We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are fussy do not stay here. But very good location”
Review of Hotel Solana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Solana
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Apartments were very dated,plug socket hanging off wall, curtain half hanging off rail, very flimsy lock on the door. Not very clean at all. Good size rooms. We were there for 9 nights and never had a change of towels. The cleaner came in twice and she changed the bins and pulled up the bed sheets(which were threadbare). However, this place is in a perfect location, you wouldn't want to be any closer though or else the music would be very loud. It's a 5 min walk from the shopping centre where all the restaurants and pubs/clubs are which you can also see from the top rooms. There is also a view of the sea from these rooms. There is a lot of steps to the apartments but it was fine for us, problems if u had walking difficulties, but a taxi up from the centre or beach was never more than 3 euro. Puerto rico beach is lovely, amadores beach is just a 5 min bus ride away 1.40 euro each way, and then there is also puerto mogan which is 2.40 euro each way and is well worth a visit for boat trips and watersports. We loved it there. Defo return to here just not sure if apartments. We did get it extremely cheap though, I just think it'd be suited to a group not really if u bring kids. We used our apartment for sleeping in at night and weren't there during the day so it was fine. Beach 5 min walk and bus stop just down from apartments.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cpink57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 139 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

The hotel was basic could do with revamping.Pool was very clean,sunbeds were hard so had to get sunbed cushions from the town.Cleaners were friendly but only had clean towels twice in one week.Also the shower would trickle out when a lot of people were using it.The barman was friendly but the reception was only open certain times.Also be warned when you get a key for the safe it is 11 euros plus 6 euros deposit in which you are supposed to get that back.But if you have got an early morning flight the reception is closed even though we asked the day before when it was open in which they replied between 6-7am to hand the key back and it wasnt so they had an extra 6 euros which is a bit of a con.Also there are 241 steps to the centre.Apart from that had a good time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This really is the staff trying to make the best of a bad lot. The hotel still has the same fixtures and fittings that it had the day it was opened. The tap in the bathroom dripped constantly and hot water was limited so more than two showers in the day was not an option. The mattresses, pillows and linen had all seen better days. Pretty disgusting and definitely not white.

The self catering is not encouraged with just two cooking rings and the limited utensils. You have to rent out such things as a toaster and kettle. There is a small table that you can sit with two stools indoors with the balcony also have a small table and two chairs.

The living room area had a sofa with stained cushions and you have to "pay as you go" to watch the telly. You pay even more for satellite with a weekly rental.

If the Solana has anything going that for it was the swimming pool which was in pretty good condition and seem to be well maintained. I only ate once at the pool area and had a double hamburger/bacon/cheese in a bun with chips and two cans of coke.(12 euros). It was very nice considering the area the barman had to work in. However don't ask me about hygiene. I decided not go there.

Finally is the location. The hotel, like most other accommodation in Puerto Rico, is on the hill. I'm a 46 man who goes to the gym three times a week and watches my weight. After climbing the steps from the town to the hotel entrance I was almost breathing out my backside. My mate called it "Cardiac Hill."

As for Puerto Rico it's pretty poor. Nothing to do but eat, drink and play crazy golf. The restaurants are all much the same. That same being mediocre. But Las Brasas was especially dreadful and costly. The Happy Valley Indian Restaurant was excellent however.

Will I go back anytime soon. No. I won't go back at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rabidarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

On arrival staff seem indifferent to any form of meet and greet. The "manager" seems a little inconvenienced to give you his attention once you find him! Room was very basic which I expect from a low "key" complex, but the minimum you would expect is for the room to be clean. On first appearance the room was clean-ish but once you looked at the floors and corners of the room it was covered in dust and hairs! The kitchen equipment and fridge/cupboards also appeared clean (at a glance) but on closer inspection it was filthy with old food stuck on it. The ariel socket for the TV was hanging off the wall and the patio doors need a strong man just to open and close them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toffeeladMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This Hotel was the worst I have been to In over 30yrs.. the mattress was discusting I dont mind basic but clean, this was far from it. you had to hire everything from a kettle, I would never return back to this place.. you have't to go hunting for staff on reception,no-one there to welcome you... It took us over a hour to find room ...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elainelee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Solana Hotel is a 2 keys hotel with 34 apartments. You need to be aware that the majority of accommodation in Puerto Rico is on a steep incline, and the Solana is no exception. Not the highest hotel but also not the lowest. There were 2 sets of steps to the hotel from the shopping centre below, which took 5 minutes going down and a bit longer getting back up! After a couple of days we did get used to the climb back up, but wouldn't recommend the resort to anyone who would have difficulty as it looked like all accommodation had to be climbed to.

The Solana hotel itself was absolutely fine for us. We booked it as a 3* apartment and we had a 1 bedroom apartment with a balcony overlooking the pool area. The apartment itself consisted of a bathroom which although a little tired had a good shower and we had no problems with hot water. The bedroom had 2 single beds which were comfy, a wardrobe with 6 coathangers and a safety deposit box (E11 per week and E6 deposit), dressing table/stool and bedside cabinet. We were there for a week and the bedding wasn't changed.

Kitchen/lounge with sofa bed, armchair, sideboard, tv (chargeable for the rent and had a slot machine on it), coffee table, and breakfast bar/stools. Kitchen had a fridge and 2 hobs, crockery/cutlery for 3 people. You do not get a toaster or kettle and you can rent these at the reception. You could also rent a fan if needed. Tea towel provided and there were 2 bottle openers.

Balcony had table and 2 chairs (as the apartment is for 3 I think another should have been provided), and a clothes airer.

Reception was only open from 9-1pm and 4-7pm but they rarely stuck to these times, however there was a number on the door but they could usually be found in the pool bar area. Also had a very small mini-market behind reception.

Pool area was very clean with plenty of beds and 4 showers. Also an indoor shower provided with the pool toilets.

Towels changed mid-week and cleaners came in about 3 times during our week.

In the shopping centre below there is considerable choice of restaurants, bars and shops and because of this you can get some good deals. Would recommend the Spar for your shopping as we didn't find it particularly expensive, and would recommend the restaurants El Rancho and Restaurante San Miguel which are both on the bottom level of the shopping centre. We had numerous meals out and didn't have a bad one. Would also recommend the cocktail bar El Capricho, again on the ground level.

It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the harbour but beware the timeshare people as they are a real nuisance. Beach is lovely and sunbeds are E3 each. Would also recommend the dolphin/whale trip which was E25 for 2.5 hours and if you don't see them you get a free trip. We saw loads and really enjoyed it. You also come back along the coast line which was an added bonus.

You can also walk down the hill from the Solana and it will take you to the bus station where you can catch the bus to Puerto de Mogen (number 1) which is flat and really picturesque. Takes 20 minutes.

Overall, we were happy with the Solana and found it clean with friendly staff who spoke good english.

Room Tip: All of the rooms had a view of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Suesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I called to book a last minute deal only to find there was no availability on my original choice. The holiday rep suggested this place instead for the same price and was a one bedroom apartment rather than a studio, ie much bigger. Out of desperation I took her advise and booked as I needed to book something asap. i was a bit scared after looking at the reviews posted on this hotel but was pleasantly surprised once we arrived. this is not 5 star accommodation and you get what you paid for. I am not overly fussy about accommodation but i am fussy about cleanliness and felt it was to my standards. Room had all kitchen utensils, pots, pans, etc. no kettle but you can do it the old fashion way and boil water in a pan. nice size bedroom and living room, and a nice balcony with a great view. i read about cockroaches and ants which really worried me but there were no problems of this sort. it was overall a very pleasant experience and i would definitely stay there again if i were to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bridget782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#29 of 67 in Puerto Rico
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#27 of 67 in Puerto Rico
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#31 of 67 in Puerto Rico
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#26 of 67 in Puerto Rico
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#9 of 67 in Puerto Rico
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solana

Address: Avenida Cardones S/N, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $32 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solana 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Solana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Solana Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing