We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family loved it”
Review of Submarine Safaris

Submarine Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Submarine Safaris carry out real underwater dive in a real submarine down to depths of 30m (100ft). A truly remarkable experience for all the family
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“family loved it”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

well we had brillant time on sub plenty of fish to see plus two ship wrecks tour quide was brillant value for money for us a booked before a went to get 15% discount

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayjoe186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    157
    69
    27
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very well run trip on a tourist submarine. Picked up by coach from hotel, taken to the marina where went on a submarine for an hours underwater tour. Saw lots of different fish and some wrecks of small boats too. dived down to aprox 30m in a yellow submarine with a good tour guide.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Submarine no show”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had booked onto this with our rep and our 9 yr old was excited come the day, that is until 20 minutes before we had a call and followed 3 different excuses none of which tied together saying it was cancelled, don't waste your time or money booking this trip to suffer the wrath of the kids when they pull the plug!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank masteryoda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul b, General Manager at Submarine Safaris, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
We are sorry to hear you feel we cancelled your dive due to some made up excuse. I would like to correct the record and let you know why? we cancel dives. First of all my business only exists if we can generate money. Like all business if we are unable to make a financial return then we will sink faster than our submarine. So when we cancel any dives, we are actual losing money.
So we are not obviously cancelling the dives for financial gains. No, we cancel for the sole reason of safety for our clients, the submarine and our crew. We are taking 44 people down 120ft under the water and we do not allow the submarine to dive, unless everything is 100% okay. There are certain weather conditions which are hostile and dangerous for the submarine to dive in (poor underwater visibility, large swell or rough seas). In your case the reasons we cancelled was due to very poor visibility under the water. To dive in these conditions would be the same as you driving your car in thick fog on the motorway at 70 mph. So regrettably we had no option but to cancel the dives for the rest of that day. For your reference this only happens a few days a year, similar to you not able to fly on holiday due to snow. We fully understand when it does happen, then clients are not going to be happy, but as a company operating submarine for 20 years, we take safety concerns very serious and at no stage will we jeopardise the safety of our passengers over financial gain.
If you do return to Tenerife, then please call us directly and we will ensure you and your family enjoy our dive and experience in total safety and comfort. Also please mention your past experience with us and we will be very happy to discount your ticket price as means of compensation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“sitting on the seabed in tenerife”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

our sub trip was awesome, going down 100 feet to sit on the seabed was something you never expect to do in your lifetime !! the guide was very good and explained all the different species of marine life we would see. a diver swims down and feeds stingrays right outside your viewing porthole, it was incredible to see these beautiful creatures in their own environment. i reccommend this trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bigted2879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Amazing once in the life time experience”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Fantastic trip 100ft under the sea. Our children, aged 9 & 7, loved it.

The submarine is large inside, with lovely clear windows.

Our trip lasted 1 hour and we saw 2 ship wrecks, plenty of fish and stingrays.

A safety boat goes out with the sub and a diver feeds the fish attracting them to the sub.

They take your photo as you enter the sub, it was 5 euro's to buy, and everyone gets a 'dive' certificate afterwards.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Submarine Safaris also viewed

 
Los Cristianos, Arona
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 

Been to Submarine Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing