We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic chill out.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed at this hotel and really we were spoiled to the point of turning into brats!!!! There's a "Chill Out" zone overlooking the sea for adults. Lively pool/snack bar for everyone. Spotlessly clean rooms with sea views. It's true that some of the staff have character but the female manager is a saint. Definately go All Inclusive...even if you don't avail of all on offer it's worth the small premium when booking. Gorgeous walk along the cliff which takes you all the way to the port. Five minute walk down to the beach with some lovely bars and restaurants. We transfered from the Gloria Palace Saint Augustin and are so glad that we did...these two properties are polar opposites...but that's another story. Looking out at the rain today and wishing myself back to the Royal!!!!!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
Thank campervanmanCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,615)
There are newer reviews for Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,478 - 1,484 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

Stayed at this hotel between the 6th and 13th September. Flights and hotel booked separately. We hired a car from the airport and arrived at 1am in the morning. Quick check in with drinks offered and then a cold buffet which was fine for us all. The hotel is of an excellent standards we had 2 adjoining rooms in block one which was furtherest away from the reception. Lovely spacious rooms, large bathroom area, huge balcony with spectacular views over the bay. Rooms were cleaned daily and always to a high standard. The infinity pool definitely has a wow factor it did get busy, but always found a sunbed. We liked to go later in the afternoon to have a swim and use the spa facilities which were again excellent, lovely spa pool with all the jets, sauna and steam room. Food was excellent a huge choice for breakfast and dinner, all immaculately presented and hot. We were half board so did'nt sample lunch. Drinks were expensive but no different to any other hotel that we have stayed in. We walked along the coastal path into Puerto Rico which took about 30 mins, Puerto Rico is ok but thought the bay was nicer in Amadores, great for a drink at night. Disagree with comments not suitable for teenagers we had our son of 18 and daughter of 20 with us and they loved the hotel as much as we did. Definitely recommend a hire car to explore the Island. Loved Puerto Mogan nice to visit when the market is not on. Las Palmas was busy but enjoyed visiting the capital. A great week and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farmertomless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Have just come back from a week in the Gloria Palace Hotel. I dont usually write reviews, but felt that this place deserved a little special mention!!
We arrived late, and were offered food immediately, whilst our bags were taken to the room. Our room was very spacious and extremely clean (rooms got cleaned every day and were always spotless when we returned in the evening). All rooms look out onto the beach and sea, the views are amazing, and it was lovely to wake up to that every morning.
We went all-inclusive and i'd definately recommend it. The food was fab - so much choice every meal time, and we never had the same meal twice! I liked breakfast the best - choices included pancakes, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, cooked breakfast, toast, cakes and even champagne (which we had every morning!). The all-inclusive drinks menu is extensive...theres definately something for everyone. I'd recommend the coco loco cocktail!
The hotel had 2 pools...the infinity pool (all i can say is WOW), and another pool upstairs, which was more peaceful. The inifinity pool is very big so it doesnt often feel busy, but you do have to get up fairly early if you want a sunbed! Next to the infinity pool, you have the spa, which has a sauna, steam room, jet beds and other cool features. This was free to use on all-inclusive and was a very relaxing way to end the day.
Entertainment in the evening suited us. It mainly consisted of dancing, acrobats and magicians. However, if you're looking for a big night out, this isnt the place, as entertainment finishes at 11pm. The hotel is is a very quiet location, so there isnt much to do nearby, in terms of entertainment.
The beach is 5 minutes walk away...its quite steep on the way back so be prepared! The beach is lovely, however you do have to pay for a sunbed and to use the toilet!
Overall, the staff were helpful and very friendly. A little tip....a little spanish (or attempt at in our case) goes a long way!

A great place to stay. Would definately recommend it if you want a relaxing luxurious hoiday, where you can spend the day sunbathing, and the evening drinking cocktails!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l_tudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Just returned from the gloria palace had fantastic time, greeted with champagne, very friendly helpfull staff , room and view was amazing. beds very comfortable. Food quality best we have ever had the steak was so tender and we have done all inclusive for many years. this was definately the best we have been to lovely to be waited on, Staff very friendly couldtn do enough for you, anything you wanted they got it, food cooked to how you wanted, very fresh , everywhere spotlessly clean. everyone friendly and chatty especially luisa, coctails were lovely. The pool is exactly as it on the tv. feels lke you are floating in the sky. would recommend this to anyone who wants to be spoilt and have a relaxing holiday. Not suitable for families, small children or teenagers. Ideal for romantic getaway . Will definaly be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynmorley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Recently came back from a weeks stay here. There were 3 of us, all female ages 21, and 22. we chose the hotel because of the location and the standard of the hotel and we were not disappointed. As soon as we checked in we got a glass of bubbly which was nice and got shown our room, this room was a great location in the 4th block, i would recommend it to anybody, as there was no one below us that could look into our room and it had a bigger balcony then others due to where it was positioned.

The 3rd bed is'nt as comfy but it was ok for 7 nights.
Plenty of space and hangers for all clothes. Bathroom was lovely except the show was close to overflowing a few times.

The food was plentiful and would defo go All Inclusive as the drinks prices can be expensive.
Tip: Eat well at Lunch as there is so much choice and much fresher in the main restaurant and quieter then evening!
Agree with other review that it silly that all inclusive drinks finish at 23.30 and no options for snacks. There is a Spar 5 minutes away, but crisps are expensive.
TIP!!!
Cigarettes are dirt cheap out there so dont be ripped off at duty free. 200 for €20!!!

Also there is a perfume shop in Puerto Rico, he will say 50% off, but what he doesnt tell u its not on all brands, so if there is one you like and he says only 30% off, walk away and he will do it you for 50%!!! I got a 62£ perfume for £29!!!!

Taxi into Puerto Rico is 4 euros

Entertainment is poor! the daytime team are unfriendly and only speak to spanish!

Overall the hotel is lovely, however, the only wow factor is the pool and that gets a bit boring after a while. It lacks the wow factor but would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smileysmiler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I've just arrived back from my stay at the Gloria palace Royal hotel, located behind Amadores beach, just a few mins from Puerto Rico. First impressions were very good, with a warm welcome from reception and offered a glass of campagne while being told about the hotel AI and facilities. We arrived late, and therefore nobody was available to take our bags to our room which was a bit disappointing. I'll now break down the main aspects of this hotel.

Rooms

Huge. Ours had ample space, big double wardrobes, spacious balacony, bath, walkin shower, bathrobes, the works. Fridge was there as well, but not stocked with anything. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard by our excellent cleaner (thanks Mapi). The patio door was so clean my girlfriend didn't realise it was closed and walked into it - shame I didn't have a camcorder as thats a £250 prize from you've been framed :-)

Food and Drink

I'll have to stay very good, although some days the slections weren't to my tastes. Still, there was always steaks on the grill, pasta, roast pork, canarian stew,etc. Lunch times I found better than evening. If you like salad then you'll love it. The drinks slection was huge ranging from beer (Tropical), whiskey, vermouth, cava, rose, cocktails, the list was massive for AI, and you could get 50% off non AI drinks if you were on the AI basis. Only problem was it finished at 23:30 so after that the bar was empty. Maybe they should consider a smaller range of drinks and extended the AI to 24:00 which is use to be. Also once dinner is over at 9.30 there's no more food until breakfast. Should have a snack bar open until 24:00. Also can't get a cup of tea at lunch or dinner in the main restuarant.

Facilities

Excellent. The main pool is one of the best I've been in, with a large infinity pool overlooking the Amadores beach. While we were there it was never full, and there was loads of sunlougers that you could get well after 10:30. No getting up to bag one. There's another pool on the next floor up, but never used it. It did have a lot of free loungers there. Also has a Spa, but again never used it as came away to spend time in the sun not in doors.

Staff

The majority were friendly and helpful, but one fella in the main restuarant was a miserable bloke. Maybe he should find a new line of work. Our cleaner Mapi, was excellent.

Location

Good. It's built into the cliff, but has a lift that takes you right down to the main road. Takes 10 mins max to walk to the beach. The beach itself is very nice, but avid the weekend when it gets very busy. Puerto Rico is a 4 Euro taxi away. We went there one night and it was ok. Full of back to back bars. Didn't get any hassle to drink ther, with no hard sell. Didn't see anyone selling timeshare, so maybe we were lucky.

Summary

The gloria palace is a great place to stay for couples, with plenty to do on and off site. Food and drink are good, so do go AI as it's better value for money. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramjam555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We found the hotel very clean,the atmosphere is very laid back,relaxed.
Food top quality,with show cooking and themed nights.
There are two restaurants,a buffet restaurant all inclusive.The A la Carte you have to pay extra for with a discount of 25%off the bill.
The hotel rooms are large with sea views,satelite tv,mini kitchen in a cupboard]with fridge,coffee maker(take a kettle]microwave,sink,crockery and cutlery etc.
Good air conditioning in rooms ,not so good in public areas.
The entertainment was mixed ,some good some ok.
The pools were great,one is an infinity pool,but the kids tended to use that one and the kiddies pool next to it.
The upstairs pool was alot quieter,even at the end of August!
The only downsides were ;
Quite a route march to the beach,plus the hotel very high up the rockface.
You need to be pretty fit to go up and down to the beach.
We were on the top floor in the last block of the hotel!
There is disabled access,lift etc.
There was only one nearby shop,a Spar.
The buses are good,plus plenty of taxis.as you need to go further afield for shopping.
Would recommend this hotel for couples and young families.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisonclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
1.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,157 reviews
8.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
10.9 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Address: C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $162 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 meters from Playa de Amadores, on the Costa de Mogan, the Gloria Palace Hotel Royal & Spa is a four-star superior establishment built in 2008 with natural stone, privileged views over Amadores beach, spectacular never-ending pool, exclusive rooms and executive suites. Its dedicated service, luxurious surroundings and breathtaking views makes it the most prestigious hotel in the area. Our goal is to provide our customers with a place to enjoy a calm, relaxing, caring and personalized service from our team of professionals. The extensive facilities are designed and decorated with exquisite taste, to convey a feeling of exclusivity and luxury to enjoy the deserved vacations. A hotel for all, from romantic getaways to business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel Puerto Rico
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel And Spa
Dunas Amadores
Hotel Dunas Amadores
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing