We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cumana apartments puerto rico gran canaria”
Review of Cumana Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cumana Apartments
Ireland
2 reviews
“cumana apartments puerto rico gran canaria”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We arrived in cumana apartments on 12th march 2011 for 1 week we had our 2 teenage girls with us to our horror the place was riddled with ants and cats urinating everywhere we got our apatment the bed sheets were filthy they wernt even changed and wen we complained they put dirtier ones bck on,the smell of sewerage was disgraceful my daughthers were very upset as to was my self and husband we went about getting other accomadation as soon as possible we had to stay there for 2 nights we slept in our clothes which was terrible it was filthy. We eventually got accomadtion in the Castilo Del Sol which was like goin from home to home the staff was really helpful and of course the appartment was spotless we had a great time here would highly reccomend these appartments.


Mr , Mrs Browne 2 teenage girls
Ireland (Cabra in Dublin march 2011.

Helpful?
Thank Dublingiirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    45
    15
    66
See reviews for
41
53
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Handy for resort amenities BUT do have ear plugs if you want to sleep as noisy late night clubs also close by! Apartment basic but spacious and clean. Only 2 rings for cooking but no oven or microwave and a limited number of cooking pans so eating out is probably necessary. A good selection of varied and inexpensive restaurants close by. No sign of any cockroaches! (or Antonio when we arrived...had to wait for 20 minutes until he surfaced with a charming smile!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bargrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

they are close to the commercial center but the steps in the complex are to much we were in apartment 603 and there were 120 or more steps from the entrance to the apartment

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deiselas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

South Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

6 Ladies @ Lunch went to Puerto Rico for a week, had a fantastic time and great weather.
4 of us had a 2 bedroom apartment, and this was nice and plenty of space, plenty of hot water, but the fridge took some getting used to with the dodgy ice compartment door.
No view from our room, but the pool was warm and quite ~ until we arrived.
2 of the Ladies had a 1 bedroom apartment, this was rather small but had better views from the balcony.
Would use this apartment again as a last resort, but then it was cheap and booked at the last minute.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geordiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We weren’t expecting too much after reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor, so we were disappointed with what we found. We arrived to find reception closed with a message stuck on the door asking us to collect keys from the bar. Not a big problem but this meant that we couldn't sort out a safe key, find out about parking etc. and also meant dragging our suitcases up even more steps! When we got to the room, first impressions were not good - they looked like they needed a full refurbishment and were generally tatty. On closer inspection it proved to be clean - just old, so we decided to make the best of it. The towels were threadbare, the bed sheets & pillowcases looked filthy (but were clean - again, just old) and the bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever experienced.
After a couple of days we realised that we should count our blessings as the apartment was clean, reasonably well equipped, well located, reasonably well run and most important COCKROACH FREE! We didn't see one bug in the apartment complex and had no problems with mosquitoes. As the week continued we enjoyed our stay more and more. There is lots to do within 10 minutes walk (up& down steps) and the apartment complex was occupied by mainly Scandinavians who were very friendly - as were the semi resident Spanish guests.
Overall: Although we wouldn't return, we enjoyed our stay and found it good value for money but don't know how it gets its 81% Tripadvisor recommendation!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodgerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nørresundby
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We have just returned from Cumana Apartments - we stayed there 5 nights. We didn't have very high expectations about the apartment considering the price, but it was dissapointing after all. The apartment was worn and old, and smelled of sewer!! It might have been clean enough, but the smeel made eveything feel dirty. The sheets smelled newly wasched, but they had blood stains on them (not very nice).
The location was alright - quite close to the city centre, but it's up hill to the hotel (almost 250 steps).
The apartment area was surrounded by a fence and 4 gates. The gates were locked, which for safety resons was alright, but our keys worked very poorly, so we spend a lot of time "fiddeling" with the locks!!
Overall the apartment was okay - but we were happy to be staying elsewhere for the rest of the week.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank den_rejsende81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2010

The first thing vi noticed was that the receptionist wasn't there, but he came after a while. XD It was strange at first, but they had a note in the window, so you kind of just had to slow down and take things as they came. A lot of stairs. really good for legs and bottom. A nice little pool almost on the top. This hotel is built upwards a mountain!:D It got a really nice view, and you can see almost all of Poerto Rico from there. It's just a "few" steps(it's like 500m if you go the long way) from the shopping Center and also all the cool party places! Recommend Snoopey and Donald's btw, and Joker late at night;) The apartments are nice, but you got to have your own soap for toilet and kitchen:P They got the best "cleaningpeople ", and we never lost anything. A good thing for messy young adults. hehe One little problem about this hotel is that there is only one receptionist who speak English, but we survived:) The pool got sun beds, and a small ice cream bar. They got an extra toilet and shower by the pool who is great when you have to check out.. out checking time is 12am, but you can stay at the pool or in the reception. And I have to mention the view again. Make sure your balcony is towards the city, well they all are, but more up in the hight:) The hotel is close to everything, even the beach, though the 1km long road felt a bit long sometimes. hehe The city is really safe even for us, two young girls walking alone to the hotel at night, There is always someone walking the same way, or there is no people at all, but I still advise people to be careful. You never know:P
The hotel is supervised at night, plus there is cameras there so your pretty safe.
There is a lot of Norwegian, danish, Swedish..well loads of European people there:)
The main bus stop is just down the road, and it goes all over the isle:)
Tourist information is at the same place.
All in all It's not too expensive and it got an OK standard, and it's close to everything:D

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MaiElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Heliomar Apartments
Heliomar Apartments
#30 of 68 in Puerto Rico
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#28 of 68 in Puerto Rico
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#36 of 68 in Puerto Rico
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mozart Apartments
Mozart Apartments
#34 of 68 in Puerto Rico
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parque Raquel
Parque Raquel
#47 of 68 in Puerto Rico
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#33 of 68 in Puerto Rico
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumana Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumana Apartments

Property: Cumana Apartments
Address: Avenida Palmeras s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cumana Apartments 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumana Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumana Apartments Hotel Gran Canaria
Cumana Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing