We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rushed service”
Review of LaProa

LaProa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Rushed service”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had one meal here as part of our AI package at the Sandos San Blas hotel. The whole meal was very rushed and we felt like they wanted us in and out as quickly as possible.

I had the duck salad (nice), a salmon fish course (very nice), a chicken breast main course (really horrible) and a volcano dessert (very nice). The chicken was pieces (not a whole breast) and was slimy. It was more like chicken thighs. The menu is extremely limited.

We were only offered one drink and when we eventually managed to catch someone to ask for a second drink it never arrived.

If you are an AI guest at the Sandos San Blas hotel and you don't manage to book this restaurant, don't feel disappointed. The food at the main buffet restaurant is much better.

If you are a visitor from another hotel, then I suggest you eat elsewhere for better food, service and ambience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deaconblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    38
    15
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Avoid”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were staying in sandos San blas resort and therefore got one evening at La Proa included. Wish we hadn't bothered. The menu is 4 courses (3 savoury and 1 sweet). 1st and 2nd courses are over complicated with a ridiculous mix of different foods and flavours (banana soups with prawns as an example). Clearly the sign of a restaurant trying to make their food appear better quality and a very poor attempt at fine dining. Course 3 was substandard at best, serving frozen chips with rubbery chicken. Just awful. Dessert was pathetic. Mango mousse or chocolate mousse. Bland and un-inspired. The service was mediocre and the atmosphere was poor. The moulin rouge soundtrack was on repeat when we were there and the staff couldn't even remove copious amounts of unneeded cutlery from the table. Bread was hard and stale. Overall I would suggest that if you want to enjoy an a la carte meal then you take a very short trip over to Los Abrigos and chose from the plethora of good quality restaurants bordering the coast. You will not regret spending your money on a decent meal (one restaurant in Los Abrigos has a Michelin star) instead of wasting your time in La Proa

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C_Campbell91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyshannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rush Rush Rush.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went here whilst staying in the hotel Sandos San Blas. It was a courtesy meal if you stayed at the hotel for 7 nights. We dressed up and expected to be enjoy a dining experience of 2 hours or more. This was certainly not the case. Rushed and menu limited and food not certainly 5 star quality. We were out of the restaurant well within a hour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Digger1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“very good”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

food and staff were excellent - we did mention that the wine was a little cold and they soon brought a different bottle which is perfectg

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mostly vile, avoid.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Ours was free as part of Sandos San Blas all inclusive. However if we have been asked to pay for the set menu meal thing we were served then I may have just coughed it back up.
Cold banana puree was disgusting as a starter, chicken thigh was passed off as chicken breast. The salmon was not bad fr flavour but overcooked. Desserts were average.
Please save your money go elsewhere

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midgee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaProa also viewed

Tenerife, Canary Islands
 
San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife
Granadilla de Abona, Tenerife
 
San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife
San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife
 

Been to LaProa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing