We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Winter break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Winter break”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We came back from La Bodega yesterday and are already missing it! We were looking for a week of complete relaxation and some winter sunshine in nice surroundings and that's exactly what we found. The accommodation is just right for couples - we were in Bougainvillea - making great use of the original features both inside and throughout the site. Sitting here now in close-to-zero temperatures back in the UK, it seems hard to believe that only a couple of days ago we were having breakfast outside in the garden, reaching out to pick an orange to peel and eat fresh from the tree.

Sheila and Ray are excellent hosts - knowledgeable and available for help and advice whenever needed, but never intrusive.

San Miguel is a lovely little village only a few minutes drive from the coast, but completely away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas. Good shops are close by and there's a decent selection of restaurants - we tried two, both good with excellent friendly service and good food at very reasonable prices.

All in all, a lovely break and a location we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We spent 11 nights here in November 2011 . Absolutely loved it . Sheila Atkins and her husband Ray were so friendly and helpful , giving all the advice you need to make the most of your holiday . Although a little tricky to access initially , you soon get used to the village's one way system ; five minutes walk to a very well stocked supermarket ,with two very nice restaurants two minutes away .
Sheila's meals are excellent and very reasonably priced .Other restaurants we tried included an excellent selection of harbourside fish restaurants at Los Abrigos , about 20 minutes drive . We liked El Medano with its very pleasant beach and good selection of bars and restaurants .
If you want something different to the tourist hotels in the seething resorts of Los Cristianos etc. somewhere that you experience the genuine Canarian way of life , this is where you need to be .

Room Tip: We were very pleased with Hibiscus Cottage ,superb facilities .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianpricebds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Located in the quiet village San Miguel de Abona. (a car is a must) For us it was a perfect location. 20 minutes drive to nice coastal villages as El Medano and Los Christianos and also on the way to the Teide, where you can make great hikings. From the Bodega you can walk to a supermarket, a bakery and a few good restaurants. Our appartment was beautiful. The kitchen was very fully equiped, there was a nice living room, a good sleeping room, and a bathroom with bath. We had a really nice time here!

A few small disadvantage to take account of:
- the road to the appartment is very steep. every time you must go out of the car at this road and open the door to the parking. you even get a lesson in 'how to use the gate'
- you don't have a private terrace. We thought we had, but looked wrong at the website. The terrace in front of our appartment, with beautiful view, was used by other guests too
- It's absolutely colder in San Miguel (600 meter), than in the coastal villages. We walked in fleece jackets around our appartment, and lay sunbathing in El Medano in the same afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IwanYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We can't praise this accommodation enough! Sheila and Ray have created a haven in the hills, tucked away in a lovely small town. We stayed in Bougainvillea cottage which is the largest, and found it to be very comfortable and peaceful. The furnishings are very tasteful and there is everything you need in the cupboards. There is a beautiful water feature in the courtyard just outside the front door and it was wonderful to sit and read (or snooze!) listening to it. The pool and garden area is delightful with fruit trees and butterflies, and a gorgeous refreshing pool. Sheila can prepare meals for you on request and her menu is delicious. We ate on the terrace and enjoyed a bottle of their house wine too. Sheila gives a warm and friendly welcome and can answer any queries you have about sightseeing on the island. There is also a good library of books and DVD's in reception along with some amazing photographs Sheila and Ray have taken. All in all a totally relaxing holiday in a very special place. We will be back!

Room Tip: Bougainvillea is the largest and has a great kitchen separate from the living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaladhJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Perfect self-catering accomodation. When we landed at the wrong airport-late, without luggage and not having eaten for a day...Sheila could not have been more helpful. Cooked us a delicious meal and found swimsuits for us. The villas are all individually and very tastefully decorated. Everything you could possibly need is there for nights you want to self cater. Sheila has a lovely selection of wine and cava, all very reasonably priced and her tiramisu if gorgeous!
We stayed in Hibiscus which we loved. Sheila supplied us with figs for our breakfast and lemons for our G&Ts-all from her well cared for garden. Great views of the sea from the verandah. Sheila is readily available with good advice about local restaurants, walks and best to get from A to B.
Great value for what you get and only a 15 min. drive from South airport. (You'll need a car if you want to explore the island but there very reasonably priced in Tenerife).
We've been recommending it to our friends...book early!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerLS435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This is a typical Canary house restored by its owners (Sheila and Ray) to absolute splendor. I stayed in the Bougainvillea Cottage (the largest of what I believe are four cottages on the grounds). Everything was lovely and done with such attention to detail. Great pool and AMAZING views of the sea a few miles below. San Miguel is one of my favorite pueblos in Tenerife and the barrio around La Bodega offers great walking, exploring and photography. The architecture up there is some of the very very best (IMHO the best) in Tenerife. I did have the owners cook for me and it was delicious and beautifully presented. I've stayed many places in Tenerife and this guest house is by far my favorite. It is up in the "hills" and requires a 15 minute drive to the beaches - but so very worth it to experience Tenerife from this perfect spot. Tranquil, creative, romantic and so tasteful.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room. Don't be satisfied with
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCSPOON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We have just returned from Tenerife after 9 days staying in the Jasmine apartment. This was a very pretty apartment which was very clean, comfortable and well appointed.
Sheila had prepared a meal for us despite arriving after 9pm and it was very good - she can cook!
Both Sheila and Ray were always available for friendly advice on the Island or just a general chat as they mosied about tending the place(to a high standard).
The swimming pool was a delight on hot days and in the well tended garden, fresh Lemons were available for a V@T, just avoid the Lizards on your way. There is a delicious bakery and a well stocked supermarket close by and the Local beaches of Mendano and Los Cristianos were an easy 15 - 20 min drive away.
There were 4 local restaurants, we would recommend the Quatra Esquinas(Modern style), Vieja Bodega- wicked Mojitos! along with Pimento Verde (both more rural style). The car hire organised by Sheila worked flawlessly being personally met at arrivals. All in all a really quiet and stress free holiday - very much recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joco62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rural San Miguel
Hotel Rural San Miguel
#7 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
100 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
462 reviews
5.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fairways Club
Fairways Club
#1 of 29 in San Miguel de Abona
516 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sunset View Club
Sunset View Club
#2 of 29 in San Miguel de Abona
384 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Tenerife Country Club
Royal Tenerife Country Club
#3 of 29 in San Miguel de Abona
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega

Property: Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega
Address: Calle Juan Bethencourt Alfonso 4, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly La Bodega Casa Rural)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenerife Self Catering at La Bodega is for couples in Tenerife. Tenerife Self Catering at La Bodega offers country cottages that are situated in San Miguel de abona in the south of Tenerife, just 15 minutes from Golf del Sur and 25minutes from Los Cristianos. It's an Ideal destination for couples that want to be away from the madding crowd yet it's also close enough to enjoy all the facilities that Tenerife has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenerife Self Catering - La Bodega Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing