We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good, a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Me, my husband and our grown sons came here over New Year and we are really pleased.
This was really a great hotel, when we arrived so did the staff right away and took our bags,they said it was their job to do it. When we got to the reception they offed us champagne and they said that there was food in the room, really impressive, very nice staff, perfect service, the staff helped you as soon as they could, they were very helpful and very nice, felt like they knew you a little after a few days, the food was really good, we had all inclusive, we were there on New Year's Eve and it was very nice food, then, yes, it was delicious food all the time, you hear that I am truly impressed with this hotel. The pool area was good and there were always spare sun beds, the beach was nice and there were quite a lot of trails to walk on and it's nice to be able to walk around if you wanted. We will go back here and will recommend others to do the same.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gunilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,613)
There are newer reviews for Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,437 - 1,443 of 2,613 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2011

I heard from others that this is indeed the best hotel in the city, and I'm sure it is, it's just not value for money. It´s an average 3 star tourist hotel. Don't pay for more than that.

Positive:
Very nice and clean room with great view
Friendly staff in restaurant (not the dutch lady in reception)

Negative:
500m from room to pool
Only few elevators that often broke down
Not enough sunbeds
Long and steep walk to beach
Massage by old local man was way overprized
Buffet style food - what can you expect
Beach is a tourist trap with poor food and cheap plastic souvenirs

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SweetnessCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

My husband & I stayed at the hotel from 27th Dec to 2nd Jan '11 and enjoyed it so much we are booked up to go back in 11 weeks! The rooms are big, bright and very clean with a large balcony, table and chairs (some rooms have loungers). The pool areas are spotless and there are plenty of loungers available. You can get towels from the hotel by leaving card details as a deposit for them. We were all inclusive which allowed us to get drinks all day at the pool and 3 meals per day however there no snacks/ice creams available in AI. We had no complaints whatsoever with the food available especially for a buffet restaurant. We had the gala dinner at new year and this was very nice, the fireworks at midnight were amazing and out did all the surrounding hotels. Local drinks are available on AI, the wine is really nice and spirits are alright and not like firewater you might expect. If you do want specific brands it is quite cheap to buy them. Entertainment is what you would expect from any hotel however passes an hour in the evening. You are a short walk from the beach where there are some restaurants and usual holiday shops but we only ventured down here once as there was no need to leave the hotel. There is a walkway into Puerto Rico which takes about 20 mins. There is a bus stop and Spar shop next to the hotel as well. The staff were all very nice and provided a great service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I think that alot of the reviews of this hotel are very accurate. My husband & I prefer smaller hotels generally but there aren't many in the Canary Islands and most places are half board or all inclusive - again not what we would normally choose. This was a very last minute booking for a well needed break and we did feel that we got that. The hotel is cut into the side of a hill which means automatically that it excludes those who have difficulty walking etc For a weeks winter sun break it was fine - the food was good - if you're not into buffets there is a hot grill which had fish & meat cooked freshly on it every night and there was always plenty of fresh salad fruit & vegetables. The buffet for breakfast also has alot of choice - something to appeal to everyone. The staff in the hotel restaurant we're very helpful & always smiling & happy - the only annoying part was the drinks waiter standing at your table putting your order into a handheld machine and printing off a receipt for you to sign - felt a bit like TGI's not a 4/5 star establishment. The organisation/booking of the New Years Eve Gala dinner on the other hand was a joke and very frustrating. There we're a few beach bars & shops around the beach only a few of which stayed open in the evening. The beach is worth a mention as it looks lovely - manmade - but is quite dangerous. The sand is made of ground shells and has been put ontop of the rocks that make up a large part of the island. You walk into the sea to find within a foot you are trying to walk over rocks with the sea pulling at your legs quite strongly so it's not easy to get in for a swim and we saw a few children get very scared as they we're knocked over and suffered cuts and bruises to their legs- me too. The infinity pool in the hotel was nice and there is a second pool on the top floor which seemed to have mainly adults around it - it's an above ground pool. The entertainment is as you would expect from this kind of hotel and we only went one evening. The spa area is small but nice to have particularly at this time of year as it gets chilly early evening so a warm up in the indoor pool and sauna was a nice bonus. We hired a car for a couple of days and went to the dunes between st agustin and maspalomas which are worth a visit. We came home saying we felt very well rested and that the hotel had suited what we needed - a complete break. Feel free to email any other questions you might want to ask.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanineWooburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My girlfriend and I went to Gloria Palace for 1 week in Sept 2010 and loved every minute of it.

I would agree with all the great reveiws with the food being tasty with great choice. Rooms are big, spacious and all have big balconies with ocean veiws. There is an infinity pool which is great also. Drinks were good but they are slightly weaker than my measures, which probably isnt a bad thing considering the heat!

We only paid £675 each for a week which was a great price compared to other people we spoke with considering.

In conclusion i would absolutely 100% recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet holiday for a couple.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

A beautiful Hotel, We paid £870 each All inclusive for a week through Thomas Cook in the English summer school holidays. It is in a lovely bay round the corner from Puerto Rico.

Good Points;
Food was exceptional, I have been on a few All inclusive holidays and the buffets have differed dramatically. this one was first class. If you couldn't find something to eat you would be classed as a very fussy eater. Definitely go upstairs for lunch buffet instead of using snack bar. it is far better. if you like seafood, you will be very happy.
Main Pool area is quite busy and sun beds are packed in but the view is beautiful and well worth it.

This hotel is a completely safe bet for a quiet week away!

Bad Points;
-Room doors cannot be closed without making a very loud noise.
-There was a smell in the room which I spoke to reception about twice and they did something. I think it was the drains.
-Be careful, the Room keys can be wiped by leaving them next to a phone.
-Drinks service can be slow sometimes but it is very hard to get enough staff to cover peak periods.
-Entertainment was pretty average.

Tips
-All inclusive get free ice cream, it is by the pool bar in the far right fridge in little yogurt pots.
-You can get Wifi by the pool, so you can connect your iphone all day for free.
-There is a bar to the right of the beach called the Amadores Beach club, really nice bar to watch the sun set.
-You can get a taxi to Puerto Mogan for about 15 EUROS. It is a lovely little port where you can get drinks and food. Well worth a visit. I wouldn't go into Puerto Rico, its pretty grim.
-Pool is stunning.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank knutsford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

1. Excellent rooms, service, staff and food.

2.Very spacious rooms, could easily sleep 5 provided you take the extra beds.

3. Huge balcony overlooking the ocean - all rooms are ocean view.

4. Very close to the commercial towns like Puerto Rico & Maspalomas (sand dunes - which are definitely not to be missed) and don't miss out on Puerto de Mogan - Cafe de Mogan serves some excellent Salmon.

5. All rooms have twin beds which was a little dissappointing as we were on our honeymoon.

6. The drinks were a little expensive in the hotel, hence I would suggest to buy the drinks from one of the stores nearby and stock.

Its a perfect hotel for any kind of holiday, the area is not too commercial or crowded but its not very far from the action.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manik_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
1.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,153 reviews
8.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
10.9 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Address: C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $162 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 meters from Playa de Amadores, on the Costa de Mogan, the Gloria Palace Hotel Royal & Spa is a four-star superior establishment built in 2008 with natural stone, privileged views over Amadores beach, spectacular never-ending pool, exclusive rooms and executive suites. Its dedicated service, luxurious surroundings and breathtaking views makes it the most prestigious hotel in the area. Our goal is to provide our customers with a place to enjoy a calm, relaxing, caring and personalized service from our team of professionals. The extensive facilities are designed and decorated with exquisite taste, to convey a feeling of exclusivity and luxury to enjoy the deserved vacations. A hotel for all, from romantic getaways to business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel Puerto Rico
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel And Spa
Dunas Amadores
Hotel Dunas Amadores
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing