We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We can find no faults, Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel Puerto Plata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“We can find no faults, Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

What can I say , this is our 5th time to stay in Puerto Rico and our first time in puerto Plato the staff are brilliant well mannered and are very helpful the are a great team and a pleasure we will definitely be back next year, the rooms are definitely not 5star but are spotless and the staff are constantly around to clean and tidy rooms we have had a great vacation here and I want to say a big hello to frank our barman who has taken care of us throughout our vacation , I also want to mention the resteraunt the food is top class in puerto plato stay away from the commercial center , this hotel is Great
Well Done to all the staff you are a great team.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanodalaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    93
    47
    27
    38
See reviews for
52
133
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
notts uk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just back from here after a weeks stay you get dropped off at the front of the apartments but the reception is down a floor by lift very welcoming by staff and you get your bags carried to room! a nice touch wasnt expecting that! was a bit dissapointed by the apartment clean but not that spacious its on 2 levels sort of like a bedsit as there is no seperate bedroom
kitchen area is just a few cupboards with a 2 burner hob they give you a kettle and toaster but the area is very small no dining table as such just a large coffee table which is not that suitable for having a meal if you so wanted!
was a bit concerned by the stairs in the apartment as its a hard floor if you tripped
there is a pool bar which gets busy at happy hour...4-5 then 8-9 the pool area is not that big nor is the pool considering the size of the place there is a sun terrace one floor below which is a good idea as the pool area wouldnt be big enough, we always got a sunbed but can imagine there would be problems in high season
the supermarket was ok if you ran out but a bit more pricy as you would expect,we didnt eat at the restaurant as we usually tried the local places so cant comment on the food
some of the apartments are privately owned and the residents seem to be from various european countries especially scandanavia
our main problem was the sprawling set up of the apartments and having to take 3 lifts to get to our room which was a pain there are lots of steps so definitly not for the less mobile as the apartments are situated hafway up the hill
we have been to puerto rico many times and even though we enjoyed our stay based on the small pool area,kitchen area and the sprawling set up doubt we would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilaNottsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Visited Puero Plata with 3 girlfriends in November. Past glitches have definetely been sorted! While not 4*, the apartments were spotless and staff were in constant good humour - from the smiling lady who cleaned our apartments each day to the bar, shop, reception and restaurant staff. One of my girlfriends referred to it as "my best kept secret". Our only glitch was the transfer from the airport, but we were told that they were changing provider. After that, it was all "up hill". The complex is situated about half way up the hill. A nice walk down to the resort centre, but if you're not fit, only about €2.50 for a taxi back. My sun-worshiping friends loved the tranquility of the lower terrace for sunbathing. I have been visiting for a number of years and one of the things I love about Puerto Plata is that I know I will reconnect with past visitors, which included my lovely Norwegian neighbours - It's amazing how much you can communicate in sign language!! Hopefully, I will be back again this year.

Room Tip: Garden apartment if they are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NualaG_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow,ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in Puerta Plata. We loved our time there except for one thing.So many of the sunbeds are partially or totally broken ..and still left available for guests .Also , it is the only apartment/hotel complex we have ever stayed in that do not supply mattresses on the sunbeds....so the hard plastic gets rather uncomfortable after a while.The common problem of towels left on unoccupied beds while other guests have no sunbed is constant . We complained about it at reception but nothing was done to improve it. Everything else about our stay was perfect....the pool is big and spotless, the supermarket well stocked and reasonably priced. The restaurant and bar are pleasant and popular with guests.The apartments are beautifully maintained and perfectly adequate for our needs. The beds are very comfortable and cleaning services regular and thorough.
I would have some concerns about security because some apartments are accessible from the roadside and seem vulnerable but we had no problems even though we were in one of those units.
There are a lot of steps in the complex and many more leading down to the town so I would not recommend Puerta Plata for anyone with any kind of mobility problems. Taxis cost 3 eu each way to the town so that is a good option to have.
All in all we enjoyed our stay in Puerta Plata but would have enjoyed it even more if the sunbeds were replaced when they broke, mattresses supplied and a system of towel removal from unoccupied beds employed.
We also looked for a suggestion box when we were leaving but there was none......maybe a sign that management is not interested in hearing their guests views?

Room Tip: Ask for a room not in view of the road so as to increase security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luckymark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here with my husband in the end of November. Part of the rooms are refurbished but we lived in an original room. It did not bother us since everything worked just fine. The rooms have a bath tub (a big plus for us). There is no real kitchen but a small corner with sink, 2 hot plates, cabinet and a fridge. So cooking might not be very convenient. The minimarket has a good selection, and the pool bar is nice. The pool area overall is very comfortable. There is a disco/restaurant at the pool but we never saw anyone there. There is an evening restaurant at the hotel as well but we didn't try it either. The walk down to the shopping center takes 5-10 min with a few stairs. The walk to the beach is app. the same, so very good location. For our needs the hotel was superb, thinking of coming back here later!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just returned from a very enjoyable vacation at Puerto Plata. A great place for a hassle free, care free and relaxing holiday.The grand old lady seems to be back to her original self after a few little hiccups in the spring, looks like I am hooked for the future.Some observations,any chance of a bit of consistency in the time for getting sun beds in the morning?.Also prices have gone up by as much as 50% for some periods for nothing extra.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockinhamlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our family have been visitors to Puerto Rico and on and off to Puerto Plata for almost 20 years. We experienced the magic of the good old days, saw the complex go into decline and thankfully it is now on the way back to the the best of what we remember - a real holiday community where you bump into the same friendly visitors returning over and over again, which tells its own story of what visitors feel about the Aparthotel. The complex is old but cleanliness is top dollar. A lot of the apartments have been refurbished, are very pleasant and comfortable and are great value if you arrange your own flight and book directly with the hotel. One of the best restaurants in Puerto Rico, the Vista Grill, is in the complex so there is no need to go out at night if you're feeling lazy on your holiday. Antonio and Diego in the Pool Bar are real comedians and great fun even if the drinks are more expensive than down town.
Overall no better choice for a holiday under blue skies, where you'll make great friends, if you dont have a problem with steps......there are lots of them......not wheelchair friendly!

Room Tip: Top floor, higher ceilings and more airy in the heat or garden level with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuinseog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#35 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#18 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#28 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#17 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#7 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Puerto Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Puerto Plata

Property: Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Address: Avenida la Cornisa | Playa de Mogán, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aparthotel Puerto Plata 2*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Aparthotel Puerto Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Puerto Plata Hotel Puerto Rico
Aparthotel Puerto Plata Rico
Aparthotel Puerto Plata Hotel Rico
Aparthotel Puerto Plata Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing