We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very basic and needs updating”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Solana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Solana
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very basic and needs updating”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I agree with many of the reviews, particularly with Jo & Phil this is definitely not 5*. No kettle, or toaster unless you want to pay - even though they are the basics of self catering. Apartment's in desperate need of updating, new bedding (brown sheets?!?), towels etc, furniture I would chop up and put on my log burner!!. Patio doors do not lock and are ready to fall apart, kitchen falling apart with lots of creepy crawlies so couldn't put food in the cupboards, overall apartment could do with a dam good clean. No one to greet you, key left in the door, staff quite ignorant. Do not stay here if you are in any way disabled... lots and lots of steps in and around the 'hotel' and over two hundred to the nearest shop/bar, a good half hour walk to the beach. Charged for TV. Pool bar disgusting, half a dozen sun loungers with no padding and a few dirty tatty tables. I've stayed in better, more welcoming campsites :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanne0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    42
    9
    23
See reviews for
27
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is NOT a 5 star hotel, but then it is not 5 star money to stay there, you get what you pay for
I read many of the reviews prior to arriving and I must admit to being a little concerned with complaints about dirty beds, ants, cockroaches and cats etc, to name a few, all I can say is that there must be two different Solana hotels in Puerto Rico because the one we stayed in was not the Ritz but for the money we paid was satisfactory
We were welcomed at reception by Brok who booked us in using our passports which were returned in five minutes. Brok, I understand is the hotel manager and I can see why some clients complained as it appears that he has other jobs to fit into his day, like cleaning the pool and running the pool-side bar which is his own business
The apartments are very basic but were cleaned five times during the week with towels changed every other day. No complaints about the beds with at extra blanket supplied if required
Yes, there is loud music until 4am coming from the shopping centre and YES there are a considerable number of steps to negotiate on the hotel complex, but it is like all other hotels in Puerto Rico, they are built on a steep hill, but don't worry get a taxi, they are not expensive
My wife and I go to Puerto Rico every year, same week to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and all we want is a clean bed and a hot shower and we got what we paid for here
It is the first time we have stayed at the Solana Hotel (apartments) but we have already decided to book here when we next go back complete with our own kettle

Room Tip: We had room 112, handy for the reception and up to the road, also the sun is on the balcony from ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willowsend2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Being in self catering apartment the least you should expect is a kettle,toaster,etc
However the rooms clean enough a little updating wouldn't go amiss
Reception not open when we arrived name and room number on window at reception
Close to all amenities restaurants,shops,bars and clubs oh and sort the tvs out 1 channel
All in all not bad for what you pay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
5 Thank padraig1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Firstly I would like to say this is not really a complaint because these apartments were reasonably priced for christmas week and afterall you do get what you pay for! These apartments are advertised self catering and I suppose if you decided to go sleep rough in a very basic shabby room with no kettle, toaster and minimum utensils then thats exactly what you will get.When we arrived at 9 at night no reception just a note pinned to the window of a suppose shop/reception telling you room number and your keys are left in the ill fitting door ! so up and down corridors and stairs looking for your room is definitely what your looking for after your long transfer ! Eventually found our rooms poolside down 64 stairs with heavy luggage just what my elderly parents needed. The tv in the room as 1 channel sky sports on a loop and it take euros 1 euro for 40 mins and half the time didnt work but kept the money ! 13 euros a week for a kettle which is a total rip off for sc accomodation if you ask me.The bedding was ..well not really bedding 2 sheets and a big woolly blanket, the wardrobe had no handles and no hanging space so pretty useless and the kitchen cupboards were lobsided and wobbled with a slight bang which there was plenty of, patio doors wouldnt look and were falling apart and the front door was literally see through with splits and holes.
We stayed here 21st till 28th Decemb3r 2013 and afterall it was christmas so we decided to try make the most of it, by going out as often as we could, we spent a day around the pool it was like ice water, the sunloungers were tatty and split not padding so rock hard and the pool bar was only open between 1-4 so the only time anyone could see you if any problems was then. When it got to night the noise from near by night clubs was going on till 4/5 in the morning at least as well as plenty of drunken residents fighting. shouting and arguing outside your room this happened a few times in one week !! it really goes to show you really do get what you pay for and if you are looking for a relaxing place to stay do not stay here you will get no sleep,uncomfortable beds made of a piece of board that felt like a morgue slab, wafer thin pillow just the one, 2 sheets and a big old blanket, Oh and the so called bedsettee i have threw better on a bonfire so as well as thenoise,banging shouting and loud music, all in all a pretty basic dump nothing nice here really to say about the place except we got what we paid for.. next time we will definitely save a bit longer. We would Never Ever stay here again

Room Tip: In another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo&phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

well you could moan about a couple of doors hanging or lack of supplies in the shop. But the cleaners come around regular,reception are helpful when open ,and the pool is great. Best place to eat at the lower center was The El Toro. At the top center the place where they put national flags on your table. All in all puerto rico has lots of steps but this hotel is value for money in an o.k position, don't expect luxury on a budget

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Where do i start...
:reception almost never opened
:64steps down to apartment
:pool bar opens 1pm-4pm
:No information leaflets
:2single beds(very romantic)
:sunbeds (cracked)
:loads of cats
:Television doesnt work just takes your money
:You have to rent kettle,toaster,safe etc
:floors look dirty
:Very noisy at night as clubs are not far
:Over two hundred steps to the nearest shop (shopping centre)
:No free wifi (€6 a day)

Only good thing central enough

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Once again, I was very deflated after reading the reviews on this hotel before we arrived!!

We found this hotel to be lovely... basic accommodation, but we had everything that we needed, The rooms were cleaned,, towels and beds changed every other day. Although reception was not manned 24 hours a day, there was someone there when ever we needed anything....
Broc, who worked at the hotel and ran the bar from 1pm til 4pm was very helpful and made some of the best snacks that i've ever tasted with very reasonable prices on beer!!

The pool was lovely and refreshing after sitting in the wonderful sunshine and our room had beautiful views right over puerto rico.

Now I would like to clear up some of the comments that other people have left.... At no time were we asked to leave our passports behind the front desk. If you are dumb enough to leave sugary fruit juice and food laying around over night, it is inevitable that it will attract all manner of insects, All depending on which route you take into the shopping centre, there are between 158 and 300 + steps but hey! your in Puerto Rico and its all built into to side of mountains!! Yes its a bit of a challenge but well worth it!! unless your set right at the top of Puerto Rico, your going to hear the hustle and bustle from the busy night life... and even then there is another shopping centre with loads of clubs and bars and the top as well!!

We would definitely return, in fact we almost booked ourselves in for a few more day!! We loved every minute of it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheeny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#32 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#19 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#34 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#26 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heliomar Apartments
Heliomar Apartments
#36 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roslara Apartments
Roslara Apartments
#20 of 48 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solana

Property: Hotel Solana
Address: Avenida Cardones S/N, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solana 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Solana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Solana Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing