We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, 'Value for Money' All Inclusive Apartments”
Review of Hotel Altamadores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Altamadores
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great, 'Value for Money' All Inclusive Apartments”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We've just returned from a two week holiday at the Altamadores and must say we had a fantastic time...only marred by the lack of kids entertainment resulting in the kids getting bored and running amock!) Unfortunately, we didn't holiday with kids and found the lack of response from the parents when their kids were being totally unruly very frustrating...but that was absolutely nothing to do with the hotel and they did try their best to keep the kids in check.
With that whinge aside, the actual hotel was brilliant, views were fantastic and food was always plentiful and of good quality. BBQ Sundays were always a big hit and the food was delicious, also Tuesdays and Thursday were Chinese days, but if you don't like chinese food there is a well stocked salad bar.! The rest of the week the food choice was excellent with always something to choose from and superb quality.
The maid service was on Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturdays with towels being changed on these days, but the reception were always happy enough to change the towels if you needed them to be...the beds were changed every eight days, which considering the majority of people shower in the evening after sunbathing all day I felt this was completely acceptable.

The pool area, although small, was a real suntrap, but if you enjoy joining in pool games like vollyball or water polo then this isn't the hotel for you as this didn't happen unless the guests organised it themselves!...also, sunbeds during the month of August are in short supply and some guests were actually spotted getting up at 4am to bag themselves their beds...if you left it till after 8 you didn't stand a chance, but 4, isn't that pushing it a bit?!?!
The evening entertainment was a little bit 'hit and miss', As the only area for any entertainment to take place was around the pool side and dining area. Entertainment could not start until the dinner service had finished which was at 9...by this time a lot of people, especially the children were a bit bored of sitting around waiting for something to happen, but I do feel that once again, the lack of childrens entertainment was the problem as this is the time that many hotels entertain the kids with a few silly games and songs, which also keep the adults entertained!
The apartments were spacious with a two ringed cooker, full fridge, small freezer and microwave...cupboards were fully stocked with cups, saucers and plates...even a bottle opener!
The hotel is located at the top of a hill, which results in fantastic views of the Amadores beach and a bus service for only 90cents stops right outside the hotel and takes you to the Europa Centre at the top of the hill, the Centre Commercial in the centre of Puerto Rico or the beach... so the fact that it is a rather steep hill really isn't a problem as everything is easily accessable.
All in all this a fantastic place to stay and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family...We stayed at the Gloria Palace in April and although obviously the Altamadores isn't in the same class in terms of luxury, it certainly has it's own level of qualities, charm and friendliness from staff....and the idea of the 'self-service' bar is novel and works extremely well! Don't hesitate to book a holiday here...you really won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank critics2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    256
    108
    42
    18
See reviews for
356
328
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Came home a bit dissapointed after going all inclusive over many years this was the worst and I wouldn't rate it in my top ten.
Firstly as mentioned no air con only ceiling fans,and due to having a low room and the balcony being a thoroughfare then unable to leave the doors open to circulate the cooler air,when the heatwave struck one day and evening their were people sleeping outside.
Hotel cleanliness was very good
Food very basic and Oriental night came round too often,my wife being vegetarian struggled sometimes.Hotel location demanded good entertainment and there lied the problem...Pete the DJ supplied this in the form of Bingo and Karaoke.His day started at 2 and ended at 5pm after the dailly dose of bingo where he just pressed the button on the computer and let it run its thing!!Hisparty trick was an evening with Pete,him singing (or not depending on your standard,followed by Sangria and Quizzes...involving answering a question the winning a Glass of Sangria??(we were all inclusive!!)needless to say The second time round the Hotel was cleared...maybe a management ploy noy sure!!During the day he would entertain the smaller children but was happy to except the older children and "Big Kids" however then completely ignore them,two Blokes actually attempted to join in were rebuffed stood up looked at each other shook their heads and walked away .His spoon diving resulted in an announcement three days later to the Kids to stop bending all the spoons,I think they were starting to run out.
Karoke every evening just got unbearable (No Molly you Can't Sing)
The good shows were Elvis ,Chris Mooney and the Tramps were very good ,however these only lasted for max 40 mins then onto Karoke (every evening just got unbearable .No Molly you Can't Sing) until the Bar shut at 11pm..this was another good point in that it was self service and hence no queing.
The Pool was very Small ..1.4m all round but once filled with a few lilos no room to swim.
15 minutes walk down hill (taxi back 2.5 euros a must in the heat)to the beach where there are a range of restaurants ,just say no if you don't want railroading in or flash your band.Again 15 minutes up the hill to the europa centre ,again say no firmly or band trick,stay awy from the Time share idiots.
if you go to the aquapark it is again fun for the younger kids as slides not massive,beware though the place is a complete rip off for food and drink,25 eur to enter from 12 yrs and over then you have to pay 3.5 eur for a sunbed (got a free cap though ?!?!)
Overall if you have got kids 10 and under ,like karaoke and Bingo and want to be harrassed into bed at 11.30pm by grizzly the security Gaurd then come here if not and its not too late to cancel then go elswhere!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jowab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Only about half an hour from Las Palmas airport the hotel is very clean with with very friendly staff.Meals always had something for all our family which was an acheivement as we have two fussy eaters.Pool was a bit small but clean.You do have to get up early to reserve a sunbed hich was a little annoying as we were there to relax.Entertainment was more for the kids but was watchable.Drinks on tap from 11am until 11pm which you helped yourself to,if you want anymore go to the Spar next door and put some in your room for a late drink on your balcony.Local taxis are plentiful and are quite reasonable.The Amadores beach is very good although the sand is crushed coral which is a little coarse.Weather brilliant,hot every day came back with good tan.Over all had an excellent time and met some lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truckergeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Lets start with the bad point.....there was no air con but it did have ceiling fans but these were not the best.
The location was perfect for us! We don't like to be in the middle of town but it was only 3 euros in a taxi if you did want that sort of thing.
The self service bar is a great idea and worked really well!!!
The food was a little bit hit and miss BUT more of a hit.
The pool was lovely on a hot day and not too cold but be carefull cos round the pool it could get very slippery.
The entertainment was not the great in the evening but my wife did enjoy the bingo and at her first attempt she won 78 Euro (bonus), listen out for the bingo song "bingo bingo get yer dabbers out"
Overall we really enjoyed our holiday and this hotel and we are considering booking to go back next year.




































1

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djh0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2010

This hotel is like marmite, some will love it some will hate it, it all depends what you are after.

As a group of couples, we wanted good accommidation, good pool, good food and if we were going out cheap travel.

The accommidation is great, very clean. Only issue we had was the fan was too noisy in the bedroom, so had to ask for a stand alone one. They happily did this. The other issue was that the one receptionist couldnt speak english and just grunted at you.


The food was alround very good, plenty of options, all full meals. The worst night for me was the BBQ night as the sausages were terrible, but even that was above average.

The pool was small but suprisingly it seemed to always have room for us.

Plus the nearest beach is great.

The downside's - the location - stunning views but a hell of a walk up hill, so take the taxi unless you want to get a good sweat on.

The entertainment - Bingo, everyday - the songs for this were terrible, and for at least an hour a day this was entertainment.

Pete the entertainer, as much as the kids love him, he had very little in terms of ability to get the crowd going. his music choices were - lady gaga everyday at least 3 songs, then a few other songs constantly.

This was followed by the entertainment hour, which was normally an act " which were pretty good in week 2" or Bingo, again.

the final hour was kareoke, which was 3 little kids destroying lady gaga songs or jls. the only night this was good was when the female entertainer took over and refuse the children a go

Finally the nightlife, if your young and want a good time, hit the shopping centre, brilliant night out.

if your a family, its good but would get boring for kids after just over half the week.
young couples would enjoy, but only if they hit the bars at least twice during the week..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacey1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Got back from the Altamadores having had a nice two weeks of rest and relaxation. The hotel basically is what it says it is, a budget all inclusive hotel tucked up on the top of the hill overlooking Amadores beach.The room we were allocated wasn't the biggest but was ok, very clean, two sofa beds, double bed and bathroom. No air-con but did have ceiling fans to keep you cool. Towels were changed twice a week but bedding didn't which was dissapointing. Hotel is clean, computers in reception and staff very helpful and friendly. The pool is not the biggest but ok, problem was people getting up at not even crack of dawn to get beds by pool, making it sometimes difficult for a family of four to get beds ( this at 7.40 am! ). The bar area consists of a carafe of white wine, red wine and sangria. Bottles of local spirits are placed on a tray for you to help yourself and the beer pump faces towards you so you can help yourself. The beer is local brew, Tropical it is called but is ok. The entertainment varies week to week, normally starts around 3pm with table tennis, killer pool, volley ball, water polo etc. At 4pm is the highlight of the day, cash prize bingo starts. It is a bit like pheonix nights but it is a laugh, the kids loved it and the pot ranged from 70 euro on one day to 120 on another, so worth winning ( we didn't ! ). Evening entertainment was either singers, magic show or pet show. Also karaoke. None of this was our cup of tea but I suppose it does appeal to the masses. The guy who does the entertainment is a Danish guy called Pete, lovely bloke. If you want to get involved great, if you don't great, not one of these pushy "look at me, i'm wacky I am " sort of people who demands everyone be involved. The food was ok, if you wanted full english everyday then go ahead, cereals, toast and fruit were all available. Lunch and evening were similar, ranging from burgers and hot dogs to fish, calamari, pork steak and paella. Cakes and ice cream for deserts. You won't go hungry. It does get a bit repetative but there are choices. One night is BBQ night. This is good, steak fresh of the barbie, pork, chicken and ribs. Another night is Chinese buffet night. Plenty of choices but only chinese food put on so if you don't like Chinese food ( I hate it ) then you might be a bit stuck. Mixed bag of people in hotel, young and old, british and scandanavian. All in all enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyladManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

after reading reviews on here before we went i thought this hotel sound amazing so we booked to go i wish now we had gone somewhere else has i wonder if the people on here went to the same hotel.there are good and bad points about this hotel.the good are the rooms are clean and spacious,the self serve drinks are great an no queues,the staff are friendly and will help if you need it.bad points this hotel is on top of a hill so if you dont like walkin or have walkin difficulties it is not a very good idea to go although taxis are cheap enough.the entertainment is rubbish there is nothin much in the daytime and at night you get about half hour show then kareoke until 11.00pm same people an same songs every night which you get fed up of hearing the bar then shuts at 11.00pm so unless you want to pay an go out thats all you can do.the food ok but gets the same after awhile best is the bbq on a sunday.the pool is small so when there was alot of kids in with inflatables you got hit from all directions.the entertainment was also in the same place has the resteurant so when there was a bird show on you had birds flying around when food was still out which i think is not good has birds carry diecesers.all in all you make your holiday what it is and we met some lovely families and our children made some great friends which made our holiday better.if you want a quiet relaxing holiday then i would recomend this hotel.the weather is great but can be very hot so take plenty of sun creams also avoid beach at weekends has all the locals go then and it gets very busy.also you have to get up very early to get a sunbed.we went on the anfi trip which they say is not time shares but it is the same they just put it in another way after walking round the massive hotel for 6hrs we was then sat down to talk about the price with a very annoying man who comes up with all sorts of ways to try an get you to put a big deposit down on an appartment we said we wasnt interested and he then got very annoyed and walked away with an attitude,this is a lovely complex 5 star but wasnt somethin we wanted to buy into.the palmeto park trip is not worth the money neither the best thing there is the dolvin show.i dont like to complain has it probly sounds like it but alot of the familys we met said the same thing about this hotel.entertinment,pool,location,and some of the food let this hotel down.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#23 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altamadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamadores

Property: Hotel Altamadores
Address: Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altamadores 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Altamadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamadores Apartamentos Puerto Rico
Altamadores Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Altamadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing