We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel :-D”
Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Suites
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 7, 2013

stayed here for 2 weeks and had the most amazing time :-D the Hotel was great in a great location. Stayed with my family and we had a room (very spacious) on the 8th Floor overlooking the pool and the sea, the view could not have been better. The staff were friendly especially Alex who was always happy to help if you needed anything and always greeted us when we walked through Reception. The lady on reception (forgive me for not knowing her name) was also very nice and helpful especially after our kitchen door was hanging off she got someone to take a look and fix it for us which was done after we told a previous receptionist the 1st time and wasn't. we went self catering so can't really comment on the food as we ate out pretty much every night. The entertainment was really poor so if you want a decent night out I would suggest to walk to the Commercial centre which is around 10 - 15 minutes where there are a range of different bars (best ones are Piccadilly Music Pub, Tequilla Boom and Downunder) and restaurants (best ones are San Miguel and Isla Bonita) to chose from. overall the Hotel was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Gran Canaria :-) thank you Marina Suites for a fantastic Holiday :-D

Room Tip: Room on the 8th Floor overlooking the Sea is just amazing :-D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita21x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Marina Suites Guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review on the site for us. We appreciate your time are delighted to hear that your overall experience was so positive. However, i will forward your comments regarding the night animation to our direction.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Marina Suites Hotel on a future visit to Gran Canaria and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,888 - 1,894 of 3,302 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here with my family for 2 weeks and it was lovely! The hotel itself looks great from the outside and is in a lovely location by the harbour and sea. We were given an amazing room on the 8th floor overlooking the infinity pool and sea. The room itself is very clean and spacious with everything you need, alex at reception is very helpful so if you ever need anything just ask him. Only negative about the room is that the sleeping facilities in the living area were advertised as a sofa bed but was really just the sofa and then a bed on a stand that comes out from under the sofa which meant that my partner and I had to sleep seperately. The entertainment is rubbish so you'll need to go out in the evenings, barbacoa at the europa centre do a tribute act every night which is very entertaining, it costs about 4 euros to get a taxi there and entry is free. The main commercial centre is about a 15-20 minute walk but it's nice to be away from all the noise. The best restaurants are san miguel, da pinnochios, isla bonita, happy valley and the great slow boat. The best breakfast is in san miguel as they use british produce and is very good value for money, if you dont fancy walking to the centre then go to either the red rose or yogi & bennys which are both around the harbour. The best bars are tequila boom, energy, piccadilly and down under. The nearest shops are porto novo which is small but has slightly cheaper prices than anywhere else, if you want more choice then go to the hiper dino which is just at the top of the hill as you go under the morasol tunnel. We did lots of excursions over our stay and I would definitely recommend the las palmas sightseeing trip, 4x4 adventure, palmitos park and aqualand.
Its also worth walking down to amadores beach as it is beautiful, and also go to Mogan market on a friday, you can get the water taxi there from the harbour. Overall puerto rico is a lovely place to visit and it is definitely worth going for 2 weeks so you have time to explore the island. I would definitely recommend marina suites and will come back to stay here if I ever return to gran canaria.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Marina Suites Guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review for us following your stay at Marina Suites Hotel.We take great pride in ensuring that our guest are well looked after, so it nice to hear that our staff did it.
I have passed your lovely feedback to the team who appreciate you kind words and time and we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming back on a future visit .

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

In its heyday, this would have been a decent 4 star hotel. However, it is now somewhat dated and run down. Although, the room is generally spacious, many of the equipments and decor need to be replaced and refreshed. It simply does not feel luxurious and would struggle to compete with other hotels of similar standards.

The WiFi in the room is very unstable. Sometimes, it connects perfectly, but most of the time struggles to connect at all. There is also a safe in the bedroom, but you need to pay for this separately to use it. Most hotels I've been to do not charge for this.

The hotel only has one small swimming pool which can get quite crowded during the day. The sun loungers are all stacked extremely close to each other alongside the pool. I cannot imagine how people can relax in such a crowded environment. Personally, I didn't spend a single day at the pool. We simply went to the beach and rented a sun lounger there for 5 euros each.

The restaurant area and buffet is very small. There is essentially 3 sittings for dinner so the staff and the place will not be overwhelmed. You have to choose which sittings you prefer at check in. The food quality is acceptable but it lacks variety. So you end up eating more or less the same things every day.

The staff are generally very helpful and courteous. Most of them speak good English and are able to understand your requests. Note that there is no housekeeping on Thursdays and Sundays. If you run out of toilet paper during these times, you will have to go to reception to get some more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gentlelovemaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Marina Suites Guest
Thank you for feedback published on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and wish to comment on your statements.
Especially during the summer months we are lucky to welcome different groups of guests and occupancy levels. Couples and singles of each age, as well as families, have many possibilities to spend their holidays with us relaxing by the pool, that is why Fran our lifeguard will always be able to find you sun loungers.
We usually let the client choose his table for dinner for our hotel policy of guest service.
We would be more than happy to have another possibility to convince you of our 4 star services
With best regards from Puerto Rico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed at the marina suites nov 2011 and eagerly booked again this year June 2013. B + B basis. Staff are nice and friendly especially curly on breakfast duty, remember him from last time, nothing is too much trouble. Visited GC and especially Puerto rico over the last 15 years, (Gloria palace, riu vistamar, morasol) and have to say that I think on balance marina suites is probably the best value and standard for the money available. It depends on what you are looking for, but nice location next to relaxed harbour port, no bussle its perfect. ( and within easy walking distance to town centre , restaurants and Amadores beach.) Will keep coming back again and again. Only slight niggle, last time stayed the room had a dvd player and this time we had to pay for dvd player which I didn't , but carried a couple of dvd's over there in luggage . #wasteoftime

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz1358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Marina Suites Guest,

It is so lovely to hear that you return once again at Marina Suites and thank you also for your continued support. We have a very supportive following of regular guests and warmly welcome them back throughout the year. It is so nice to hear that you believe we are one of the best and we will continue to work hard to maintain that reputation. Regarding the dvd player, i kindly inform you that the DVD player are free if you book the Select Suite.
We look forward to welcome you back and please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with any bookings for you.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just came back after 1 week holiday in the Marina Suites and we had a really lovely experience. The rooms were beautiful, very spacious and the nautical decor was so fitting with the amazing pool/sea view room. The rooms are fully equipped with a full set of ware/pots/cutlery/kettle/coffee maker/toaster/2 ring hob/ fridge/flat screen TV (with a USB port), DVD player and hair dryer (not great). The beds were quite hard but the staff addressed this complaint by adding a thin soft mattress on top of each bed which made all the difference. The staff were very pleasant and friendly and really accommodating. The infinity pool was heavenly overlooking the sea which lended to a lovely cooling breeze. It was lovely to watch the constant trail of boats in and out of the harbour. Although pool rules do not allow people hold the sun loungers with towels this unfortunately was not the case, so if like us, you have young kids and need to be near the pool to supervise I would advise that you get to the pool early so you can get your preferred spot . The kids club runs for two hours in the morning 11.30 to 1.30 and from 3 to 5 in the afternoon every day except Monday there is no afternoon club. When we arrived we took advantage of a very reasonable half board special which was €50 per day for breakfast and dinner for the whole family (2 adults, 2 children and 1 toddler (2.5), no charge for the toddler. The breakfast was lovely and provided nice freshly squeezed orange juice. As a big coffee lover I found the coffee at breakfast was only mediocre, although you can order espresso coffee from the bar at an extra cost. Dinner was buffet style but of very good standard with a great variety of food. There was a different themed corner every night ie. Spanish/Italian/Mexican/Steak etc. The salad options were gorgeous. The restaurant staff were so lovely and the service was impeccable. Pool towels were provided on payment of a refundable deposit and there was a fee of €1.50 for every fresh change. There is no laundry room in this hotel but there is an outsourced laundry service with a 24 hour turn around. I am hard pushed to fault this hotel on everything with the exception of the night time entertainment which is very poor. The kids mini disco is very sedate, although it varied on liveliness depending on who from the animation team was on duty. The music was very low at times and I feel it needed to be injected with a little more excitement and fun. Even though our kids (7, 5 and 2.5 yrs) enjoyed it, I felt from experiencing mini discos in other hotels it faired badly in comparison. The adult evening entertainment takes place in the same place as the mini disco, outdoors near the pool and pool bar, and it was just awful and as result it was dead every night. It would be great if this hotel invested in building a bigger stage and providing better evening full shows. It is a shame because it is such a beautiful setting with great views and really has so much more potential. But that is really my only complaint. When you have small children it is much more preferable to not have to do the 15/20 minute walk to the main strip or commercial centre (very tacky) in search of some worthwhile entertainment.

Room Tip: Pool/Sea view rooms have great views but little sun in the balconies. It was nice though as the mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMaryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Marina Suites Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and spent wonderful holidays on Gran Canaria.
Since we are always eager to adapt our services to our guests, we appreciate your comments regarding the animation and will take your suggestion into consideration.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again
Best regards from Gran Canaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed 7 days with my wife and kids on June 23rd to July 2nd, this hotel is located 46 km from the Las Palmas Airport, in Puerto Rico, one of Southern towns in the island. The hotel is within the marina bay.

PROS:
Breakfast is very good, open from 8 am till 11 am, which I find very convenient; don t want to wake up early on vacations, food is very fresh, selections of different Spanish hams, vegetables, amazing orange juice, hash browns, several types of breads, fruits and so on.
Parking cost EUR 35 all week, card is provided at reception desk so you can come and go at will.
Pool has view to the ocean, it's perfect for kids.
Several good restaurants in the surroundings opened till 10:30 pm.
Rooms are spacious comfortable and clean.
STAFF couldn't be nicer thumbs up!

Downsides:
Although is understandable hotel efforts to keep good value for money, what I found out little bit annoying is that any extra should be paid or covered by a deposit, for instance for parking card there is a €12 deposit, for beach towels a €10, to use safe vault you pay €35 plus a €20 deposit.
Also almost irritating, they provide liquid soap in small quantity, I had to buy soap from the supermarket after first day.
Rooms are not quite noise isolated, last days we were woke up by the noise of drawers in upper apartment and one night a drunk guy tried to enter to our room by midnight. (Not Hotel Fault).

OVERALL: We enjoyed our break, car rental allowed us to visit all the beaches and other attractions such Palmitos Park, Aqualand ( dolphins). I'm not giving 5 stars rate, since I think next time will try a hotel closer to Playa Del Ingles, the best beach of the island ( knowing probably I will spend more).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Marina Suites Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed most of all the aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Suites****.
Regarding the soap, i just want to confirm you that you can ask our staff to provide you more soap.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Marina Bay with our 9 month old son at the beginning of May this year, we chose it partially because of the glowing reviews on tripadvisor and because it met our requirement of a family friendly, buggy accessible, self catering apartment close to beach.

It's location right at the end of the marina means it is in a relatively quiet spot, which is a bonus in terms of safety and was in easy walking distance of the beach and the general store (5 mins). Which supermarket you go to depends on who you ask at reception, my parents were directed to a larger supermarket under the bridge but we were directed to the smaller Spa.

This brings me to my only criticism of the hotel, there is no welcome pack in the room which flummoxed me, surely that would reduce the number of questions asked at reception? It meant there were things we just stumbled on, like the kids area and the timings for the restaurant, availability renting baby monitors etc. that we could have done with knowing earlier on. It could have also included some guidance on late checkout.

As we really hated the touts (annoying, pushy and sometimes plain rude) for the restaurants along the beach we ended up eating in the restaurant most nights and in the main it was good, varied and had great salads. There was just one night that was a bit weak but we never left hungry and it was good value.

You can easily cook for 4 in the room if you want but we never did much more than breakfast. Storage space wasn't great but it was adequate for making coffee and toast or cereal but bring a double plug. We paid extra for an upgrade but to be honest unless your room location and a DVD player is a must for you I wouldn't bother.

Lots of people have complained about the size of the 3 lifts which are comically small but they were a great way to meet others in the hotel and to be honest if you can use the stairs you should.

The pool area is beautiful, one of the best things about this hotel, we never had a problem finding somewhere to sit and the view was outstanding.

There was a small amount of noise from marina but I found the noise from our neighbours drinking on the balcony till 6am far more annoying. Luckily very little of the noise from outside can be heard in the bedroom as it is situated towards the cliffs.

Overall I would absolutely recommended the Marina Suites without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Marina Suites Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us, following your recent stay at Marina Suites!

Being directly on the Marina Suites is a stunning location as you say, however we are even more proud to learn that you enjoyed as well our services, staff! Thank you very much for your wonderful feed-back!

Regarding the welcome book, we are actually designing the new information,

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,615 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,238 reviews
7.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Address: Calle Juan Diaz Rodriguez 10, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $124 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing