We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but first class”
Review of Cumana Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cumana Apartments
Reviewed February 3, 2008

The Cumana apartments are a real jewel in the crown. Considering this was a budget holiday the accomodation was fantastic. The apartments are well maintained both inside and out and most importantly for SC there is a fully equipped kitchen. The hob actually heats things up. Any requests for extra pillows and blankets were dealt with quickly and the room has a safe inside where you can store you valuables

We expected maid service perhaps once but they came every other day with clean linen and towels with a fantastic hygiene clean.

The only down side is for the first couple of nights you are disturbed a bit by the music but you soon get use to it and if not join in!!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nettynoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Cumana Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 174 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2007

booked the cumana due to earlier reviews as we were looking for somewhere central . these apartments are clean,comfortable but basic so if luxury is what you want not for yu. however for our purposes of sleeping, toast in morning, shower at night and out again then i would recommend. book a 2bedroom apartment as these at pool level. all the resort of puerto rico is very hilly!! and all hotels have steps up and down so be warned.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scotslassml9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2007

Stayed in the Cumana apartments April 2007 with 3 teenage daughters. Apartments were basic but clean and and comfortable. Cumana is in a good position for Peurto Rico apartment, at the bottom of the hill close to the Commercial Centre. Cumana Staff very helpful and friendly. Pool small but adequate as never huge amounts of people round pool, always sunbeds available at any time of day. Overall a good holiday.
Only downside to Puerto Rico is touts outside every restaurant and bar in commercial centre, touting for your custom even if you say no they follow you down to the next restaurant/bar where the next tout would take over. We ended up walking round the outskirts of the shopping centre to get to where we were going.
Found bar with a bookies Tropicano on 1st floor of the shopping centre opposite Linikers....nice friendly staff and we won a few times too.....
Best food - El Toro -1st floor shopping centre

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luleab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2007

stayed at these apartments along with family for new year and can really say had a very nice time. accommodation is very nice and clean and very central to commercial centre of puerto rico. apartments are of a good size and got all kitchen essentials that are needed for a self catering holiday. the pool is of a good size as brochures dont do it justice and there is always sunbeds. the pool bar is very reasonable priced as well. i could not fault the apartments apart from the steps within the propety making it not good for the less mobile but there again puerto rico is very hill anyway. these apartments are very good for both cleaniness and location and i would recommend these for a stay in puerto rico and will be returning next year. i work with travel industry so i am writing this as a true report.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank simbo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2006

This hotel is basic but clean and nice enough. If you are like me and quite unfit then the stairs are a bit of a nightmare, especially if you get a room at the top like we did! However, after two weeks of coming up and down them twice a day you start to feel a little fitter! You can walk down to the bottom centre but i wouldn't attempt to walk up to the Europa! A taxi is very cheap to get there anyway.

The Europa centre is more for families but there are a few good bars in there if you fancy a slightly quieter evening. The centre at the bottom turns really lively at night and a lot of them try and tempt you in with the two for one drinks and that (just the usual!).

The room was very basic but was clean so no complaints and the cleaners were in just about every day with clean towels.

I recommend a go on the 'Big Red' down at the harbour, it was excellent! Well worth the money. And just accross from that there is a good restaurant called Oscars and the bar underneath that serves the best cocktails i've ever had!

We took a trip through to Playa del Ingles on the bus but during the day it's not that busy, just lots of shops and that, the beach looks nice, it's almost like a desert when you come to the end of it!

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Avril2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2006

Stayed in the Cumana apartments from 30th October - 4th November and booked through Direct Holidays. These apartments are in need of modernisation. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was on one of the higher levels and whilst is was ok it could have been doing with a good clean and lick of paint! These apartments are classed as 3* by direct holidays and too be honest I would classify them more 2*. Cooking facilities are basic although we ate out every night so that didn't really bother us. There is no air conditioning and fans have to be hired from reception. The pool itself is quite small but fine for a dip to cool off. The snack bar is basic in that it serves soft drinks, beer and occassional spirits as well as the odd toastie and hot dog. These apartments are fine if you get a good deal. We paid £305 each for 5 nights and I think it was over priced (although this could have been because it was half term). If you get a bargain - go for it, I don't know if I would recommend paying full brochure price though!
One thing to note is that whilst these apartments are not high up on the hill the complex itself has many steps and would not suit those with walking difficulties. Although Puerto Rico is well known for being hilly the apartments do not have lifts and you have to carry your own luggage - nightmare if you are on the top!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie_Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

We booked our 7night holiday through direct holidays. We were looking for a cheap cheerful holiday, just to get away etc.

The Cumana apartments are in a great location close to the Commercial Centre, in total 87 steps down to the centre and back up at night. The resort itself is ok for young couples, single people and families.

There are too many restaurants to mention but my personal favourite was Pinnochio's which is an italian. They made the best thin crust pizze ever. The best bar we found was LA FIESTA, on the top level of the commercial centre, everynight there is a quiz, bingo and an entertainment act, then karoake. We won 250euros on the bingo one night. There is a great atmosphere in there and very livley.

The apartments themselves are clean, however the only drawback we found was that the bedrooms were dark. This mainly was because we were on the end of a block, facing another apartment, i am sure though others were probably bright. I wqould recommend hiring a fan from reception for 1.50 euro a day or 6euros for the week.
We had a 2bedroom apartment as there were 4 of us. The bathroom was clean, however do keep plugs in the bath and sink to avaoid cockroaches coming up. The whole week we were there we only had one in the bath but we got rid of it.

Alot of reviews do talk about there being a cockroach problem, but we only saw 3 the whole time we were there. One in our bath and two on the steps from reception to the rooms but these were dead.

The pool area is clean and always plenty of beds during the week. At the weekends the aprtments are spanish owned so you do find they all come down for the weekend and the pool area is busy. They all go home about lunchtime on Sunday though so its not too bad. During the week we stayed there was us and 5 other groups of english people. The pool bar is cheap and serves toasties, burgers, ships, beer, pop and ice cream all reasonably priced.

The staff at the Cumana were friendly and even let us keep the room on our departure day until 11pm, as we were not being picked up until 12midnight. We only paid 28euros between the 4 of us so it was well worth it. I would recommend booking this ealry to ensure you get the room.

We would recommend going to the public pool near the beach during the week as at weekends its gets very busy and you struggle to find a bed. Its 8euros for the day and 1euro for an umberella. You can leave and come back as you wnat to, just keep your ticket.

The only bad point me and my boyfriend found about the whole holiday was the constant hassling from the restaurant and bar staff trying to get you in their bar each night. No matter how many times you sya no, they just keep going at you. In the end as rude as it sound i found it was best to just ignore them or you will get annoyed. But this is the same in any resort like Puerto Rico so you can not escape it.

Apart from this we enjoyed our time in Puerto Rico and The Cumana and would recommened this hotel for cheap and cheerful accomodation for holiay makers on a budget.

However, we would not return to Gran Canaria/Canary Islands in the near future as there are plenty of other places we want to go to, such as Rome, Amsterdam, etc before we think about going back there.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Feathpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#28 of 68 in Puerto Rico
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#34 of 68 in Puerto Rico
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heliomar Apartments
Heliomar Apartments
#31 of 68 in Puerto Rico
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parque Raquel
Parque Raquel
#38 of 68 in Puerto Rico
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mozart Apartments
Mozart Apartments
#40 of 68 in Puerto Rico
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#30 of 68 in Puerto Rico
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumana Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumana Apartments

Address: Avenida Palmeras s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $36 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cumana Apartments 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cumana Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumana Apartments Hotel Gran Canaria
Cumana Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing