We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Altamadores
Nearby Hotels
$81
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Marina Suites(Puerto Rico)
$124
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$177
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Parque Raquel(Puerto Rico)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Eden Apartments(Puerto Rico)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveler rating
477
280
122
46
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
280
122
46
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself servicepoolside quizkiller poolamadores beachpool areaastro turfchris mooneybasket ballcash bingobbq nightwater pologreat holidayeuropa centrechinese nightsteep hilljunior suitewizard of oz
Filter
Updating list...
518 - 523 of 944 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was not the holiday we expected. We are a quiet couple who like to relax in a quiet place and this hotel was not the place for us. There was no where you could escape the entertainment unless you left the hotel or went to your room but then ours was right on top of it, there is only one place to eat and drink and it was a bit like Morrison's cafe so couldn't get dressed up, felt like we lived in our shorts for 2 wks. If you like the entertainment, bingo, magicians etc then this is the place for you. The food was awful and not much choice, it all tasted the same. The best part of the place was the rooms, they were well maintained and clean. Didn't have a problem with the sunbeds, plenty of them but we spent a lot of the time on the Amadores Beach which was lovely, beter than Anfi and Puerto Rico beaches. Gran Canaria just wasnt the place for us and won't be returning. The description of this hotel needs changing, i don't mean to put anyone off at all but if you want a quite place to relax this is not the place to do it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nice clean and very quiet apartments, 3 rooms between the whole group which were situated on the same row. Food was good especially barbecue night and Chinese night. Self service bar was great, no queues and staff on hand to help. Kids loved the ice cream and slushies. Pool was well maintained with pool quiz, darts competition, pool tournament, basketball tournament, football tournament and fashion shows. Jamie is an excellent host who gets everyone to join in plus a different show every night. Contrary to some reviews, it is not like butlins, the shows start at 9 so there is plenty of time to have an evening meal without being disturbed. All our rooms were spotless, any problems were sorted out immediately and the staff most helpful. You can get drinks before 11pm and sit by the pool for a quiet drink. One of the best things were no drunk underage kids as they are strict on alcohol being served, great family friendly hotel. We had such a good time with a fabulous atmosphere between guests that we have already booked for next year and hopefully we will get specific rooms we have asked for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fattyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was my first time staying here which I booked with a friend and absolutely loved it! We met some really great people and haven't laughed so much in ages!

The pool was never too busy and a relaxing area to sunbath during the day. The bedroom was clean and of a very good size with a separate living room, kitchenette and bathroom.

The entertainment was brilliant, the best I have come across in an all inclusive hotel. Jamie the entertainer was brilliant and very knowledgable at his quizzes which he creates himself every day! Thanks Jamie!!

We booked though Thomas Cook which I couldn't fault, our rep Debbie was great at going through all the island has to offer! There really is so much to see and do on the island!

I would definitely go back and stay here again!

Room Tip: I would suggest a room with a balcony as you get the added bit of privacy. If you also want a quieter room suggest a room away from the pool area.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiHenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Returned with a heavy heart last Saturday. This had been our second time this year at the Altamadores, we were also here 2 years ago.

Prior to arriving we received an email advising there was an over booking for our first night and that we could be accomodated at the Eden Apartments and for our trouble we would be given a superiour Apartment when we arrived at the Altamadores. This we agreed to as it was only one night.

We were also accomodated in a superiour room in the Eden, but i would not return there for a holiday, although it is a sister hotel it was no where near as nice in my opinion.

On arriving at the Altamadores, we were given free safe for the 2 weeks, free wifi and entry into the vip area, we only used the vip area one day as it felt as if we were excluding ourselves socially, no one else apart from a Scandinavian couple used it and i think it is only the spy apartments within the complex can have access to it. (all the freebies were due to the concern of the first night over booking).

The Altamadores is a fabulous place to holiday, we were allocated a superior apartment, but even these dont have aircon, but the fans were more than adequate.

Food was lovely, very varied in choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner, staff are very efficient in keeping the place ship shape,entertainment was also good with pool quiz, water polo, shows most evenings (Victor the singer needs to call it a day though) lol..and the bingo most nights also, with the second game being buy one set get another free.

What makes the place and your holiday more special are the people that take the time to chat,become good friends and having an absolute ball.. have to thank Brenda, Richard, Ricky, Issy, Chook, Nathalie, Jamie, Laura, Christian, Jack and Jill..the best 2 weeks holiday EVER!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane64Fife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Went for a week in september with wife Kath and sister in law Sue, we had a really good time we met and made friends with some lovely people especially caz who was my favorite. the Hotel is situated on side of mountain and as really good views, it was very clean and the entertainment which was hosted by Jamie who worked very hard was brilliant, my sister in law liked the bar best as you help yourself to drinks, i think she spent most of her holiday at the bar. ( only kidding ) This was one of the best holidays i have had i really enjoyed it, so relaxing everything was perfect i just wish we were there longer a week was to short. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews