We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of Hotel Altamadores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Altamadores
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We loved it here, the food was good, those who have moaned about the food must be very, very hard to please as i can be fussy but always found the food good and always something there to please all. The bar was self service and seems to work well as nobody seemed to over indulge, all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fife09_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    256
    108
    42
    18
See reviews for
356
328
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
erskine
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

My wife and I returned to the altamadores for the second year in a row,We went with friends we met there last year.I e.mailed the apartments to ask for the same room we had last year and they gave us the one next to it so we were very happy.The staff at the hotel are really nice,especially Jose the waiter,he is brilliant fun and such a character.There was always plenty of food you could eat and it was very nice,the barbecue night is especially good.I like the self service bar idea,you could take as much or as little as you liked and you never seen anybody the worse for weather.Big Pete was the entertainer the first few days we were there and then Leanne came over from the Altamar apartments when he went on holiday,she was much better than Pete so he better watch out or he will be getting his P45 lol.Theres never any problem getting a sunbed either.The view from our room was incredible,it looked right onto amadores beach.We are already planning to go back again next year with our friends again as we had a great laugh and enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianh221157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This was our second time at Altamadores, we spent 2 weeks here last year after reading the tripadvisor, we arrived late at night hungry and was met by the friendly waiter Jose who remembered us from last year, he got us all some food and drinks,
Weather was hot just like the year before, Pete the entertainer was n Holiday, so they borrowed Leanne from the sister hotel Altamar, well Pete looks like you need to find another job mate, she was more than a match for you, kids loved her and see was even in the pool with them on her birthday, not that she had any say in the matter,
Entertainment was just as good as last year, but it wont be everybodies taste.
This is not a 5 star hotel, if you want 5 star go the the bottom of the hill and pay treble, for what you pay its very good value for your money and the weathers great,
Thanks to all the friendly staff for another great Holiday,
And too LEANNE who went out of her way to entertain us.
we will be back !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank welch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I also echo the thoughts of the previous reviewer, give Leanne the full time entertainment gig there.


Review now
1st Time AI with 2x adults 2x kids
14 & 9
Rooms spacious clean with fans kitchen etc... balconies large all with sea views

Staff very friendly pool area fab, no bed wars plenty to go round
Entertainment obviously not
circ de soleil , but very adequate
Self service (excellent) bar with all local drinks and draught tropical larger on tap tea variety of coffee's & pepsi soft drinks severed from 8:30-23:00 alcohol drinks served from 11:00 -23:00 to which I'm at odds with as 23:00 seems early to close the bar and there are supper strict about this but you can get as many before 23:00 lined up from 22:50 & Carry on drinking outside but the music go's off at 23:00 and it's lights out.
So if you have been clever enough to line them up which some did , you are free to drink quietly till they run out . Which in away the 23:00 cut off is good really but didn't seem it on some evenings.

Food was more than good obviously they don't do ala carte but breakfast inc cereals, full English, fruit, pancakes & continental choice etc not sure what else they can offer

Lunch just brilliant i think the lunchs were better than the evening meals
Good choice & different variety of choice every day

Evening meals good just good Dont miss bbq night. i must say I'm a little confused about other reviewers stating the food was repetitive I personally think this is a fear of trying something different so sticking to the same option every day . i found plenty off varied choice

Pool 1 of the cleanest I've ever used
Kids park safe secluded very good
Views magnificent

Would I stay here again you bet
Strike while the irons hot cos it's only get to get more expensive I think

Enjoy we did

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bronny101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Nice hotel with well equpit room and facilities. The hotel itself was in a fantastic location and only a short walk away from the beautiful Amadores beach and shopping facilities. All the staff were friendly and helpful which created a good and safe environment within the hotel. Reccomended for families and couples of all ages.
The only disappointment was the first week as the regular entertainer was a nice guy but failed to match the british holiday makers requirements and seemed a bit lazy, especially when it came to the kids. However the second week entertainer marked a considerable improvement as she was much more accomadating to adults and children alike.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grace190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

went to altamadores for 10 days mid may and was quite surprised. wanted a nice relaxin chillin holiday and was worried it might be a bit hectic,loved the fact it was so peaceful...not boring but peaceful!.Situated in a nice peaceful part of puerto rico with all the bonues of the nearby amadores beach an shops and puerto rico centre within easy reach,easily accessable within 20 mins on foot (at a steady pace of course). taxis to commercial centre were 4 euros..tops!..The only thing that let altamadores down was the food, although quite suitable and tasty it was quite repetitive, could do with a litlle more variation. the bbq night though..excellent! really tasty!..the entertainment was ok nothing exciting but ok and enough to kill the night. Got to admit one of the best things was the self service bar...BRILLIANT! and wasnt a major factor that it ended at 11pm. The staff were brilliant and our rooms were cleaned 8 days of the ten we were there with clean towels every other day and changed bedding every couple of days, couldnt fault it!..started to get a bit moe lively as were due to go home but i suppose that comes with time of year but i would definately stay there again, lovely little AI hotel that was more than worth what we paid. what more can i say, if you like puerto rico then you couldnt go having a stay here!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shellxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes,cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

just arrived back from a fantastic week at the altamadores food plentiful help yourself bar 11am -11pm rooms very spacious with ceiling fans fully equipped kitchen (even tho we were allinclusive ) very clean hotel all rooms either had sea or pool view which was amazing will definately be going back there entertainment was varied an gud walk down to beach about 15mins down hill would recommend taxi bk up unless you are very fit it only costs 2.50 euros there is also a bus costing 90cents to an from beach also bus going to peurto rico 90cents aswell well worth going.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pammyWidnes_cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#12 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#22 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altamadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamadores

Property: Hotel Altamadores
Address: Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altamadores 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Altamadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamadores Apartamentos Puerto Rico
Altamadores Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Altamadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing