We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Value spacious rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Similar to other visitors we arrived when the3 reception was closed. We knew about this and phoned ahead to arrange keys to be left on the glass beside the main reception doors. The rooms were large for a couple with a small kitchen area and sofa bed in the lounge. The separate bedroom was large with two 4' twin beds and plenty of storage. A separate bathroom completed the "suite". The room was cleaned 5 days out of the 7 we stayed. It was clean on arrival. As we were half board we didn't use the basic kitchen facilities which included full size fridge and a microwave plus a 2 ring hob. Coffee maker and pots and pans provided.

The view was stunning as almost all the rooms face the Amadores beach and sunsets unfolded right infront of us. This meant afternoon sun on the large terrace (with 4 chairs and a large table).

The pool was well maintained (and warm) and the poolside bar was open during the early afternoon (not sure when it opened). Plenty of sun loungers available at this time of year (April).

Reception staff and cleaning staff very friendly. Restaurant staff also very friendly and keen to help. We took half board. The menu was a set menu each day with a choice of 2 starters and 2 mains. The food was adequate and well cooked but not what you'd describe as gourmet. We took the package as it was cheap and this left us free to eat elsewhere if we wanted to. As it happens, we eat in the restaurant every night as most of the local restaurants offered no more than the appartment restaurant and charged a lot more for it. Breakfast was standard fare for a continental buffet with good selection of meats and cheese, rolls, bread / toast, cornflakes (only cereal), yoghurts, jam, fruit and freshly made filter coffee and tea available from the bar. Plenty to fill you for the day if needed but strict "no take out" rule.

In short, a good choice for those on a limited budget who want a decent room. The biggest downside for some (we hired a car all week as they cost little more than the hotel transfers and petrol is £1 a litre so you can afford to tour the island) was the steep hill back up from the beach. Google maps street view will give you an idea of distance and steepness.

Went with Lowcost holidays who use Ryanair. We booked extra leg room seats at £10 a go each, each way. This gives priority boarding and good seats.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view to avoid being put in the very few non sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilkoHastings_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmera M, Director General at Apartamentos Palmera Mar, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very obliged to hear that you did make a good choice staying in our apartments complex and enjoyed the sunsets from the balcony. In fact whole year round you are able to see the sun going under into the sea from all the apartments with sea view.
We have transmitted your comments to all of our departments. We are glad that you found our complex good value for money.
Thank you again for reviewing Palmera Mar in Tripadvisor,

Ángel Duran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    146
    101
    49
    38
See reviews for
63
220
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I was rather nervous about staying here after reading some negative views but I needn't have worried. Our whole stay was great. The apartments and pool were very clean, friendly staff, superb view - what more could you ask for? When you consider it is a cheap hotel the value for money is incredible. I agree, there may be a few rooms that do not have the views but I found the reception staff eager to help. Our television remote was not working and they fixed it almost immediately. One wonders whether some of these reviews are real!!! My advice is - go - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmera M, Director General at Apartamentos Palmera Mar, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that your stay was great and that you liked our views and found that our staff was very helpful.
Maybe we´ll see again in the nearby future,

Ángel Duran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Hi All
Just back from Palmeramar aparments in Playa Amadores,weather great hit 30c March 6th/13th
First it was abit confusing as we arrived at the apartments mid afternoon because the reception was closed but noticed these brown envelopes stuck to the window with our names on them & our room numbers(strange but okay as we asked someone the way to the lift).
Our room was 206 & our friends was 101 both rooms the same lay out & both clean & basic but beds very hard so if you like a soft bed hard luck,No air condition so not good in high season.
We liked the Palmeramar because it was a quiet place to chill, no shouting kids about.The
pool & jacuzzi both heated,not alot of sunbeds arouund the pool & the area is abit on the small side so if the place was full you might have a bit of a fight on yours hands to get one.
But as this was early March the place was quiet,the apartments are at the very top of a big hill overlooking Amadores i would think all rooms have a good view of Amadores beach.
Remember the place is up high on the hill great walk down on sunny morning,LONG way back up on a hot afternoon (TAXI about e2.50) GREAT BEACH lads for sight seeing.
We had afew nights out at the Blarney stone irish pub in the europa centre the singers a good guy,but join in & have a sing along the geordies always had the place jumping
.
We would eat at the tavern most nights not flash but canny food & price, the lad on the door is called Columbo tell him the geordies sent you Free irish coffee & canaria rum.We had a good breakfast(e3.95 small size) at the cabaret place not sure of the name of the place but easy to find at the end of the europa centre.
Puerto Rico is a nice walk along the front stopped at the RIU snack bar along the way,found another irish bar in Puerto Rico called the Harp 2nd floor right side at the back best pint of the black stuff we had.
Our third visit to the area & about the best place we stopped at,visit prto mogan market day girls is friday but take a hat & bottle of water as it get very hot,we got the bus there glass bottom boat back to puerto Rico & had a canny meal at the ROSE Tavern all had steak,nice meal canny priced.
Anyway hope this has help you lot out ,go relax & enjoy the place.
All the best the GEORDIES

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevoo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

These apartments didn't look like anything on the web site our room was dull our view was looking at a wall and there was no privacy from the neighbors there was a low wall between us that you could jump over so you couldn't stay out there. Our patio door didn't lock so we felt unsafe leaving anything in the apartment. That was nothing compare to the dirt of the place. The first night we were infested with cockroaches as if that wasn't bad enough the beds were filthy, they hadn't been changed. There was sand and pubic hair all over the sheets, it was disgusting. When i complained the staff didn't care, they were unhelpful and rude. They answered me by shrugging their shoulders, it was disgraceful. The cockroaches got worse every night they were huge and they were flying around the apartment there were nests of them.We didn't sleep for the whole week so spent our holiday exhausted. Every time i complained the staff got annoyed and said there was nothing they could do. This ruined our whole holiday i will never stay there again. We wasted our money staying there and the staff wouldn't refund us so we could leave and stay elsewhere. I also had to pay for an iron, there was no hairdryer and the telivision that we had to pay to watch didn't even work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmera M, Director General at Apartamentos Palmera Mar, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Tina,
First of all thank you for taking the time to review our complex in Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry that we did not lived up to your expectations and we want to apologize for all the inconvenience we have caused you.
We have taken notice of your comments about the apartment and have informed our cleaning department about this, and we will make sure that this won´t happen again in the future. We always attach highest priority to ensure that all hotel areas are always spotless clean.
Again our deepest apology for the way you were treated and it is very important to us that all of our guests experience a perfect holiday.
Kind regards,
Ángel Duran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Rico hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Having paid only £270 for the whole holiday, we weren't expecting much from the apartments, but we were very happy with our stay at Palmera Mar!

The view from our balcony was amazing, the pool was heated and had a separate jacuzzi bit, the pool bar opened from 12.00 - 3.00 and I would recomend the grilled chicken sandwich! The apartment was cleaned every day (apart from one), with fresh towels. There was a little shop selling essentials and a good internet access service.

The place is about 10 mins walk down hill to the beach and restaurants (you have to try Monaco Steak House - gorgeous!), we only walked back up once, we got taxi's back up mainly, which costs about 3 euros.

There were a few negatives - mainly the noise; cleaners started very early and seemed to be dragging furniture around very loudly. Reception was only open during the day (with a 3 hour siesta), so not sure what you do if you want to check in late at night/early morning?! The sun loungers were really uncomfortable and I think it would be hard to get one in peak season...

There is a restaurant, we only had one meal there and didn't like it (pizza), but it always seemed full so maybe we just chose the wrong dish?!

All in all, we can't complain for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor didn't have a sea view and some seemed to face the corridor leading to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOTTESFORD
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This apart hotel with its wonder full views could be so much better with a cash influx from the new management team. It's position near the top of cardiac hill gives it a great aspect of Amadores Beach, but beware you will need to be at the beach to get regular public transport to Mogan. There is a promenade walk to Puerto Rico (which is now showing it's age) to get access to boat trips. Further up the hill is the Europa centre with a couple of nice bars notably Mama D's, very clean, decent prices and the two brothers will look after you. BE VERY WARY OF THE ELECTRICAL SCAMS IN THE EUROPA CENTRE ELECTRONIC SHOPS !!!!.
You will need to get a taxi back from Amadores beach to the hotel 2.3 Euro's up till 10 then a slight increase from then on 1 way, unless of course you feel extremely fit, but beware because the street lights are not on from a 100m from the bottom till you get to Palmera Mar.
Regarding the rooms do not get any on level 7 below the restaurant, you will get no privacy as people use the terrace as a smoking area from the restaurant and a lookout for the bay, all day and night, and the maids congregate at 7 in the morning and are very pleasant but noisy. As stated the reception is not 24 hr, opens at 9 closes at 1400 re opens at 1600 and closes at 2000. There is a shop for basics or a quick walk to the Europa with a bigger minimmart.
Amadores beach has some very nice restaurants, but again beware as some close early at night. Ciao Ciao is notable, also, the Chinese eat all you like for 7 Euro's, in fact most are very good and reasonably priced if you go for the meals of the day.
The maids clean the rooms regularly but your sheets will only get changed once a week, towels are changed nearly every day.
As stated earlier this could be such a great hotel !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOTTESFORDJEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmera M, Director General at Apartamentos Palmera Mar, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Jeff Bottesford,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Palmera Mar in Tripadvisor.com.
Actually since March 2012 the complex has been changed from owner´s. The new management is very eager to improve all the services of the complex.

We apologize sincerely for not having fulfilled your expectations, we always try to do our utmost to make sure the clients have a wonderful stay.

Kind regards,

Ángel Duran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

As many previously mentioned, the hotel needs a bit of updating, however our room was clean. We were on the 2nd floor so the views were beautiful. On the time of booking we asked for double bed, high floor - which we did not get :-(. The restaurant was ok, can`t complaint about the breakfast or dinner, restaurant staff was nice and helpfull. The receptionist was not bothered with anything, was unhelpful and didn`t know much about anything. The area is beautiful, it is about 10-15min walk downhill to the beach, however walk back can take up to half hour. However we didn`t mind. The swimming pool was cleaned daily and the pool bar was ok also. There is a shopping centre "Europa" nearby with lots of restaurants and shops. There is also plenty of stuff to do nearby - JetSki, Parasailing, snorkeling.....So overall was very happy with my holiday .

Room Tip: Always request high floor room as the views are beautiful . Be aware that the scales in the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasagb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#32 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babalu Apartments
Babalu Apartments
#19 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terraza Amadores
Hotel Terraza Amadores
#15 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#26 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#7 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Palmera Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Palmera Mar

Property: Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Address: Calle Montana Clara 35130 Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Apartamentos Palmera Mar 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Palmera Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmera Mar Puerto Rico
Palmera Mar Hotel Puerto Rico
Apartamentos Palmera Mar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing