We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week winter sun”
Review of Hotel Altamadores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Altamadores
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just returned from one week at Altamadores Apartments. We had a lovely time.
Despite arriving to a day of rain and second day overcast, the week did warm up considerably so if you are looking for warmth in the winter, I can highly recommend.
DO NOT book shuttle bus. What they do not tell you when you book is that you have to wait until the bus is full before it will depart the airport. After a 4 hour flight delay we arrived at 6.30pm and had not left the airport by 8.25 despite being at the shuttle bus desk from 6.50pm. It was only when I threatened a formal complaint that they left with bus only half full! Taxi transfer is €55 each way.

Swimming pool was delightful, warm and depth of 1.4metres throughout. You were allowed to swim from 9am to 9pm. There is no lifeguard at any time.

Room for 3 was OK. As far as I could tell every room has a balcony with a sea view because of the way the hotel is built into the cliff wall. The hotel overlooks a road, but this part of the resort is quiet and felt quite private. The separate double bed room was lovely, the sofa in the lounge which was the third 'bed' creaked every time my husband moved and had to be remade with sheets and blankets ( no duvet available ) each night. Not suitable for a child as too long and narrow, so likely to fall out, so my son shared the double bed. Although the bedroom is separate, the wall divider does not go all the way to the roof. Not an issue, but interesting to note.
Our room was cleaned every day we were out which was almost daily.
Towels are on the small side and well worn, but work well and are changed when necessary. A bottle of water was left in our fridge upon arrival, which I thought was a lovely touch. The room had a microwave.
Food - do not go all inclusive if you like your food hot.......it is only ever warm, but it was ok and we enjoyed it. There was a microwave that could be used to heat up plate of food if needed. 2 or 3 types of fresh fruit was available at each meal such as apples, pears, bananas, kiwis, melon. However there was also tinned fruit such as peaches and pineapple which we didn't bother with as we prefer fresh. Freshly cooked vegetables were also scarce, no peas, green beans, although peppers were added to many dishes. The sweet corn was cold and part of the salad selection which also contained cucumber, lettuce, onion, cold meats, grated cheese and boiled eggs.
There is a lot of duplication of dishes available, but there is something different every evening. The breakfast and lunch ranges are almost identical every day.
The self service drink system is fabulous.
There is a free bus service hourly into Puerto Rico and then we got a taxi back each time €4. This hotel is not in Puerto Rico, it is in the much quieter and less developed Amadores.
Would thoroughly recommend angry birds activity park in Puerto Rico €15 each but a lovely set up and a very happy son.
Would NOT recommend Gran Canaria highlights tour as it was dull!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Altamadores
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 880 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Apartments very large. Dining basic but sufficient, entertainment V good (except Victor on Monday nights). Self service bar a good idea and wasn’t abused and this kept he queues down. Reception staff were very helpful. Pool area was large and enough beds. Also a swap shop for left over items and an astro pitch.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank akf0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife Jan and I and daughter Hannah spent two wonderful weeks here in August 2013.
Like most I read the reviews and had some reservations but need not have worried.
Our room (531) was probably the highest and furthest from the pool but had a great view and was quiet.
The self service system for drinks did work well and I do not recall it being abused, unlike a hotel in Bulgaria where the kids were in alcoholic heaven on the beer pumps.
Being a smallish complex the great thing was that you met and talked with other guests and we made some new friends. Entertainment is low key hosted by Jamie..very knowledgeable man and no pressure to join in if you don't want to.
Evening entertainment is mainly adult with outside acts which were OK.
Staff are all great and friendly and food was excellent..not a huge variety but all hot and tasty.
I guess the mix of people during our stay were mostly Brits, but there were Danes and maybe some spanish too especially at the weekends, but all seemed to get on well and join in
Cash Bingo...most nights and good fun especially if you win..we did and there was over 120 euros in the pot..paid for some pressies.
Well worth a second visit, but transfer time can be long ...ours was 2 hours each way..not funny...and if you can avoid it..DO NOT FLY Ryanair..rude and check in appalling for return.
Sorry rooms excellent, apart from wobbly ceiling fans. If you want to cook your own meals good facilities..we were AI and enjoyed all 3 meals each day and used supermarket for bottles of water to keep in fridge.
Give this hotel a go we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AndyHertsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

A very good budget hotel we stayed for a week met some very nice people the weather was excellent the food was good not a huge choice but it was always hot and it was replenished throughout the whole meal time we stayed all inclusive and the drinks were ok you even helped yourself to the spirits and the friendly staff were on hand to help if you needed it one thing to remember keep hold of your glass because by the end of the night there were none left and you had to drink out of a plastic one. The beds were clean and very comfy the rooms and bathroom were clean but in need of refurbishment. Its a nice hotel at the top of a very steep hill about 20 minute walk to amadores beach ok going down but get a taxi back we did! We hope to go back soon it was a relaxing holiday in a lovely location.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked to go to the EDEN apartments this October as a birthday treat for my husband. We arrived at the door to be greeted by a lovely women who broke the news to us the we couldn't stay there because of some flooding.. We had been transferred to the Altamadores and been upgraded to all in.. Lovely .. But that wasn't what we wanted we were far to far from our regular haunts.. But to our surprise we really enjoyed our stay..

The food was wonderful. Lots of choice and plenty of it.

The drink was self serve. Which was great you could have as much as you wanted with no waiting for service.

The room was well equipped for us if we had come self catering.

Beds were SOFT.. added bonus there.

The staff were the nicest I've come across in all our years in gran canaria and not just Puerto Rico .

Our only down side was the fact that it was to far from where we wanted to be which was where we booked to go. The Eden..

We loved our stay even though we couldn't speak Swedish hahahahaha but that's October for you.

Going back to Puerto Rico. To the Eden. They are sister hotels so what can go wrong.. Loved our time at the Altamadores and I'm sure the Eden will be just as good.. Love Puerto Rico. Love the Europa centre. Not to bothered about the beach or the commercial centre. To crowded.. Beggars everywhere .. Love Barbacoa. Love Mary D's. Love gran canaria. Get on a plane and go!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Taxi only 320 to Europa from amadores. Good value. Ask for room on pool level. Close to everything o...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Sept 28th - Oct 12th
Just returned from 2 week holiday. What a fantastic place.
We have been going to Puerto Rico for 16 years and we normally stay in the companies other 2 properties. This year we decided on Altamadores, what a beautiful complex, so friendly, with everyone speaking to each other. The complex was spotlessly clean, everywhere.
The rooms where great, very spacious, we stayed in room 421, which had a large patio area overlooking the pool and the entertainment area. Anything you needed ie extra pillows or any problems, no matter how small, was attended to immediately. We found the food to be excellent, with lots of choice, never did we see any empty dishes on the buffet table. The restaurant and bar staff worked so hard they deserve a medal, you will never see a dirty table or glasses lying around, nothing was too much bother for them either, always happy to help and very friendly.
The self service bar is a fantastic idea, no queuing, and the choices were great. During your stay, try to pay a visit or two to the Happy feet spa ( on site ) which is run by the lovely Andrianna, where you can dip your feet and have them nibbled on by tiny wee fish, fantastic. You can also have a lovely pedicure, very relaxing. All this in a lovely relaxing atmosphere, helped along by Andrianna and her lovely friendliness, very chatty.
The entertainment was brilliant, something to suit everyone, kids and adults. Jamie G was the entertainment animator, what a fantastic entertainer he is, a true asset to the hotel, he couldn't do enough for his guests young or old. His quizzes are something else. We very much hope he will be returning next season, as the place would not be the same without him. We are hoping to add an extra week early in the season as well as our 2 weeks in September, we returned from this holiday felling so relaxed but also over weight from too much good food and drink.

Room Tip: 421 very good room, big patio area with sunbeds, tables and chairs, overlooking the pool/ entertainm...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We flew with Ryanair and as much as I don't like them through past experiences we had a good flight there and back we were early both ways but to our annoyance our transfers both ways were pretty dire over 2 hours each way. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a not over happy man who apart from asking for our passports never said anything he gave us a sheet of paper with our room number and pointed to the lift this could have been done much better .
Found our room a bit dated but ok card entry does not work very well finally got in and used the key for the bedroom door for the rest of the week to lock up when going out a fairly well equipped kitchen fridge freezer toaster microwave but the thing we missed the most was the kettle but the place was clean and tidy bad points about the apartment the towels in the bathroom where not great I think the tea towel held more water and the beds are not changed all week. And pay TV is a bit dated as we don't watch TV on holiday this wasn't a problem but overall the apartment was spacious clean and well equipped. Food and drink were ok food rarely hot and you will always find something to eat beans in the soup vat cold and we only found the microwave on the last day
Staff very distant I think because of self service apart from please and thank you we didn't speak self service drinks seem to work no queues and the food and drink hall was clean and tidy.
The two pools the adult pool was ok but the same depth all round ok for me 6 ft and can swim but not for the wife 5 ft 4 non swimmer plenty of sun beds some could do with a good clean
There is a free bus shuttle every hour to the beach and Puerto Rico which is good as you are so high up we did walk down to the beach but no way was going to walk back up and if you miss the bus the cabs are very cheap and apart from the mini supermarket next door there's not anything outside the hotel except admire the great views Entertainment was better than nothing
Not a bad place for 3 star might make a good adults only hotel as there wasn't much for children to do

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#15 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,909 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altamadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamadores

Address: Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $211 - $881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altamadores 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Altamadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamadores Apartamentos Puerto Rico
Altamadores Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Altamadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing