We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but a boring restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Natural Park Apartments
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Sola, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but a boring restaurant.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice facilities, OK rooms - although if more than two persons per room, it is hot at nigth for the ones that has to sleep on the bed in the living room. Staff is friendly, and the pool Area is nice. Clean rooms. We booked the stay with half-pension but ended up eating out most nights as the restaurant was absolutely boring. (PS. The restaurant El Gaitero at the Ola's Centre just below the hotel is excellent).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Per K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
37
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

To describe the situation: we had booked a last-minute in another hotel during the 1st week of April but on arrival, our room there was just not what I expected and I decided to look for another hotel nearby. Being high-season, not an evident task, as it was 9 pm...After a couple of negative phone calls, we found a room available at Natural Park, but were a bit reluctant as this was not the level of hotel we usually stay in. Not having a lot of choice and being late, we decided to grab a cab and have a look. Our first impression was that it was seriously uphill and thus far away from the beach. But we were welcomed by Christian, a very charming and friendly man who understood our situation and gave us the key to check out the room first before deciding. Well, we had room 104 with a view on the very nicely lit pool area with the sea in the back and decided to take it. It was an apartment with one bedroom with double bed, a living with a sofa bed, a kitchen and a bathroom. Christian apologised that the sofa bed was not made up as they did not expect new customers this late, and as we have two children promised us to look the next day for a retractable bed that doubles the size of the sofa bed, promise he kept without having to remind him. This is what struck me most here: yes it was very very clean, yes we had a great view, yes it was very quiet, but the friendliness of the people working here was so refreshing! Thanks to Christian and his colleagues for a great stay and giving us the feeling we were so welcome. Besides the things I just mentioned, some more info. The walk down to the beach and centre is a pleasant one and takes 15' maximum (4€ for a cab drive); the walk up is steep but helps to digest your food before going to bed. The beach itself was ok but not our favorite, we preferred to make short trips to Meloneras (nice upscale shops and restos, 25€ by taxi one-way), Anfi (not much shopping but very nice beach and rather high-end feeling, you can walk there from the hotel), Amadores (nice walk via the seaside) and Puerto Mogan (take the boat-taxi, very nice). Coming back to Natural Park: for the price we paid, this was so completely worth it that we would definitely go back there. If you prefer to not spend your money on a luxury hotel but are satisfied with a clean, spacious apartment with nice views and a lovely pool with lots of loungers and a good bar, a 24-hr little supermarket that allows you to put everything on your room bill, and above all a very very friendly staff, this is surely a good option.

Room Tip: There are 3 blocks in a U-shape. The first one we stayed in had balconies with nice views on the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LucLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The hotel has 4 stars, but they should have 3. First of all, a 'family hotel' should have an elevator. So when travelling with small babies and strallers, prepare to carry them every time to your room. There is no air-conditioning/warming, so the rooms were pretty cold in the winter-season. The rooms are a bit out-dated and bathrooms are quite poorly cleaned. The beds were hard and a bit 'noisy' due to some kind of 'plastic sheets' they use under the normal sheet. To my opinion, the blankets could be washed. The kitchen is ok, but very basic. So don't expect too much. And remember, tv costs 1€/hour! The pool area is good and kids can play football, basket ball or spend time in the game/play area. The restaurant will do only if you're seriously hungry (take a beef stake or a toast/sandwish). The mini market of the hotel is quite handy and the male receptionists were really friendly!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mojito2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed at Natural Park last week with my fiance for a week away from the gloom of the UK weather and we really enjoyed ourselves, heres an honest review of the place.

Accomodation
We stayed in what look to be similar rooms to the others but I would say we got into the best row of rooms which is on the first floor on the front of the property so we enjoyed brilliant sunset views off the balcony more than other rooms (I imagine). The rooms are fine, clean and in good order, decor fine too. You walk into the living room, we didnt need to use this as a bedroom but I would imagine its gets a little hot in summer. the kitchen in this room is fine, electric hob which I hate and the utensils are limited but we conjoured up a great meal once night but you wouldnt want to cook for a dinner party!! The bathroom is fine, clean and yes the towel rail is on the end of the bath/ shower like it is in many hotels. the bedrrom is fine, beds ok, two singles pushed together in our but a huge fan to keep us cool and this leads onto the bacony which was faultless with views and privacy. Ive seen a review saying you cant get go our of the room without the lights going out, taking the key off the fob worked for us!

Facilties
Internet 1 euro for 15 mins.
TV 1 euro for 60 mins
Pool tables, mini football pitch, kids slide / paddling pool

Pool Area
We didnt eat mush at the place but a BBQ they had on one of the nights smelled good and the entertainment wasnt Celine Dion in Vegas but they looked like they had fun although we went into town every night. Lunch was fine, beer good and chilled, Baileys large and the pool brilliant with loads of beds, very clean nothing broken. Oh theres a jaccuzi pool too.

Location
The location of the place is on top of the hill, so if you arent fit at all, or enjoy excercise you will need a taxi to and from the centre, which will cost 3 euros each way. The walk itself takes 15 mins down, but it is a nice walk down to the park and through the gardens to the port and marina, the way back is a bit dark but we felt perfectly safe at all times.

Peurto Rico is a good enough place, we really enjoyed a couple of the restaurants and we found the walk back a nice way of at least thinking youve burnt a few of the calories off!

Service
Towels are changed everyother day pretty much, cleaned everyother day too I think, we always had clean towels and the place was kept clean all week. Our cheeky travel agent even put us down for celebrating our engagement and they left us a bottle of wine in the room!! Reception is 24 hours and everyone we spoke to was pleasant enough.

Overall
Its a great place, clean and tidy with great views and good rooms and brillinat pool, ideal for a getaway in the sun.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank saievans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2009

My husband, eleven month old son and I stayed at the Natural Park Apartments for three weeks. We booked our holiday through Ving. We chose Natural Park because we have stayed in that particular part of Puerto Rico three times before, liked the view and sunset from the balcony, and because it was described as a "family hotel".

We requested a room with the view we were familar with. When we arrived we were given the only room on that floor with very little direct sun on the balcony. We requested to move and patiently waited one week (and were willing to pay a change room fee) to do so. On the morning of the move (and at no time before) the "Manageress" as she calls herself, told us several people had complained about the noise our son was making when playing on the tile floor in the morning. Not wanting to disturb others we agreed to move to a room on the ground floor. The new room received no direct sunlight at all, was next to the mountain, under a busy staircase and as far away from our rental car as we could be. When we told the "Manageress" we were unhappy she acted surprised, told us the hotel was fully booked but we could choose from two other rooms. The first was apparently a pigoen poop landing site (excellent for a crawling baby that puts everything into his mouth) and the handicapped room (a room in which I wouldn't even recommend to the most able-bodied). The hotel was never fully-booked; we could plainly see the stacked furniture on the balconies of other rooms during the remainder of our stay.

In general the condition of the apartments there is of a low standard. Natural Park is given a four rating by Ving but the apartment was far less equiped than the two rating places we had stayed at in the past on the same street. This is fine if you don't like a remote control for your television, a spatual (or many other utensils) for cooking, a comfortable bed, proper towel rack in the bathroom (the only towel rack hangs IN the shower) or a unbroken drying rack, etc. In addition, the layout of the room is not what we had been use to. The balcony was off of the bedroom (instead of the main living space) which made it very inconvient to relax and have dinner there after the baby had gone to bed. All three of the bathrooms were a Spanished-tiled death trap after a shower. Don't worry though, each room was provided with an ineffective, crusty mop and bucket to try to wash your personal moat up with.

Natural Park is also given a environmently-friendly rating by Ving. I found no evidence to how they earned it . For example, as far as we could see no trash was recycled (even when we seperated and rinsed bottles, cans, etc.) cleaning products were the same old Spanish gag-inducing industrial-strength stuff and I smelled clorine in the pool. It seems to us that the only reason Natural Park has "gone green" is to save themselves money. You are given an electricity key so you can't lock your hotel room from the outside and leave any lights on. Not great if you want to shower while your partner leaves the room or you would like to use the baby monitor to have a swim while he is asleep in the room. But I think the worst of their "going green" is their unwillingness to change sheets or towels! Guests are allowed fresh towels three times a week. You receive them by a distruptive ring of your doorbell by the "towel Nazi" and can only exchange an exact number of towels (they give us no extra towels for the baby). They did not change our sheets AT ALL in three weeks until asked to do so because my son had peed on one of them. When we returned that evening we found that some sheets had been changed but not all (I know not only because of the pee stain but because I drew a tiny smiley face on some of the sheets when we first arrived). To their enviromentally-friendly credit, the third week I was there I found a post box labelled for recycling batteries tucked in a back corner of the reception area.

The entertainment (I am using that term very losely) of the British wannabe Vegas-lounge act at the Guanabara Park hotel across the street was extremely disturbing ( in more ways than one;). At times my husband and I couldn't even hear each other when we were sitting next to one another on our balcony. The management said they had received many complaints but there was simply nothing they could do about it. Curiously though, our hotel and the neighboring one played music in the pool areas during the evenings the Elvis wannabe was having a night off leaving us to think that the management of the hotels in the area had made an agreement with one another.

Overall we found the housekeeping staff (apart from the head of housekeeping) to be friendly and good at their jobs but the managment , head of housekeeping and the reception staff to be unfriendly and condencending. I have never felt unwelcomed at any hotel before this stay and even though we wanted to change rooms I really don't know why we were treated so badly. You don't need details but trying to get clean sheets or a decent room during a three week stay turned into a very uncomfortable, at times embarassing, and humiliating situation for us.

The pool area and the resturant are clean and nice. The tiled pool area is cleaned nearly everyday but the outside walkways (to and from the rooms for example) are in desperate need of a wash.

The security is terrible. Even though they have 24 hour reception and video survellience I don't think the grounds are watched properly and the front gate is never locked. However, the biggest fault in their security lies in the design of the room. Nearly every room (apart from the handicapped room) has the only window for the living area next to the front door. If you would like fresh air and electricity at the same time you need to constantly have your key in a socket right next to the open window. Anyone can very easliy reach through and grab your key or simply open your front door themselves.

I think Natural Park is an OK place to stay if your kids are older but in general I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who may need to ask reception for help or housekeeping for clean sheets or towels. Good luck!

  • Liked — the location and the pool area
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Raskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2007

We visited this apartment hotel in Puerto Rico in september, but in the canay islands the weather is almost always nice and sunny with temperatures about 25 degrees. The room was rather big and clean, but the bed wasn´t the best we´ve ever slept in. The staff was friendly and helpful. The guests were mainly scandinavian families with children. The hotel had a nice pool and the food at hotel resturant was very tasty.
The view from the hotel was stunning, but it lay on top of a hill, a brisk walk from the centre of puerto rico. Luckily taxis aren´t too expensive, so if you are lazy the front desk will help you order a taxi. The beaches around puerto rico were nice and a trip to Mogan(well before the forest fire of ´07 anyway) is well worth a visit.
All in all we had a very nice trip and we were satisfied with both the hotel and its surroundings. We can recommend it to everyone, but especially families with young children.

  • Liked — the pool, the spacy rooms and the food in the restaurant
  • Disliked — the steep hills
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank slapfot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.7 mi away
Heliomar Apartments
Heliomar Apartments
#34 of 68 in Puerto Rico
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#28 of 68 in Puerto Rico
264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#36 of 68 in Puerto Rico
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#26 of 68 in Puerto Rico
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#23 of 68 in Puerto Rico
439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#19 of 68 in Puerto Rico
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Park Apartments

Property: Natural Park Apartments
Address: Los Pechos n0 5 | Barranc de Agua la Perra, 35138 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natural Park Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Natural Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Park Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Natural Park Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing