We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation”
Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Suites
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Just back from Marina Suites on the 26th July and we can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It was a great stay. The location is fantastic. It sits on a promontory overlooking the marina with all its boats. We loved the view and it was nice and relaxing watching the boats of all shapes and sizes come and go. The balcony area was huge and perfect for sitting out watching the world go by. The rooms are very clean and well appointed and the maid service is fantastic. The rooms actually do look like the pictures on the website too! The pool is fantastic. It's an infinity pool that sits out on the rocks of the harbour area. You have spectacular cliffs off to your left and you can hang over the edge and watch the boats drift by right beside you, looking down at the sea which is so clear. One of the highlights for sure. If you have kids there is a kids'club which we found to be very good. Unlike some of these things it was locally run and much more relaxed and flexible. During opening times you could sign kids in for as long as you wanted and the emphasis was on providing a range of things which children could choose to do rather than scheduling certain activities at certain times in advance. The kids'club staff were great, very welcoming and speak different languages. They also do pool games but they don't dominate the pool area to the detriment of others! The food, so far as we ate there, was very nice and pool bar snacks are reasonably priced - around €5. You can also get pool towels at the hotel for a €20 deposit. If you want to change them during your stay it costs €1.5 a towel to do so. Can save you a bit in suitcase weight. There are some fairly minor issues. The wifi comes and goes a bit although it is free and when working is fine. They've put signal boosters in rooms which is obviously in recognition of the issue. For holiday purposes it's fine and generally it seemed to drop more around early evening when use was perhaps highest. The pool deck can feel a bit crowded at times due to the number of sun beds but there are additional beds near the hot tubs which are very nice esp. in afternoon. Last suggestion - book direct on their website for a far better price than you'll get through tour operators. All in all, great accommodation in a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Would imagine all are good. Views of the marina and sea. Higher maybe better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for choosing Marina Suites and for sharing your detailed experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you have spent an enjoyable holiday with us. All our staff work everyday to improve our services and to meet with all your expectations, therefore comments like yours encourage us to continue going on this way. Thank you for your wonderful words regarding our facilities and locations!

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you again in Marina Suites in the not too far future.

Kindest regards,

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,481 - 1,487 of 3,269 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was without down one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff on reception were so helpful. The views from our 1 bed apartment on the 4th floor ( facing marina) was out of this world. The apartment was huge and so well equiped - the wi fi was a huge plus for my teenage sons. the pool area was stunning. Breakfast was gorgeous and a terrific choice. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Make sure to get a taxi (€3 80) to anfi beach and take the boat to morgan. Dont bother with half board as food is nearly the same every evening and you still have to pay for drinks - even water ! - there is such an array of places to eat also spar up the road so u can stock your fridge and kitchenette will all the fresh food you need.

Room Tip: any rooms from the 4th floor up are good and so quiet . marina rather than pool view and u will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank orlanicconuladh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Orlanicconuladh,

On behalf of the entire team thank you for considering Marina Suites one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in and also thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us.

It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. Our main aim is to make our guest stay memorable, therefore we are so happy to hear all your nice words highlighting our spacious rooms, helpful staff and our gorgeous buffet.

It has been a pleasure to host you and we would love to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Marina Suites is a very well looked after hotel. Apartments are spotless and cleaned 5 times a week. The view over the marina is great we sit out there every morning and night. You need to be 5th floor or above for the best view. In July the balcony is cool in the morning but scorching late afternoon /early evening. The pool area is quiet small so the beds are squeezed in. You can get a bed if you are down before 11am. The life guards and Naomi do everything they can to find you a bed and make sure that you are happy. Infinity Pool is great looking over the sea. Ate lunch by the pool and it's lovely but didn't have breakfast or dinner. Drinks are €3.50 for a beer and €1.80 for small water, far cheaper in the resort. Free WIFI available around the pool. Entertainment at night is low key and most people have gone to rooms by 11pm. Not a place for party lovers. Customer service is excellent here feels like a top class hotel. Our only disappointment is Peurto Rico itself. Not a very nice area and not Spanish at all. Amadores beach is better than the one at PR, takes about 30 mins to walk or €4 in a taxi. Love the hotel but wouldn't return to PR.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swindeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Swindeg,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding you recent stay at Marina Suites.

We are very glad that we were able to accommodate you, and it makes us happy to read that our customer service met your expectations.
It is always a real pleasure to hear from our guests that they have had a nice stay and that they consider our hotel "lovely", thank you very much for all your nice words and also for bringing to our attention your suggestions!

Thank you for choosing Marina Suites and we hope you give another opportunity to Puerto Rico, we look forward to hosting you again!

Kindest regards!

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have been to Puerto Rico 3 times now and by far the best hotel in the best spot for a great holiday ,we when half board and the breakfast you could not as for more and the evening meal was 5 star
The staff are so helpful and rooms are kept very clean and tidy our room which was room 319 on the 3rd floor was heaven getting up ever day and to open the patio doors and look over the Marina ,the pool was fab looking out over the sea plus they have 2 hot tubs there away from the pool area to help you unwind.
Thanks for reading
Darren Martin From Bridgnorth

Room Tip: Over looking the marina by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Darren,

Thank you for choosing Marina Suites and for taking your time to write your lovely and detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you have rated the hotel with 5 stars and overall that you have had a great holiday with us! Thank you very much for appreciating the buffet, the room, the swimming pool area and our helpful team. It is always so nice to read comments like yours, this encourage us everyday to continue working hard for our customers satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Good news when they reopened the renovated and upgraded former Star-Tour charter hotel close to Puerto Rico, GC. Situated on the marina with marvelous views from all room, especially if you book a room on the west- wing with balconies towards south-west and the sunset. Spacious rooms or one bedroom apartment as we booked, with smart built inn kitchenette and all the amenities to prepare light meals and breakfast. The rooms are furnished in a chic art-deco style with colorful plastic patio furniture that will hurt your back.. put a pillow in and you are ok. The staff are helpful and the bar and restaurant caters all the necessities for a quick meal and or drink. The Pool is marvelous and you really feel the closeness to the South Atlantic Ocean just a few feet below. Nice coffee shop too. The Hotel is just a 10 min walk from the PR city center, 30 min to the great Amadores Beach and 20 min to the top of the mountain range above which offers great walking or running paths and roads along the coastline towards Arguineguin. You will have to take a cab or the bus if you crave good restaurants because the town of PR do specialize in tourist-trap food stalls with picture menus and ditto food. But 5 min away in Arguineguin there are a handful authentic spanish restaurants that will cook and serve great traditional Canary seafood, steaks and the unique shoulder of lamb..We will return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the west wing with direct ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank famsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Famsim,

Thank you for sharing with TripAdvisor readers your nice review and your photos!

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our rooms and pool area, and overall we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind words and for appreciating our staff and hotel facilities!

We will are all looking forward to welcoming you back at Marina Suites in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

What an amazing holiday we had at the Marina Suites from the minute we arrived we had such a great holiday there. The apartment's are so spacious spotless and have everything you need. We got a marina view on the first floor which had a lovely view of the resort and harbour. The pool area was amazing with the pool overlooking the sea and you could sit on lovely chairs behind the pool area with amazing sea views. The Entertainment crew were brilliant my daughter loved the children's club so much to do and she never normally likes children's clubs. The pool area had a lovely breakfast area bar for lunch . Also the hotel had two hot tubs which were always full and lovely when you got a chance to get in. The reception staff were really helpfull couldn't do enough for you especially the young girl and man on reception the nt we checked in on the 10th July .my daughter got a tummy bug on the wed following and he was so quick and helpfull. Also yesterday when we were leaving we got a late checkout for 30 euro which gave us an extra day. Would I return to this apartment definitely as it was one of the best apartments I stayed in. Your public relations girl was so helpfull and made sure our holiday was enjoyable. The apartments were a 10 to 15 min walk from the main shopping area and if you were tired coming home taxis for about 2.80 so cheap. Eating out was very cheap and the restaurant San Miguel in the centre was very good too .i would recommend this hotel to friends and family and hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Try and get a seaview room to see the stunning scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Joanne,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Marina Suites for your holidays.

We are very glad to know of your satisfaction during your stay with us. We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding our spacious rooms, our views, entertainment and pool area. We also would like to thank you very much for appreciating our team performance, which means a lot to us!

Once again thank you for letting us know that you had a great holiday here, we are so happy to hear this!

We would love to welcome you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was a fantastic holiday the pool area was brilliant with brilliant view.
staff at the hotel are excellent rooms are spacious and spotless.
Very pleasant experience .Children enjoyed the hotel 12year old and 15 year old.
Would return to marina suites

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Antoinette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Antoinette

Thank you so much for writing such a positive review and for rating your stay with 5 stars!

We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic holiday with us. It is a pleasure to read that our spacious rooms and our staff have met you expectations, thank you for all your wonderful words!

We hope to welcome you soon at Marina Suites again!

Warm regards,

Noemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,205 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,587 reviews
7.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Address: Calle Juan Diaz Rodriguez 10, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $149 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing