We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marina Suites - fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Suites
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Marina Suites - fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I have just spent a week in this hotel in Puerto Rico. By far the best hotel we've stayed in and we will definitely book it again.
We had a room in Floor 9 with an amazing view over the marina - was such a pleasure to sit on the balcony every morning/evening & just take it all in. Hotel is immaculate, staff are extremely pleasant and helpful & their English is impeccable! If you haven't been already, book yourself in there - you won't regret it!
Some lovely restaurants around about, we tried a different one every evening and found it difficult to choose the best.
Top marks Marina Suites!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFaces13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear HappyFaces13,

We really appreciate your kindly words about the room, the food, the staff and more.. It is always a huge pleasure to hear you think Marina Suites to be the best hotel you have stayed at. Thank you for sharing it with other travellers and thank you for your support!

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,957
    765
    165
    33
    18
See reviews for
1,323
1,065
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

A lot of water has gone under the bridge since I had my first travel article published in The Scotsman. I'm no Marco Polo or Bruce Chatwin but, in the 25 years since that offbeat piece on Paris saw daylight, I've experienced the best and the worst that the tourist industry could throw at you (and a lot of mediocrity in between).

The Marina Suites? Geez, This award-winning hotel gives me writer's block. It's hard to conjure up suitable words to do it justice.. It oozed warmth and relaxation, and serenity and positivity. Frankly, it has to be one of the most wonderful hotels I've ever had the pleasure to stay in. My partner and I were so taken by it that we have already re-booked for a few days in the spring. We booked a return trip a day after we got back home. That's a first!

People make or break hotels, and the staff here - from receptionists to pool attendant - all chip in to make your holiday memorable. They deserve credit. . I'm flabbergasted to read some of the negative reviews on Tripadvisor. They're light years away from what we witnessed. Okay, maybe the lifts take a while to arrive, but what's the rush? Where's the deadline? Mañana, for goodness sake.

The view from room 803 stirs something deep inside you. You could fool yourself into thinking you're on a cruise ship sliding across the Atlantic. The panorama makes you realise why there's a maritime theme right down to the clothes the staff wear. They've an infinity pool here too, and you can fool yourself into thinking you're swimming in the ocean. You can find a secluded sun-bed area even if you avoid the early-morning sprint by self-basters to chuck their towels or Y-fronts onto the beds that ought to get optimum exposure to the big yellow ball in the sky before they go back to their rooms to emerge hours later to stake their claims (you'll get that everywhere really; it's a strange practice that's a cross between tribalism and kleptomania).

The Marina Suites are ideally perched on the end of a man-made headland offering views of the sea - or the marina on the flip side. There seems to be no hustle and bustle, and the hotel makes you feel far from the madding crowd. The entertainment is subtle and laid-back. If you want the boom-boom of garage or rave music, try somewhere downtown, but the hotel is within a very comfortable walk (on the flat) from the main commercial area of Puerto Rico, where you can have your choice of entertainment.

The food at the Marina Suites is excellent, and the service is good. The bar area opposite reception is tranquil and neat. The rooms are spotless and astonishingly spacious, with that boutique feel about them.

If I were to summarise the Marina Suites I would just tell you to book in there while you can. We met people who come here year after year without fail, knowing full well that they'll be in for a good time. The Suites are worth every favourable review, and I take my hat off to the staff for making the place what it is - a gem among bits of fool's gold.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicodemusScotticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Nico,

thank you for writing such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on the site.
We are very impressed about all your positive words which transmit us that we are doing a great job making your holidays special and motivate us to continue improving our services.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

weve just got back from a 12 day Honeymoon at this fantastic Hotel we checked in got told it was the best room in hotel IT WAS!! We booked the Deluxe Suite it was 908 and was brilliant even had a sea view bathroom.
Staff were all polite and very helpful nothing was a trouble.
Welcome letter as Mr & Mrs and bottle of wine!
Never been in such a lovely infinity pool was breathtaking.
Spotlessly clean throughout Maid was a little gem!
Will definitely be returning for our Anniversary next year if not before
Thankyou at Marina Suites for making it so perfect!!!!!
Lorraine & Keith Lindop

Room Tip: High floor corner Suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Lindop,

thank you for choosing Marina Suites for your honeymoon! We are glad you were happy with the deluxe suite and thank you for all positive comments which we will pass on to our staff.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your husband for your anniversary!
Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance!

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Booked for the very first time on line.
Sonia from the booking office organised the transfer from the airport which went very smoothly. Thank you.
The welcome we got from Alex and George in reception was fantastic, we didn't even have to give our name they had everything ready for us. Nothing too much trouble they even helped me set up my iPad. Saying that all the reception staff very friendly.
We had requested a room on level 9 which we got 920 overlooking the marina and harbour and the man on his love boat playing romantic music and flashing lights.
We had booked breakfast everyday, a wide variety to suit everybody. The waiting staff very attentive they seemed to remember every bodies room number.
The cleaning maids did a very good job our room was cleaned to within an inch of its life, nothing too much trouble.
The pool area hosed down most mornings I know because I went for a swim each morning at 08.00 also the sunbeds were hosed down regularly.
Fran the lifeguard as always was brilliant with the kids always had a wave to the guests, unlike his replacement all he did all day was chat up the younger woman and play on his mobile phone, he did collect glasses in the afternoon sometimes.
Alexandria did a fantastic job with all the guests involving all the nationalities and all ages. The aqua aerobics class was fun and a good workout
All members off staff are a credit to your company.

Room Tip: Room on high level facing the marina an odd number you get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison_mclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Alison,

Thank you for your feedback on the Marina Suites Hotel and we are delighted that you had once again an enjoyable stay with us. We are also very pleased that you come back year after year and always recognize the high level of service. We have a very passionate dedicated team who work consistently hard to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Warm regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from a fantastic week at this hotel! We were amazed by the size and quality of the rooms which had fantastic views over the sea and marina - just perfect !
The pool area was out of this world - an infinity pool jetting out into the sea. The perfect place to relax!
The pool bar food was nice too but avoid the ceaser salad as that was a little tasteless and the bacon was too overcooked...
The hotel staff were also very nice and accommodating ..
In terms of the quality of the rooms this hotel was better than the 5* ones we had stayed in before .....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poulton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Ms. Poulton,

thank you for all positive comments regarding the room, the pool, the food and our staff. We really appreciate it and it is a pleasure to hear you think Marina Suites to be better than other 5* hotels!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

hi just came back from staying at marina suites went there for a wedding they are the cleanest and biggest suites ive been in i was there for a family wedding and relatives and friends of the newley weds were there aswell they are spacious clean modern and the service is excellent we had booked in marina suites to be with the family before wedding and had other accomodation to go on the fourth night went to other accomodation on the fourth night and it was like night and day even although it was rated 4 stars in our brochure stayed one night and returned to the marina suites got the deluxe suite which was excellent. we will go back next year and this is the only hotel i would go back to staff very helpful at reception bar and lifeguards at the pool hope to see them all next year and will be recommending this hotel to anyone who goes to gran canaria bobby allison melissa and jordan

Room Tip: room with a sea view or a room with marina view we had both so relaxing and quiet peacefull sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Allison,

we would like to thank you for choosing Marina Suites for your stay in Gran Canaria. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and you returned back!

We would love to see you back soon!

Best regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our third stay at the Marina Suites and nothing much had changed since the first time. Staff very courteous and helpful and couldn't do enough for us (including ringing the Doctor to fix an appointment when I came down with Bronchitiis. The room we had,721, overlooking the marina was perfect, I had emailed them weeks before we went requesting a high floor with a marina view and they came through. It was the first time we had used the kiddies pool, and it was super my granddaughter was never out of there, must say we joined her a few times to cool off too, but the temperature was just right. The Marina Suites are ideally situated for bars, restaurants, beach, etc, no hills to climb, these apartments are a must. We had a late flight home and they even ensured we could keep our room on for the day - perfect!

Room Tip: Just ask for a high floor overlooking the marina and you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleSueRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear LitleSue,

It is so lovely to hear that you return time after time and thank you also for your continued support. We have a very supportive following of regular guests and warmly welcome them back throughout the year. It is so nice to read your stay was once again, amazing!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back and please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with any bookings for you.

Warm regards,

Dara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
1.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morasol Suites
Morasol Suites
#5 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Property: Marina Suites
Address: Av de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing