We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Palmera Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
derby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“average stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel has fabulous views as its on a hill. However this means you have to walk up/down the hill to get anywhere. Taxi costs approx 4euro though.
Its close to maspolomas beach and puerto rico beach (walk left or right to reach either).
There is also a shopping centre close and a spar shop at the bottom of the hill.
The rooms are dark unless you have a sea view room. Unfortunately we did not have this luxury which was a huge shame! We asked to upgrade but apparently they were fully booked. Our balcony had no view and was in constant shade. So no nice views of the sun setting etc.
2 nights we had no hot water but after raising this to reception it was resolved.
Rooms are quite spacious but beds are all singles and decor is out dated. You can pay for a safe.
The pool was nice and it was quiet.
We stayed B&B but breakfast was the same every day. A choice of 2 cereals, toast, buns/croissants (but not fresh, there in little bags pre sealed) fruit, ham and cheese. Breakfast was 8.30-10. We ate approx 9am every day however had to ask for things to be refilled all the time. No milk one day, no yoghurts etc.
The tv in the room is a pre-pay tv. Never ever had this before!
The resort has plenty to offer including water sports, restaurants, bars etc. Don't expect a big night life in nov, dec time. The clientele are of the older age range.
So overall average hotel but nice resort

Room Tip: Its worth paying extra for the sea view. Otherwise you may end up facing a concrete wall like the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rach j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    145
    100
    49
    38
See reviews for
62
219
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just returned form a 4 day break for my partner's birthday. Have very little good to say about this place. We were put in floor 1. No views. Apartments so outdated. No double bed. 2 VERY flat pillows. Rock hard beds. Don't ask to be moved, they aren't interested. Our towels that we had brought with us were taken from our room by the cleaner on the first day, strangely she never came back to our room to do further towel changes and by the day of leaving our ROOM towels STANK! Apparently our towels were like the hotel towels. I think not! Ours were pristine new white fluffy towels that I had WITH MY PERSONAL BELONGINGS! The Palmera Mar towels were cheap, thread bear and scratchy and in the bathroom! The pool bar is a joke. The man running that is a throw back from the early 80's and only plays that music! Anybody remember Martika - Toy Soldier? Or Hall and Oates? He was practically there on his own all day not surprisingly. Music in the restaurant was so loud, it was distorted and totally ruined the meal the one night we actually ate here. The cheap pink neon sign outside the hotel makes it look tacky, and it is!
But to be positive, although its on a monsterous hill, the walk up & down there is lovely. And the views are spectacular! But not from the room we were in. Never again would I stay here or even recommend it!

Room Tip: Just make sure you get a room OTHER than floor 1. The higher up you are, the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just returned back from Amadores Beach, Palmera Mar Appts. This is our 2nd visit here, and we chose it purely for it's location.

The staff are extremely friendly and incredibly helpful. The Appts (even the 'Superior Rooms' are basic! However, they were clean, excellent maid service and if you have Sea View - well the view is simply 'Knock-out' !!

If you want plush and sophisticated accommodation. - then these are NOT for you. However, if you are looking to put your head down somewhere each night, as it is your intention to be out all day - then these places are cheap and fab - especiallay with Sea View !!!.

Will definitely re-book.

I will add, that being up on the hill - the Menu is expensive and not particularly exciting, however from what we saw, the food looked fine.

Room Tip: The view makes up for what the Appartments lack
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for a week.. Staff are excellent however if u stay here make sure u don't stay on 1st floor drains are horrible sewer smell and not 1 but 2 cockroaches!! 1 on balcony 1 in room!! Not very ideal layout got to walk down steep slippery hill to get to reception! And no night porter? First I've heard of this in a hotel.. Pool bar opening times.... Hmmm they open when they want but close on time! Bath is tiny! Beds are brick hard! Don't expect comfort!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickytoriab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Palmeramar Apartments Sept 2013 .. We had a basic room ( no double beds) but the view was fantastic , the reception staff where helpful and the cleaning was good we got clean bedding and towels on a regular basis . Couple of things that weren't so good …..1. the restaurant staff seemed more interested in their mobile phones than serving and generally they made you feel that you were a inconvenience but the food was ok … but if you go half board the menu is very limited you get chips every evening !!!2. The TV (12") and internet you have to pay additional for which we noticed you don’t in other hotels …. You can access internet at all the bars and restaurants in town free of charge though…..Over all not to bad but I think I ll stay at one of the other more modern ones next time I visit Gran Canaria

Room Tip: Always book a room with a sea view and a balcony (the others are at the back and face a wall) … but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here last year and we came back again this year.. We payed the same price as last year.. Last year we had a lovely room with see views and a flat screen tv.. This year we were out in a basic room with no sea view just a wall to look at.. So we were told we could upgrade to a sea view for 10 euro p/n so we looked at that room and the view was the top of the pool bar and a tv that u have to put money in to use.. We weren't happy so we ended up paying an extra 210euro to upgrade to a better room but still not as good as the room we had last year.. I am very disappointed as we stayed 2 weeks last year and are currently staying 2 weeks again this year and I am unhappy that we had to pay that much. Also today we were meant to get clean bedding as we have a week done but the cleaner just made the bed and made it look like they were clean but u had a lipstick mark on mine so I knew they weren't clean and we weren't given clean towels which are meant to be given every time your room is clean.. Tester day we had a lovely cleaner who even washed the dishes and today the cleaner didn't even empty the bin either and she took our ketchup.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ktbrzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent a week here up until 11th September.
When checking in, the staff were friendly and helpful. We were on the first floor (of 7), which was a short journey down an elevator. The room itself had a decent sized living area / kitchen with your regular appliances. The balcony was huge, far bigger than we expected! A possible downside was that the beds were extremely hard, and the pillows slightly uncomfortable. However, not a huge problem; fairly easy to live with. It was hot at night, and with no air con it did get stuffy in the room but you do expect that from a country with such a climate.

The location of the hotel was quite good. 15 minutes down a steep cliff/hill was Amadores beach which is beautiful. There's a number of restaurants and bars down by the beach, with a Spar shop en route for you to stock up on basic amenities. The walk back up to the hotel from the beach was tough, but with taxis only 3€ tended to go by car.

You could walk to Puerto Rico via a very nice costal road, which took about 20 minutes from the beach. Taxis were only 4€ from the hotel though. Puerto Rico is a lot more commercial than Amadores, with a huge square which promoters standing outside each establishment trying to entice you in. There's a lot of restaurants down by the beach and harbour there too though.

We used the bus (1,55€) to get to neighbouring town Puerto de Mogan. Nicknamed 'Little Venice', it is a beautiful place and we were gutted that we found it 3 days in to our holiday and not sooner. Wonderful restaurants, cocktail bars, and character.

All in all, a great place to holiday for couples if you don't mind walking a bit. No complaints about the hotel, and for the price you can't go wrong!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#33 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#19 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terraza Amadores
Hotel Terraza Amadores
#15 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#28 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#17 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#7 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Palmera Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Palmera Mar

Property: Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Address: Calle Montana Clara 35130 Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Apartamentos Palmera Mar 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apartamentos Palmera Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmera Mar Puerto Rico
Palmera Mar Hotel Puerto Rico
Apartamentos Palmera Mar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing