We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, food, facilities,staff and resort.”
Review of Hotel Altamadores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Altamadores
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I never write reviews but we gleaned so many useful reviews here that I thought I should give a little back.

This holiday was fantastic, the apartments were extremely clean and spacious we were in a bronze apartment on the first floor, the apartment was very large and roomy with two single beds. a large sofa bed, large patio area and a fully fitted kitchen which we didn't use as we went all inclusive but none the less very good facilities. The only small negative was lack of air con as it was very hot, but once you got into your room and turned on the two ceiling fans it soon cooled to a reasonable temperature.

We stayed for a week and our rooms were cleaned 3 times in that time with fresh linen and towels on all 3 occasions. The cleaning staff seemed always very happy and asked if everything was ok with our rooms.

I have read some reviews that the food was lacking in quality and never much choice but to my wife and myself and other couples that we chatted with we ALL felt the food was fantastically cooked, loads of choice and always topped up once a tray was emptied, absolutely no issues whatsoever.

The pool was cleaned everyday along with the loungers and tabels etc. The entire site along with the resort was spotless, no cigarette stumps on the beach and from our room it seemed that the beach was cleaned most evenings. Everywhere you go there are very large hills/mountains but the taxi from the beach to the hotel was only 2 euros so we opted for that most days, lazy but we were on holiday :-) .

There is a lovely coastal walk from Almadores to Porto rico which only took around 15 mins and is well worth a look.

My wife says its the best holiday she has been on so we are already looking at booking again for next year.

In our opinion, the resort and the accommodation will take an awful lot of beating. I hope this review helps you to make up your mind and try it, absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice but I think rooms starting with two hundred would be the best, as far as I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdrianHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 918 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

3 of us stayed a week at the Altamadores. Firstly, with Gran Canaria you cannot fault the weather. If you are looking for some almost guaranteed sun, get yourselves over there. The actual location of the hotel, in my opinion is perfect. It is on a cliff top over looking the sea. Most rooms have some sort of sea view. You are not in the centre of hussle and bussle of puerto rico, but you can get yourself there for 90cents on the bus, which picks you up right outside! The amadores beach is fantastic. Very clean, modern and upcoming - watch this space. To watch the sunset down there was lovely. It is about 10 mins walk from the hotel. A good bit of exercise coming back up, but if you want you can get a taxi up for €2 or a bus up for 90cents again.

The room at the hotel could do with a touch of modernisation, but it is fair to say it was very clean, presentable and comfortable. You do have to pay to watch tv, but it is a blessing in disguise as it stops you from spending too much time indoors. There is no air con in the room, however the room fans were adequate at night with your balcony door open. I sometimes find sleeping with aircon can dry you out and give you a cold, so I was quite happy without it. It certainly was not essential.

We went all inclusive and the food was really nice. OK it is all inclusive at a 3* hotel so you are not going to get gourmet quality. We ate there every night as there was always something nice to eat. Alcoholic beverages were top notch. They didn't taste like toilet cleaner (not that I know what it tastes like) but I have had it before where the free booze tastes awful. The spirits were nice and there was no-one telling you to take '1 drink at a time' as I have had in previous places.

The entertainment during the evenings were touch and go. There were some fantastic evenings - The Hypnotist and The Acrobats - Well worth a watch. My favourite was the hypnotist - amazing.

The staff there were all really pleasant. The reception staff tend to be a little more miserable, but the catering staff were lovely and work tirelessly. Joanna has loads of great tips if you have a hire car and want to explore the island a bit. There are some lovely sights to see which make hiring the car worth it.

For the price, you do attract some 'chavvier' people to the hotel. This never caused us any issue and we were expecting that for the price we paid. However that said, never really caused us any problems.

We also went to the water park 'Aqualand' which is fairly pricey but a fun little outing. Kids would love it. Get online before you go and print off a discount voucher for 20% off - vouchercodes.co.uk

If you are feeling adventurous, there are Watersports in Puerto Rico (to the right-hand side of the beach, by the ferry point). For 55 Euro's you can do a 'party' where you get 25 mins on a super fast jet ski, 15 minutes parascending and 15 mins banana boat. Well worth the money. Professional pictures on a CD are 20 Euro's or take your own camera.

We also hired a car for 4 days from Jurecar in Puerto Rico. The chap was very relaxed about the car and younger drivers no issue. We had a new Clio with aircon for €100 - make sure you haggle, you can get lots of money off if you have the guts to try. Some people have mentioned it is cheaper to rent from the airport - worth investigating.

We had a transfer booked through resorthoppa which used an island transfer company called Viges Urbis - Don't bother!!! It is not worth the money, they take you around the houses for a journey which would take 40 mins by taxi, it took 2hr15 mins by transfer. On a hot sticky day, not fun. Avoid and get a taxi, if there is more than 2 of you it is probably cheaper getting a cab.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the ground floor because you will have a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank d0gtanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Just come back from staying here, had an amazing holiday. Only fault i have is that there was no air conditioning in the room just fans which really didnt cool you down when you wanted to sleep. The pool, entertainment, location, cleanliness were superb. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lowey115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was our 3rd visit to the Altamadores and our worst yet. The rooms were still spotless and staff were still as friendly as ever. However, the food has got worse ~ including beef stew 4 days running followed by beef with onion, beef with mushroom and beef in black bean sauce amongst the other buffet items. Not a chinese lover so it was chips and salad on them nights for me and there was hardly if any choice for vegetarians on any night. Now onto Pete, the so called entertainer. He is there because of his ability to speak scandinavian languages not for his entertaining. He sticks to the schedule and if no-one wants to play football/basketball/volleyball at 2pm then he will sit on his backside in the restaurant area until 3pm when its time for spoon diving/killer pool or water polo.. then he is sat down again for another 40 mins until bingo at 4pm... Pete didn't even speak to us until our last day apart from a grunt when we went to buy our bingo ticket. he doesn't take the time to get to know his guests. We actually went out for 6 nights of our 11 night stay which is something we never usually do ~ maybe 3 times during a 14 night stay is the norm for us. I know you get what you pay for and like I said this was our 3rd time and possibly our last time at the Altamadores. Maybe we were spolit in previous years with the last entertainer Leo, but the complex is definately a more miserable place without him. even the staff miss him. Come on Gazza ~ work your magic

Room Tip: 2 bed apts are on pool / entertainment level. rooms in 100's & 400's have shared terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

just returned from a weeks stay at the Altamadores hotel and we had a fantastic time. Hotel was spotless, food was good, something different everyday. Especially liked the self service bar!!! No problems, would definately go back and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I've just had a nosey on here to see what the reviews have been like for this year and 2 be honest im shocked. We went for 2 weeks last sept/oct and were going back on sept 24th in 3 weeks. Now! No holiday is going to be everyones cuppa tea but if you want luxury dont be cheap and pay for it!!! For the price you pay for these apartments all inclusive you get more than what you pay for! The food can be a little boring for sure but thats the great point of it being cheap, you can afford to go out a few times! The apartments are lovely, big and clean! Some of the staff are amazing!!! And yes some are arsey buggers but you'll get that any where! You just deal with it?! Its not going to ruin your holiday for goodness sake! If your looking for a bargain holiday to make your own of then this is the place! The weather is always great! The beach is BEAUTIFUL! And the BBQ is immense!! There is no major fault with the place its just lovely! Enjoy it! xxx

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LauraLu87Faith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have just spent 2 weeks at the Altamadores and enjoyed our holiday but it wasn't perfect. We found the setting lovely and we had a stunning sea view from our upstairs apartment. We heard no noise at all at night and the rooms had blackout curtains so no bright sunlight in a morning. We did however find the rooms very very hot as no air con, the fans did help but then they were only blowing hot air round the room. I didn't dare leave our patio door open incase cockroaches flew in !! We did see a total of 4 in our room but this is to be expected in the Canaries. The apartment was a very good size and very clean with a nice size balcony. We found the food to be average, our youngest child did struggle on the Chinese theme nights ( which we had four of !! ) as he doesn't like Chinese so he had a plate of chips each night as their was no other choices available. I do feel however for the price we paid the food was good value. On several occasions the food was very cold but then we did eat late and not just as the buffet had opened. The entertainment was very good but quite short, bingo was played twice a day but we failed to win :-( We didn't really rate Pete the entertainer as we hardly noticed him as he was so quiet and in the background. Two of the staff were lovely and very very friendly but we found the others quite ignorant as they didn't speak or engage with you. The pools were very nice but as a non swimmer I didn't venture into the big pool as it is very deep with no shallow end, their is however a smaller pool but this is very shallow for toddlers but I used to enjoy sitting in it to cool down !! The weather was fantastic every day, we went to the local beach about 6 times the walk keeps you fit up and down hill !! We went into Puerto Rico 3 times, Morgan market and the Europa centre twice. The coastal walk into Puerto Rico is well worth doing and we were very suprised how little time it took once you had got to the Amadores beach ( the worst part of the walk !! ) I think everyone we met here seemed to be having a good time. A lot of people were up between 6 and 7am for sunbeds as their are very few to cater for the amount of people there, however we seemed to be lucky always managing to get at least one after 9 and using chairs. Tips:- be very careful round the poolside as very very slippy, keep your eye on the slush machine as it is only unveiled once a day and runs out in minutes !!

Room Tip: I would ask for a top floor room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teresa187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
1.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#13 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#15 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altamadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamadores

Address: Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $302 - $937 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altamadores 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Altamadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamadores Apartamentos Puerto Rico
Altamadores Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Altamadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing