We’re really glad that you’d like to return here, and we look forward to being of service to you on your next visit!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
6.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.7 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Property: Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#1 Green Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing