We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I and my son loved this hotel, but if you are into clubs, shopping or a lot of people you should choose another place to stay. I you look for a quiet time with perfect service – this is it.

The hotel is big, yet it never felt crowded. We always found a nice spot by one of the pools and always had a good seating at the restaurant. Comments about people getting lost surprise me. It is just like at most hotels, the first digit of the room number indicates the level – so if you get lost just look at the door next to you and you know if you are on the right level or if you are supposed to go up or down.

The room was light and nice with a big bathroom. Our room was not facing the poolarea, yet we had a view of the ocean and nice sunshine on the balcony in the evenings – great when you are relaxing after a busy day. The cleaning and service was perfect, sometimes almost too much.

We were staying halfboard. The breakfast was good with everything you could ask for. With yoghurt, cereals, bacon, eggs, bread, fruit and much more we ate so much that we often didn't have to have any lunch. Dinner was a buffet, which can be somewhat boring. But every night there were cooks frying steaks and fish so you had it really fresh. There was a wide selection and I didn't have the same twice during our week’s stay. And the selection of deserts was overwhelming.
My only objection was the vegetarian choice. There was a section of the buffet called vegetarian, but it consisted of fried vegetables only. And even if you could find vegetarian pasta or pizza, there was a lack of protein dishes. But I am sure it could be arranged if you asked.

The staff is great, everywhere and at all levels. The best I have encountered at a hotel.

The pools are good, even if we wished at least one deeper, the deepest was 1,40-1,45. And even if the hotel is right by the ocean, there is no good beach in the neighbourhood.
Since the airport is very close by, you might get disturbed by the planes. About one hour around noon there are a lot of take offs and landings, but during the rest of the time we were not bothered. (And for airplane spotters there is a seating in the reserve!)

A visit to the reserve is nice. You get to learn about both nature and history.

Even if there are elevators I would not recommend this hotel to disabled or to families who have to bring the stroller at all times. It is hilly and it will be tough to go for a walk in the surrounding area.

There are a lot to do at the hotel. My son thought he was too big to join the kids' club, but every now and then we had a chat with the people working there and I can assure you they are very nice and dedicated. You can play tennis and paddle, try climbing, water exercise, yoga and use the gym. It is not a very good area for jogging. I survived the hills but the only path (along the coast to the west) was too short. So either you had to go round and around or run along the busy roads, which was no fun either.
During our stay the hotel had two bikes you could borrow, but one of them was broken. You were also not allowed to use it elsewhere but within the reserve, which was a pity. We would gladly have paid a rent to be able to go on a trip along the coast.

The reception helped us renting a car. We were picked up at the hotel and we could drop the car at the hotel. The price was what we have paid at other times and places, 100 € for a small car during two days. Parking was no problem. There is a garage free of use for the guests.

The nice rooms, the good pool area, the realxed setting and the wonderful staff makes this a hotel I gladly would return to.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barfota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,908 - 3,914 of 5,051 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2010

First and foremost - don't choose this hotel if you look for silence. It's located close to airport and the planes land and take off even late in the evening.
As me and my partner knew about it in advance, this won't be a concern in this review.
Nevertheless, its location is nicer than many others we have seen in neighbourhood.

We stayed there during low season, so the place was not so crowdy with people.
The hotel itself is very nice, the architecture is a real "eye-catcher". Rooms are airy and well designed. Perfectly clean!
Don't spend extra cash on so-called appartaments with a sea-view. We had a room in building B and we could enjoy a very nice view from our balcony.

Now, a bit about disadvantages.
This is definetely not a 5 star hotel. The kind of service they deliver is good for 4, but not for the top quality place. You cannot order icecream or some drinks in the lobby bar (we were sent to the pool bar, 50 m away from the main building).
The buffet is OVERPRICED. You can eat better food at comparable price in hotel restaurant (one of the best paellas I've ever tasted).
The reception (bar) is not supplied with any games, playcards etc. Which is strange 'cause it is a holiday hotel.
The last evening our room was flooded with water (propably due to rain). The water leaked into wardrobe, ruining some of the clothes. Unfortunately, the very next day there was nobody who could help and ressolve the problem. The was only ONE (sic!) receptionist at the desk and any member of the management could be found (is it possible in a 5 star hotel???).
We sent official complaint, but the time to get a reaction...Unacceptable. Finally, the solution. And this was...an upgrade during next stay, which is ridiculous as we are not going there anymore. Since then (first week of march), silence, athough we sent another answer.
Judge for yourself, but if you look for a 5 star this is not.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pitbulltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

The hotel is quite new and absolutely fine but its a large family resort and thats the experience you will find. Good rooms (our phone did not work), plenty of pool space and children orientated activity, very busy and eating is, inevitably, a cattle-shed experience. The food was always good and service matched. We had one night en route elsewhere and would return (for one night) again as its close to airport (very close).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Away from the usual tourist routes, great staff, kids club staff totally dedicated to entertaining your children no matter how shy, they are really genuine children carers, not too busy, real pool luxury. All staff really friendly, food very good and rooms were imaculate. We have been to Costa Adeje for 3 years at this time, weather here the best very warm and windy. Look out for Pinky for yoga and entertainment, she makes the hotel that bit extra, very talented and goes that extra way. To avoid a crowd, enjoy good food and be in great company I would recommend this hotel. The hotel is big but this gives you space and no waiting for food and service, all staff remembered us each day. The reserve and tour guide not to be missed, all staff seem totally commited to their roles.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Close to the airport, so a cheap taxi ride. Nice rooms, good breakfast buffet, the al a cart restaurant was good but expensive. Restaurant in village to the east good for cheaper meals. Shops/supermarket in holiday complex to the west good for cheap booze, tobacco and holiday gifts. The tour of the nature reserve better than expected. The pools deserted, but all except one unheated. Good value we would consider visiting again off season but being large it is likely to be busy and less attractive at other times

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We recently spent three nights here on a bed and breakfast basis - using the hotel as a base from which to explore the area. There were ample car parking spaces throughout our stay but we were told that only between 50 and 60 rooms were occupied. Check-in was handled in a professional and friendly manner, and a porter was available to take our baggage to our room - a third floor (top at this point) room towards the front of the hotel with a great sea view. The room was stunning - large, beautifully furnished and extremely well equipped. Other reviewers have commented that the hotel layout was complex and hence it was not easy to find your way around: in general we would agree but by at first using the map/plan given to us at check-in we did not have any real problem during our stay. The buffet breakfast was excellent - with a very wide choice of hot and cold items. The waiting staff were friendly and efficient with coffee or tea being brought very quickly after ordering. We also had a "tapas" lunch on two days with friends at the bar/cafe adjacent to the upper`pool area. There was a wide choice and the presentation and quality of the food on both days was first class. Again, the waiting staff were professional and efficient. Overall, the hotel more than adequately served our purpose and we would stay there again. We woud also recommend it to friends looking for a base from which to explore that part of the island. Aspects of the hotel, such as the rooms and the tiered pool area, are truly outsatnding but to us it lacked that certain something that would qualify it as fully 5 star.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inmigrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

I share the irritations of other reviewers .The room numbering and lack of clear signage seem to have been designed to be deliberately obscure . The food selection is broad but ultimately bland . Four days would be enough before you seek an alternative restaurant .There are also some ill thought out procedures . e.g. you have to pay extra for coffee after the evening meal , no water carafes on table ,the sommelier seats you and then hands out a laminated wine sheet with pictures of the bottles . Parking can be a problem ,I had to drive back out and park on the road at the back of the hotel and walk in via the rear entrance .This was not a problem but the security guard had obviously been prompted by his colleague at the entrance and when entering I was informed that there had been parking space available . There wasn't but I assume that they were thinking of an insurance implication. The rear gate is better anyway for access to most of the facilities and rooms.
The rooms are extremely well fitted out and the house staff very efficient . The pools and surroundings are lovely and spotlessly clean. A bit of care should be taken when selecting a room as some of them are very dark and north facing . If sunlight into the room is a priority then a question at check in might be advisable.
The above criticisms are irritating because they are all so easily resolved and would give the hotel a shot at a 5 star rating but for now 4 star in a relatively remote location .

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Autumnsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
18.7 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,838 reviews
9.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
2,143 reviews
9.7 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf

Address: Calle Grenamora s/n | Urb. San Blas Golf del Sur, 38639, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $208 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf All Inclusive is located in the San Blas Enviromental Reserve, beside two golf courses and seafront. The bedrooms are spacious with a terrace and have bathroom with bath tub, shower and hairdryer. Every guest room is soundproof, and offers satellite TV, stereo, Internet connection, minibar (extra charge), air conditioned, safe, phone and free WiFi. The complex has eight pools, a gym and a terrace with loungers and umbrellas, as well as two poolside bars. It also has aqua-aerobics, spa and sauna. The reception is 24 hour, and offers safe and currency exchange. The hotel also has a cafe-bar, a newspaper stand, a hair salon, a night club, a theater, a TV room, a restaurant, a conference room, free WiFi connection room, room service, laundry service (extra charge), a playground and free parking. Separate activities are organized for kids and adults alike. The hotel offers tennis (extra charge), ping-pong, beach volley, golf (extra charge), biking and aerobics classes. You can also row on the property's lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos San Blas Hotel Reserva Ambiental And Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing