We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely hotel following the previous highly rated reviews.
The hotel itself is small and cosy, I think there are only about 12 rooms. It is situated in the small town of San Miguel, which sits in an elevated position in the hills above the main tourist spots. You definitely need a car to stay here, but it is well worth it.
The rooms are of good size and tastefully decorated in real Spanish, rustic style.
There is a lovely courtyard where you can sit of an evening and be served snacks and wine if you choose not to dine in the restaurant. I do however, highly recommend the restaurant. The food and service are impeccable. There is a good selection of local dishes and wines. My husband tasted the goat (braver than I) and thoroughly enjoyed it.
We cannot recommend this hotel more highly. We were treated so well by señor and the señorita. Thank you so much. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauramaria36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 114 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We started our round trip at Tenerife at hotel 4 esquinas and we have to say that we really enjoyed it. The hotel has lovely tidy rooms and bathrooms and a very nice yard where you can enjoy a drink and/or have dinner and enjoy its nice authentic spanish atmosphere. On top of that we have to mention that the owners of the hotel are really very nice and charming people that from the moment that you arrive make you feel at home. Further they serve very nice local foods and have nice local wines. It is an excellent place to start your trip and discover maior hightlights of the island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michiel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Family run hotel, we stayed 6 nights over New Years 2012/2013. a very good location to explore the southern end of Tenerife island. The weather was not suitable for the beach. We explored the region from this hotel as our base.
The room was nicely furnished, we had a little problem with the bathroom which was quickly resolved. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was very quite so we had exceptional sleeps, some nights more than 9 hours, exceptional!
The restaurant served a good breakfast and we had dinner off the menu with a 1/2 board package, good value for the money.
The staff was very helpful and accommodating with our needs, I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to get away from the cookie cutter style of hotel, this hotel is a good 3 star hotel, a little unique.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oranya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel looked attractive and reasonably priced on booking.com, and this proved to be the case. I had a really enjoyable 4 night stay. The hotel (literally the Four Corners, because it is at a historic crossroads) is an old stone building which has been tastefully adapted - traditional decor and furniture (and a key far too large to walk off with by mistake!), and modern and well equipped bathroom. The photos on the website show it off well. Good, simple Spanish breakfast - I was able to eat all my meals outside in the courtyard. There are several terraces to sit and enjoy the sun, the shade or the breeze. One of the advantages of being up in the hills is that the temperature cools off in the evening. The restaurant specializes in locally sourced food, and the food is really excellent - Canarian fish, meat (including rabbit or goat if you're feeling adventurous), traditional desserts, all beautifully presented.... Great local wine, too. The hotel/restaurant is run by a charming couple, and is very welcoming. Senora is an excellent cook, and Senor does a great job of keeping his guests happy. Nothing is too much trouble. I would definitely stay here again. This really is the other face of Tenerife - it is such a pleasant contrast to the chain hotels in the coastal resorts. Wifi is included. I have driven through San Miguel many times, but never seen the heart of the village before.After dinner, walk up the street from the hotel to the church and take in the beautiful old houses, and the views down towards the coast from the church.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geologist04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have been in Tenerife for nearly three months now and have just found this hotel and restaurant. I can honestly say that it is the best meal we have had whilst being here. Friends who have stayed at the hotel say that it is equally as lovely. It is a non tourist type hotel up in the mountains.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The hotel was lovely, warm and homely, the food in the restaurant was very good and the owner/manager was very friendly, very helpful and spoke good English. We stayed in three (good) hotels in Tenerife this week and this was by far the most memorable one.

Room Tip: ??? Not sure there are many to choose from but the bedroom door had no number and a very large key...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The Rural hotel was only opened in November 2010. It took four years to renovate the old buildings, one of which was taken up with inevitable Tenerife paperwork, but the architect was imaginative and his plans must have pleased the owners of the hotel. There is comfortable furniture, space and Canarian trinkets to be viewed . The ceilings are high and done in a traditional way. The food is good quality and the owner and his wife do everything they can to please their clients.

We had the continental breakfast indoors, as the mornings are a bit chillier than down near the coast where I live in Amarilla Golf. San Miguel is the administrative town for the local area and has a Museum called El Capitan, which is certainly worth a visit to delve into the history of the rural side of Tenerife.

The hotel is situated right on the road up to the town and nearly opposite the ayuntamiento, the town hall, which is quite a busy road. The rooms were quiet at night. The ensuite bathroom had a state of the art tardis of a shower and piping hot water was available.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina_H44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
3.2 mi away
Hotel El Nogal
Hotel El Nogal
#5 of 5 in Vilaflor
260 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
524 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rural San Miguel
Hotel Rural San Miguel
#8 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
102 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel  Arenas del Mar
Hotel Arenas del Mar
#1 of 5 in El Medano
2,363 reviews
4.4 mi away
Casa el Zaguan
Casa el Zaguan
#3 of 5 in Vilaflor
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas

Address: Calle Iglesia 11 | Corner of Obispo Perez Cacerés 19, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $85 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emblematico 4 Esquinas Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing