We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - would definitely go back again for some winter sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Certificate of Excellence
Fleetwood, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - would definitely go back again for some winter sun”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Just got back last night from the Sandos San Blas. Went with my husband and four year old son. We all thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

The hotel is lovely, it exceeded our expectations. Even though, we knew it was classed as a five star resort we weren't expecting this to be the case. Saying that, if you wanted to be really picky, you would probably class this hotel as a good four star.

The room was one of the nicest we have stayed in and we have stayed in some luxury hotels before. The decor was contemporary with a decent sized Samsung LCD TV. This had all the main English channels (BBC1, BBC2, ITV, CH4, Five) plus BBC3, CBeebies and CITV. There were two small double beds pushed together and they were very comfortable. My son was on a large sized sofa bed which was made up for him when we arrived. The maid's were very good, they never disturbed us and the rooms were cleaned very well each day. The bathroom.... I wish I could transport it back home, especially the shower which was a large walk in one with a huge shower head with constant hot water and very high pressure. There is also a very good hand held shower head which was ideal for our young son to have a shower. There is also a bath which is ideal for young babies/children. The wardrobe space was ideal and there is a digital safe. Outside we had a large terrace, with two nice chairs and a table.

There are eight swimming pools in total, I think two of them were heated. We stayed at the heated pool near the pool bar. There are plenty of sunbeds at each pool therefore no fighting for sunbeds in the morning!

There were a decent variety of drinks at all of the bars to have including beer, cocktails, non alcoholic cocktails, soft drinks, water, coffee/tea etc. We didn't have to show our room cards to get the drinks. You just go and ask for what you want at the bar. You can also get small ice cream tubs from each of the pool bars. You just help yourself. At night, in the lobby bar (which apart from the bar in the nightclub/show lounge) is the only bar opened at this time, there are waiters/waitresses going around taking orders for drinks. The lobby bar has comfortable chairs both inside and out, on the verandah. Inside, there are two areas, one with a large screen TV where they mostly showed football matches (English and foreign) and the other area where they usually had a singer/guitarist etc.

The food which was buffet food was of a good quality. I'm not keen on buffet food but I mangaged to find something nice to eat at each mealtime. They have lots of fresh salads on offer, a different themed evening meal, like italian, brazilian, canarian, fish, chinese with cooking stations. On one side was the meat and vegetarian food and the other side was fish and fresh pizza and pasta dishes, with two choices of soup as well. There is ice cream and about ten types of cake-like desserts, cheesecake, brownies, mousse type cakes and cream puff type cakes. You could have basically what you wanted to drink at the meal, just ask the waiter who lays and clears your table. My husband loved the buffet and as he likes fish and doesn't get it much at home (as I don't like it) he managed to stuff himself with loads of different types of fish, some that he had never heard of before. I don't think he has ever eaten so much food for seven days before! Fortunately, our son isn't a fussy eater, so he ate practically everything we got for him including things he'd never tried before. Please be aware that no shorts are allowed for the men in the evening. It is still quite casual though. My husband wore jeans, shoes and polo tops/shirts, generally what he wears at home at night.

The hotel is very clean and has an area for sports activities including football, volleyball, tennis and climbing on the climbing wall. This area is all sand on the floor. There isn't a beach across the road from the hotel, it is just rocks with a few random sunbeds on the flattest area! There is also a boating lake with about three kayaks that you can use, which at certain times of the day (listed in the activities program) you can row about on the lake for a bit. Ideal for my son and husband to pass some time in the afternoons.

At night, the entertainment was in the underground nightclub/show lounge. There is a mini disco for the children at 9pm-10pm, which we went to once and was very good. But we did find that by that time our son was tired and becoming grumpy. I think maybe 8pm-9pm may have been a better time for the children. The adult shows were on at 10pm onwards. We never watched any of these. In the day, there is an activities program and a children's club. The children's club hours were 10am-1.30pm and then 3pm-5pm. You could go in and out of the club as and when you wanted. My son mostly went in the morning and he had his face painted a couple of times, did lots of painting and craft type things, played games like hopscotch etc, dominoes, building with large plastic bricks and went to the activities area to play in the sand and watch the climbing. The staff spoke English (not fluently) and were very good. You signed the children in and out and let them know where you would be, if any problems. At first, after a couple of hours,my son wanted to know where his Mum & Dad were, so one of the staff members came a found us and we signed him out.

There is a mixture of nationalities. Mostly, Spanish & British with some Germans, Dutch and Russians. There are a lot of families with young babies/children. It didn't really bother us because we have a 4 year old! But you could see that some people didn't really like this, especially sitting in the same areas as them at lunch, dinner time etc. and in the bar at night.

There are quite a lot of planes going overhead, as you are only five/ten minutes from the airport, mostly through the daytime and the odd one at night. They are quite loud but we found it quite a novelty, especially our son who loved pointing them out to us!

Overall, we had a nice relaxing holiday in the sun at this hotel and would definitely go back again to chill out for a week.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zaphgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,771
    1,341
    418
    89
    39
See reviews for
1,349
2,451
89
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Amazing hotel the food and the service were wonderful.We didn't need to spend anything for the whole holiday, they provided everything even water ,we only had to ask.Waiter bar service, 8 pools,private beach,pool bars and excellent rooms with everything you need.A beautiful quiet relaxing holiday.Good quality wine and drinks .Food and drinks were provided for almost the whole day,Many optional activities such as boating on the lake, salsa , volley ball and aqua classes. Atogether it was a wonderful holiday.I would love to go again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pathay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We took a short break at the hotel for some winter sun and relaxation. We booked last minute and didn't know what to expect.
Thankfully we were not dissapointed with the hotel, especially the rooms which were finished to the highest standard. There is a separate shower, toilet & bidet. The main bathroom has a whirlpool bath, we filled it up the bath and ran fresh water through it first, so we weren't using the last guests dirty water.
There are some english channels on the TV, although the picture is a little poor. Our stay was all inclusive and the food and drink is excellent, there is a main resteraunt for breakfast, lunch & evening meal, when there are some dress restrictions.
Around the complex there are two bars that serve alcholic and non-alcoholic drinks.
If you want to go and explore Tenerife I suggest that you hire a car or go to the airport which is about 10 euro's by taxi and catch a bus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, East Sussex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Just got back from an all inc wk which we thoroughly enjoyed. Only booked the day before we went so got a really good deal through Laterooms.com
Room are immaculately clean & very spacious.
Food is excellent (although I do seem to have come back with some sort of bug (Probably not their fault) & staff all friendly & welcoming.
All inc deal included everything we wanted although it would have been nice to have had a snack option at lunchtime, rather than a full meal at restaurant but that's just being picky!!
We didn't leave the hotel all week - just crashed out & enjoyed the weather so cannot comment on local facilities but the airport is just a short taxi ride which costs about 12 - 15 euro.
Didn't sample the evening entertainment but I think there was something on each evening for those who wanted it.
Enjoy your holiday - I'd go again if we could get the same deal.
Aircraft fly low coming into land but didn't bother us or anyone else. Rooms were well insulated & didn't hear anything/anyone at night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookworm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Just got back from a week-long holiday in this hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and did absolutely nothing all week, which was wonderful! Normally we would go for an active holiday in more "interesting" destinations, however this time we decided to go for a package holiday with Thomas Cook as I'm 24 weeks pregnant and not up for an adventure.

The hotel is nice and definitely a good choice for young families. The rooms are spacious and clean, the pools are big, and the buffet-style restaurant with all-inclusive option means you never have to wait for food or meal times (you could pretty much eat all day if you wish to).

All in all, the hotel was good standard but we didn't think it deserved a 5-star rating. Although nice, the buffet was not excellent. The food was often cold and not very tasty. Rather than offering champagne for breakfast they should make sure the food is high standard! The second restaurant was a bit of a disappointment too. The bar menu was ok if you were after a standard beer or coke, but again nothing special. I tried out a non-alcoholic cocktail but it tasted like tooth paste so stuck with orange juice for the rest of the week! There were lots of sun loungers around the pools but they were crammed in too closely and lots of them were broken- again not something you should find in a 5-star resort. The planes flying over the hotel were annoying too: they woke us up once or twice at night/early morning.

I can't comment on the evening entertainment or activities as we didn't go to any.

Overall, we thought the hotel was great as long as you don't expect it to be a 5-star resort. As the rates are actually pretty affordable, it's definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nano250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Just returned from our holiday. Ill leave a quick review of good and not so good points.
Good:
weather amazing
hotel very clean
food was fresh
good choice of drinks
pool size and choice good
close to small square for walk
jacuzzi bath
good size rooms

Not so good.
food choice the same every day
breakfast not very nice
all in times ends 11pm
pool very very cold (was jan tho so might be better in summer)
staff not so friendly
only was offered drinks about 3 times in our week at meals times, in the end we never bothered waiting
entertainment not to out taste (not keen on magicians)
some crrepy crawlys in out room (dont even know what they were)
al a carte i had a insect crawling in my salad. (could just of been a one off) I wouldnt bother going in there tho.
very very family orientated, children very young and it still had a calm environment, however by the end alot of more older kids screaming and shouting and always crying at meal times.

I have never been on a 5 star holiday before, I feel I probably still need to find one. This was no diff to other 4 star hotels ive been in.

I cant say at all it was bad as i would return but as long as i got it at half the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We had such a great holiday here in October, we are going back in February! Lovely rooms with plents of space. Location only 10 mins from airport really great for arriving and departing. Occasionaly noticed aeroplanes coming in to land but really didn't disturb us at all. All inclusive was great. We can be quite fussy about the quality of our food but was really impressed. Loads of choice, very good quality and really didn't get bored in a week. Didn't even bother with the speciality restaurant as were more than happy with what was on offer in the main restaurant. Kids loved it too especially helping themselves to slush puppies and ice cream during the day. A nice touch was the late afternoon snack available in the main restaurant. Nothing much to do in surrounding area but we didn't feel the need to leave the hotel at all. Enough activiities to entertain our children aged between 4 and 9 and there was always something going on at the kids club. Although beach no good for swimming or sand castles, the sandy area inside the resort itself was great for the little ones with their buckets and spades. Children also loved the nightly mini disco which was a perfect time after dinner. Have stayed in a few 5 star hotels in Tenerife such as Sheraton and Palacio de Isora and really loved this one too. The all inclusive option here though made for a really relaxing holiday and together with its good value, has made this our current favorite in Tenerife. All in all a really lovely holiday which is why we are returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
18.7 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,440 reviews
12.6 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,640 reviews
9.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
26.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf

Property: Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Address: Calle Grenamora s/n | Urb. San Blas Golf del Sur, 38639, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf All Inclusive is located in the San Blas Enviromental Reserve, beside two golf courses and seafront. The bedrooms are spacious with a terrace and have bathroom with bath tub, shower and hairdryer. Every guest room is soundproof, and offers satellite TV, stereo, Internet connection, minibar (extra charge), air conditioned, safe, phone and free WiFi. The complex has eight pools, a gym and a terrace with loungers and umbrellas, as well as two poolside bars. It also has aqua-aerobics, spa and sauna. The reception is 24 hour, and offers safe and currency exchange. The hotel also has a cafe-bar, a newspaper stand, a hair salon, a night club, a theater, a TV room, a restaurant, a conference room, free WiFi connection room, room service, laundry service (extra charge), a playground and free parking. Separate activities are organized for kids and adults alike. The hotel offers tennis (extra charge), ping-pong, beach volley, golf (extra charge), biking and aerobics classes. You can also row on the property's lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos San Blas Hotel Reserva Ambiental And Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing