We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Y Paz Apartments
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very good apartments”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Booked an apartment here through Thomas Cook. First impressions are fine, the apartments themselves are very clean and equipped with everything you might need. Although it is self catering, we only attempted to cook once. There is only a hob available so bare this in mind when planning meals.

The food available at the poolside bar is very nice, we ate here mostly. Typical British fare really. Location is very good, opposite the Europa center and taxi stand. Good for a supermarket and bars. We took a cab down to the beach and large center most days, it doesn't cost more than 4 euros.
Bare in mind that the Europa center does play loud music until about 5 or 6am every night however this didn't bother us.

Staff are friendly enough, although the Spanish lady behind the bar went out of her way to help and make the stay enjoyable.

The pool is now surrounded by a glass fence, Ive included a picture as this was worrying me before we left - Id imagined it looking like a prison - but it's actually quite good.

Overall a relaxing week. Definitely try out amadores beach, it's great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rusholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    125
    52
    20
    25
See reviews for
82
220
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My sister and I have just returned from a week here. First impressions were ok. The rooms are clean so no complaints. We had a room upstairs on the right hand side as you come in from the street and got the sun in the morning. If you have the rooms on the ground floor you get your own sun beds outside the room so very nice but as we were upstairs we did't. A little bar at the bottom of the swimming pool ok, food seemed fine to us. Typical English so home from home. On an evening the gates to the complex are locked at 9pm so if you don't have a key you don't get in, it made us feel very safe. If you are going to this resort please go to Amadores beach. This is so clean and really pretty. It is my first self catering holiday for a while and I found things much more expensive than I expected, you can still find bargains if you look for them. All in all a good place to stay as a base, clean and cheap so a nice break with no men and no kids. Go with an open mind, don't expect 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

You cant get better for value for money, we stayed for 2 weeks on 8th of June, its just a small complex of 2 blocks facing each other, about 40 apartments in total. It was very clean and not a mark on the décor, And right next to the Europa shopping centre, very easy for shops and bars. would highly recommend the combo trip to see the dolphins, and jeep safari, will be returning soon

Room Tip: any room between 30 and 40 better for the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank us2newcastleupontyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault these apartments for the price. Location is good for the Europa it's just right across the road.

Rooms was clean fresh towels daily, only thing was the bedding was never changed.

Swimming pool was great

Has some stunning views in the area. 25 min walk down hill to Puerto Rico

Ammadoes beach is gorgeous

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sammy1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for a week on 6/6/2013 party of 3. Was just perfect ,would ignore all bad reviews. Staff are all friendly. Party night is held on a tuesday where food is free if you stay for the entertainment including reptile show cash prize bingo quizzes and karaoke . Happy hour is 9.30pm - 10.30pm where you buy 1 you get one free on local drink
every night (except party night) rooms are basic but clean although the floor was usually quite dirty. Had clean towels every two days. Try there homemade sauce its brilliant and you can even buy one and bring it home. Pool area quiet and friendly pool is now gated for safety reasons people left lilos etc around pool and were more than welcome to use them. Gate to complex was locked after 9.30pm at night so needed key to get In and out. Europa center is right across the road will various bars restaurants shops etc.The italian pizza is a must!!!! Usually give you free ice cream after your meal which was delicious. Haggle in shops is also a must there desperate for a buy. Taxi rank is also across the road where you can go to the beach and shopping center for €3.50. Overall stay was brilliant. Don't know why it only has 2* we had a brilliant week and really recommend it for everyone
Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice504209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location for us with superb views.
Apartments cleaned 4 times during our week stay, pool clean (now gated for safety reasons) .
Only about 10 of the 40 rooms in use so quite during the day, unfortunately no Tuesday night get together for free food, bingo quiz karaoke etc.
Had cooked English breakfast, really good
20 minute walk to beach, The shops, bars and restaurants across the road, no problem with noise at night.
Will defiantly come back
Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HelenWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Booked through Thomas Cook and arrived on 13 May 2013. Met at reception by a lady who explained the resort was out of season. So the pool bar would not be open for drinks or snacks and the reception would be closed. Plus no buses were running up and down the large hill through out the summer months.

The room (3) was very clean and looked cared for. Even the towels which other reviews had complained about were new! The cleaners visited every other day and were polite and friendly.

However, with the pool and reception closed all week I was concerned to see the pool which has a new glass screen surrounding the pool with its gate unlocked. Luckily no young children were at the complex this week.

The Thomas Cook rep was not seen until the Friday, who appeared unconcerned at the guests disappointment that the bar was closed and no staff available. She explained it would be 'ok' next week. However, this would be of little use to me!

On the final day, the reception was opened by the cleaners for guests to hang up apartment key before leaving!!

This obviously by other reviews is a great little holiday apartments resort but I was disappointed that Thomas Cook had not given any notice of the facility's available would be out action which other review guests had praised this for!

Room Tip: Please note the Sol Y Pas is on top of a very large hill (700 steps or steep road) long walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobH549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#19 of 68 in Puerto Rico
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#36 of 68 in Puerto Rico
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,814 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Y Paz Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Paz Apartments

Property: Sol Y Paz Apartments
Address: Calle Timanfaya 19 | Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sol Y Paz Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Y Paz Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Paz Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Sol Y Paz Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing