We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Budget place in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Meath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Budget place in the sun”
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This is a great spot in Puerto Rico. We got a great deal online and couldn't fault the property for the price we paid (about €100 each for a week room only). All rooms look out towards the bay and our room (548 I think) is the second last on to the far end of the property on the upper level and it had an amazing sea view. Rooms are clean and basic and perfect for a cheap break away- don't expect luxury and you won't be disappointed.
Only advise I would give is that the property (and Puerto Rico in general) has a lot of steps so it wouldn't be the best for those with mobility issues or small children. But for us it was perfect.
Its the ideal location just a five minute downhill stroll to the shopping centre- I do think the €2 taxi back up is the way to go though as its quite a steep trek! I'd go back. Plus the bar staff are great- and always remind you of the happy hour between 4-5!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishtourist83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    98
    50
    27
    42
See reviews for
59
140
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katrineholm
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

This is a good choice if You want to stay in quite good hotel, but do not want to spent so much money for this. Rooms are quite big to handle family with one or max 2 children. The main speeping area with two separate beds and leaving area with sofa and 2 armchairs. In the living area is also small kitchen corner with sink, electric plate, electric wate cooker and toaster. Toilet is also qite huge with bats.
In fact rooms were not painted from few seasons, but they are nice enough to feel comfortabe, and good to stay there.
There is also huge balcony with plastic table and chairs. view from balcony is on the city center, and rom the corner You can see beach.
Hotel was cleaned everyday except sundays, no coacrochers in the room, but I have seen few dead bodies on the ope corridor, but after few minutes were cleaned.
There is also pool in the hotel.
Two warnings: If You have rented car, there is a really small parking area (only possible way to park nt the back of hotel, but those spots were ful really often.
Second warning: Hotel is located on the hill side, and down to the beach is over 100 stairs. It can be diffcult to go upa nad down everyday. we had a problem with childs, they were tired in the half way up....
Otherwise great location - 5 min to the beach, same to the big shopping center.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jak1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel is located close to the top of the hill, so if you do not have good shape to climb the hills, it is a bad choice :-)

We have stayed in a hotel appartment two times, the rooms are pretty simple, but functional.

This time we are staying in a private appartment, which is in a better condition than the rest of the hotel rooms.

There is 2 bars and a restaurant on the hotel, all fine for regular drinks and food. Dont expect any fancy, but for a family or people on a budget, its fine.

Staff is friendly, checkin goes quick, and we've never had any problems down here.

It takes 5 mins to walk to the closest center, where there is several restaurants and shops.

In all, this hotel is good for young travellers and families.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I've lost count now of the number of times I've stayed here. We like to go to the sun twice a year and find this place perfectly fine for our stay. We're not expecting a 5 star experience, once we have the sun, a place near everything, we're happy. These little studio apartments are fine for a one or two week stay, just don't expect a red carpet! You have your little kitchenette, with a hob, toaster, kettle, plenty of plates and curtlery, glasses and the all imporant wine opener for your cava! You also have a grand balcony or terrace to sit out on. We spend all our time at the beach anyways. You do get the "poolers" who are happy to camp out by the pool for the week, thats not for us! The staff here are lovely & the Vista Grill restaurant is not only popular with the people staying in the complex, people come from all over Puerto Rico for a top class meal. There is also a supermarket by the pool, which is quite big & stocks everything you need. It is more expensive than the larger supermarkets however. The beach is a 15 minute walk (downhill) and the Europa Centre is less than a 5 minute (downhill walk) too. Puerto plata is very central to everything, its clean, staff are lovely & for someone looking for a cheap and cheeful holiday, you couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verdell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I went there with my sister, and we had a lot of fun. The people who worked there were all very nice and friendly to us. The restaurant in the hotel was just fab, and the food was to die for. We hung at the pool area most of the time, and the only bas thing ther was that the water was too cold for me :D:D:D:D:D:D:D but hey, we had fun just sun bathing :D

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HilkkaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2009

we were shocked on arrival to have to wait about 20 minutes in reception while an argument was going on between an english couple and the receptionists. Eventually we got our room. It was ok, superficially clean and its not an expensive place so you dont expect much. There wasnt much. The fridge hardly worked and the whole kitchenette thing was old and battered.

We had quiet friendly neighbours. in fact one of the neighbours were the english couple who we first saw in reception. they were staying in a private apartment which belongs to a friend of theres. they explained that each apartment is individually owned but some are operated by reception and others are completely private. apparently there is a little war going on with the reception trying to control who uses the private ones and thats what the argument was about.

The poolside bar was friendly. it was almost impossible to get a sunbed on poolside most of the time so we went to the beach mostly.

When we came back after a night out, the creepy security man followed us through the complex. if i was alone i would have been really scared.

We are 2 girls and we had a week away before xmas. We came to puerto rico a year earlier but stayed at the top of the hill. This time we chose puerto plata as we saw that it is in a better position. We wont be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Went for a spring break with my wife, having been delayed for 4 hours, was a bit shattered on arrival. The lifts were a bit small, just enough room for 2 people and 2 suitcases. The complex was very confusing, and was still having a bit of difficulty finding my way around after a week. Reception staff was very friendly and funny, lucky for us we were givin a room on the same floor as the reception, but it was a good distance away.
The room was standard 2 star stuff small kitchen, single beds, a good size bathroom and a lounge/dining area, it was clean and well equipped. The balcony was a good size too, and was shaded for most of the day due to the overhanging balcony of the apartments above.

We found it difficult to get sun loungers at the pool, it seems they are taken up very early and we are not really early risers when we are on holidays, We went to the beach a couple of times where there was plenty of beds. A couple of times we went to the public pool next to the beach which was a little more expense, €6 per bed for the day, but it was great to have everything so close, cafe, bar, and toilets which were very clean.

We only used the pool side bar a couple of times, the lads there were very funny, beware of the happy hour at 4pm, they normally announce it with a sudden and very load blast of music. Had breakfast there on last day which was nice and the price was reasonable.

The Vista Grill was top class, the menu didn't give a huge amount of choice but we ate there 7 nights and we enjoyed every meal. George is a charming host, and all the staff are helpful and friendly. The bar 'Ellington' was good for maybe older couples, they played mainly 60's, 70's and 80's music and there was a small dance area, nice atmosphere but it takes a little time to get used to people smoking indoors again, Carmello the waiter in both the Vista Grill and the Ellington bar was great craic, we really had a great laugh with him.

All in all we had a great time, the complex is large and difficult to negotiate, the walk back up from the beach is tough, and the sun terrace could be a bit bigger considering the size of the complex, but we would recommend Puerto Plata, we might be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#32 of 68 in Puerto Rico
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#28 of 68 in Puerto Rico
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#19 of 68 in Puerto Rico
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maracaibo Aparthotel
Maracaibo Aparthotel
#23 of 68 in Puerto Rico
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rio Piedras Apartments
Rio Piedras Apartments
#25 of 68 in Puerto Rico
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heliomar Apartments
Heliomar Apartments
#34 of 68 in Puerto Rico
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Puerto Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Puerto Plata

Property: Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Address: Avenida la Cornisa | Playa de Mogán, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aparthotel Puerto Plata 2*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aparthotel Puerto Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Puerto Plata Hotel Puerto Rico
Aparthotel Puerto Plata Rico
Aparthotel Puerto Plata Hotel Rico
Aparthotel Puerto Plata Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing